DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 29 and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2023 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph should reference every parent application found in the ADS filed on 10/24/2023, as well as the current status of each application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Owen et al. (US 2003/0055460, hereinafter Owen).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Owen discloses a wearable cardioverter defibrillator (WCD) system for an ambulatory patient, the WCD having a first defibrillation electrode and a second defibrillation electrode (par. 0030) with a support structure configured to be worn by an ambulatory patient so as to maintain the first and the second defibrillation electrodes on a body of the ambulatory patient (par. 0069). Owen discloses a housing 40 having a first defibrillation node and a second defibrillation node, in which the first defibrillation electrode and the second defibrillation electrode are configured to be coupled to the housing so as to make electrical contact with the first defibrillation node and the second defibrillation node (par. 0067, 0068, 0118 and Fig 2). The WCD includes a charge storage device (i.e., capacitors 69) within the housing and configured to store charge amounting to at least 50 Joule of energy, the charge storage device having a first terminal and a second terminal (par. 0119 and claim 31). Owen discloses a diverting resistor coupled “between” the first and the second terminals of the charge storage device (par. 0139 and 0074 and figures 14A and 14B that shows resistors in parallel to and between the terminals of capacitors). Owen discloses a discharge circuit within the housing and including a high-voltage switch coupled between the first terminal of the charge storage device and the first defibrillation node, the high- voltage switch configured to switch on and to switch off so as to respectively couple and uncouple the first terminal and the first defibrillation node (see claims 3 and 4, par. 0134 and 0140 and figures 14A-14C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen in view of Badelt et al. (US 2011/0245888, hereinafter Badelt)
Regarding claims 21 and 23-24, Owen discloses the claimed invention except for a detector configured to detect a current leaked through the diverting resistance, and to output a detection signal responsive to the detected leaked current. Badelt also discloses a defibrillator and thus is analogous art with Owen. Badelt teaches that it is known to use a detector configured to detect a current leaked through the diverting resistance, and to output a detection signal responsive to the detected leaked current [see par. 0075 and 0077 (i.e., current sensor circuit 431 includes a resistive load provided in series with a positive or negative node of the switch network, which forms a current sensing resistor and also includes an amplifier 434, such that a comparator is equivalent to a very high gain amplifier with balanced inputs. A relatively low voltage potential/drop is formed across the resistive load 432 when leakage current flows in line 429) and par. 0017 (e.g. vibratory warning signal and audible warning signal upon detecting that the leakage measurement exceeds the leakage threshold to determine if there is excess leakage that could prove dangerous to the patient)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Owen with a detector configured to detect a current leaked through the diverting resistance, and to output a detection signal responsive to the detected leaked current, as taught by Badelt, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining if there is excess leakage that could prove dangerous to the patient.
Regarding claim 22, Owen discloses in which the diverting resistance includes a resistor (par. 0139).
Regarding claim 25, Owen discloses the claimed invention except for in which the detector further includes an analog-to-digital converter. Badelt teaches that it is known to use a detector that includes an analog-to-digital converter as set forth in Fig. 5 and par. 0083 (e.g. sensing circuitry 534 includes an A/D converter) and [0079] (e.g. circuit indicates an alternative embodiment of leakage detection system 500) to produce a digital signal for later processing). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Owen such that the detector further includes an analog-to-digital converter as taught by Badelt, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of producing a digital signal for later processing.
Regarding claim 26, Owen discloses the claimed invention except for a memory; and a processor coupled to the detector and configured to record in the memory an event responsive to the detection signal. Badelt teaches that it is known to use a memory; and a processor coupled to the detector and configured to record in the memory an event responsive to the detection signal as set forth in par. 0041 (e.g. device includes a microcontroller with a microprocessor and RAM or ROM memory) and [0096] (e.g. the device logs into memory any leakage measurements and the state of various components within the device) to log the leakage and determine if remedial action in warranted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Owen with a memory and a processor coupled to the detector and configured to record in the memory an event responsive to the detection signal as taught by Badelt, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of logging the leakage for review and determining if remedial action is warranted.
