DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 07/22/26. Claims 1-3, 11 and 19 have been amended, no new claims have been added, and no claims have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-19 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12-14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baiko (20180133419).
With respect to claim 1, Baiko discloses a method for determining a degree of degradation of a user interface (14, fig 1) worn by an individual during one or more uses of a respiratory therapy system (see fig 7-8 and claim 6, lines 1-5), the method comprising receiving data associated with the user interface (LLM data and [0048]); determining, based at least in part on the received data, a value of at least one degradation indicator (LLM data monitored and determine if set threshold is reached; [0049]) associated with the user interface (see [0050] and 202/206/208, fig 8), the at least one degradation indicator including a physical characteristic of the user interface (decomposition/wear of the cushion; see [0049-50]) that changes as the user interface is worn by the individual during the one or more uses of the respiratory therapy system (during therapy sessions), revealing a visual degradation indicator (normal wear and tear/decomposition of mask) at a predetermined location on the user interface (see location on mask 14 in fig 1); and determining the degree of degradation (threshold reached or not; 210-212, fig 8) of the user interface based at least in part on the value of the at least one degradation indicator (see [0053]).
With respect to claim 2, Baiko discloses the degradation indicator (52, fig 1) includes at least one audible degradation indicator (see [0043]).
With respect to claim 3, Baiko discloses the at least one visual degradation indicator includes a color of the user interface (see [0045]; LEDs change color of indicator part of interface).
With respect to claim 4, Baiko discloses the at least one audible degradation indicator includes a presence of one or more sounds generated (speaker outputs sound) during use of the user interface (see [0044]).
With respect to claim 5, Baiko discloses at least a portion of the user interface is configured to disintegrate (cushion disintegrates; see [0048]) as the user interface is worn by the individual during the one or more uses of the respiratory therapy system, the disintegration of the portion of the user interface generating one or more openings in the user interface (leak; see [0048-49] where the LLM indicates a leak; i.e. opening).
With respect to claim 8, Baiko discloses at least a portion of the user interface is configured to disintegrate as the user interface is worn by the individual during the one or more uses of the respiratory therapy system (see [0048-49]), the disintegration of the portion of the user interface causing a shape of an exterior surface of the user interface to change (the exterior seal surface changes as degradation occurs).
With respect to claim 9, Baiko discloses the one or more sounds (audible indicator) are generated in response to air flowing along the interior surface of the user interface (leaking; see [0048-50]).
With respect to claim 10, Baiko discloses the air flowing along the interior surface of the user interface or along the exterior surface of the user interface is caused by breathing of the user, a flow of pressurized air generated by the respiratory therapy system, or both (note the air within the interface would be provided from the breathing or pressurized air this the air flowing/leaking from the interface would be from the same).
With respect to claim 12, Baiko discloses the value of the at least one degradation indicator (threshold amount) is indicative of a visibility of the at least one degradation indicator (indicator is activated when the threshold is reached; see [0043] and fig 8)
With respect to claim 13, Baiko discloses the degree of degradation includes an amount of time spent using the user interface (see [0041]; “time wearing patient interface”).
With respect to claim 14, Baiko discloses the at least one degradation indicators includes a measure of a seal (cushion; 30, fig 1) between the user interface and at least a portion of a face of the individual (see [0049] where the LLM value is determined for a cushion and when the threshold of LLM is unacceptable the indicator is activated).
With respect to claim 17, Baiko discloses predicting the degree of degradation of the user interface based on data associated with one or more uses of at least one previous user interface by the individual (see [0048-49] where the cushion is monitored in a testing/learning phase and then determines the degradation based on the data).
With respect to claim 18, Baiko discloses a system (fig 1 and [0002]) for determining a degree of degradation of a user interface (14, fig 1) worn by an individual during one or more uses of a respiratory therapy system (see fig 1 and [0025]), the system including a control system (controller; 22, fig 1) having one or more processors (see [0033]) configured to implement the method of claim 1 (see claim1 above and [0033]).
With respect to claim 19, Baiko discloses a system (fig 1 and [0002]) for determining a degree of degradation of a user interface (14, fig 1) worn by an individual during one or more uses of a respiratory therapy system (see fig 1 and [0025]), the system including an electronic interface configured (14, fig 1) to receive data (see [0035]; over short range wireless network); a memory storing machine-readable instructions (see [0033]); and a control system (controller; 22, fig 1) having one or more processors (see [0033]) configured to execute the machine-readable instructions to receive data associated with the user interface (see [0033]); determine, based at least in part on the received data, a value of at least one degradation indicator (52, fig 1 which monitors and then indicates if a threshold is reached and provides feedback) associated with the user interface (see [0050] and 202/206/208, fig 8), the at least one degradation indicator including a physical characteristic of the user interface (decomposition/wear of the cushion; see [0049-50]) that changes as the user interface is worn by the individual during the one or more uses of the respiratory therapy system (during therapy sessions), revealing a visual degradation indicator (normal wear and tear/decomposition of mask) at a predetermined location on the user interface (see location on mask 14 in fig 1), the visual indicator including a shape of the user interface (cushion decomposes from normal wear and compresses down to change shape); and determine the degree of degradation (threshold reached or not; 210-212, fig 8) of the user interface based at least in part on the value of the at least one degradation indicator (see [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baiko in view of Wilkerson (2022/0126056).
With respect to claim 6, Baiko discloses all the elements as claimed above but lacks the one or more sounds are generated in response to air flowing through at least one of the one or more openings in the user interface.
However, Wilkerson teaches an interface (100, fig 1) comprising a portion of the user interface (seal) is configured to disintegrate as the user interface is worn by the individual during the one or more uses of the respiratory therapy system (see [0028] where the seal loosens), the disintegration of the portion of the user interface generating one or more openings in the user interface (note the loosening of the seal creates openings of the interface from the user’s face) and lacks the one or more sounds are generated in response to air flowing through at least one of the one or more openings in the user interface (see fig 4 and [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the patient interface of Baiko to disintegrate to form openings as taught by Wilkerson so as to
With respect to claim 7, the modified Baiko shows the air flowing through the at least one of the one or more openings in the user interface is caused by breathing of the user (see [0054-55] of Wilkerson).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baiko in view of Klee (CN106030586).
With respect to claim 15, Baiko discloses all the elements as claimed above but lacks the data associated with the user interface includes image data reproducible as one or more images of the user interface, and wherein determining the value of the at least one degradation indicator includes analyzing at least a portion of the image data.
However, Klee teaches a respiratory system (10, fig 1) receiving data (image from camera; 60, fig 3) associated with a user interface (12, fig 1) wherein the data associated with the user interface includes image data reproducible as one or more images of the user interface (see [0109] of translation), and wherein determining the value of at least one degradation indicator includes analyzing at least a portion of the image data (degraded below a predetermined level; see [0109] of translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Baiko to receive image data as taught by Klee so as to monitor the degradation of the interface seal so as to maintain efficiency of treatment (see [0082] of Klee translation).
With respect to claim 16, the modified Baiko shows transmitting a request to the individual to generate the image data (see Klee translation “the presentation component 56a' to remind the patient to take a picture of the patient interface” [0109]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is allowable over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on pg. 12 in remarks that “Applicant respectfully submits that such cracks or deformations in Baiko’s patient interface would occur at random and unpredictable locations.” This is not persuasive since the cracks or deformation would occur on the seal and therefore would be at a predictable location. Further, the cracks and wear of the seal would be visible to the user and/or medical professional providing the visual degradation indicator. Thus, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Klee (10,751,495) is cited to show a mask with a degradation indicator.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785