DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 23-27, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kodama et al (PG-PUB US 20190321505).
Regarding claims 21, 25, and 38, Kodama et al disclose an ultraviolet treatment apparatus for fluid sterilization (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a sterilization unit 2 extending along a longitudinal axis and having an inner cylinder 21 and an outer casing body 22 surrounding the inner cylinder 21, wherein the inner cylinder 21 is in fluid communication with the outer casing body 22 through a covering plate 23 at one end and a communication port 21a at the opposing end, forming one or more flow passages (i.e., a reactor body … inner/secondary and outer/primary chambers… one or more passages …, Figures 1-2 & 8-9, paragraphs [0057] – [0058], [0069] – [0070], [0126] – [0129] & [0133] – [0135]);
(2) an inflow portion 4 in fluid communication with the inner cylinder 21/the outer casing body 22 and spaced apart from the one end (i.e., an inlet/outlet …, Figures 1-2 & 8-9, paragraphs [0057] – [0058], [0077], [0126] – [0129] & [0133] – [0135]);
(3) an outflow portion 5 in fluid communication with the inner cylinder 21/the outer casing body 22 and spaced apart from the opposing end (i.e., an outlet/inlet …, Figures 1-2 & 8-9, paragraphs [0057] – [0058], [0077], [0126] – [0129] & [0133] – [0135]); and
(4) a light emitting unit 3 having a light source 34 enclosed in a window portion 31 and a recess portion 32a, wherein the light source 34 is arranged to irradiate the light toward the flow path 21d of the inner cylinder 21 and the enclosed light emitting unit is attached to cover an end of the sterilization unit 2 (i.e., a cap/house housing/supporting one or more UV radiation emitters, … operatively connected …, optically oriented …, Figures 1-2 & 8-9, paragraphs [0057] – [0058], & [0100] – [0105]), wherein
(i) the cross-section of inflow port 221a is smaller than the cross-section of the inner cylinder 21 (i.e., a first fluid-flow … less than a minimum …, Figures 1-2, & 8-10, paragraph [0128]);
(ii) the cross-section of the inner cylinder 21 is greater than the cross-section of gap for flowing the fluid between the outer casing body 22 and the inner cylinder 21 (i.e., an inner fluid-flow … of the inner chamber … greater than an outer fluid-flow … of the outer chamber…, Figures 1-2, & 8-10, paragraphs [0057] – [0058] & [0066]); and
(iii) the outer casing body 22 is longer and wider in dimension than that of the inner cylinder 21 (i.e., a fluid-flow cross section of the primary reactor …, Figures 1-2, & 8-10, paragraphs [0057] – [0058]).
It should be noted that “a cap”/“a house” does not recite any structural limitation and will be interpreted as an enclosed structure comprising a recess/cavity to cover/attach/seal to an end of a body. Kodama teaches that the light source 34 is enclosed in a window portion and a recess portion which is attached/sealed to an end of the sterilization unit 2 to cover the chamber (Figures 2 & 9, paragraphs [0100] – [0105]), reading on “a cap”/“a house”.
Regarding claim 23, Kadama teaches that the inflow port 221a is at one end of the sterilization unit 201 while the flow path is developed toward the other end of the sterilization unit 201 (Figures 8-9, paragraphs [0126] – [0129]).
Regarding claim 24, “a first/second average fluid velocity” is not structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114). Moreover, since the device of Kodama comprises substantially the same/similar structures as claimed, it is fully capable of performing the claimed functions.
Regarding claim 26, Kadama teaches that the inflow portion 4 or inflow port 221a is in fluid communication with and spaced apart from one end of the casing body 22 (Figures 1-2, & 8-9, paragraphs [0057] – [0058], & [0128]).
Regarding claim 27, Kodama teaches that the outflow portion 5 or the outflow port 251 is in fluid communication with the inner cylinder 21 at the other end of the casing body 22 which is opposing to the one end (Figures 1-2, & 8-9, paragraphs [0057] – [0058], & [0134]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al (PG-PUB US 20190321505) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Woelk (PG-PUB US 20210138519).
Regarding claim 35, Komada teaches that the light source 34 is enclosed in a UV transparent window 33 that fits in step portions 31a and 31b for sealing the UV light source 34 within the recess portion 32a (Figure 2, paragraphs [0100] – [0105]), but does not teach the window having a curved surface with concave and convex portions.
However, Woelk discloses an ultraviolet treatment apparatus (ABSTRACT). Woelk teaches that the apparatus comprises one or more UV LED 608 enclosed within a cavity having a dome-shaped UV transparent window 604 with concave and convex portions (Figure 6, paragraph [0046]). Woelk further indicates that the curved window can help reduce biofouling and may be a window-as-a-lens integration for more uniform UV distribution (paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a curved window as suggested by Woelk in order to reduce biofouling and provide more uniform UV distribution within the device of Kodama.
Conclusion
Claims 21, 23-27, 35, and 38 are rejected.
NOTE: Claims 22, 28-34, and 36-37 directly or indirectly depend upon canceled claim 1. Thus, claims 22, 28-34, and 36-37 will be treated as canceled claims.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795