DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the black and white depictions of the drawings/photograph of figures 1a-1c are lightly colored and unclear due to the shading (i.e. the examiner is unable to tell how far the barrel of the syringe goes or if there is a test tube where element 5 is points, ect…). Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Currently, there are no limitations being interpreted as invoking 35 USC 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3; the claim is indefinite because it is unclear what is required by the scope of the claim. Specifically, claim 3 recites a self-sampling apparatus which appears to comprises two elements, an evacuated sample container and a fluid sample chamber adapted to receive a vaginal cellular sample which, and then describes their relationship when in use. The issue comes to the scope of the claim, if this is a single apparatus, then what is the relationship of the elements (evacuated sample container and fluid sample chamber) when not in use. It appears that preamble should instead recite a self-sampling system since there are multiple elements to only work together when in use, but are separate when not in use (based on the applicant’s specification).
Furthermore regarding claim 3, it is unclear as what “in use” means in the context of the claim in light of the specification. For example, one could argue that the fluid sample chamber is in use whenever it contains a sample or when a sample is being placed within, however according to the specification, the evacuated sample container is not always in fluid communication with the sample chamber when collecting the sample in the sample chamber. The examiner encourages the applicant to amend the claim to recite how the system is configured to as to avoid the issue with “when, in use” limitation issues outlined above. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim 3 as follows (bolded and italicized for changes):
A self-sampling system for collection of a vaginal cellular sample comprising:
an evacuated sample container having an openable end which is closed by a puncturable seal; and
a fluid sample chamber adapted to receive a vaginal cellular sample, wherein the fluid sample chamber is configured to be placed in fluid communication with the evacuated container through the puncturable seal such that a vaginal cellular fluid sample is drawn into the evacuated sample container upon establishing fluid communication between the fluid sample chamber and the evacuated container.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are required for the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner will interpret the claim as if the “preferably a vaginal sample” is not required to meet the scope of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations "especially" and “preferably” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the limitation are required for the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner will interpret the claims as if the limitations of “especially a 5 ml – 20 ml syringe” and “preferably having a safety shroud” are not required to meet the scope of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tariyal et al (US 11,864,740), as evidenced by “BD Vacutainer® CPT™ Mononuclear Cell Preparation Tube - Sodium Heparin” (examiner provided NPL).
Regarding claim 3; Tariyal discloses a self-sampling apparatus for collection of a vaginal cellular sample (figures 15a-d) comprising:
an evacuated sample container (Vacutainer element 1509, column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 42, lines 48-51; wherein evidential vacutainer BD Vacutainer CPT fact sheet discloses that the tube is an evacuated, sterile collection tube) having an openable end which is closed by a puncturable seal (end which engages with fluid port element 1504 or luer lock adapter element 1503, column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 42, lines 46-67) and
a fluid sample chamber (element 1506) adapted to receive a vaginal cellular sample (column 42, lines 39-42) which, in use, is in fluid communication with the evacuated container (element 1509) through the puncturable seal such that a vaginal cellular fluid sample is drawn into the evacuated sample container upon establishing fluid communication between the fluid sample chamber and the evacuated container (wherein sample chamber element 1510 engages via fluid port element 1504 or luer lock adapter element 1503 with evacuated sample container element 1509 to transfer the sample; column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 42, lines 46-67; figures 15a-d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tariyal.
Regarding claim 4; Tariyal discloses a method of manually acquiring a cellular fluid sample (figures 15a-d), preferably a vaginal sample (column 42, lines 39-42), comprising:
providing an evacuated sample container (element 1509) having a puncturable seal (end of vacutainer which connects with luer lock element 1503) and a needle assembly (luer lock element 1503) and a fluid sample chamber (element 1510) for receiving a vaginal sample ((column 42, lines 39-42) wherein the needle assembly provides a fluid communication conduit between the fluid sample chamber and the evacuated chamber wherein upon piercing the puncturable seal, whereby the vaginal cellular sample is urged from the fluid sample chamber to the evacuated container (wherein sample chamber element 1510 engages via luer lock adapter element 1503 with evacuated sample container element 1509 to transfer the sample; column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 42, lines 46-67; figures 15a-d).
