DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,”, “The disclosure”, etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "a plug" in Line 8 and Line 10; “a bridging plug” in Line 14. It is not clear if these plugs are the same plug recited in Line 1 or Line 11, respectively. The Examiner will assume that they are the same.
Claim 6 recites the limitations "a plug-in circuit breaker" in Line 1, “a bridging plug” in Line 2 and “a bridging slot” in Line 4. It is not clear if these features are the same recited in Claim 1. The Examiner will assume that they are the same.
Regarding Claim 4, the term "particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Appropriate correction is required.
As far as understood by the Examiner, the rejection stands as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (WO 2022/000353). Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a plug-in circuit breaker (3) for series mounting, having a base element (32) and a plug (31), the plug having a circuit breaker, it being possible to plug the plug into the base element in a detachable manner, the base element having mounting elements (surfaces forming 300) for mounting on a mounting rail (2), the base element having at least one first electrical connector (first 322) and one second electrical connector (second 322), a first electrical connection being led in the base element from the first electrical connector into the plug-in region, so that the plug which is plugged-in is contacted, a second electrical connection being led in the base element from the second electrical connector into the plug-in region, so that the plug which is plugged-in is contacted, at least one first bridging slot (first 3221) for a bridging plug (first 312) being arranged in the plug-in region, which provides an electrical connection to the first electrical connector or to the second electrical connector, the plug in the plugged-in state also covering the bridging plug, so that this bridging plug cannot be removed.
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses at least one second bridging slot (second 3221) for a second bridging plug (second 312) being arranged in the plug-in region, wherein the first bridging slot provides an electrical connection to the first electrical connector and the second bridging slot provides an electrical connection to the second electrical connector.
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses taps (3291) for sensor tips being provided on the base element.
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses the circuit breaker in the plug being a mechanical circuit breaker (3).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses the circuit breaker being a mechanical circuit breaker (3) or a thermal circuit breaker.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen discloses an ensemble (Fig. 1) having the plug-in circuit breaker and a series terminal (322), which is arranged adjacent to the circuit breaker, wherein, by means of the bridging plug, the series terminal electrically provides an electrical connection to the first electrical connector or to the second electrical connector via the bridging slot which is located in the plug-in region.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses the series terminal being a feed-through terminal (322).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses plug-in circuit breakers, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having base elements, plugs and electrical connectors.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833