DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embodiment of the inlet assembly where the slot is located on the hopper, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kriegbaum (US Patent 2124198 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kriegbaum teaches, an inlet assembly for a filling assembly of a storage compartment assembly, comprising:
a hopper (40) configured to receive particulate material;
and a fill tray (106) movably coupled to the hopper and configured to move between a stowage position and a loading position (Fig. 3 - shows two separate positions (dotted/solid lines));
wherein one of the fill tray or the hopper has a slot (49),
the other of the fill tray or the hopper has a pivot (109/109) engaged with the slot (Fill tray pivots along 49),
the hopper has a first engagement feature (49 – located on right hand side of hopper),
the fill tray has a second engagement feature (111) configured to engage the first engagement feature to block rotation of the fill tray about the pivot (Fig. 3 – rotation is blocked when (111) and (49) are engaged),
the pivot and the slot enable the fill tray to move from the stowage position to a transitional position to align the first and second engagement features (fig 3 – first and second features aligned when closed),
and the pivot and the slot enable the fill tray to move from the transitional position to the loading position to engage the first and second engagement features (fig 3 – first and second features engaged).
Regarding claim 2, Kriegbaum teaches, the inlet assembly of claim 1,
wherein the first engagement feature comprises a hook (49 - semicircular hook),
the second engagement feature comprises a flat element (111 – flat surface),
and the hook is configured to engage the flat element while the fill tray is in the loading position (fig. 3 – hook (49) and flat element (111) engaged in loading position).
Regarding claim 5, Kriegbaum teaches, the inlet assembly of claim 2,
wherein the hook (49) has a curved engagement surface (semi-circle) configured to engage the flat element (111) to facilitate movement of the fill tray toward the transitional position.
Regarding claim 9, Kriegbaum teaches, the inlet assembly of claim 1,
wherein the fill tray comprises a handle (110) configured to facilitate movement of the fill tray between the stowage position and the loading position.
Regarding claim 10, Kriegbaum teaches, an inlet assembly for a filling assembly of a storage compartment assembly, comprising:
a hopper (40) configured to receive particulate material;
a fill tray (106) movably coupled to the hopper and configured to move between a stowage position and a loading position (fig. 3 – two positions shown;
and a lid (100) pivotally coupled to the hopper,
wherein the lid is configured to pivot to an open position to enable the particulate material to enter the hopper (fig. 3 – lid (100) pivots to allow grain to enter hopper),
and the lid is configured to pivot to a closed position to block the particulate material from entering the hopper (fig. 3 – shows lid closed);
wherein one of the fill tray or the hopper has a slot (49),
the other of the fill tray or the hopper has a pivot (109) engaged with the slot,
the hopper has a first engagement feature (49 – on right side),
the fill tray has a second engagement feature (111) configured to engage the first engagement feature to block rotation of the fill tray about the pivot (fig 3 – second engagement feature (111) engages hook (49) to restrict rotation),
the pivot and the slot enable the fill tray to move from the stowage position to a transitional position to align the first and second engagement features (fig 3 – First and second features aligned),
and the pivot and the slot enable the fill tray to move from the transitional position to the loading position to engage the first and second engagement features (fig 3 – first and second features engaged).
Regarding claim 13, Kriegbaum teaches, the inlet assembly of claim 10,
wherein the first engagement feature comprises a hook (126),
the second engagement feature comprises a flat element (140),
and the hook is configured to engage the flat element while the fill tray is in the loading position (fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6 - 8, 11, 12, 14, 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16 – 20 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure
Schmitt (US PUB 2018/0099849) – discloses a funnel/hopper with a moveably coupled fill tray and engagement features
Kiner (US PUB 2017/0297829) – discloses a hopper with a moveably coupled lid and mechanism for feed distribution
Hawley (US Patent 4427105 A) – teaches a foldable grain auger with engagement features, lid and fill tray
/JUAN S MOSCOSO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652