DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse in the reply filed on December 23, 2025 is acknowledged. Upon reconsideration of the Restriction requirement dated October 28, 2025, the restriction is hereby withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are pending and the following Office action addresses each claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Second Paragraph
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is rejected because “the camera component” (i.e. the last three words) lacks antecedent basis. This was recited as “a removable camera device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2012/0016191) in view of Duval et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2008/0071291).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a cover-adapted treatment endoscope and endoscope cover (see Title). Specifically, Ito teaches a robotic surgical system comprising:
robotic device comprising:
a device body (see numeral 13 in Figure 1) comprising:
a camera body receptable disposed at a proximal portion of the device body (see numeral 27 in Figure 1; “a hood-shaped coupling member (coupler) 27 disposed to the proximal side of the distribution branch 26” … “The coupling member 27 includes a coupling mechanism configured to couple a side of the endoscope cover 13 to the cover-adapted endoscope 12”, see paragraphs 39-40), the receptacle comprising a receptacle opening defined within the receptacle (see opening shown in Figure 4); and
a camera lumen defined within the device body (see insertion passage 20 in Figure 4), wherein the camera lumen is in fluidic communication with the camera body receptacle (see the proximal end of insertion passage 20 in Figure 4, shown within coupling member 27);
(ii) a first robotic arm operably coupled to the distal end of the device body at a first shoulder joint (see one of treatment arms 45 or 46, visible extending out of the distal end of device body 13, each arm having a “second bending portion 102” as illustrated in Figure 8, which represents a shoulder joint); the first robotic arm comprising a first end effector operably coupled to the first robotic arm (see Figure 9, which illustrates a treatment portion 121 at the distal end of one of the two arms; note that paragraph 60 teaches that either treatment arm 45 and 46 may be provided with a treatment tool); and
(iii) a second robotic arm operably coupled to the distal end of the device body at a second shoulder joint (see the other one of treatment arms 45 or 46, visible extending out of the distal end of device body 13, each arm having a “second bending portion 102” as illustrated in Figure 8, which represents a shoulder joint); the second robotic arm comprising a second end effector operably coupled to the second robotic arm (see Figure 9, which illustrates a treatment portion 121 at the distal end of one of the two arms; note that paragraph 60 teaches that either treatment arm 45 and 46 may be provided with a treatment tool); and
a removable camera device (see numeral 12 in Figure 1) comprising:
a proximal body sized and shaped to be removably positionable within the receptable opening such that the proximal body is mateably coupleable with the receptacle (see main body operation portion 22 in Figure 1; “The lock piece 31 detachably engages with a lock receiving portion 24 (see FIG. 1) provided on a side surface of an exterior case 23 of the main body operation portion 22, and constitutes a coupling part. The proximal end portion of the coupling member 27 is shaped to correspond to the shape of a distal end portion of the main body operation portion 22” – see paragraph 42)
(ii) an elongate tube operably coupled to the proximal body (see endoscope main body 21 in Figures 1, 4 and 5), wherein the elongate tube is sized to be positionable through the camera lumen defined in the device body (see paragraph 38, “The endoscope main body 21 can be inserted into an insertion passage 20 formed in the endoscope cover 13“) such that a distal end of the elongate tube extends out of a distal lumen opening when the camera device is attached to the robotic device (see Duval below), wherein the distal lumen opening is in fluidic communication with the camera lumen (see combination with Duval below).
However, Ito does not teach “that a distal end of the elongate tube extends out of a distal lumen opening when the camera device is attached to the robotic device), wherein the distal lumen opening is in fluidic communication with the camera lumen”
Duval teaches a surgical system in which “two surgical instruments are extended through a single guide tube” (see Abstract) and an imaging device is provided therewith. Figure 8 illustrates an endoscopic imaging system 812 located at a distal end of the guide tube 804, in a position between the two surgical instruments 806a,b which extend through lumens 802a,b. This configuration is similar to the configuration of Ito, in that the imager is positioned at the end of the main guide tube. This configuration with an imager at the distal end is shown in another embodiment in Figures 10-11 and 12A. However, Duval teaches a different option – “instead of a fixed endoscopic imaging system at the end of the guide tube, assembly 1700 has an independently operating endoscopic imaging system 1704” (see paragraph 200 and Figures 17, 17A and 17B). “FIG. 17B is a diagrammatic perspective view that illustrates an embodiment of surgical instrument assembly 1700. As shown, two independently teleoperated surgical instruments 1740a,1740b … run through and emerge at the distal end of a rigid guide tube 1742… In addition, an independently teleoperated endoscopic imaging system 1750 runs through and emerges at the distal end of guide tube 1742” (see paragraph 203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide an imager/camera that can extend from the distal end of the device body and be manipulatable to a position off-axis from the device body, as taught by Duval, and to utilize this capability in the system and methods of Ito in order to provide and ensure intuitive control for the operator, where “Intuitive control is provided by orienting the relative positions of the end effectors and the endoscopic imaging system with the positions of the surgeon's input mechanisms and image output display. This orientation allows the surgeon to manipulate the input mechanisms and end effector controls as if viewing the surgical work site in substantially true presence” (see paragraph 141 of Duval).
