DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application. Claims 1-6 have been examined under the priority date of 10/31/2022. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 13-16 are amended in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2023, 01/19/2024 and 11/21/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks filed 2/17/2026) regarding the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered by the examiner and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Burgoyne fails to teach brightness being detected in each region of an image while a memory unit stores the image. The examiner respectfully disagrees, Burgoyne teaches in column 1 lines 60-65 that the images are stored in the memory and processed. Further, per Burgoyne column 10, lines 53-59, the pixels belonging to an object/region are binned, where the bins are determined by the brightness and speed of the object as part of the processing of the image. Burgoyne in column 20 lines 5-20 teaches that the system may use multithreading or multiprocessing to perform disclosed steps simultaneously, where the brightness processing and saving of images are disclosed steps. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this is analogous to the brightness being detected in regions in the image while a memory stores the image, given that all disclosed steps of Burgoyne may be performed simultaneously using multiprocessing. For at least the above reasons, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Burgoyne in view of Dugan. The examiner further notes that allowable subject matter has been indicated below (see Allowable Subject Matter section below) and encourages that applicant to amend independent claims 1, 14, 15, and 16 to incorporate this subject matter.
(Burgoyne, column 1, emphasis added)
(Burgoyne, Column 10)
(Burgoyne, column 20, emphasis added)
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
image capture unit of claims 1 and 3
memory unit of claims 1, 14, 15 and 16
brightness detection unit of claims 1 and 2
computation unit of claims 1 and 4
position determination unit of claims 1, 6, 10, and 13
storage unit of claims 5, 7, 9, and 10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 10-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgoyne (11748897 B1) and Dugan (20210407060 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Burgoyne discloses; An image processing circuit comprising:
an image capture unit configured to capture an image of a capturing object (Burgoyne, Column 2 lines 19-30, the system has digital camera (image capture unit) to capture images from a telescope, Column 3, lines 7-15, the images are passed to detect and characterize objects in the images);
a memory unit configured to store the image (Burgoyne, column 2, lines 38-32, the system has a memory for storing and processing images);
a brightness detection unit configured to, while the memory unit stores the image captured by the image capture unit, detect brightness in each criteria region in the image (Burgoyne, Column 10, lines 53-59, object’s pixels (criteria regions) are binned, where the bins are determined by the brightness and speed of the object, indicating that a brightness for that bin of pixels (criteria region) is determined or known by the system, Column 2, line 53 – column 3 line 4, the system has a processor which execute code to process the images (functionally equivalent to the brightness detection unit), column 1 lines 60-65 that the images are stored in the memory and processed, further column 20 lines 5-20 teaches that the system may use multithreading or multiprocessing to perform disclosed steps simultaneously, therefore it would be understood that the memory may store the images while they are being processed);
[a computation unit configured to compute a difference in the brightness of two adjacent criteria regions detected by the brightness detection unit;
and a position determination unit configured to determine a position of the capturing object in the image corresponding to a pixel having a brightness greater than a predetermined value on a basis of the difference in the brightness computed by the computation unit.]
Burgoyne does not disclose;
a computation unit configured to compute a difference in the brightness of two adjacent criteria regions detected by the brightness detection unit;
and a position determination unit configured to determine a position of the capturing object in the image corresponding to a pixel having a brightness greater than a predetermined value on a basis of the difference in the brightness computed by the computation unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dugan teaches;
a computation unit configured to compute a difference in the brightness of two adjacent criteria regions detected by the brightness detection unit (Dugan, [0043] the brightness of all pixels is computed to determine outliers using at threshold or comparison of the standard deviation of the brightness, further, [0044] the brightness of pixels only in the vicinity of one another (adjacent to one another) may be compared to determine the outliers);
and a position determination unit configured to determine a position of the capturing object in the image corresponding to a pixel having a brightness greater than a predetermined value on a basis of the difference in the brightness computed by the computation unit (Dugan, [0083] the location of the satellite or celestial body in the image is determined by the brightest pixel, where the pixel being the maximum brightness or not is the threshold value, further [0084] the location may also be determined by determining the point with the highest brightness cross correlation).
