DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments and Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's amendments and arguments/remarks filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered. The applicant has amended claims 3-6 and 9 to further define the needle assembly, further define/recite the needle shroud and to overcome previously held 35 USC 112(b) rejections.
The applicants’ amendments and arguments to overcome the previously held 35 USC 112(b) indefinite rejections are persuasive, and the 35 USC 112(b) rejections are withdrawn accordingly.
The applicants’ amendments to further recite the needle shroud were fully considered and are non-persuasive in view of the previous rejection. As stated and exhibited in the previous rejection of claims 4 and 8 and depicted in the annotated figure on page 8 of the office action, Tariyal’s figures depict a needle shroud and the examiner has annotated the figure to show as much. However, as Tariyal’s specification is silent to the needle shroud and it is only depicted, in an effort to advance prosecution and anticipate applicant’s arguments, the examiner has provided US 2015/0265500 A1 to Russo et al. which teaches the known needle assembly comprising a luer adaptor for attaching to a sampling instrument and a safety shroud protecting a needle for insertion into sample vials (see figures 1a and 1b). Accordingly, the examiner has updated the rejection of claims 3-6, 8 and 9 to include reference The updated rejections are provided in the office action rejections provided below.
The applicant’s amendments and arguments with regards to the further defined the needle assembly and arguments regarding Tariyal et al (US 11,864,740) not teaching and/or disclosing a syringe or probe have been fully considered but are non-persuasive. The applicant argues that Tariyal’s sample collector and extractor are not one of a syringe or a probe, and thus the rejection is improper. The examiner finds these arguments to be non-persuasive as the examiner contends that Tariyal’s sample collector and sample extraction collector meet the BRI of both a syringe and a probe, at least as broadly as currently recited. As an initial matter, the applicant’s specification provides descriptions of examples of preferable probes and/or syringes (see applicant’s specification paragraphs [0027]-[0033] and [0046]-[0048]); however, the examiner notes that the specification does not provide a special definition for probe and/or syringe. Accordingly, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. In this case, the examiner contends that Tariyal’s sample extraction collector meets the BRI of a syringe and the combination of the sample extraction collector and sample collector meet the BRI of a probe. With regards to the syringe, the examine contends that the extractor top (element 1505) acts as the plunger to expel fluids bottom of sample extraction collector (element 1506) which acts as the barrel of the syringe, to expel a sample/fluid from the distal tip 1504 which is connected to a needle (as depicted in figure 15a and described in column 41, line 63 – column 42, line ). The applicant’ argues that such a vessel closed by a cap is not a syringe since a vessel closed by a cap is not a syringe. The examiner respectfully disagrees, as syringe is a broad term which has many different iterations, including various screw type syringes as cited by the examiner in the accompanying PTO-892. However, in an effort to advance prosecution, the examiner has updated the rejection to include US 2009/0143699 A1 to Wu et al which teaches a known syringe which comprises a barrel that accepts a sample collection element which is compressed by the plunger in order to expel the sample from the sample collection element. Accordingly, as described in the rejection below it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute Tariyal’s sample extraction collector with a syringe-type sample expression chamber as described in the rejection below, which meets the BRI of the instant claims.
Furthermore, the examiner contends that the combination of the collector (element 120) and sample extractor collector (element 1500) meet the BRI of a probe as probes can contain multiple parts. In this case the sample collector (element 120) acts as a collection member and the sample extraction collector (element 1500) acts as the part of the probe which retrieves the sample from the collector for testing and diagnosis. The examiner notes that at least one definition of probe as provided by the Merriam-Webster dictionary (see https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/probe with screenshot reproduced below and printout of definition provided with this office action) is “a device or a substance used to obtain specific information for diagnostic or experimental purposes”. In this case, Tariyal’s combined sample collector and sample extractor collector act as a device used to obtain specific information for diagnostic or experimental purposes, thus meeting the definition of a probe.