It is noted that by this combination, it would be obvious to provide an imaging device that extends out of the distal end of the guide tube portion, which therefore means the lumen through which the imaging device extends (i.e., the camera lumen) will be in fluid communication with the distal lumen opening as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Ito teaches that “the main body operation portion 22 of the cover-adapted endoscope 12 is provided with a bending operation mechanism configured to bend the main body bending portion” (see paragraph 53, see imaging system controlling switch button 83, up-down directions bending operation knob 77, air supply/water supply operation button 81 and a suction operation button 82 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Duval teaches a substantially rigid section, an optical section and a flexible section therebetween the other two sections, as illustrated in the reproduction of Figure 17B.
Regarding claim 4, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the optical section, the flexible section, and the rigid section would be capable of being completely straightened, since this would be required to allow the endoscopic imaging system 1750 to “run through and emerge at the distal end of the guide tube 1742 (see paragraph 203). Additionally, paragraph 203 teaches that “In some aspects imaging system 1750 also includes a parallel motion mechanism 1752, a pitch-only wrist mechanism 1754 at the distal end of the parallel motion mechanism 1752… In an illustrative use, parallel motion mechanism 1752 heaves and sways image capture component 1756 up and to the side, and wrist mechanism 1754 orients image capture component 1756 to place the center of the field of view between the instrument tips if the instruments are working to the side of the guide tube's extended centerline.”
Regarding claim 8, in an additional embodiment, Duval teaches that “In still other instances, as mentioned above, surgical instrument 902's distal end is actively flexible, and end effector 910 is replaced by an endoscopic imaging system 914 as shown in FIG. 9A. In these instances a distal imaging device may be coupled to the actively flexible end of surgical instrument 902 with a wrist-type mechanism 916 that provides at least a DOF in pitch” (see paragraph 170). It is additionally noted that the surgical instruments throughout the multiple embodiments are shown as being rotatable within their respective lumens (see Figures 3, 4, 5, 6, 10 and 16, in which small circular arrows are seen around the lines associated with the surgical instruments as they enter the proximal end of the guide tube). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a rotational degree of freedom to the imager in order to provide increased flexibility with regard to camera placement.
Regarding claim 9, Ito discloses a cover-adapted treatment endoscope and endoscope cover (see Title). Specifically, Ito teaches a robotic surgical system comprising:
robotic device comprising:
a device body (see numeral 13 in Figure 1) comprising:
a camera body receptable disposed at a proximal portion of the device body (see numeral 27 in Figure 1; “a hood-shaped coupling member (coupler) 27 disposed to the proximal side of the distribution branch 26” … “The coupling member 27 includes a coupling mechanism configured to couple a side of the endoscope cover 13 to the cover-adapted endoscope 12”, see paragraphs 39-40), the receptacle comprising a receptacle opening defined within the receptacle (see opening shown in Figure 4); and
a camera lumen defined within the device body (see insertion passage 20 in Figure 4), such that the camera lumen comprises a proximal lumen opening defined within the receptable opening (see the proximal end of insertion passage 20 in Figure 4, shown within coupling member 27) and a distal lumen opening defined in a distal portion of the device body (see combination with Duval below);
wherein the receptable opening has a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the camera lumen (see the proximal end of insertion passage 20 in Figure 4, which is clearly shown within coupling member 27, where the diameter of the receptable opening is greater than the diameter of the insertion passage 20);
(ii) a first robotic arm coupled to the distal end of the device body via a first shoulder joint (see one of treatment arms 45 or 46, visible extending out of the distal end of device body 13, each arm having a “second bending portion 102” as illustrated in Figure 8, which represents a shoulder joint), the first robotic arm comprising a first end effector operably coupled to the first robotic arm (see Figure 9, which illustrates a treatment portion 121 at the distal end of one of the two arms; note that paragraph 60 teaches that either treatment arm 45 and 46 may be provided with a treatment tool); and
(iii) a second robotic arm operably coupled to the distal end of the device body via a second shoulder joint (see the other one of treatment arms 45 or 46, visible extending out of the distal end of device body 13, each arm having a “second bending portion 102” as illustrated in Figure 8, which represents a shoulder joint), the second robotic arm comprising a second end effector operably coupled to the second robotic arm (see Figure 9, which illustrates a treatment portion 121 at the distal end of one of the two arms; note that paragraph 60 teaches that either treatment arm 45 and 46 may be provided with a treatment tool); and