The combination of Burgoyne and Dugan would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The system of Burgoyne teaches a method of detecting and tracking the positions of stars and other celestial objects from images taken from a telescope, but it does not teach assessing changes in brightness to determine this location in the images. Dugan teaches this deficiency, teaching a method of assessing brightness and pixel characteristics to determine satellite trails and other celestial bodies in images. The motivation for the combination lies in that the ability to assess the changes in brightness allows for celestial bodies to be tracked and their positions to be determined. (Dugan, [0022]-[0024] and [0043]-[0044] and [0083]-[0084])
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; The image processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the criteria region is one pixel in the image (Burgoyne, column 3, line 50- column 8 line 9, the intensities and other values for each pixel are recorded before binning or grouping for further analysis, further in column 8 lines 10-25 analysis can be performed at the pixel level or the bin level depending on the size of the feature of interest in the image).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; The image processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the image capture unit includes an image sensor configured to capture the image (Burgoyne, Column 2 lines 19-30, the system has digital camera (image capture unit) to capture images from a telescope, Column 3, lines 7-15, the images are passed to detect and characterize objects in the images), and wherein the brightness detection unit, when detecting the brightness, reads the criteria region in order in a read out direction of the image from the image sensor (Burgoyne, Column 10, lines 53-59, object’s pixels (criteria regions) are binned, where the bins are determined by the brightness and speed of the object, indicating that a brightness for that bin of pixels (criteria region) is determined or known by the system, Column 2, line 53 – column 3 line 4, the system has a processor which execute code to process the images (functionally equivalent to the brightness detection unit), it is standard to bin pixels in the readout direction, further, Burgoyne discloses in column 11 lines 30-62, that the bins can be readjusted as a result of readout noise, indicating that the pixels are read in the read out direction).
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; The image processing circuit according to claim 3, wherein the computation unit computes the difference in the brightness by subtracting a brightness of a second criteria region, of the two adjacent criteria regions, located behind in a reading direction of the brightness detection unit from a brightness of a first criteria region, of the two adjacent criteria regions, located in front in the reading direction (Burgoyne, column 8 lines 10-41, the median pixel intensity/brightness values from two adjacent frames can be subtracted to get a difference in brightness and generate an image frame with the bright objects removed).
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; The image processing circuit according to claim 1, further comprising:
a storage unit configured to store a plurality of criteria regions in order (Burgoyne, column 4, lines 13-36, the system has a memory (storage unit) to store the images and regions), wherein while the storage unit is storing the plurality of criteria regions in order (Burgoyne, Column 2, line 44-53, the system captures several images with adjacent regions of the sky),
detection of the brightness by the brightness detection unit (Burgoyne, Column 10, lines 53-59, object’s pixels (criteria regions) are binned, where the bins are determined by the brightness and speed of the object, indicating that a brightness for that bin of pixels (criteria region) is determined or known by the system, Column 2, line 53 – column 3 line 4, the system has a processor which execute code to process the images (functionally equivalent to the brightness detection unit)),
computation of the difference in the brightness by the computation unit (Dugan, [0043] the brightness of all pixels is computed to determine outliers using at threshold or comparison of the standard deviation of the brightness, further, [0044] the brightness of pixels only in the vicinity of one another (adjacent to one another) may be compared to determine the outliers),
and determination of an actual position of the capturing object by the position determination unit are executed in order (Dugan, [0083] the location of the satellite or celestial body in the image is determined by the brightest pixel, where the pixel being the maximum brightness or not is the threshold value, further [0084] the location may also be determined by determining the point with the highest brightness cross correlation).
The combination of Burgoyne and Dugan would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The system of Burgoyne teaches a method of detecting and tracking the positions of stars and other celestial objects from images taken from a telescope, but it does not teach assessing changes in brightness to determine this location in the images. Dugan teaches this deficiency, teaching a method of assessing brightness and pixel characteristics to determine satellite trails and other celestial bodies in images. The motivation for the combination lies in that the ability to assess the changes in brightness allows for celestial bodies to be tracked and their positions to be determined. (Dugan, [0022]-[0024] and [0043]-[0044] and [0083]-[0084])
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; The image processing circuit according to claim 1, further comprising: a field programmable gate array (FPGA) (Burgoyne, column 20, lines 21-30 the system has an FPGA integrated into the circuit);
and a central processing unit (CPU) communicatively connected to the FPGA (Burgoyne, column 20, lines 19-35 the FPGA is connected to a processor, which can be a variety of types of processors), wherein the FPGA includes at least one of the brightness detection unit, the computation unit, and the position determination unit (Burgoyne, column 20, lines 19-35 the FPGA is connected to a processor, which can be a variety of types of processors, the processors are being interpreting as being functionally equivalent to the units as per [0160] of the applicant’s specification.).
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; The image processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the image processing circuit is installed in an image capture apparatus (Burgoyne, column 19, lines 20-50, the system is circuit/system containing an image capture device).
