Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I and species A-I, B-IV, C-IV (and indicating species Dand E are not relevant and are withdrawn due to other elections) in the reply filed on 12/29/25 is acknowledged. Applicant indicated claims 2, 7, 9-11, 16, and 18-30 were withdrawn.
Applicant indicated that claims 1, 3-6, 8 read on the elected species. The claim includes a “protection tube wrapping the cable, but the elected species 5B includes “elastic tube” NOT a “protection tube” (note that para 0033 indicates these are different elements) and para. 0043 indicates that such is a different embodiment as it reads an alternative to that shown “(or the protection tube 300)”. Thus, these claims are withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the “first connector” and “second connector” are not identified in fig. 1, the drawings should identify the elements for this embodiment. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeny et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0361365) in view of Cairns (U.S. PGPub 2014/0270674).
Regarding claim 12, Sweeney teaches an immersion cooling apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising: a cooling tank (element 12) comprising a cooling liquid (element 45) ; a cable (element 38) comprising a first end at element 52) and a second end (at element 20), wherein the first end connects a first connector (element 52), the second end connects a second connector (at element 20, while not shown inherent that it must connect and as this connector is not further defined and connection point would read on a ”connector”), at least one of the first end and the second end is located in the cooling tank (first end per fig. 1).
Sweeny does not teach at least one stopper surrounding and in contact with the cable, wherein the stopper is configured to block the cooling liquid. Cairns teaches at least one stopper (element 11) surrounding and in contact with the cable (element 2), wherein the stopper is configured to block the cooling liquid (per para. 0005 – “seal cable interfaces from the environment exterior to them”). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Sweeney connector to include the stopper of Cairns, the motivation would be to protect and seal the connection form interference( para. 0004-0005)
Regarding claim 13, Cairns further teaches the stopper comprises an elastic tube (element 11 as shown in fig. 4 is a tube and per para. 0027 is “elastomeric”), the elastic tube has an inner wall (per fig. 1B there is an inner wall), the inner wall has a first inner diameter (at element 20 it is small) and a second inner diameter (at element 5 it changes), the second inner diameter is greater than the first inner diameter, and the second inner diameter is located at an end of the elastic tube (per fig. 1B).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeny et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0361365) in view of Cairns (U.S. PGPub 2014/0270674), and further view of Shah (U.S. Patent 5,231,248).
Regarding claim 14, Sweeny and Cairns do not teach the elastic tube further comprises a sealant filled in a gap between the elastic tube and the cable.
Shah teaches the tube further comprises a sealant (epoxy element 15) filled in a gap between the elastic tube and the cable (per fig. 3). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Sweeny and Cairns to include this sealant, the motivation would be to have a tough, cut-resistant, steam resistant and sterilizing liquid resistant seal (Col. 2 ln 66-68).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeny et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0361365) in view of Cairns (U.S. PGPub 2014/0270674), and further view of KIazubowski (U.S. PGPub 2013/0102176).
Regarding claim 15, Sweeny and Cairn do not teach the elastic tube comprises a first component and a second component where the first component has an outer screw thread, the second component has an inner screw thread, the first component is configured to connect the second component detachably.
Kazubowski teaches a first component (element 24) and a second component (element 23) where the first component has an outer screw thread (element 26), the second component has an inner screw thread (element 25), the first component is configured to connect the second component detachably (per fig. 3). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Sweeny and Cairns to include this screw element, the motivation would be further restrain or align elements of the cable passing through the tube.
Regarding claim 17, Sweeny and Cairn do teach the stopper has an outer surface (see figures) but do not teach wherein the stopper a branch extending from the outer surface. Kazubowski teaches the stopper has an outer surface and a branch extending from the outer surface (ridges on element 65). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Sweeny and Cairns to include this ridge/branch element, the motivation would be to allow better gripping of the outer surface.
Conclusion
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763