a removable camera device (see numeral 12 in Figure 1) comprising:
a proximal body sized and shaped to be positionable within the receptable opening such that the proximal body is mateably coupleable with the receptacle (see main body operation portion 22 in Figure 1; “The lock piece 31 detachably engages with a lock receiving portion 24 (see FIG. 1) provided on a side surface of an exterior case 23 of the main body operation portion 22, and constitutes a coupling part. The proximal end portion of the coupling member 27 is shaped to correspond to the shape of a distal end portion of the main body operation portion 22” – see paragraph 42); and
(ii) an elongate tube operably coupled to the proximal body (see endoscope main body 21 in Figures 1, 4 and 5), wherein the elongate tube is sized to be positionable through the camera lumen (see paragraph 38, “The endoscope main body 21 can be inserted into an insertion passage 20 formed in the endoscope cover 13“) such that a distal end of the elongate tube extends distally from the distal lumen opening when the proximal body is mateably coupled with the receptacle (see Duval below),
wherein the elongate tube is configured to be rotatable in relation to the proximal body (see combination with Duval below).
However, Ito does not teach “a distal lumen opening defined in a distal portion of the device body”, ”such that a distal end of the elongate tube extends distally from the distal lumen opening when the proximal body is mateably coupled with the receptacle”, nor “wherein the elongate tube is configured to be rotatable in relation to the proximal body”.
Duval teaches a surgical system in which “two surgical instruments are extended through a single guide tube” (see Abstract) and an imaging device is provided therewith. Figure 8 illustrates an endoscopic imaging system 812 located at a distal end of the guide tube 804, in a position between the two surgical instruments 806a,b which extend through lumens 802a,b. This configuration is similar to the configuration of Ito, in that the imager is positioned at the end of the main guide tube. This configuration with an imager at the distal end is shown in another embodiment in Figures 10-11 and 12A. However, Duval teaches a different option – “instead of a fixed endoscopic imaging system at the end of the guide tube, assembly 1700 has an independently operating endoscopic imaging system 1704” (see paragraph 200 and Figures 17, 17A and 17B). “FIG. 17B is a diagrammatic perspective view that illustrates an embodiment of surgical instrument assembly 1700. As shown, two independently teleoperated surgical instruments 1740a,1740b … run through and emerge at the distal end of a rigid guide tube 1742… In addition, an independently teleoperated endoscopic imaging system 1750 runs through and emerges at the distal end of guide tube 1742” (see paragraph 203). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide an imager/camera that can extend from the distal end of the device body and be manipulatable to a position off-axis from the device body, as taught by Duval, and to utilize this capability in the system and methods of Ito in order to provide and ensure intuitive control for the operator, where “Intuitive control is provided by orienting the relative positions of the end effectors and the endoscopic imaging system with the positions of the surgeon's input mechanisms and image output display. This orientation allows the surgeon to manipulate the input mechanisms and end effector controls as if viewing the surgical work site in substantially true presence” (see paragraph 141 of Duval).
And regarding the rotation of the elongate tube in relation to the proximal body, Duval teaches that “In still other instances, as mentioned above, surgical instrument 902's distal end is actively flexible, and end effector 910 is replaced by an endoscopic imaging system 914 as shown in FIG. 9A. In these instances a distal imaging device may be coupled to the actively flexible end of surgical instrument 902 with a wrist-type mechanism 916 that provides at least a DOF in pitch” (see paragraph 170). It is additionally noted that the surgical instruments throughout the multiple embodiments are shown as being rotatable within their respective lumens (see Figures 3, 4, 5, 6, 10 and 16, in which small circular arrows are seen around the lines associated with the surgical instruments as they enter the proximal end of the guide tube). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a rotational degree of freedom to the imager in order to provide increased flexibility with regard to camera placement.
It is noted that by this combination, it would be obvious to provide an imaging device that extends out of the distal end of the guide tube portion, which therefore means the camera lumen comprises a proximal lumen opening defined within the receptable opening and a distal lumen opening defined in a distal portion of the device body.
