DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-12, 14, 17, 20-21, 27, 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 7314750, January 2008).
Concerning claims 2-3, 5-12, 14, 17, 20-21, 27, 39-40 Zhou discloses a single-stranded oligonucleotide (see lines 35-40 in column 5) of SEQ ID NO: 543274, 25 nucleotides long (see lines 58-61 in column 1, sequence listing), comprising 14 consecutive nucleotides 8-21 identical to 14 consecutive nucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO: 212 and complementary to nucleotides 4-17 of nucleotides 108-132 of SEQ ID NO: 2:
SEQ ID NO: 212 1 TCTCTCGAAGGTCTTCTG 18
| ||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 543274 1 TAAGGCCCTCGAAGGTCTTCTTTTT 25
Zhou further disclose that oligonucleotides of the invention can comprise modified sugars, modified nucleobases and/or phosphorothioate linkages or can be PNA (see lines 44-55 in column 5).
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-14, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 38-41, 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khvorova et al (US 2007/0031844, February 2007).
Concerning claims 2, 3, 6-11, 25 and 38-40 Khvorova disclose double-stranded siRNA (duplex) comprising two strands complementary to each other (see paragraphs [0105, 0260]), wherein one strand of such siRNA is of SEQ ID NO: 816517, 19 nucleotides long, with nucleotides 6-19 identical to nucleotides 8-21 of instant sequence of nucleotides 8827-8851 of SEQ ID NO: 1:
SEQ ID NO: 1 8827 GGCAGAAGACCTTCGAGAGAAAGGT 8851
| ||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 816517 1 AGUAUGACCUUCGAGAGAA 19
It is inherent that the second strand of the siRNA fully complementary to SEQ ID NO: 816517 comprises 14 consecutive nucleotides complementary to nucleotides 8-21 of instant sequence of nucleotides 8827-8851 of SEQ ID NO: 1. Therefore such second strand satisfies structural requirements of instant claim 3. Further the same 14 consecutive nucleotides of such second strand are identical to nucleotides 3-16 of instant SEQ ID NO: 35, satisfying structural requirements of instant claims 2 and 40. Khvorova further disclose that siRNAs of the invention can comprise phosphorothioate and phosphodiester linkages (see paragraph [0120]).
Concerning claims 12-13 Khvorova disclose that siRNAs can comprise modified nucleotides such as 5-methylcytosine (see paragraph [0121]).
Concerning claims 14 and 17-18 Khvorova disclose that siRNAs can comprise modified sugar moieties such as 2’-OMe modifications (see paragraphs [0120, 0086]).
Concerning claims 20 and 21 Khvorova disclose that siRNAs can comprise peptide nucleic acids (PNA) (see paragraph [0120]).
Concerning claim 28 Khvorova disclose that siRNA can be conjugated to other molecules (see paragraph [0277]).
Concerning claims 41 and 51 Khvorova disclose that siRNAs of the invention can be used for therapeutic purposes, therefore inherently disclosing pharmaceutical compositions comprising siRNA and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-14, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 38-41, 50-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khvorova, above, as applied to claims 2-3, 6-14, 17-18, 20-21, 25, 28, 38-41, 51, above, and further in view of Vargeese et al (WO 2017/015555, January 2017, of record).
Teachings of Khvorova are discussed above.
Khvorova do not teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising artificial cerebrospinal fluid as a diluent.
Vargeese teach that oligonucleotides can be used in pharmaceutical compositions comprising artificial cerebrospinal fluid as a diluent, among others (see paragraph [001047]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare pharmaceutical compositions comprising artificial cerebrospinal fluid as a diluent using oligonucleotides taught by Khvorova. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Vargeese teach a variety of diluents for oligonucleotides pharmaceutical compositions including artificial cerebrospinal fluid.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-3, 5-18, 20-21, 23-28, 38-41, 50-52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of U.S. Patent No. 11,833,168 in view of Vargeese, above. Claims from '168 recite antisense oligonucleotides of SEQ ID NOs: 32, 33, 110, 188, 265, 266. At least one of those, of SEQ ID NO: 33 has its first 15 nucleotides complementary to nucleotides 108-122 of instant SEQ ID NO: 2. Further, first 15 nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 33 are identical to nucleotides 4-18 of instant SEQ ID NO: 267. Therefore such oligonucleotide is within the scope of instant claims. Teachings of Vargeese et al are discussed above. It would have been obvious to create pharmaceutical compositions comprising SEQ ID NO: 33 from '168 with artificial cerebrospinal fluid as a diluent, arriving at instant invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Previous art rejections are withdrawn in view of new amendments, arguments are moot.
Double patenting rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637