DETAILED ACTION
The claim listing filed October 24, 2023 is pending.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-12, drawn to a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in a subject in need thereof) as well as without traverse of the species the administering does not include administering a dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia as the one method of administering, in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) of the Applicant’s claim that CMML and MDS are not patentably distinct because both are myeloid neoplasms with overlapping pathological mechanisms, diagnostic criteria, and treatment strategies and so no search or examination burden is present.
This has been found persuasive and, therefore, the restriction requirement mailed 05/13/2026 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-12 are currently under consideration.
Priority
The Applicant’s domestic benefit claims are acknowledged. However, the priority applications USSNs: 18/361,005, 16/905,262, and 15/566,724 upon which priorities are claimed fail to provide adequate support under 35 U.S.C. 112 for claims 1-12 of this application. Specifically, insufficient support was identified for: (1) the specific dose and dosing schedule of the mutant SIRP-D1-Fc fusion protein (2.0 mg/kg body weight per day once weekly); (2) the combination of the mutant SIRP-D1-Fc fusion protein with azacitidine; (3) the azacitidine administration, dose, and dosing schedule (75 mg/m2 daily and, on the days the fusion protein is administered, about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after administering the mutant SIRP-D1-Fc fusion protein), and (4) the wherein clause drawn to the administration not including administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
Consequently, claims 1-12 have not been accorded the priority of these applications. Rather, the claims 1-12 are deemed to have an effective filing date of 10/24/2023.
Furthermore, the instant application is a CON of USSN 18/361,005 (parent application), however, the instant application’s disclosure is not the same as the parent application’s disclosure. As noted above, the parent application makes no mention of: (1) the specific dose and dosing schedule of the mutant SIRP-D1-Fc fusion protein (2.0 mg/kg body weight per day once weekly); (2) the combination of the mutant SIRP-D1-Fc fusion protein with azacitidine; (3) the azacitidine administration, dose, and dosing schedule (75 mg/m2 daily and, on the days the fusion protein is administered, about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after administering the mutant SIRP-D1-Fc fusion protein), and (4) the wherein clause drawn to the administration not including administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia. Moreover, the instant and parent specification and drawings are completely different.
It is noted that a continuation application (CON) is an application for the invention(s) disclosed in a prior-filed copending nonprovisional application, international application designating the United States, or international design application designating the United States. The disclosure presented in the continuation must not include any subject matter which would constitute new matter if submitted as an amendment to the parent application. See MPEP 201.07.
Therefore, the instant application is not a proper CON of USSN 18/361,005 because it adds claims and additional disclosure which was not presented in the parent applications, as indicated above.
Since this application names an inventor or inventors named in the prior application, it may constitute a continuation-in-part of the prior application. The applicant should amend the first line of the specification to indicate the status of the instant application as a continuation-in-part.
Should Applicant disagree with the Examiner’s factual determination above, it is incumbent upon Applicant to provide a showing that specifically supports the instant claim limitations.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 and 8-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 8 should recite “wherein the objective response rate is defined as the sum of complete response rate, marrow complete response rate, marrow complete response with hematological improvement rate, and hematological improvement rate.”
Claims 3 and 9 should recite “…of a complete response rate.”
Claims 4-6 and 10-12 should recite “…step (a) and the repeated administering of step (c) have a chance of treatment…”
Claims 5, 6, 11, and 12 should recite “…of subjects receiving the administering of step (a) and the repeated administering of step (c)…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefinite Language
Claims 4-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-6 and 10-12 recite “subjects” in line 1. Claims 4-6 and 10-12 are dependent on claims 1 and 7, respectively, which both recite the treatment of a singular “subject” but not plural “subjects.” Therefore, the recitation of “subjects” in claims 4-6 and 10-12 lacks antecedent basis.
Amending claims 1 and 7 to recite “A method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in subjects in need thereof” would obviate this part of the rejection.
Claims 4-6 and 10-12 also recite that the subjects have a “chance” on an outcome in line 2. Claims 4-6 and 10-12 are dependent on claims 1 and 7, respectively, which both recite two administration method steps. It is unclear at which point the subject is meant to be determined to have the recited “chance” of a given outcome in relation to the already recited method steps.
Amending claims 4-6 and 10-12 to recite “wherein prior to step (a)…of subjects receiving… have been determined to have a chance of…” would obviate this part of the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NCT05140811 (ImmuneOnco Biopharmaceuticals (Shanghai) Inc. “A Study of IMM01 Combined With Azacitidine in Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndrome.” ClinicalTrials.gov. Record history published November 21, 2021) in view of Zandberg et al. 2013 (Haematologica 2013; 98(4):584-590).
