DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claims 2-5 and 14-17 are objected to for depending from a rejected base claim.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CARAPELLI (US 2018/0352265 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, CARAPELLI teaches a process for controlling a display of a dispenser of fuel, the process comprising: (¶ 24: A “CRIND” (card reader in dispenser) is used to control a display of a dispenser of fuel using the process illustrated in Figs. 5-6.)
in response to a dispenser controller detecting activation of a first payment terminal connector, the dispenser controller activating a first dispenser controller connector (¶ 52: “The fuel grade prompt transaction phase may be associated with the portion of the fueling operation after the payment has been authorized prior to the commencement of fueling, in which the customer is prompted to select a fuel grade and extract the fuel nozzle from a fuel cradle to begin fueling.” See ¶ 44, 46 for context. In response to receiving payment, which would involve a first connection between a dispenser and the payment terminal (i.e. “a first payment terminal connector” illustrated by the arrows in Fig. 3A), a dispenser connection (i.e. connector to the “processing circuitry”, see ¶ 36, Fig. 3A) is activated to begin fueling.)
connected between a payment terminal and the dispenser controller (¶ 35, Fig. 2, 3A: EDH is a payment terminal that controls a plurality of dispensers (see ¶ 31-32). The processing circuitry for controlling the fuel command and display is connected to the payment terminal and the dispenser controller (CRIND). They are connected, such as by a wired connection, via an interface 44.)
to trigger a first adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the first dispenser controller connector; (¶ 53-54: Based on stored messages associated with the dispenser controller connector, a first adjustment of graphical information shown on the display is triggered. For example, the message “Select a fuel grade and remove nozzle to begin fueling” is displayed based on determining that payment information has been received and authorized.)
and in response to the dispenser controller detecting activation of a second payment terminal connector, the dispenser controller activating a second dispenser controller connector… to trigger a second adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the second dispenser controller connector. (¶ 52: “The fueling phase may be associated with transaction messages including enable soft keys for coupons associated with advertisements, disable card readers, initialize display screen with third message content (“Fueling now” or similar), or the like.” ¶ 53: “Based on a determination of the transaction phase as described, the CRIND apparatus 40 may be configured to cause the feature processing circuitry 60E to provide selected alternative media or other content to a user interface, such as display 56 and/or speaker 58. For example, the feature processing circuitry 60E may provide advertisements for carwashes, cold or hot drinks, food, or other goods and/or services, request to join a loyalty program, or the like during the fueling and/or idle transaction phases.” Also see ¶ 41, 47, and 54: A connection from the EDH to the “feature processing circuitry” is a second payment terminal connector and a connection from the CRIND to the “feature processing circuitry” is a second dispenser controller connector (See Fig. 3A). The feature processing circuitry provides alternative content for adjustment of the graphical information shown on the display, such as advertisement content. The content is stored in a data store associated with the feature processing circuitry. The connection to the feature processing circuitry is activated based on the transaction phase associated with the payment terminal.)
connected between the payment terminal and the dispenser controller (¶ 35, Fig. 2, 3A: EDH is a payment terminal (see ¶ 31) and the CRIND is a dispenser controller. They are connected to the feature processing circuitry 60E, such as by a wired connection, via an interface 44.)
Regarding Claim 6, CARAPELLI further teaches comprising: the payment terminal activating the first payment terminal connector in response to receipt of financial information received via a reader of the first payment terminal; the payment terminal activating the second payment terminal connector in response to authorization of the financial information. (¶ 44, 46, 52-53: Financial information is received via a card reader by a forecourt module of the payment terminal, which would be transmitted by a connector (see ¶ 35). The forecourt module, also by a connector, transmits another transaction message in response to the financial information being authorized.)