Regarding claim 10, Duval teaches a substantially rigid section, an optical section and a flexible section therebetween the other two sections, as illustrated in the reproduction of Figure 17B
Regarding claims 14-15, it can be seen in the image of Figure 17B of Duval to the right, that the imaging component is “positioned between the first and second shoulder joints” in Duval. Additionally, Figures 7 and 8 of Ito illustrate the imaging component 132 similarly “positioned between the first and second shoulder joints”. It is noted that these components are in these positions when the device is in operable use (i.e., when the endoscope has been inserted into the guide tube body, as illustrated in Figure 2 of Ito).
Regarding claim 16, it is noted that paragraph 168 of the PGPUB 2024/0065683, representative of the specification of the instant application, states “In one embodiment, the body 12 can be coupled at its proximal end to a positioning rod (also referred to as an “insertion rod”) (not shown). It is understood that the positioning rod can be any such known component for helping to position the device 10 and/or maintain and stabilize the position of the device 10. According to one implementation, the power/communication line 102 and/or the cautery power line 104 can extend proximally through one or more lumens in the positioning rod.” The section of Duval within the black box shown below illustrates a “positioning rod” through which the power/communication lines and power lines of Duval run. Additionally, this may be held by the user to assist in maintaining and stabilizing the position of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Ito discloses a cover-adapted treatment endoscope and endoscope cover (see Title). Specifically, Ito teaches a robotic surgical system comprising:
robotic device comprising:
a device body (see numeral 13 in Figure 1) comprising:
a camera body receptable disposed at a proximal portion of the device body (see numeral 27 in Figure 1; “a hood-shaped coupling member (coupler) 27 disposed to the proximal side of the distribution branch 26” … “The coupling member 27 includes a coupling mechanism configured to couple a side of the endoscope cover 13 to the cover-adapted endoscope 12”, see paragraphs 39-40), the receptacle comprising a receptacle opening defined within the receptacle (see opening shown in Figure 4); and
a camera lumen defined within the device body (see insertion passage 20 in Figure 4), such that the camera lumen comprises a proximal lumen opening defined within the receptable opening (see the proximal end of insertion passage 20 in Figure 4, shown within coupling member 27) and a distal lumen opening defined in a distal portion of the device body (see combination with Duval below);
wherein the receptable opening has a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the camera lumen (see the proximal end of insertion passage 20 in Figure 4, which is clearly shown within coupling member 27, where the diameter of the receptable opening is greater than the diameter of the insertion passage 20);
(ii) first and second should joints operably coupled to the distal end of the device body (see one of treatment arms 45 or 46, visible extending out of the distal end of device body 13, each arm having a “second bending portion 102” as illustrated in Figure 8, which represents a shoulder joint);
(iii) a first robotic arm pivotally attached to the first shoulder joint (see one of treatment arms 45 or 46 in Figure 7, where each robotic arm is straight, versus Figure 8 where they have each pivoted off-axis from the longitudinal axis of the guide tube 25); and
(iv) a second robotic arm pivotally attached to the second shoulder joint (see one of treatment arms 45 or 46 in Figure 7, where each robotic arm is straight, versus Figure 8 where they have each pivoted off-axis from the longitudinal axis of the guide tube 25),
Wherein the distal lumen opening is defined between the first and second should joints (Figures 7 and 8 of Ito illustrate the imaging component 132 similarly “positioned between the first and second shoulder joints); and
a removable camera device (see numeral 12 in Figure 1) comprising:
a proximal body configured to be removably positionable within the receptable, wherein the proximal body is sized to fit within the opening such that the proximal body is mateably coupleable with the receptacle (see main body operation portion 22 in Figure 1; “The lock piece 31 detachably engages with a lock receiving portion 24 (see FIG. 1) provided on a side surface of an exterior case 23 of the main body operation portion 22, and constitutes a coupling part. The proximal end portion of the coupling member 27 is shaped to correspond to the shape of a distal end portion of the main body operation portion 22” – see paragraph 42); and
(ii) an elongate tube operably coupled to the proximal body (see endoscope main body 21 in Figures 1, 4 and 5), the elongate tube comprising (A) a rigid section; (b) an optical section; and (C) a flexible section operably coupling the optical section to the rigid section (see the reproduction of Figure 17B above in the rejections of claims 3 and 10),
Wherein the elongate tube is sized to be positionable through the camera lumen (see paragraph 38, “The endoscope main body 21 can be inserted into an insertion passage 20 formed in the endoscope cover 13“) such that the optical section extends distally from the distal lumen opening when the proximal body is mateably coupled with the receptacle (see Duval below).
However, Ito does not teach “a distal lumen opening defined in a distal portion of the device body”, nor ”such that a distal end of the elongate tube extends distally from the distal lumen opening when the proximal body is mateably coupled with the receptacle”.