Given that the instant claims are recorded with the filing date of October 24, 2023 for the reasons stated above.
Independent claim 1 is drawn to a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: (a) administering intravenously to the subject for the chronic myelomonocytic leukemia about 2.0 mg/kg body weight per day of a recombinant fusion protein in the form of a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and the recombinant fusion protein, (b) about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the administering of step (a), administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine, and (c) after steps (a) and (b), repeating step (a) once weekly, and administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine once daily, wherein on the days that the subject is also having step (a) repeated, the azacitidine is administered about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the repeated administering of step (a), wherein the recombinant fusion protein consists of SEQ ID NO: 1 that includes a mutated SIRP-alpha D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, and wherein the administering does not include administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
Dependent claim 2 limits the method of claim 1 to that wherein after 16 weeks or longer of the treating, the treating produces more than 85%, 90% or 95% of objective response rate, wherein the objective response rate is defined as the sum of complete response rate, marrow complete response rate, marrow complete response with hematological improvement rate and hematological improvement rate.
Dependent claim 3 limits the method of claim 1 to that wherein after 16 weeks or longer of the treating, the treating produces more than 30%, 35%, 40%, or 45% of complete response rate.
Dependent claim 4 limits the method of claim 1 to that wherein no more than 5% or 10% of subjects receiving the administering of step (a) and the repeated administering of step (c) have chance of treatment-related hemolytic anemia.
Dependent claim 5 limits the method of claim 1 to that wherein not more than 5% or 10% of subjects receiving the of step (a) and the repeated administering of step (c) have chance of treatment-related grade 3 and 4 hemolysis.
Dependent claim 6 limits the method of claim 1 to that wherein not more than 15% or 20% of subjects receiving the of step (a) and the repeated administering of step (c) have chance of treatment discontinuation due to treatment-related adverse effects.
The record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 teaches a method of treating patients with Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) and Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) with IMM01 combined with Azacitidine (e.g. see Brief summary on page 4). It is noted that IMM01 (or timdarpacept) is the recombinant fusion protein consisting of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 recited in the claims (e.g. see instant specification [0055] and [00121]).
The record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 also teaches that IMM01 is administered intravenously once a week and the azacitidine is administered subcutaneously at 75 mg/ml per day for 7 consecutive days. It is noted that the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 does not teach a priming dose or dose ramp-up administration of the recombinant fusion protein.
The record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 does not teach: (1) treatment of chromic myelomonocytic leukemia (CML); (2) that the recombinant fusion protein dose is 2.0 mg/kg body weight; or (3) that the azacitidine is administered about 65 to about 75 minutes after the recombination fusion protein.
Regarding the treatment of CML, Zandberg et al. teach that chronic myelomonocytic leukemia (CMML) is a clonal stem cell disorder that displays features of both a myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) and a myeloproliferative neoplasm (e.g. see page 584, paragraph spanning left and right columns). CMML was classified as a MDS in the French-American-British classification system in 1982, but was subsequently reclassified as a mixed myelodysplastic/myeloproliferative disorder by the World Health Organization (WHO) in 2001. CMML shares clinical and biological features with MDS, including development of cytopenias and bone marrow failure, risk of progression to acute myeloid leukemia (AML), and overlapping recurring cytogenetic abnormalities. Treatment modalities for the two diseases are also similar (e.g. see page 584, paragraph spanning left and right columns). Moreover, CMML has often been combined with MDS in both epidemiological and clinical studies (e.g. see page 585, left column, first paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 to incorporate the teachings of Zandberg et al. to include the treatment of CML. This is because CML and MDS share overlapping pathological mechanisms, diagnostic criteria, and treatment strategies (Zandberg et al.).
Given that CML shares clinical and biological features with MDS, the treatment modalities for the two diseases are similar, and CML has often been combined with MDS in both epidemiological and clinical studies; it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to also include CML as a disease to be treated in the method taught by the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected CML patients to respond to an MDS treatment regimen given the already well-defined similarities between CML and MDS.
Regarding the limitations drawn to dosing and dosing schedules, determination of the optimal intervals of treatment and the dosage regimen of a known drug is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and lends no patentable import to the claimed invention. The duration of treatment, the effective dosages and like factors are well within the knowledge and expertise of the medical practitioner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants' invention was filed to determine all operable and optimal intervals of treatment because optimal intervals is an art-recognized result-effective variable which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. Further, if there are any differences between Applicant’s claimed method and that suggested by the teachings of the prior art, the differences would appear minor in nature. Although the prior art do not teach all the various permutations of interval ranges as claimed in claim 1, it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to identify the optional intervals of treatment. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP §§ 2144.05 part II A.