Regarding Claim 7, CARAPELLI further teaches comprising: the payment terminal responding to the activating of the first dispenser controller connector by adjusting the display based on the data store associated with the first dispenser controller connector; (¶ 52-54: Transaction prompts are stored and associated with processing circuitry that controls the dispensing of fuel. After payment information is received, the connectors associated with the processing circuitry are activated and a prompt is displayed informing the user to select a fuel grade and begin fueling.)
and the payment terminal responding to the activating of the second dispenser controller connector by adjusting the display based on the data store associated with the second dispenser controller connector. (¶ 52-54: After fueling begins, the connectors associated with the feature processing circuitry are activated and the display is adjusted to display content, such as advertisement content, stored and associated with the feature processing circuitry.)
Regarding Claim 8, CARAPELLI further teaches wherein the detecting of the activation of the first payment terminal connector occurs without use of a communication protocol and without use of an application programming interface (API) and the activating of the first dispenser controller connector connected between the payment terminal and the dispenser controller to trigger the first adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on the data store associated with the first dispenser controller connector occurs without use of a communication protocol and without use of an API; and the detecting of the activation of the second payment terminal connector occurs without use of a communication protocol and without use of an API and the activating of the second dispenser controller connector connected between the payment terminal and the dispenser controller to trigger the second adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on the data store associated with the second dispenser controller connector occurs without use of a communication protocol and without use of an API. (¶ 35, 47 Fig. 3A: In the embodiment where the connections between the payment terminal (EDH) and the dispenser controller (CRIND) (indicated by the arrows in Fig. 3A between the interface 44 and the processors 40, 60E and 60C) are wired connections, a communication protocol or API would not be involved in detecting their activation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would know that detection of the activation of these connections would be determined electrically by the associated processor, i.e. by detecting of a voltage or current across or through the connections. No communication protocol or API is discussed in the reference that is involved in the detection of the activation of these connections.)
Regarding Claim 9, CARAPELLI further teaches comprising: adjusting graphical information shown on the display based on the data store associated with the first dispenser controller connector without use of a communication protocol, without use of an application programming interface (API), and without exchanging of customer related information between the dispenser controller and the payment terminal. (¶ 51-53: The graphical information shown on the display is based on transaction messages stored in a data store associated with the processing circuitry. The adjusted graphical information includes messages like “Select a fuel grade and remove nozzle to begin fueling”. The messages are stored locally (see ¶ 46) therefore would be displayed without the use of an API or communication protocol. The exchanging of customer related information is related to the payment for activating the dispenser, not to adjusting the display.)
Regarding Claim 10, CARAPELLI further teaches comprising: adjusting graphical information shown on the display based on the data store associated with the second dispenser controller connector without use of a communication protocol, without an API, and without exchanging of customer related information between the dispenser controller and the payment terminal. (¶ 41, 50, 54: The content associated with the feature processing circuitry, which adjust the graphical information shown on the display, is stored in a local memory either on the dispenser or local to the fueling site. The graphical information would therefore be adjusted without the use of a communication protocol and API. The content displayed, such as advertisement content and multimedia content (i.e. “non-transaction related or supplementary content”, would not involve exchanging of customer related information between the dispenser and the payment terminal.)
Regarding Claim 11, CARAPELLI teaches a control system for an apparatus configured to provide fuel to a dispenser for fueling a vehicle, comprising: (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3A illustrate a dispenser 10 for fueling a vehicle and a control system apparatus for controlling the dispensing of fuel.)
a dispenser controller for a dispenser positioned and configured to feed fuel to a vehicle fuel tank, (¶ 30, Fig. 1: Fuel dispensers 10 include controllers for a dispenser positioned and configured to feed fuel to a vehicle fuel tank.)
the dispenser controller connected to a payment terminal via a plurality of payment terminal connections and a plurality of dispenser controller connections; (¶ 35, Fig. 2, 3A: EDH 14 is a payment terminal (see ¶ 31) and the CRIND is a dispenser controller. The payment terminal and dispenser controller are connected to the feature processing circuitry 60E and processing circuitry 60C, such as by wired connections, via an interface 44. There are therefore a plurality of payment terminal connections and dispenser controller connections.)