However, in the same manner as described above, in order to advance prosecution, the examiner has updated the rejection to include the Wu reference which addresses the applicant’s arguments.
Accordingly, the applicant’s amendments and arguments/remarks have been fully considered but are found to be non-persuasive in view of the rejections provided herein and the examiner’s response to the arguments provided here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tariyal et al (US 11,864,740) in view of Wu et al (US 2009/0143699 A1) and Russo et al (US 2015/0265500 A1) as evidenced by “BD Vacutainer® CPT™ Mononuclear Cell Preparation Tube - Sodium Heparin” (previously provided).
Regarding claim 3; Tariyal discloses a self-sampling system for collection of a vaginal cellular sample (figures 15a-d) comprising:
an evacuated sample container (Vacutainer element 1509, column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 42, lines 48-51; wherein evidential vacutainer BD Vacutainer CPT fact sheet discloses that the tube is an evacuated, sterile collection tube) having an openable end which is closed by a puncturable seal (end which engages with fluid port element 1504 or luer lock adapter element 1503, column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 42, lines 46-67) and
a fluid sample chamber (element 1506 and 1510) of an sample extraction device (element 1500), a needle assembly (luer lock adaptor device, element 1503) comprising a fluid communication conduit comprising a needle (downward element extending from element 1503, see annotated figure) which is connectable to the fluid sample chamber (via luer lock) and a needle shroud (element surrounding needle, see annotated figure below), which is dimensioned to engage or fit over the openable end of the evacuated sample container (wherein it is obvious that the shroud is dimensioned to fit over the evacuated sample container in order to insert the needle into the sample container), the needle assembly (element 1503) providing, in use, fluid communication between the fluid sample chamber (element 1506 and 1510) and the evacuated sample container (element 1509), wherein the fluid sample chamber (element 1506 and 1510) is adapted to receive a vaginal cellular sample (via sample element 120; column 42, lines 39-42) and is configured to be placed in fluid communication with the evacuated container (element 1509) through the puncturable seal such that a vaginal cellular fluid sample is drawn into the evacuated sample container upon establishing fluid communication between the fluid sample chamber and the evacuated sample container (wherein element 1510 establishes fluid connection with element 1509 via fluid port element 1504 which connects to luer lock adapter element 1503 to transfer the sample; column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 42, lines 46-67; figures 15a-d).
Regarding claims 4 and 8; Tariyal discloses a method of manually acquiring a cellular fluid sample (figures 15a-d), comprising:
providing an evacuated sample container (element 1509) having a puncturable seal (end of vacutainer which connects with luer lock element 1503), a needle assembly (luer lock element 1503) and a fluid sample chamber (elements 1506 and 1510) for receiving a vaginal sample (via sampling element 120; column 42, lines 39-42) which is a sample extraction device (element 1500) wherein the needle assembly (element 1503) provides a fluid communication conduit (via needle of adaptor element 1503) between the fluid sample chamber (elements 1506 and 1510) and the evacuated sample container (element 1509) wherein upon piercing the puncturable seal, the vaginal cellular sample is urged from the fluid sample chamber to the evacuated sample container (wherein sample chamber elements 1506 and 1510 engages via luer lock adapter element 1503 with evacuated sample container element 1509 to transfer the sample; column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 42, lines 46-67; figures 15a-d) wherein the needle assembly is connectable to the fluid sample chamber (via luer lock of adaptor element 1503) and a needle shroud (element surrounding needle, see annotated figures 15a-d above), which is dimensioned to engage or fit over the openable end of the evacuated sample container (wherein it is obvious that the shroud is dimensioned to fit over the evacuated sample container in order to insert the needle into the sample container) to provide a fluid communication conduit (column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8; figures 15a-d),
Regarding claim 5; Tariyal discloses a self-sampling or home-testing kit (figures 15a-d; column 71, line 46 – column 74, line 19) for use by a subject to acquire a sample from themselves comprising:
a fluid sample chamber selected from a fluid sample chamber (element 1506 and 1510) of a sample extraction device (element 1500) comprising a body (element 1506) and a compressor (element 1505), the compressor (element 1505) being removable to present an inlet (element 1508, figures 15c) for receiving a sanitary product having a vaginal cellular sample (element 120) and an outlet (element 1504) at the opposite end of the sample extraction device (element 1500; figures 15a and 15) (column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 41, line 63 – column 43, line 13; figures 15a-d),
a needle assembly (luer lock adaptor device, element 1503), adapted to attach to the sample extraction device outlet (element 1503 attached to outlet element 1504 via luer lock) (column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 41, line 63 – column 43, line 13; figures 15a-d), and
an evacuated container (element 1509) having a puncturable seal (seal on open end of vacutainer element 1509) and containing a cell preservation solution (column 43, lines 25-62),
wherein the needle assembly (element 1503) is connectable to the fluid sample chamber (elements 1506 and 1510 are connected via luer lock of element 1503) and a needle shroud (element surrounding needle, see annotated figures 15a-d above), which is dimensioned to engage or fit over the openable end of the evacuated sample container (wherein it is obvious that the shroud is dimensioned to fit over the evacuated sample container in order to insert the needle into the sample container) to provide a fluid communication conduit (wherein element 1503 fluidically couples extractor, element 1500, to the evacuated container, element 1509; column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 41, line 63 – column 43, line 13; figures 15a-d).
Regarding claim 6; Tariyal discloses a self-sampling apparatus (figures 15a-d; column 71, line 46 – column 74, line 19) for collection of a vaginal cellular sample comprising:
an evacuated sample container (element 1509) having an openable end which is closed by a puncturable seal (seal on open end of vacutainer element 1509), a fluid sample chamber (element 1506 and 1510) adapted to receive a vaginal cellular sample which is a sample extraction device (element 1500), and a needle assembly (luer lock adaptor, element 1503) connectable with the fluid sample chamber (elements 1506 and 1510; connects via luer lock of adaptor, element 1503) and a needle shroud (element surrounding needle, see annotated figures 15a-d above), which is dimensioned to engage or fit over the openable end of the evacuated sample container (wherein it is obvious that the shroud is dimensioned to fit over the evacuated sample container in order to insert the needle into the sample container) to provide a fluid communication conduit (via needle of luer lock adaptor, see annotated figures above) between the fluid sample chamber (element 1506 and 1510) and the evacuated sample container (element 1509) through the puncturable seal such that a vaginal cellular fluid sample is drawn into the evacuated sample container upon establishing fluid communication between the fluid sample chamber and the evacuated sample container via the needle assembly (wherein sample extractor, element 1500, and/or chamber, element 1506, comprising probe, element 120, is connected to evacuated tube, element 1509, through the luer lock needle assembly, element 1503, to draw a sample into the vacuum container; column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 41, line 63 – column 43, line 13; figures 15a-d).
Regarding claim 9; Tariyal discloses a method of screening for cervical cancer (column 152, lines 5-37), comprising:
acquiring a vaginal cellular sample (sample within collector element 120; column 42, lines 24-26), placing the sample in a fluid sample chamber (element 1506 and 1510) of a fluid sample extractor (element 1500), which sample chamber (element 1506 and 1510) is in, or configured to be placed in, fluid communication with an evacuated sample container (element 1509) having a puncturable seal (seal on open end of vacutainer element 1509) via a needle assembly (element 1503) connectable with the fluid sample chamber (wherein elements 1506 and 1510 are fluidically connected to adaptor, element 1503, via the luer lock) and a needle shroud (element surrounding needle, see annotated figures 15a-d above), which is dimensioned to engage or fit over the openable end of the evacuated sample container (wherein it is obvious that the shroud is dimensioned to fit over the evacuated sample container in order to insert the needle into the sample container) to provide a fluid communication conduit (via needle of luer lock adaptor, element 1503; see annotated figures above) upon the needle of the needle assembly piercing the puncturable seal, whereby the vaginal cellular sample is urged from the fluid sample chamber to the evacuated container and analyzing the vaginal cellular sample to screen for cervical cancer (column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 41, line 63 – column 43, line 13 and column 152, lines 5-37; figures 15a-d).