Regarding the limitations in claims 2-6 which are drawn to clinical endpoints, it is noted that the functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claims flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NCT05140811 (ImmuneOnco Biopharmaceuticals (Shanghai) Inc. “A Study of IMM01 Combined With Azacitidine in Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndrome.” ClinicalTrials.gov. 2021).
Given that the instant claims are recorded with the filing date of October 24, 2023 for the reasons stated above.
Independent claim 7 is drawn to a method of treating myelodysplastic syndrome a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: (a) administering intravenously to the subject for the chronic myelomonocytic leukemia about 2.0 mg/kg body weight per day of a recombinant fusion protein in the form of a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and the recombinant fusion protein, (b) about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the administering of step (a), administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine, and (c) after steps (a) and (b), repeating step (a) once weekly, and administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine once daily, wherein on the days that the subject is also having step (a) repeated, the azacitidine is administered about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the repeated administering of step (a), wherein the recombinant fusion protein consists of SEQ ID NO: 1 that includes a mutated SIRP-alpha D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, and wherein the administering does not include administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
Dependent claim 8 limits the method of claim 7 to that wherein after 16 weeks or longer of the treating, the treating produces more than 70%, 75% or 80% of objective response rate, wherein the objective response rate is defined as the sum of complete response rate, marrow complete response rate, marrow complete response with hematological improvement rate and hematological improvement rate.
Dependent claim 9 limits the method of claim 7 to that wherein after 16 weeks or longer of the treating, the treating produces more than 20% or 25% of complete response rate.
Dependent claim 10 limits the method of claim 7 to that wherein no more than 5% or 10% of subjects receiving the administering of step (a) and the repeated administering of step (c) have chance of treatment-related hemolytic anemia.
Dependent claim 11 limits the method of claim 7 to that wherein not more than 5% or 10% of subjects receiving the of step (a) and the repeated administering of step (c) have chance of treatment-related grade 3 and 4 hemolysis.
Dependent claim 12 limits the method of claim 7 to that wherein not more than 5%, 10%, 15%, or 20% of subjects receiving the of step (a) and the repeated administering of step (c) have chance of treatment discontinuation due to treatment-related adverse effects.
The record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 teaches a method of treating patients with Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) and Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) with IMM01 combined with Azacitidine (e.g. see Brief summary on page 4). It is noted that IMM01 (or timdarpacept) is the recombinant fusion protein consisting of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 recited in the claims (e.g. see instant specification [0055] and [00121]).
The record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 also teaches that IMM01 is administered intravenously once a week and the azacitidine is administered subcutaneously at 75 mg/ml per day for 7 consecutive days. It is noted that the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 does not teach a priming dose or dose ramp-up administration of the recombinant fusion protein.
The record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT05140811 does not teach that the recombinant fusion protein dose is 2.0 mg/kg body weight or that the azacitidine is administered about 65 to about 75 minutes after the recombination fusion protein.
Regarding the limitations drawn to dosing and dosing schedules, determination of the optimal intervals of treatment and the dosage regimen of a known drug is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and lends no patentable import to the claimed invention. The duration of treatment, the effective dosages and like factors are well within the knowledge and expertise of the medical practitioner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants' invention was filed to determine all operable and optimal intervals of treatment because optimal intervals is an art-recognized result-effective variable which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. Further, if there are any differences between Applicant’s claimed method and that suggested by the teachings of the prior art, the differences would appear minor in nature. Although the prior art do not teach all the various permutations of interval ranges as claimed in claim 1, it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to identify the optional intervals of treatment. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP §§ 2144.05 part II A.