Duval teaches a surgical system in which “two surgical instruments are extended through a single guide tube” (see Abstract) and an imaging device is provided therewith. Figure 8 illustrates an endoscopic imaging system 812 located at a distal end of the guide tube 804, in a position between the two surgical instruments 806a,b which extend through lumens 802a,b. This configuration is similar to the configuration of Ito, in that the imager is positioned at the end of the main guide tube. This configuration with an imager at the distal end is shown in another embodiment in Figures 10-11 and 12A. However, Duval teaches a different option – “instead of a fixed endoscopic imaging system at the end of the guide tube, assembly 1700 has an independently operating endoscopic imaging system 1704” (see paragraph 200 and Figures 17, 17A and 17B). “FIG. 17B is a diagrammatic perspective view that illustrates an embodiment of surgical instrument assembly 1700. As shown, two independently teleoperated surgical instruments 1740a,1740b … run through and emerge at the distal end of a rigid guide tube 1742… In addition, an independently teleoperated endoscopic imaging system 1750 runs through and emerges at the distal end of guide tube 1742” (see paragraph 203). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide an imager/camera that can extend from the distal end of the device body and be manipulatable to a position off-axis from the device body, as taught by Duval, and to utilize this capability in the system and methods of Ito in order to provide and ensure intuitive control for the operator, where “Intuitive control is provided by orienting the relative positions of the end effectors and the endoscopic imaging system with the positions of the surgeon's input mechanisms and image output display. This orientation allows the surgeon to manipulate the input mechanisms and end effector controls as if viewing the surgical work site in substantially true presence” (see paragraph 141 of Duval).
It is noted that by this combination, it would be obvious to provide an imaging device that extends out of the distal end of the guide tube portion, which therefore means the camera lumen comprises a proximal lumen opening defined within the receptable opening and a distal lumen opening defined in a distal portion of the device body.
Claims 5-7, 11-13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Duval, as applied to claims 3, 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Uihlein et al. (US Patent No. 5,656,011).
Ito in combination with Duval is described above with regard to claims 3, 10 and 17. Duval teaches the bending of the optical section, and the use of cables to provide tensile strength (see paragraphs 188-192 and 199), there is not great detail into an increased or decreased tension state.
Uihlein teaches an endoscope tube system (see Title), within which “the construction of the elastically bendable tube section 2 is illustrated in detail in FIGS. 2 to 7” (see column 4, lines 10-12). Column 4, lines 47-67 describes the configuration of two spring bands 3,4 shown in Figures 2-4, and it then states that “The resulting curvature indicated in FIG. 3 in this case is opposite to the natural curvature of the spring bands 3, 4 indicated in FIG. 2 so that, when the tension force (F) at the tension spring band 4 diminishes, they jointly lead the bendable tube section 2 elastically back into the linear starting position illustrated in FIG. 2” (see column 4, line 67 through column 5, line 5). Therefore, when there is a decreased tension (force F as shown in Figure 3, described in column 4, lines 47-67 as referenced above), then the endoscope returns to a straight configuration and when there is increased tension the endoscope takes on a tilted/bent state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the spring band configuration to cause bending of an endoscope, as taught by Uihlein, within the system and methods of Ito as combined with Duval, and specifically to allow bending of the endoscopic/imaging portion of Duval because this type of bending actuation allows for the endoscope to be easily taken apart and cleaned, but also it “permits the adjustability of the elastically bendable section at different bending angles with a respective comparatively high stiffness” (see column 1, lines 52-56), which improves the safety (via cleanliness) and versatility (ability to vary the bending angles) of the devices of Ito and Duval.
Regarding claim 19, Uihlein teaches a plurality of disks (see numeral 1 in Figures 2 and 3) and includes an inner ring (see 1a in Figure 4) which reads on an articulated spine which is bendable along with the rings (and therefore flexible). As seen in Figure 4, the elongate actuation component 4 is disposed within a groove formed by the inner ring. It is also noted that the spring band 3 is connected to each disk within groove 9. Additionally, Uihlein teaches that “A tension spring band 4 extends axially along the interior-side axial groove 10 and is connected only with the most forward individual member 1', as illustrated in FIG. 6” (see column 4, lines 26-29), which by the combination with Duval, the most forward individual member would be the optical section of the device.
Regarding claim 20, Figures 2 and 3 illustrate “elbow joints” (see numerals 1a,1d and 1c,1b). As illustrated first cable 3 is on one side of the elbow joint(s) and second cable 4 is on the other side of the elbow joint(s).
Conclusion
/JAMES KISH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792