the dispenser controller configured so that: in response to detecting activation of a first payment terminal connector of the payment terminal connections, the dispenser controller activates a first dispenser controller connector of the dispenser controller connections (¶ 52: “The fuel grade prompt transaction phase may be associated with the portion of the fueling operation after the payment has been authorized prior to the commencement of fueling, in which the customer is prompted to select a fuel grade and extract the fuel nozzle from a fuel cradle to begin fueling.” See ¶ 44, 46 for context. In response to receiving payment, which would involve a first connection between a dispenser and the payment terminal (i.e. “a first payment terminal connector” illustrated by the arrows in Fig. 3A), a dispenser connection (i.e. connector to the “processing circuitry”, see ¶ 36, Fig. 3A) is activated to begin fueling.)
to trigger a first adjustment of graphical information shown on a display of the dispenser based on a data store associated with the first dispenser controller connector; (¶ 53-54: Based on stored messages associated with the dispenser controller connector, a first adjustment of graphical information shown on the display is triggered. For example, the message “Select a fuel grade and remove nozzle to begin fueling” is displayed based on determining that payment information has been received and authorized.)
and in response to the dispenser controller detecting activation of a second payment terminal connector of the payment terminal connections, the dispenser controller activates a second dispenser controller connector of the dispenser controller connections to trigger a second adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the second dispenser controller connector. (¶ 52: “The fueling phase may be associated with transaction messages including enable soft keys for coupons associated with advertisements, disable card readers, initialize display screen with third message content (“Fueling now” or similar), or the like.” ¶ 53: “Based on a determination of the transaction phase as described, the CRIND apparatus 40 may be configured to cause the feature processing circuitry 60E to provide selected alternative media or other content to a user interface, such as display 56 and/or speaker 58. For example, the feature processing circuitry 60E may provide advertisements for carwashes, cold or hot drinks, food, or other goods and/or services, request to join a loyalty program, or the like during the fueling and/or idle transaction phases.” Also see ¶ 41, 47, and 54: A connection from the EDH to the “feature processing circuitry” is a second payment terminal connector and a connection from the CRIND to the “feature processing circuitry” is a second dispenser controller connector (See Fig. 3A). The feature processing circuitry provides alternative content for adjustment of the graphical information shown on the display, such as advertisement content. The content is stored in a data store associated with the feature processing circuitry. The connection to the feature processing circuitry is activated based on the transaction phase associated with the payment terminal.)
Regarding Claim 12, CARAPELLI further teaches comprising: the payment terminal, the payment terminal being communicatively connected to a non- transitory memory having the data store associated with the first dispenser controller connector and the data store associated with the second dispenser controller connector. (¶ 46: “the forecourt module 20 transmits one or more transaction messages to the CRIND apparatus 40 to cause CRIND apparatus 40 to control the peripheral devices, accept payment information, and/or show transactional prompts on the display 56… the fueling operation prompts may be supplied to the CRIND module 40 as a portion of a transaction message”. The forecourt module is part of the payment terminal (EDH), which is connected to the data stores associated with the first and second dispenser controller connectors. Prompts, which are displayed on the display of the dispenser, are provided to the dispenser controller. The prompts would be stored on some type of non-transitory memory. Also see ¶ 41, Fig.1, which indicate that the memory may be a site memory located within the fueling environment, and ¶ 54, which indicate the memory may be located in the convenience store or a remote server.)