Regarding the limitations in claims 2-6 which are drawn to clinical endpoints, it is noted that the functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claims flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,800,821 (the ‘821 Patent) in view of NCT05140811 (ImmuneOnco Biopharmaceuticals (Shanghai) Inc. “A Study of IMM01 Combined With Azacitidine in Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndrome.” ClinicalTrials.gov. 2021) and Zandberg et al. 2013 (Haematologica 2013; 98(4):584-590).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: (a) administering intravenously to the subject for the chronic myelomonocytic leukemia about 2.0 mg/kg body weight per day of a recombinant fusion protein in the form of a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and the recombinant fusion protein, (b) about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the administering of step (a), administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine, and (c) after steps (a) and (b), repeating step (a) once weekly, and administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine once daily, wherein on the days that the subject is also having step (a) repeated, the azacitidine is administered about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the repeated administering of step (a), wherein the recombinant fusion protein consists of SEQ ID NO: 1 that includes a mutated SIRP-alpha D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, and wherein the administering does not include administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
The claims in the ‘821 Patent are drawn to: (1) a recombinant bi-functional fusion protein, comprising an extracellular Ig-like domain of a signal-regulator protein (SIRP), linked to an Fc region of an immunoglobulin comprising both CH2 and CH3 regions of the immunoglobulin, wherein the signal-regulatory protein is SIRPα, the extracellular Ig-like domain of the signal-regulator protein is, and the SIRPαD1 has mutation N89A and consists of the amino acid sequence from residue 1 to 142 of SEQ ID NO.: 6, wherein the recombinant bi-functional fusion protein can bind to Cluster of Differentiation 47 (CD47) and Fcγ Receptor, blocking the binding of CD47 to the SIRP on the cell surface of macrophages and stimulating phagocytosis of tumor cells by macrophages; and (2) a homodimer comprising two of the recombinant bi-functional fusion proteins linked by one or more disulfide bonds.
It is noted that SEQ ID NO: 6 from the ‘821 Patent comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 1. See sequence alignment below.
The claims of the ‘821 Patent differ from the instant invention by not reciting that the recombinant bi-functional fusion protein is truncated to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in combination with azacitidine.
The teachings of the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081 and Zandberg et al. are outlined in the 103 rejection above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to truncate the recombinant bi-functional fusion protein from the ‘821 Patent to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and use it in a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in combination with azacitidine. This is because instant SEQ ID NO: 1 has already been applied in combination with azacitidine in a method of treating Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) (the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081) and because CML and MDS share overlapping pathological mechanisms, diagnostic criteria, and treatment strategies (Zandberg et al.).
Given that instant SEQ ID NO: 1 is a truncated version of SEQ ID NO: 6 taught by the ‘821 Patent, instant SEQ ID NO:1, also known as IMM01 or timdarpacept, has been used in combination with azacitidine for treating AML and MDS, and CML shares clinical and biological features with MDS, the treatment modalities for the two diseases are similar, and CML has often been combined with MDS in both epidemiological and clinical studies; it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to truncate the recombinant bi-functional fusion protein from the ‘821 Patent to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and use it in a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in combination with azacitidine with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected CML patients to respond to an MDS treatment regimen given the already well-defined similarities between CML and MDS.
Regarding the limitations drawn to dosing and dosing schedules, determination of the optimal intervals of treatment and the dosage regimen of a known drug is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and lends no patentable import to the claimed invention. The duration of treatment, the effective dosages and like factors are well within the knowledge and expertise of the medical practitioner.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine all operable and optimal intervals of treatment because optimal intervals is an art-recognized result-effective variable which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. Further, if there are any differences between Applicant’s claimed method and that suggested by the teachings of the prior art, the differences would appear minor in nature. Although the prior art do not teach all the various permutations of interval ranges as claimed in claim 1, it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to identify the optional intervals of treatment. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP §§ 2144.05 part II A.
Regarding the limitations in claims 2-6 which are drawn to clinical endpoints, it is noted that the functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claims flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the claims in the ‘821 Patent would render the instant claims obvious.
Claims 7-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,800,821 (the ‘821 Patent) in view of NCT05140811 (ImmuneOnco Biopharmaceuticals (Shanghai) Inc. “A Study of IMM01 Combined With Azacitidine in Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndrome.” ClinicalTrials.gov. 2021).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating myelodysplastic syndrome in a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: (a) administering intravenously to the subject for the myelodysplastic syndrome about 2.0 mg/kg body weight per day of a recombinant fusion protein in the form of a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and the recombinant fusion protein, (b) about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the administering of step (a), administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine, and (c) after steps (a) and (b), repeating step (a) once weekly, and administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine once daily, wherein on the days that the subject is also having step (a) repeated, the azacitidine is administered about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the repeated administering of step (a), wherein the recombinant fusion protein consists of SEQ ID NO: 1 that includes a mutated SIRP-alpha D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, and wherein the administering does not include administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
The claims in the ‘821 Patent are drawn to: (1) a recombinant bi-functional fusion protein, comprising an extracellular Ig-like domain of a signal-regulator protein (SIRP), linked to an Fc region of an immunoglobulin comprising both CH2 and CH3 regions of the immunoglobulin, wherein the signal-regulatory protein is SIRPα, the extracellular Ig-like domain of the signal-regulator protein is, and the SIRPαD1 has mutation N89A and consists of the amino acid sequence from residue 1 to 142 of SEQ ID NO.: 6, wherein the recombinant bi-functional fusion protein can bind to Cluster of Differentiation 47 (CD47) and Fcγ Receptor, blocking the binding of CD47 to the SIRP on the cell surface of macrophages and stimulating phagocytosis of tumor cells by macrophages; and (2) a homodimer comprising two of the recombinant bi-functional fusion proteins linked by one or more disulfide bonds.
