DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to amendment received on 03/10/2026. Upon further consideration, the previous indication of allowability of claims 7 and 21 is withdrawn in view of the rejection found below.
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 20 and 22 – 25 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 12, 13 and 15 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAMASHITA (2023/0175871).
As to claims 1 and 15, YAMASHITA discloses a monitoring control device comprising a sensor (resolver 2, Fig. 1) configured to measure an angle of a rotating shaft ([0013],The resolver 2 is mechanically connected to the rotor included in the motor. The resolver 2 is a rotation sensor that detects the rotation angle of the rotor and outputs the detected detection value as an analog value.); and a controller (10, 20, a first control device 10, and a second control device 20) configured to: determine a first angle of the rotating shaft at a first time ([0014], the absolute angle calculated by the RD converter 3 is referred to as a first absolute angle, and the relative angle calculated at the same timing as the first absolute angle is referred to as a first relative angle.); determine a second angle of the rotating shaft at a second time [0017], [0018], (The absolute angle calculation unit 21 identifies a sine function (sinθ) and a cosine function (cosθ) representing the rotation angle from the analog signal output from the resolver 2, and takes an arctangent (arctan [sinθ / cosθ]). Calculate the absolute angle of the rotor. The absolute angle calculation timing in the absolute angle calculation unit 21 is different from the first absolute angle calculated by the AD conversion of the RD converter 3. That is, the calculation timing of the absolute angle calculation unit 21 and the calculation timing of the RD converter 3 are not synchronized and are different timings. Hereinafter, the absolute angle calculated by the absolute angle calculation unit 21 is referred to as a second absolute angle. Further, the relative angle of the rotor acquired at the same timing as the calculation timing of the second absolute angle is referred to as a second relative angle. Since the first absolute angle and the second absolute angle are not calculated at the same timing (at the same time), a time difference will occur between the first absolute angle and the second absolute angle. Further, the absolute angle calculation unit 21 generates a second diagnostic signal based on the second absolute angle and outputs it to the absolute angle estimation unit 22. The second diagnostic signal includes information on the second absolute angle, in other words, information on the rotation angle calculated at a timing different from the first absolute angle used for motor control.); calculate an angular velocity based on: 1) an angular difference between the first angle and the second angle; and 2) a time difference between the first time and the second time; [0031], The control unit 11 included in the first control device 10 calculates the rotation speed of the rotor based on the first absolute angle. The control unit 11 acquires the first absolute angle from the RD converter 3 at a predetermined cycle, calculates the difference between the current value and the previous value of the first absolute angle, and the first absolute angle of the rotor is calculated from the calculated difference. Calculate one rotation speed. Further, the control unit 11 generates a first diagnostic signal including information on the first rotation speed and outputs the first diagnostic signal to the diagnostic unit 23 of the second control device 20. Since the first rotation speed is a value calculated based on the first absolute angle, the first diagnostic signal is a signal based on the first absolute angle.], [0032, The second control device 20 has an absolute angle calculation unit 21, a rotation speed calculation unit 24, and a diagnosis unit 23. The absolute angle calculation unit 21 is the same as the absolute angle calculation unit 21 in the first embodiment. The rotation speed calculation unit 24 calculates the rotation speed of the rotor based on the second absolute angle. The rotation speed calculation unit 24 acquires the second absolute angle calculated by the absolute angle calculation unit 21 in a predetermined cycle, calculates the difference between the current value and the previous value of the second absolute angle, and calculates the second absolute angle. The second rotation speed of the rotor is calculated from the difference between. The timing of calculating the previous value of the first absolute angle is different from the timing of calculating the previous value of the second absolute angle, and the timing of calculating the current value of the first absolute angle is the calculation of the current value of the second absolute angle. It's different from the timing. The calculation timing of the first absolute angle is the calculation timing of the RD converter 3, and the calculation timing of the second absolute angle is the calculation timing of the absolute angle calculation unit 21.] and transmit an output packet comprising the angular velocity [0034, the diagnostic unit 23 compares the first diagnostic signal output from the control unit 11 with the second diagnostic signal output from the rotation speed calculation unit 24 to diagnose the presence or absence of a detection abnormality in the rotation state of the rotor. Specifically, the diagnostic unit 23 identifies the first rotation speed from the first diagnosis signal, specifies the second rotation speed from the second diagnosis signal, and calculates the difference between the first rotation speed and the second rotation speed], wherein the first angle and the second angle are each represented by a binary number having N bits and take a value from 2subN angular resolution movements and wherein the angular velocity is determined based to a number of angular resolution movements. (The analog signals from the resolver are converted into digital signals by the RD converter 3. The digital signal is a two phase (A phase and B phase) encoder signal obtained by sampling a sine wave and a cosine wave included in an analog signal. The A and B phase digital signals contain information on the relative angle of the rotors [0013] – [0015]. Based on said digital signals, angular velocity is determined by control unit 11.), (Fig. 1 and 2), [0013]-[0015].