Regarding claim 27, Owen discloses the claimed invention except for a user interface configured to emit a human-perceptible indication responsive to the detection signal. Badelt teaches that it is known to use a user interface configured to emit a human-perceptible indication responsive to the detection signal as set forth in par. 0017 (e.g. the controller is configured to issue at least one of a vibratory warning signal and an audible warning signal upon detecting that the leakage measurement exceeds the leakage threshold) so that a patient or operator may be alerted to a condition requiring medical attention). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Owen with a user interface configured to emit a human-perceptible indication responsive to the detection signal as taught by Badelt, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of alerting a patient or operator to a condition requiring medical attention.
Regarding claim 28, Owen discloses a communication module configured to transmit a message responsive to the detection signal (par. 0121 and 0156)
Claims 31, 32, 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen in view of Lopin et al. (US 6,096,063, hereinafter Lopin).
Regarding claim 31, Owen discloses the claimed invention except for the discharge circuit includes an H-bridge circuit coupled between the first terminal and the second terminal of the charge storage device, the H-bridge circuit including the high-voltage switch and an H-bridge switch that is joined with the high-voltage switch at an intermediate node, and the diverting resistance is coupled between the second terminal of the charge storage device and the intermediate node. Lopin also discloses a defibrillator and thus is analogous art with Owen. Lopin teaches that it is known to use a discharge circuit that includes an H-bridge circuit coupled between the first terminal and the second terminal of the charge storage device, the H-bridge circuit including the high-voltage switch and an H-bridge switch that is joined with the high-voltage switch at an intermediate node, and the diverting resistance is coupled between the second terminal of the charge storage device and the intermediate node as set forth in Fig 2 (e.g. intermediate node at bottom of H-bridge 48) to produce a biphasic waveform and allow the electric current to pass through the patient's body in one direction, then the opposite direction while isolating patient from leakage current (Col. 4, lines 23-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Owen, with in which the discharge circuit includes an H-bridge circuit coupled between the first terminal and the second terminal of the charge storage device, the H-bridge circuit including the high-voltage switch and an H-bridge switch that is joined with the high-voltage switch at an intermediate node, and the diverting resistance is coupled between the second terminal of the charge storage device and the intermediate node as taught by Lopin, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of producing a biphasic waveform and allowing the electric current to pass through the patient's body in one direction, then the opposite direction while isolating patient from leakage current.
Regarding claims 32 and 35, Owen discloses the claimed invention except for a main switch coupled between the first terminal and the H-bridge circuit. Lopin teaches that it is known to use a main switch coupled between the first terminal and the H-bridge circuit as set forth in Fig. 2 (e.g. relay switch 17) to allow current to pass through to the patient. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Owen, with a main switch coupled between the first terminal and the H-bridge circuit as taught by Lopin, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing current to pass through to the patient.
Regarding claim 34, Owen discloses the claimed invention except for in which the intermediate node coincides with the first defibrillation node. Lopin teaches that it is known to use in which the intermediate node coincides with the first defibrillation node as set forth in Fig. 2 (e.g. electrodes 21 or 23, each connected to nodes within H-bridge circuit 48, based on whether switches are opened or not) to protect the patient from leakage currents. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by Owen, with in which the intermediate node coincides with the first defibrillation node as taught by Lopin, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of protecting the patient from leakage currents.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen and Lopin, as applied above, and further in view of Badelt.
Regarding claim 33, the modified Owen discloses the claimed invention except for a detector configured to detect a current leaked through the diverting resistance, and to output a detection signal responsive to the detected leaked current. Badelt teaches that it is known to use a detector configured to detect a current leaked through the diverting resistance, and to output a detection signal responsive to the detected leaked current as set forth in par. 0075 and 0017 to determine if the leakage measurement satisfies the leakage threshold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as taught by the modified Owen, with a detector configured to detect a current leaked through the diverting resistance, and to output a detection signal responsive to the detected leaked current as taught by Badelt, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of determining if the leakage measurement satisfies the leakage threshold to ensure the safety of the patient.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-28 and 31-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,260,237. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the current claims as they include all the limitations of the current claims, as well as additional claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796