It is noted that SEQ ID NO: 6 from the ‘821 Patent comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 1. See sequence alignment above.
The claims of the ‘821 Patent differ from the instant invention by not reciting that the recombinant bi-functional fusion protein is truncated to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in a method of treating myelodysplastic syndrome in combination with azacitidine.
The teachings of the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081 are outlined in the 103 rejection above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to truncate the recombinant bi-functional fusion protein from the ‘821 Patent to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and use it in a method of treating myelodysplastic syndrome in combination with azacitidine. This is because instant SEQ ID NO: 1 has already been applied in combination with azacitidine in a method of treating Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) (the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081).
Given that instant SEQ ID NO: 1 is a truncated version of SEQ ID NO: 6 taught by the ‘821 Patent, and instant SEQ ID NO:1, also known as IMM01 or timdarpacept, has been used in combination with azacitidine for treating AML and MDS; it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to truncate the recombinant bi-functional fusion protein from the ‘821 Patent to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and use it in a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in combination with azacitidine with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the limitations drawn to dosing and dosing schedules, determination of the optimal intervals of treatment and the dosage regimen of a known drug is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and lends no patentable import to the claimed invention. The duration of treatment, the effective dosages and like factors are well within the knowledge and expertise of the medical practitioner.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine all operable and optimal intervals of treatment because optimal intervals is an art-recognized result-effective variable which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. Further, if there are any differences between Applicant’s claimed method and that suggested by the teachings of the prior art, the differences would appear minor in nature. Although the prior art do not teach all the various permutations of interval ranges as claimed in claim 1, it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to identify the optional intervals of treatment. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP §§ 2144.05 part II A.
Regarding the limitations in claims 2-6 which are drawn to clinical endpoints, it is noted that the functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claims flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the claims in the ‘821 Patent would render the instant claims obvious.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of co-pending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/647,455 (the ‘455 Application) in view of NCT05140811 (ImmuneOnco Biopharmaceuticals (Shanghai) Inc. “A Study of IMM01 Combined With Azacitidine in Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndrome.” ClinicalTrials.gov. 2021) and Zandberg et al. 2013 (Haematologica 2013; 98(4):584-590).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: (a) administering intravenously to the subject for the chronic myelomonocytic leukemia about 2.0 mg/kg body weight per day of a recombinant fusion protein in the form of a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and the recombinant fusion protein, (b) about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the administering of step (a), administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine, and (c) after steps (a) and (b), repeating step (a) once weekly, and administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine once daily, wherein on the days that the subject is also having step (a) repeated, the azacitidine is administered about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the repeated administering of step (a), wherein the recombinant fusion protein consists of SEQ ID NO: 1 that includes a mutated SIRP-alpha D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, and wherein the administering does not include administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
The claims in the ‘455 Application are drawn to: (1) method of treating classic Hodgkin’s lymphoma (cHL) in a subject in need thereof, comprising intravenously administering to the subject i) a recombinant fusion protein at the dose of about 2.0 mg/kg body weight, once a week, and ii) an anti-PD-1 antibody at the dose of about 200 mg, once every 3 weeks, wherein the recombinant fusion protein comprises a mutated SIRPα D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, wherein the mutated SIRPα D1 domain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2; and (2) a pharmaceutical composition comprising i) a recombinant fusion protein, and ii) an anti-PD-1 antibody, wherein the recombinant fusion protein comprises a mutated SIRPα D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, wherein the mutated SIRPα D1 domain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2.
It is noted that instant SEQ ID NO: 1 comprises SEQ ID NO: 2 from the ‘455 Application. See sequence alignment below.
The claims of the ‘455 Application differ from the instant invention by not reciting that the method is for treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia or that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine.
The teachings of the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081 and Zandberg et al. are outlined in the 103 rejection above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method from the ‘455 Application to be for a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia and that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine. This is because instant SEQ ID NO: 1 has already been applied in combination with azacitidine in a method of treating Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) (the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081) and because CML and MDS share overlapping pathological mechanisms, diagnostic criteria, and treatment strategies (Zandberg et al.).