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; A method for determining a position of a capturing object, the method comprising:
capturing an image of the capturing object (Burgoyne, Column 2 lines 19-30, the system has digital camera (image capture unit) to capture images from a telescope, Column 3, lines 7-15, the images are passed to detect and characterize objects in the images);
storing the image in a memory unit(Burgoyne, column 2, lines 38-32, the system has a memory for storing and processing images);
while the memory unit stores the image captured by the image capture unit, detecting brightness in each criteria region in the image (Burgoyne, Column 10, lines 53-59, object’s pixels (criteria regions) are binned, where the bins are determined by the brightness and speed of the object, indicating that a brightness for that bin of pixels (criteria region) is determined or known by the system, Column 2, line 53 – column 3 line 4, the system has a processor which execute code to process the images (functionally equivalent to the brightness detection unit), column 1 lines 60-65 that the images are stored in the memory and processed, further column 20 lines 5-20 teaches that the system may use multithreading or multiprocessing to perform disclosed steps simultaneously, therefore it would be understood that the memory may store the images while they are being processed);
computing a difference in the brightness of two adjacent criteria regions detected by the detecting (Dugan, [0043] the brightness of all pixels is computed to determine outliers using at threshold or comparison of the standard deviation of the brightness, further, [0044] the brightness of pixels only in the vicinity of one another (adjacent to one another) may be compared to determine the outliers);
and determining an actual position of the capturing object on a basis of the difference in the brightness computed in the computing (Dugan, [0083] the location of the satellite or celestial body in the image is determined by the brightest pixel, where the pixel being the maximum brightness or not is the threshold value, further [0084] the location may also be determined by determining the point with the highest brightness cross correlation).
The combination of Burgoyne and Dugan would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The system of Burgoyne teaches a method of detecting and tracking the positions of stars and other celestial objects from images taken from a telescope, but it does not teach assessing changes in brightness to determine this location in the images. Dugan teaches this deficiency, teaching a method of assessing brightness and pixel characteristics to determine satellite trails and other celestial bodies in images. The motivation for the combination lies in that the ability to assess the changes in brightness allows for celestial bodies to be tracked and their positions to be determined. (Dugan, [0022]-[0024] and [0043]-[0044] and [0083]-[0084])
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program, the program causing a computer to execute a method comprising (Burgoyne, Column 19, lines 25-55, the system has a processor configured to perform multiple rounds of processing on the images):
capturing an image of a capturing object (Burgoyne, Column 2 lines 19-30, the system has digital camera (image capture unit) to capture images from a telescope, Column 3, lines 7-15, the images are passed to detect and characterize objects in the images);
a brightness detection unit configured to, while the memory unit stores the image captured by the image capture unit, detect brightness in each criteria region in the image (Burgoyne, Column 10, lines 53-59, object’s pixels (criteria regions) are binned, where the bins are determined by the brightness and speed of the object, indicating that a brightness for that bin of pixels (criteria region) is determined or known by the system, Column 2, line 53 – column 3 line 4, the system has a processor which execute code to process the images (functionally equivalent to the brightness detection unit, column 1 lines 60-65 that the images are stored in the memory and processed, further column 20 lines 5-20 teaches that the system may use multithreading or multiprocessing to perform disclosed steps simultaneously, therefore it would be understood that the memory may store the images while they are being processed);
computing a difference in the brightness of two adjacent criteria regions detected by the detecting (Dugan, [0043] the brightness of all pixels is computed to determine outliers using at threshold or comparison of the standard deviation of the brightness, further, [0044] the brightness of pixels only in the vicinity of one another (adjacent to one another) may be compared to determine the outliers),
and determining an actual position of the capturing object on a basis of the difference in the brightness computed in the computing (Dugan, [0083] the location of the satellite or celestial body in the image is determined by the brightest pixel, where the pixel being the maximum brightness or not is the threshold value, further [0084] the location may also be determined by determining the point with the highest brightness cross correlation).