As to claims 2 and 16, YAMASHITA discloses the output packet further comprises the second angle [0030], [0031].
As to claims 3 and 17, YAMASHITA discloses the angular velocity is calculated directly from the first angle and the second angle [0030], [0031].
As to claims 12 - 13, YAMASHITA discloses that a control system (11) communicatively coupled to the rotary encoder (2), wherein: the control system (11) is configured to receive the output packet transmitted by the rotary encoder (2), (Fig. 2, [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 – 6 and 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA (2023/0175871) in view of Zak (2009/0315541).
As to claims 4 – 6 and 18 - 20, YAMASHITA fails to disclose the controller is configured to calculate the angular velocity based on: the angular difference divided by the time difference. Zak discloses an angular position sensor wherein the controller (26) is configured to calculate the angular velocity based on: the angular difference divided by the time difference [0014], [0017], [0029], [0030]. Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of YAMASHITA in view of the teachings of Zak such that to calculate the angular velocity based on: the angular difference divided by the time difference wherein efficient correction factors can be maintained resulting in calculation of very precise angular velocity.
Claim(s) 8 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA (2023/0175871) in view of Paul (4,836,304).
As to claims 8 and 22, YAMASHITA fails to disclose that the controller is configured to transmit the output packet using a serial communication link. Paul discloses a system for weighing non-stationary objects wherein the controller is configured to transmit the output packet using a serial communication link (64, Fig. 4). Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of YAMASHITA in view of the teachings of Paul such that using a serial communication link to transmit the output packet and transmission of data from transducers remotely from a central processor or diagnosis unit via wired or wireless links is very well known.
Claim(s) 9 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA (2023/0175871) in view of Daubert (11,163,022).
As to claims 9 and 23, YAMASHITA fails to determine the first angle and the second angle using a look up table. Daubert discloses a magnetic field sensor for angle detection with a phase-locked loop wherein the first angle and the second angle is determined using a look up table (148, Fig. 3), (Col. 9, line 64 – Col. 10, line 15; Col. 21, lines 29 - 41). Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of YAMASHITA in view of the teachings of Daubert to include a look up table resulting in efficiency in processing speed of the device.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA (2023/0175871) in view of Busse-Grawitz et al. (2011/0296698).
As to claims 10 and 24, YAMASHITA fails to explicitly disclose that the rotary encoder is a magnetic rotary encoder. Busse-Grawitz et al. (hereinafter Busse) discloses a kit for an electric motor having a rotary encoder wherein Busse teaches a different variants of rotary encoders including magnetic rotary encoder [0002, the most different variants of rotary encoders are used, e.g. capacitive rotary encoders, inductive rotary encoders, magnetoresistive rotary encoders, optical rotary encoders, magnetic rotary encoders or potentiometric rotary encoders.]. Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of YAMASHITA in view of the teachings of Busse to include a magnetic rotary encoder such that magnetic encoders are very well known and commonly used for measuring movement and speed.
As to claims 11 and 25, YAMASHITA fails to explicitly disclose that the rotary encoder further comprises: a Printed Circuit Board on which the controller and the sensor are positioned; and a layer of lacquer over the controller and the sensor. Busse-Grawitz et al. (hereinafter Busse) discloses a kit for an electric motor having a rotary encoder wherein a Printed Circuit Board (11) on which the controller (12) and the sensor (10) are positioned; and a layer of lacquer (14) over the controller (12) and the sensor (10) (Fig. 4), [0056]. Therefore, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of YAMASHITA in view of the teachings of Busse wherein a Printed Circuit Board on which the controller and the sensor are positioned; and a layer of lacquer over the controller and the sensor would protect the device from environmental influences, e.g. humidity, heat or impacts.
/REENA AURORA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858