Given that instant SEQ ID NO: 1 comprises SEQ ID NO: 2 of the ‘455 Application, instant SEQ ID NO:1, also known as IMM01 or timdarpacept, has been used in combination with azacitidine for treating AML and MDS, and CML shares clinical and biological features with MDS, the treatment modalities for the two diseases are similar, and CML has often been combined with MDS in both epidemiological and clinical studies; it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify the method from the ‘455 Application to be for a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia and that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected CML patients to respond to an MDS treatment regimen given the already well-defined similarities between CML and MDS.
Regarding the limitations drawn to dosing and dosing schedules, determination of the optimal intervals of treatment and the dosage regimen of a known drug is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and lends no patentable import to the claimed invention. The duration of treatment, the effective dosages and like factors are well within the knowledge and expertise of the medical practitioner.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine all operable and optimal intervals of treatment because optimal intervals is an art-recognized result-effective variable which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. Further, if there are any differences between Applicant’s claimed method and that suggested by the teachings of the prior art, the differences would appear minor in nature. Although the prior art do not teach all the various permutations of interval ranges as claimed in claim 1, it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to identify the optional intervals of treatment. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP §§ 2144.05 part II A.
Regarding the limitations in claims 2-6 which are drawn to clinical endpoints, it is noted that the functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claims flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the claims in the ‘455 Application would render the instant claims obvious.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 7-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of co-pending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/647,455 (the ‘455 Application) in view of NCT05140811 (ImmuneOnco Biopharmaceuticals (Shanghai) Inc. “A Study of IMM01 Combined With Azacitidine in Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndrome.” ClinicalTrials.gov. 2021).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating myelodysplastic syndrome in a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: (a) administering intravenously to the subject for the myelodysplastic syndrome about 2.0 mg/kg body weight per day of a recombinant fusion protein in the form of a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and the recombinant fusion protein, (b) about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the administering of step (a), administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine, and (c) after steps (a) and (b), repeating step (a) once weekly, and administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine once daily, wherein on the days that the subject is also having step (a) repeated, the azacitidine is administered about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the repeated administering of step (a), wherein the recombinant fusion protein consists of SEQ ID NO: 1 that includes a mutated SIRP-alpha D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, and wherein the administering does not include administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
The claims in the ‘455 Application are drawn to: (1) method of treating classic Hodgkin’s lymphoma (cHL) in a subject in need thereof, comprising intravenously administering to the subject i) a recombinant fusion protein at the dose of about 2.0 mg/kg body weight, once a week, and ii) an anti-PD-1 antibody at the dose of about 200 mg, once every 3 weeks, wherein the recombinant fusion protein comprises a mutated SIRPα D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, wherein the mutated SIRPα D1 domain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2; and (2) a pharmaceutical composition comprising i) a recombinant fusion protein, and ii) an anti-PD-1 antibody, wherein the recombinant fusion protein comprises a mutated SIRPα D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, wherein the mutated SIRPα D1 domain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2.
It is noted that instant SEQ ID NO: 1 comprises SEQ ID NO: 2 from the ‘455 Application. See sequence alignment above.
The claims of the ‘455 Application differ from the instant invention by not reciting that the method is for treating myelodysplastic syndrome or that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine.
The teachings of the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081 are outlined in the 103 rejection above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method from the ‘455 Application to be for a method of treating myelodysplastic syndrome and that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine. This is because instant SEQ ID NO: 1 has already been applied in combination with azacitidine in a method of treating Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) (the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081).
Given that instant SEQ ID NO: 1 comprises SEQ ID NO: 2 of the ‘455 Application, instant SEQ ID NO:1, also known as IMM01 or timdarpacept, has been used in combination with azacitidine for treating AML and MDS; it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify the method from the ‘455 Application to be for a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia and that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the limitations drawn to dosing and dosing schedules, determination of the optimal intervals of treatment and the dosage regimen of a known drug is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and lends no patentable import to the claimed invention. The duration of treatment, the effective dosages and like factors are well within the knowledge and expertise of the medical practitioner.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine all operable and optimal intervals of treatment because optimal intervals is an art-recognized result-effective variable which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. Further, if there are any differences between Applicant’s claimed method and that suggested by the teachings of the prior art, the differences would appear minor in nature. Although the prior art do not teach all the various permutations of interval ranges as claimed in claim 1, it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to identify the optional intervals of treatment. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP §§ 2144.05 part II A.