The combination of Burgoyne and Dugan would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The system of Burgoyne teaches a method of detecting and tracking the positions of stars and other celestial objects from images taken from a telescope, but it does not teach assessing changes in brightness to determine this location in the images. Dugan teaches this deficiency, teaching a method of assessing brightness and pixel characteristics to determine satellite trails and other celestial bodies in images. The motivation for the combination lies in that the ability to assess the changes in brightness allows for celestial bodies to be tracked and their positions to be determined. (Dugan, [0022]-[0024] and [0043]-[0044] and [0083]-[0084])
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan teaches; An image processing apparatus comprising:
an image sensor configured to capture an image of a capturing object and (Burgoyne, Column 2 lines 19-30, the system has digital camera (image capture unit) to capture images from a telescope, Column 3, lines 7-15, the images are passed to detect and characterize objects in the images);
a memory unit configured to store the image (Burgoyne, column 2, lines 38-32, the system has a memory for storing and processing images);
and at least one processor configured to execute (Burgoyne, Column 19, lines 25-55, the system has a processor configured to perform multiple rounds of processing on the images),
wherein the
while the memory unit stores the image captured by the image capture unit, detecting brightness in each criteria region in the image (Burgoyne, Column 10, lines 53-59, object’s pixels (criteria regions) are binned, where the bins are determined by the brightness and speed of the object, indicating that a brightness for that bin of pixels (criteria region) is determined or known by the system, Column 2, line 53 – column 3 line 4, the system has a processor which execute code to process the images (functionally equivalent to the brightness detection unit), column 1 lines 60-65 that the images are stored in the memory and processed, further column 20 lines 5-20 teaches that the system may use multithreading or multiprocessing to perform disclosed steps simultaneously, therefore it would be understood that the memory may store the images while they are being processed);
computing a difference in the brightness of two adjacent criteria regions detected by the detecting (Dugan, [0043] the brightness of all pixels is computed to determine outliers using at threshold or comparison of the standard deviation of the brightness, further, [0044] the brightness of pixels only in the vicinity of one another (adjacent to one another) may be compared to determine the outliers),
and determining a position of the capturing object in the image corresponding to a pixel having a brightness greater than a predetermined value on a basis of the difference in the brightness computed by the computing (Dugan, [0083] the location of the satellite or celestial body in the image is determined by the brightest pixel, where the pixel being the maximum brightness or not is the threshold value, further [0084] the location may also be determined by determining the point with the highest brightness cross correlation).
The combination of Burgoyne and Dugan would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The system of Burgoyne teaches a method of detecting and tracking the positions of stars and other celestial objects from images taken from a telescope, but it does not teach assessing changes in brightness to determine this location in the images. Dugan teaches this deficiency, teaching a method of assessing brightness and pixel characteristics to determine satellite trails and other celestial bodies in images. The motivation for the combination lies in that the ability to assess the changes in brightness allows for celestial bodies to be tracked and their positions to be determined. (Dugan, [0022]-[0024] and [0043]-[0044] and [0083]-[0084])
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgoyne (11748897 B1) and Dugan (20210407060 A1) in view of Tchilian (US 20200174094 A1).
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Burgoyne and Dugan does not teach;
[The image processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the capturing object is a star,
wherein the image processing circuit is a star tracker installed in a spacecraft,
and wherein an attitude determining unit configured to determine an attitude of the spacecraft on a basis of a position of the star determined by the position determination unit is further provided.]
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tchilian teaches;
The image processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the capturing object is a star (Tchilian, [0022] frames of image data are collected of stars, to identify the pixels belonging to stars and other objects),
wherein the image processing circuit is a star tracker installed in a spacecraft (Tchilian, [0019] the system has a star tracker, [0017] the system has a platform on which the star tracker is installed, where the platform is a spacecraft),
and wherein an attitude determining unit configured to determine an attitude of the spacecraft on a basis of a position of the star determined by the position determination unit is further provided (Tchilian, [0020] the star tracker can determine its attitude based on the positions of the stars. [0009] the system has a processor that executes the instructions for determine the attitude, which is analogous to the attitude determining unit).
The combination of Burgoyne, Dugan and Tchilian would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the presently claimed invention. Burgoyne and Dugan both teach methods of tracking and determining the positions of stars and other astral bodies, but do not teach these methods as being used on a spacecraft. Tchilian teaches this deficiency, and teaches a method of determining the attitude or orientation of the spacecraft the tracker is on. The addition of the method of Tchilian would be advantageous because being able to determine the orientation and position of the star tracker in reference to its surroundings and to be able to track targets that are both dim and bright is helpful in accurately and safely navigating space missions. (Tchilian, [0001]-[0007])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 are allowable.
Regarding claim 5, neither the closest known art nor any reasonable combination thereof teaches the limitation;
wherein the storage unit stores, as a top candidate with the brightness at a maximum, a position of the preceding pixel in a case where a distance from a first pixel to a second pixel is greater than a specified value
The closest known pieces of prior art are Wiedemann (US 20110085703 A1) and Dugan (US 09/25/2025). Wiedemann teaches subtracting two adjacent images to detect light and dark objects after spatial filtering. It does not teach this using a preceding pixel position or maximum value to do this (Wiedemann, [0167]-[0170]). Dugan teaches subtracting light tails of satellites from space images, but it does not teach this as being based on a distance of the pixel or that this is done between two adjacent or preceding pixels (Dugan, [0024] and [0043]).
Claims 6-9 are dependent on claim 5 and are therefore also allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For a listing of analogous art as cited by the examiner please see the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
/J.M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/Molly Wilburn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666