DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08 July 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information marked with strikethrough therein has not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of group I in the reply filed on 28 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 January 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: configuration module, measurement module and report module in claim 18.
Applicant has disclosed hardware or a combination of hardware and software configured with the algorithms discloses at Fig. 2, [0025]-[0027]; Fig. 3, [0028]-[0032]; Fig. 4, [0033]-[0036]; Fig. 5, [0037]-[0038]; Fig. 6, [0039]-[0043]; and Fig. 7, [0045]-[0066] in the as filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (US 2024/0113975 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network comprising:
obtaining, by the UE, a latency measurement configuration ([0186] disclosing “UEs such AR glasses”; Fig. 7I, steps 1 and 4-6, [0197]-[0198] disclosing the acts performed by the AR glasses, implicitly disclosing the AR glasses have been configured to perform the technique) for a tethering relay path (Fig. 7G AR Glasses 784a, [0186] disclosing “UEs such AR glasses 784a” in a 5G Relay architecture comprising a tethering link from the AR glasses to a phone device 784b (a “5G device”) seen as the relay);
performing a packet latency measurement with a UE-assisted procedure based on the latency measurement configuration (Fig. 7I, Steps 1 and 4-5, [0197] disclosing the AR glasses determine the one-way end-to-end delay by halving the RTT delay of the ping messages); and
sending a latency report based on the packet latency measurement (Fig. 7I, step 6, [0198] disclosing the AR glasses report the end-to-end delay De2e to the 5G device 788e), wherein the latency report includes information for an end-to-end latency for the tethering relay path (Fig. 7G, [0187] disclosing the components of an end-to-end delay De2e).
In an alternative embodiment, Ma discloses obtaining, by the UE, a latency measurement configuration ([0171] disclosing a 5G device may be a UE; Fig. 7H 5G device 786e, steps 1-2 and 4, [0193]-[0194] disclosing the steps performed by the 5G devices, implicitly disclosing the 5G device has been configured to perform the technique) for a tethering relay path (Fig. 7G AR Glasses 784a, [0186] disclosing “UEs such AR glasses 784a” in a 5G Relay architecture comprising a tethering link from the AR glasses to a phone device 784b (a “5G device”) seen as the relay);
performing a packet latency measurement with a UE-assisted procedure based on the latency measurement configuration (Fig. 7H, steps 1 and 2, [0193] disclosing the 5G device determines the RTT of the tethering link which can be halved to determine the one-way delay of the tethering link); and
sending a latency report based on the packet latency measurement (Fig. 7H, step 4, [0194] disclosing the 5G device reports the one-way delay estimate Dn,1), wherein the latency report includes information for an end-to-end latency for the tethering relay path (Fig. 7G, [0187] disclosing the components of an end-to-end delay De2e comprising Dn,1).
Regarding claim 2, Ma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE-assisted procedure includes inserting a measurement timestamp ([0201]) or recording timing of a predefined transport block (TB) of the packet ([0200]).
Regarding claim 5, Ma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein latency report includes one or more elements comprising a one-bit indicator indicates an activation of a tethering mode, packet transmission latency information (Fig. 7I step 6, [0198]), and tethering related information ([0186]).
Regarding claim 6, Ma discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the packet transmission latency information includes one or more latency elements comprising a measured path information, measured packet information, latency characteristic, and a latency value (Fig. 7G, [0186]-[0187], Fig. 7I, [0197]-[0198]).
Regarding claim 7, Ma discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the tethering related information includes one or more side elements comprising a UE buffer status indicating queueing on tethering relay path, a listen-before-talk (LBT) latency, a channel busy ratio, a transmission failure rate, and a channel quality report of the tethering relay path ([0186] QoS parameters, Fig. 7I, step 6, [0198]).
Regarding claim 8, Ma appears to disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the latency report is reported via a radio resource control (RRC) message or a MAC control element (CE) ([0194] disclosing the Media Access function reports the one-way delay estimate Dn,1).
Regarding claim 9, Ma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE is a relay UE and the tethering relay path includes a Uu link between the UE and a base station and a second link between the UE and a remote UE (with respect to the alternative embodiment addressed above with respect to claim 1 in Fig. 7H, the 5G device is seen as a relay UE, see Fig. 1D, [0064] disclosing the glasses (e.g., remote UE connected to the UE which communicates with the gNB via cellular link 175 (i.e., Uu link in the field of endeavor 5G)).
Regarding claim 10, Ma discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the UE is a remote UE of the tethering relay path (Fig. 7G, [0186] disclosing the AR glasses are a UE connected to the network via UE 784bin a relay architecture; see Fig. 1D, [0064]).
Regarding claim 18-20, the claims are directed towards a user equipment comprising a transceiver and means for performing the method of claims 1-2 and 5; Ma discloses equivalent means (Fig. 10, [0222]-[0224]); accordingly, claims 18-20 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 1-2 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2024/0113975 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ma does not expressly disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the measurement timestamp is inserted at an adaptation layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, or a transport layer; however, examiner takes official notice that it is well-known by one of ordinary skill in the art to insert timestamps in the manner claimed.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2024/0113975 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0409990 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ma does not expressly disclose the following; however, Wang suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the latency measurement configuration includes one or more elements comprising a reporting period for a periodic latency report, one or more reporting criteria for event triggered latency report, and a throttling timer ([0052], [0092]-[0093] disclosing periodic and event triggered reporting of sidelink measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the techniques of Ma as taught by Wang because Ma teaches the tethering link may be a sidelink and the delay over the tethering link may change over time ([0191], [0193]) and the techniques of Wang can ensure the quality of service of the communications ([0005]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2024/0113975 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2008/0137556 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ma does not disclose the following; however, Park suggests the method of claim 1, wherein the tethering relay path is part of a mesh relay link ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the techniques of Ma as suggested by Park because this can improve connectivity of the network ([0050]).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461