Regarding the limitations in claims 2-6 which are drawn to clinical endpoints, it is noted that the functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claims flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the claims in the ‘455 Application would render the instant claims obvious.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims in the following U.S. Patents in view of NCT05140811 (ImmuneOnco Biopharmaceuticals (Shanghai) Inc. “A Study of IMM01 Combined With Azacitidine in Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndrome.” ClinicalTrials.gov. 2021) and Zandberg et al. 2013 (Haematologica 2013; 98(4):584-590) for similar reasons to the ‘455 Application above.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia in a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: (a) administering intravenously to the subject for the chronic myelomonocytic leukemia about 2.0 mg/kg body weight per day of a recombinant fusion protein in the form of a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and the recombinant fusion protein, (b) about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the administering of step (a), administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine, and (c) after steps (a) and (b), repeating step (a) once weekly, and administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine once daily, wherein on the days that the subject is also having step (a) repeated, the azacitidine is administered about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the repeated administering of step (a), wherein the recombinant fusion protein consists of SEQ ID NO: 1 that includes a mutated SIRP-alpha D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, and wherein the administering does not include administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
Claims 24-28 of U.S. Patent No. 9,527,901 are drawn to a method for treating a disease caused by over-expression of CD47 and a method for treating a disease caused by enhanced VEGF function and activity, both comprising administering to a patient or a subject a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a recombinant bi-functional fusion protein comprising an Ig-like region of an extracellular domain of a signal-regulatory protein alpha (SIRPα).
Claims 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,973,878 are drawn to a method for treating a cancer caused by over-expression of CD47 and/or PD-L1, comprising administering to a patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising two signal-regulator proteins (SIRP), wherein each SIRP comprises an extracellular Ig-like domain, wherein each SIRP is SIRPα, wherein the extracellular Ig-like domain of SIRPα is SIRPαD1 having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO. 2.
Claims 9 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,453,724 are drawn to a method for treating a cancer, wherein cells of the cancer over-express CD47 and/or HER2, comprising administering to a patient or a subject a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a recombinant fusion protein, comprising SEQ ID NO: 2.
Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,672,859 is drawn to a method for treating a disease associated with target cells that are double positive for CD47 and PD-L1 in a subject in need thereof, wherein the disease is non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL) or colon cancer, comprising administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition comprising a recombinant fusion protein comprising a signal-regulatory protein (SIRP) extracellular domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 2.
Claims 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,891,449 is drawn to a method for treating a disease associated with over-expression of CD47 and/or CD24 in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition recombinant fusion protein comprising a signal-regulatory protein (SIRP) extracellular domain having an amino acid sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1.
The claims in the above U.S. Patents differ from the instant invention by not reciting that the method is for treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia or that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine.
The teachings of the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081 and Zandberg et al. are outlined in the 103 rejection above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the methods from the above U.S. Patents to be for a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia and that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine. This is because instant SEQ ID NO: 1 has already been applied in combination with azacitidine in a method of treating Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) (the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081) and because CML and MDS share overlapping pathological mechanisms, diagnostic criteria, and treatment strategies (Zandberg et al.).
Given that SEQ ID NO:1, also known as IMM01 or timdarpacept, has been used in combination with azacitidine for treating AML and MDS, and CML shares clinical and biological features with MDS, the treatment modalities for the two diseases are similar, and CML has often been combined with MDS in both epidemiological and clinical studies; it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify the method from the above U.S. Patents to be for a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia and that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have reasonably expected CML patients to respond to an MDS treatment regimen given the already well-defined similarities between CML and MDS.
Regarding the limitations drawn to dosing and dosing schedules, determination of the optimal intervals of treatment and the dosage regimen of a known drug is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and lends no patentable import to the claimed invention. The duration of treatment, the effective dosages and like factors are well within the knowledge and expertise of the medical practitioner.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine all operable and optimal intervals of treatment because optimal intervals is an art-recognized result-effective variable which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. Further, if there are any differences between Applicant’s claimed method and that suggested by the teachings of the prior art, the differences would appear minor in nature. Although the prior art do not teach all the various permutations of interval ranges as claimed in claim 1, it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to identify the optional intervals of treatment. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP §§ 2144.05 part II A.
Regarding the limitations in claims 2-6 which are drawn to clinical endpoints, it is noted that the functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claims flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the claims in the above U.S. Patents would render the instant claims obvious.