Further regarding claim 4, Tariyal discloses the use of luer lock element 1503 for transferring the fluid from the fluid sample chamber element 1510 to evacuated sample container element 1509 via various methods (column 42, lines 51-67), Tariyal does not explicitly disclose the luer lock assembly as a “needle assembly”. For the purposes of 102, the examiner contends that the extending element of luer lock adaptor device 1503 (see annotated figure below) meets the BRI of needle, and thus discloses a needle assembly. However, in the alternative, if the elongate element of Tariyal were not considered to meet the BRI of “a needle assembly”, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use well-known and common means of transferring fluids from a sample reservoir to an evacuated sample container element with a puncturable seal, including the well-known and common laboratory practice of using a needle assembly to puncture a vacutainer seal in order to transfer a fluid from a sample reservoir to an evacuated sample container element.
Regarding claim 5; Tariyal discloses a self-sampling or home-testing kit (figures 15a-d; column 71, line 46 – column 74, line 19) for use by a subject to acquire a sample from themselves comprising:
a syringe (element 1500) comprising a body (element 1506) and a plunger (element 1505), the plunger (element 1505) being removable to present an inlet (element 1508, figures 15c) for receiving a sanitary product having a vaginal cellular sample (element 120) and an outlet (element 1504) at the opposite end of the syringe (figures 15a and 15c), especially a 5ml-20ml syringe (not requires as per 35 USC 112b interpretation as presented above) (column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 41, line 63 – column 43, line 13; figures 15a-d),
a needle assembly (luer lock adaptor device, element 1503), preferably having a safety shroud (cover surrounding elongate needle element, see annotated figure above), adapted to attach to the syringe outlet (element 1503 attached to outlet element 1504) (column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 41, line 63 – column 43, line 13; figures 15a-d), and
an evacuated container (element 1509) having a puncturable seal (seal on open end of vacutainer element 1509) and containing a cell preservation solution (column 43, lines 25-62),
the kit further comprising one or more sanitary products sized to fit in the syringe wherein the needle assembly provides a fluid communication path between the syringe and the evacuated chamber (wherein sample collector element 120 is disclosed as being provided as part of a kit throughout as noted above; column 41, line 63 – column 44, line 8, specifically column 41, line 63 – column 43, line 13; figures 15a-d).
Further regarding claim 5, in the similar manner as described in the rejection of claim 4, Tariyal discloses the use of luer lock element 1503 for transferring the fluid from the fluid sample chamber element 1510 to evacuated sample container element 1509 via various methods (column 42, lines 51-67), Tariyal does not explicitly disclose the luer lock assembly as a “needle assembly”. For the purposes of a 35 USC 102(a)(2) rejection, the examiner contends that the extending element of luer lock adaptor device 1503 (see annotated figure above) meets the BRI of needle, and thus discloses a needle assembly. However, in the alternative, if the elongate element of Tariyal were not considered to meet the BRI of “a needle assembly”, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use well-known and common means of transferring fluids from a sample reservoir to an evacuated sample container element with a puncturable seal, including the well-known and common laboratory practice of using a needle assebly to puncture a vacutainer seal in order to transfer a fluid from a sample reservoir to an evacuated sample container element.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2003/0023188 A1 to Kritzman; discloses a method, device and kit for obtaining biological samples.
US 2023/0194391 A1 to Nishi et al; discloses a liquid collector and method for collecting liquid.
US 2016/0045187 A1 to Terbrueggen et al; discloses devices and methods for collecting and stabilizing biological samples.
US 2017/0036205 A1 to Bishop et al; discloses a fluid collection device.
US 2016/0273059 A1 to Benshaul; discloses a kit and method for collecting body fluid for medical diagnosis.
US 2011/0159533 A1 to Karkouche; discloses a bioparticle capture device and use thereof.
US 2023/0172591 A1 to Robbins et al; discloses liquid sample collection devices, systems and methods.
US 5,352,410 to Hansen et al; discloses fluid specimen collection and testing apparatus.
US 4,580,577 to O’Brien et al; discloses a method and apparatus for collecting saliva.
US 8,540,938 B2 to Wu et al; discloses a fluid sample collecting and analyzing apparatus and method.
US 5,000,193 to Heelis et al; discloses a medical swab device.
US 3,815,580 to Oster; discloses an apparatus for and method of collecting and preserving cytologic samples.
DE 10 2023 102 184 A1 to Guenou et al; discloses an adapter for transferring a preparing a sample containing menstrual excretions into a sealable sample container.
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791