Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear whether the “diaphragm” or “film” is “capable of adjusting resistance to displacement and that is attachable to a gripping part of a robot hand”. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner interprets the diaphragm to be the subject of the following limitation.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear whether the “robot hand” is a new “robot hand”, an additional “robot hand” or the existing robot hand of the parent claim 1. Additionally, it is unclear whether the parts comprising the robot hand are new, additional, or the existing parts of the parent claims. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner interprets the robot hand to be the same as described in parent claim.
Claims 2-5 are rejected for their dependence upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colechia (US Patent 3,449,008 A) in view of Bae (KR 20190138447 A).
Regarding claim 1, the gripping sensor device of Colechia teaches a sensor unit comprising:
a diaphragm (26, 28) that has a film (11, 13);
which is capable of adjusting resistance to displacement and that is attachable to a gripping part (12, 14) of a robot hand (10, Fig 1; Col. 2 ln 53-56; Col. 3 ln 5-12). As the gripping parts (12, 14) of Colechia are moved, the diaphragm resistance to displacement is adjusted.
Colechia does not teach a sensor directly attached to the film. However, the gripper of Bae teaches a sensor (230) that is attached to the film (240, Fig 3; Pg 5, body 7) and that detects an external force on a detection surface thereof (Pg 6, body 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the gripping sensor device of Colechia with a sensor directly attached to the film to measure the contact force, bending or the like when the gripper comes into contact with an object (Abstract, last 3 lines)
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Colechia further teaches the film (11, 13) is displaced in a direction perpendicular to the detection surface (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Colechia further teaches a robot hand (mechanical hand 10, Fig 1; Col. 2 ln 44-51) comprising:
a gripping part (12, 16) that grips a gripping target object (22, Fig 1); and
a sensor unit recited in claim 1 (See claim 1 rejection above).
Claims 3 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colechia & Bae in view of Kellogg (US Patent 4,584,625 A).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Colechia further teaches the diaphragm with a wall part that supports the film in a peripheral edge part of the film (Annotated Fig 1 below). The combination is silent on the details of a circumferential support part with a bellows structure. However, the sensor unit of Kellogg teaches a circumferential wall part (13b) has a bellows structure (Fig 3; Col. 5 ln 20-22) that is expandable and contractible in the direction perpendicular to the detection surface (30) of the sensor (Fig 1; Col 4 ln 5-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the gripping sensor device of modified Colechia with a circumferential support part with a bellows structure to further enhance the tensile strength of the compression cell (Col. 5 ln 20-22).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 3 as described above, Colechia further teaches a space surrounded by the circumferential wall part and the film is filled with oil, and a pressure of the oil is adjusted (Col. 2 ln 61-63; Col. 4 ln 1-16).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colechia, Bae, & Kellogg in view of Nagai (WO 2013018213 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 4 as described above, Colechia further teaches a hydraulic sensor (24) that detects the pressure of the oil (Col. 2 ln 64 to Col. 3 ln 5) and a control section that controls the robot hand (34). The combination does not teach that the gripping target object is gripped with a higher gripping force upon detection of a vibration. However, the robot hand of Nagai teaches a control section that controls the robot hand (microcomputer 54, Fig 1), upon detection of a vibration of the oil by the hydraulic sensor (26; Pg 5, Step S2-1), so that a gripping target object is gripped with a higher gripping force (Pg 6, body 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the gripping sensor device with a control section that increases force when the hydraulic sensor detects a vibration of the oil to regrip the object when after slipping so as not to be displaced again (Pg 6, body 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2012/0247217 A1 discloses a pressure sensor grasping apparatus that utilizes fluid and pressure sensors to detect gripping force.
JP S6179592 A discloses a gripping device with a bellows structure.
KR 20210057655 A discloses a sensor gripping device with force sensors and fluid filled gripping bags.
US 5,373,747 A discloses a robot hand with contact pressure detection using an incompressible fluid medium.
/RALPH D WILKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654