Claims 7-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims in the following U.S. Patents in view of NCT05140811 (ImmuneOnco Biopharmaceuticals (Shanghai) Inc. “A Study of IMM01 Combined With Azacitidine in Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndrome.” ClinicalTrials.gov. 2021).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of treating myelodysplastic syndrome in a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: (a) administering intravenously to the subject for the myelodysplastic syndrome about 2.0 mg/kg body weight per day of a recombinant fusion protein in the form of a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient and the recombinant fusion protein, (b) about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the administering of step (a), administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine, and (c) after steps (a) and (b), repeating step (a) once weekly, and administering subcutaneously to the subject about 75 mg/m2 of azacitidine once daily, wherein on the days that the subject is also having step (a) repeated, the azacitidine is administered about 65 minutes to about 75 minutes after completing the repeated administering of step (a), wherein the recombinant fusion protein consists of SEQ ID NO: 1 that includes a mutated SIRP-alpha D1 domain and a functional IgG1 heavy chain constant region, and wherein the administering does not include administering a priming dose of the recombinant fusion protein or dose ramp-up administrations of the recombinant fusion protein to mitigate on-target anemia.
Claims 24-28 of U.S. Patent No. 9,527,901 are drawn to a method for treating a disease caused by over-expression of CD47 and a method for treating a disease caused by enhanced VEGF function and activity, both comprising administering to a patient or a subject a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a recombinant bi-functional fusion protein comprising an Ig-like region of an extracellular domain of a signal-regulatory protein alpha (SIRPα).
Claims 6-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,973,878 are drawn to a method for treating a cancer caused by over-expression of CD47 and/or PD-L1, comprising administering to a patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising two signal-regulator proteins (SIRP), wherein each SIRP comprises an extracellular Ig-like domain, wherein each SIRP is SIRPα, wherein the extracellular Ig-like domain of SIRPα is SIRPαD1 having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO. 2.
Claims 9 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,453,724 are drawn to a method for treating a cancer, wherein cells of the cancer over-express CD47 and/or HER2, comprising administering to a patient or a subject a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising a recombinant fusion protein, comprising SEQ ID NO: 2.
Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,672,859 is drawn to a method for treating a disease associated with target cells that are double positive for CD47 and PD-L1 in a subject in need thereof, wherein the disease is non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL) or colon cancer, comprising administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition comprising a recombinant fusion protein comprising a signal-regulatory protein (SIRP) extracellular domain comprising SEQ ID NO: 2.
Claims 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,891,449 is drawn to a method for treating a disease associated with over-expression of CD47 and/or CD24 in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition recombinant fusion protein comprising a signal-regulatory protein (SIRP) extracellular domain having an amino acid sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1.
The claims in the above U.S. Patents differ from the instant invention by not reciting that the method is for treating myelodysplastic syndrome or that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine.
The teachings of the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081 are outlined in the 103 rejection above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the methods from the above U.S. Patents to be for a method of treating myelodysplastic syndrome and that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine. This is because instant SEQ ID NO: 1 has already been applied in combination with azacitidine in a method of treating Myelodysplastic Syndrome (MDS) (the record history published 11/21/2021 of NCT0514081).
Given that SEQ ID NO:1, also known as IMM01 or timdarpacept, has been used in combination with azacitidine for treating AML and MDS; it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify the method from the above U.S. Patents to be for a method of treating chronic myelomonocytic leukemia and that the recombinant fusion protein is SEQ ID NO: 1 and is used in combination with azacitidine with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the limitations drawn to dosing and dosing schedules, determination of the optimal intervals of treatment and the dosage regimen of a known drug is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and lends no patentable import to the claimed invention. The duration of treatment, the effective dosages and like factors are well within the knowledge and expertise of the medical practitioner.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine all operable and optimal intervals of treatment because optimal intervals is an art-recognized result-effective variable which would have been routinely determined and optimized in the pharmaceutical art. Further, if there are any differences between Applicant’s claimed method and that suggested by the teachings of the prior art, the differences would appear minor in nature. Although the prior art do not teach all the various permutations of interval ranges as claimed in claim 1, it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to identify the optional intervals of treatment. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP §§ 2144.05 part II A.
Regarding the limitations in claims 2-6 which are drawn to clinical endpoints, it is noted that the functions recited in the wherein clauses of the claims flow naturally from the teachings of the prior art. (citing Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985 (“The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.”), and Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (“[T]he discovery of... a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.”)).
An obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by measuring and claiming an activity of the formulation in a particular context, “because ‘[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property.’” Persion Pharm., slip op. at 13 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 27, 2019) (citing Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242, 249 (1945) (“It is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect.”).
Therefore, the claims in the above U.S. Patents would render the instant claims obvious.
Conclusion
/GRACE H LUNDE/Examiner, Art Unit 1641
/MISOOK YU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641