Regarding Claim 13, CARAPELLI further teaches wherein the plurality of payment terminal connections are configured to transmit voltage, current and/or light, and the plurality of dispenser controller connections are configured to transmit voltage, current and/or light. (¶ 35: Wired connections between the payment terminal and dispenser controller would involve transmission of a voltage or current.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 18, the closest prior art is CARAPELLI. CARAPELLI teaches the limitations:
“A dispenser controller comprising: a processor connected to a non-transitory memory; a plurality of physical connection terminals having: a first input terminal for a first payment terminal connector extending between a payment terminal and the first input terminal; a second input terminal for a second payment terminal connector extending between the payment terminal and the second input terminal; a first output terminal for a first dispenser controller connector extending between the first output terminal and the payment terminal; a second output terminal for a second dispenser controller connector extending between the second output terminal and the payment terminal… so that: in response to detecting activation of the first payment terminal connector, the dispenser controller activates the first dispenser controller connector to trigger a first adjustment of graphical information shown on a display of a dispenser based on a data store associated with the first dispenser controller connector; in response to the dispenser controller detecting activation of the second payment terminal connector, the dispenser controller activates the second dispenser controller connector to trigger a second adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the second dispenser controller connector;” (See the rejections of claims 1 and 11, which recite substantially the same limitations, for the teachings of CARAPELLI relevant to the claims.)
While CARAPELLI teaches detecting when fueling is complete and adjusting the graphical information on the display in response (¶ 37, 51-53, 55), CARAPELLI does not teach a third dispenser controller connector extending between a third output terminal of the dispenser controller and the payment terminal and activating the third dispenser controller connector both in response to the fueling being complete and detecting that the second payment terminal connector is active. CARAPELLI therefore does not teach, alone or in combination, “and a third output terminal for a third dispenser controller connector extending between the third output terminal and the payment terminal… and in response to the dispenser controller detecting that the second payment terminal connector is active and that fueling is completed, the dispenser controller activates the third dispenser controller connector to trigger a third adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the third dispenser controller connector.”
Claims 19-20 are allowed for at least the same rationale.
Claim 2 is indicated as having allowable subject matter for similar reasons due to the limitations “in response to the dispenser controller detecting that fueling is complete, the dispenser controller activating a third dispenser controller connector connected between the payment terminal and the dispenser controller to trigger a third adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the third dispenser controller connector to instruct a customer that fueling is complete.”
Claim 3 is allowable for at least the same rationale.
Claim 4 is indicated as having allowable subject matter for similar reasons due to the limitations “in response to the dispenser controller detecting that a nozzle of the dispenser is connected to a fuel tank while the second payment terminal connector is active, the dispenser controller activating a third dispenser controller connector connected between the payment terminal and the dispenser controller to trigger a third adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the third dispenser controller connector”.
Claim 5 is indicated as having allowable subject matter for similar reasons due to the limitations “in response to the dispenser controller detecting that a nozzle of the dispenser is connected to a fuel tank while the second payment terminal connector is active, the dispenser controller activating a third dispenser controller connector connected between the payment terminal and the dispenser controller to trigger a third adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the third dispenser controller connector;”
Claim 14 is indicated as having allowable subject matter for similar reasons due to the limitations “in response to the dispenser controller detecting that a nozzle of the dispenser is connected to a fuel tank while the second payment terminal connector is active, the dispenser controller activates a third dispenser controller connector of the dispenser controller connections to trigger a third adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the third dispenser controller connector;”
Claim 15 is indicated as having allowable subject matter for similar reasons due to the limitations “in response to the dispenser controller detecting that a nozzle of the dispenser is connected to a fuel tank while the second payment terminal connector is active, the dispenser controller activating a third dispenser controller connector of the dispenser controller connections to trigger a third adjustment of graphical information shown on the display based on a data store associated with the third dispenser controller connector;”
Claims 16-17 are allowable for at least the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martensson (US 2017/0344233 A1) teaches adjustment of graphical information on a display based on detected triggers by a fuel dispenser controller. (¶ 41-42)
Fieflein (US 2018/0012205 A1) teaches upgrading communication between a forecourt controller and a fuel dispenser using the existing two wire connections. (Fig. 2, ¶ 37)
Lin (US 2014/0246453 A1) teaches activation of circuits of a fuel dispenser and hand sanitizer dispenser based on payment transactions. (¶ 14)
/RAMI R OKASHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118