With regards to claims 3-6, 8 and 9; As noted in response to arguments above; for the purpose of advancing prosecution, we are assuming Tariyal does not explicitly disclose that the fluid sample chamber is selected from a syringe and a probe.
Wu teaches a syringe assembly (figures 1, 2 and 4) comprising a body (syringe barrel body, element 17 or 30) and a plunger (element 11 or 29) for collecting samples from a sampling element (elements 16 or 31) which is received in a fluid sample chamber (hollow defined by syringe barrel body, element 17 or 30) wherein the syringe plunger (element 11 or 29) is advanced in order to compress the sampling element (element 16 or 31) to expel the fluid sample from a distal port (element 23 and 25) which can include a luer lock (element 26) for connecting to sample container for testing (paragraphs [0020]-[0030]; figures 1, 2 and 4).
Regarding claims 3-6, 8 and 9; Tariyal discloses a system, method, and kit for collection and sampling of a vaginal cellular sample utilizing a fluid sample extractor for receiving a sample collector comprising a vaginal fluid sample which compressed in order to express the fluid sample into an evacuated sample container (as described above). Wu teaches an alternative fluid sample extractor which comprises a syringe that receives a sample collector which is configured to compresses the sample collector to expel the fluid sample from the syringe for testing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system, method and kit of Tariyal to substitute Tariyal’s fluid sample extractor with Wu’s fluid sample extractor as simple substitution of one known element with another to yield a predictable result (in this case, Tariyal’s system, method and kit which utilizes Wu’s compression syringe having a sample chamber for receiving to the sample collector in order to expel the fluid sample from the sample collector).
Further regarding claims 3-6, 8 and 9; Tariyal’s system depicts the needle assembly and shroud (element 1503) as described above (see explanation of Tariyal and annotated figures 15a-d). However, while Tariyal does depict and describe the use of the luer adaptor, it does not explicitly disclose the features of the needle assembly in the written specification.
Russo teaches known luer lock vial adaptor needle assemblies (figures 1a-3d) connectable with a fluid sample chamber (via upper luer lock, element 241) comprising a needle and a needle shroud (elements 212) which is dimensioned to engage or fit over an openable end (element 320) of the evacuated sample container (element 300) to provide the fluid communication conduit (paragraphs [0050]-[0055]; see annotated figures below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to either substitute the Tariyal/Wu combinations luer adaptor with Russo’s luer vial adaptor as simples substitution of one known element for another to yield a predictable result (the Tariyal/Wu combination utilizing Russo’s known needle assembly adaptor for obtaining a sample from a syringe into a sampling container/vial); or in the alternative, to modify the luer adaptor of the Tariyal/Wu combination to have the same features of Russo in order to effectively adapt a connection between a syringe and sample vial.
Further regarding claim 8; Tariyal discloses the cellular fluid sample is a vaginal sample (column 42, lines 39-44). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the Tariyal/Wu/Russo combination would also sample cellular fluid from a vaginal sample.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2,283,915 to Cole, discloses a syringe having a threaded top which is turned/screwed to advance the plunger.
US 2022/0288369 A1 to Donahue et al, discloses a syringe having a threaded top which is turned/screwed to advance the plunger.
US 2025/0032722 A1 to O’Shay, discloses a syringe having a threaded top which is turned/screwed to advance the plunger.
US 2024/0157058 to Wirth, discloses a syringe having a threaded top which is turned/screwed to advance the plunger.
US 5,603,701 to Fischer, discloses a syringe having a threaded top which is turned/screwed to advance the plunger.
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791