DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3, 7-10, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Ven Der Velde et al (EP 3446521 B1: WO-2018016853 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ven Der Velde et al a capability reporting method for a wireless communication device (fig. 8), comprising: receiving a capability enquiry message from a network (step 1: UECapabilityEnquiry>Requested RATs (LTE, 5G, LTE-5G)) and see claim 1, transmitting, to the terminal, a first message requesting capability information for a combination of the first RAT type and the second RAT type of the inter-RAT dual connectivity ); determining a plurality of weightings for a serving Radio Access Technology (RAT) and at least one non-serving RAT (page 7, paragraph 0035, in the embodiment of figure 2, the UE informs LTE network (eNB), in message 2, within LTE capabilities how its LTE are impacted by conflicting 5G configurations. Likewise, the 5G radio network is informed within 5G UE capabilities, wherein the weighting for the at least one non-serving RAT is downgraded; page 6, paragraph 0032; the impact of conflicting 5G configuration could be: non-support, reduced support (lower value/performance); composing a plurality of capability information for the serving RAT and the non-serving RAT according to the weightings, wherein size of the capability information for the at least one non-serving RAT is reduced (page 6, paragraph 0032; the impact of conflicting 5G configuration could be: non-support, reduced support (lower value/performance); combining the capability information for the serving RAT and the capability information for the at least one non-serving RAT to obtain a capability report message (UECapabilityinformation, >UE-capabilities : LTE, 5G, LTE-5G); and replying the capability report message to the network (step 2 : UECapabilityinformation ), and claim 1, receiving, from the terminal, a second message including the capability information of the terminal for the combination of the first RAT type and the second RAT type).
Regarding claim 2, Ven Der Velde et al a capability reporting method for a wireless communication device (fig. 8), wherein a capability information for the serving RAT occupies major size of the capability report message (fig. 11; a message exchange related to L2 buffer size coordination; the UE indicates the total L2 buffer size to MN by extending the existing LTE capability field with new or larger values ; page 18; paragraph 179).
Regarding claim 3, Ven Der Velde et al a capability reporting method for a wireless communication device (fig. 8), wherein a size of the capability information for the serving RAT is larger than or equal to a size of the capability information for the at least one non-serving RAT (read as: figure 26 illustrates the message exchanges between a UE and two network nodes, NN1 and NN2; NN1 requests resumption of suspended RAT1 UE capabilities (i.e. a larger piece of the UE capabilities) and indicates the throughput gain it can achieve with the resumed capabilities; page 28, paragraph 294-302).
Regarding claim 7, Ven Der Velde et al a capability reporting method for a wireless communication device (fig. 8), wherein only partial of a plurality band combinations for the non-serving RAT are recorded in the capability report message (figure 8 shows a message exchange relating to the transfer of capability information from the UE to the MN; the MN requests the UE to provide the capabilities of any RAT combinations for which it may configure aggregation ; note that only the MN initiates addition of Secondary Cells, so the MN can ensure limitations regarding bands/ band combinations ; the network is unable to apply LTE and 5G configuration options independently but have to choose between a limited set of combination supported by the UE ; for example, in case of LTE- 5G DC, the common UE capability container may cover the band combination comprising LTE and 5G bands; page 15, paragraph 135-144; page 16, paragraph 153-162).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Ven Der Velde et al discloses a capability reporting method for a wireless communication device (fig. 8), comprising: receiving a capability enquiry message from a network (see claim 1, transmitting, to the terminal, a first message requesting capability information for a combination of the first RAT type and the second RAT type of the inter-RAT dual connectivity); and replying a capability report message with dynamic distribution for a serving Radio Access Technology (RAT) and at least one non-serving RAT to the network (receiving, from the terminal, a second message including the capability information of the terminal for the combination of the first RAT type and the second RAT type, the capability information comprising information on at least one band combination supported by the terminal for the first RAT type and the second RAT type of the inter-RAT dual connectivity ; paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 9, Ven Der Velde et al discloses a capability reporting method (fig. 8) for a wireless communication device (UE), wherein a capability information for the serving RAT occupies major size of the capability report message (fig. 11; a message exchange related to L2 buffer size coordination; the UE indicates the total L2 buffer size to MN by extending the existing LTE capability field with new or larger values ; page 18; paragraph 179).
Regarding claim 14, Ven Der Velde et al discloses a capability reporting method for a wireless communication device (fig. 8), wherein only partial of a plurality band combinations for the non-serving RAT are recorded in the capability report message (figure 8 shows a message exchange relating to the transfer of capability information from the UE to the MN; the MN requests the UE to provide the capabilities of any RAT combinations for which it may configure aggregation ; note that only the MN initiates addition of Secondary Cells, so the MN can ensure limitations regarding bands/ band combinations ; the network is unable to apply LTE and 5G configuration options independently but have to choose between a limited set of combination supported by the UE ; for example, in case of LTE- 5G DC, the common UE capability container may cover the band combination comprising LTE and 5G bands; page 15, paragraph 135-144; page 16, paragraph 153-162).
Regarding claim 16, Ven Der Velde et al discloses a modem chip in a wireless communication device (UE, fig. 8), wherein a capability information for the serving RAT occupies major size of the capability report message (fig. 11; a message exchange related to L2 buffer size coordination; the UE indicates the total L2 buffer size to MN by extending the existing LTE capability field with new or larger values ; page 18; paragraph 179).
Regarding claim 17, Ven Der Velde et al discloses a modem chip in a wireless communication device (fig. 8), wherein a size of the capability information for the serving RAT is larger than or equal to a size of the capability information for the at least one non-serving RAT (read as: figure 26 illustrates the message exchanges between a UE and two network nodes, NN1 and NN2; NN1 requests resumption of suspended RAT1 UE capabilities (i.e. a larger piece of the UE capabilities) and indicates the throughput gain it can achieve with the resumed capabilities; page 28, paragraph 294-302).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-13, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641