Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (CN 101999751).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a tobacco sheet comprising: a fibrous material (such as tobacco shred) and an inulin (Abstract [0025] [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses inulin-type fructan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9, 12, 14-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 101999751) in view of Ishikawa et al. (WO 2020202254).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Huang does not expressly disclose palmitic acid as a flavor additive. Ishikawa (see document, [0109], [0115]) discloses palmitic acid (having molar mass within the claimed range) can be used as a flavor component in a tobacco sheet wherein the preferred amount of flavor component is usually 10000 ppm to 50000 ppm overlapping with the claimed range (in case of overlapping ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pick the claimed range). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add palmitic acid as a flavor additive as taught by Ishikawa to the tobacco sheet of Huang.
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa discloses palmitic acid corresponding to the claimed a single compound.
Regarding claims 6 and 14-16, Ishikawa discloses a tobacco-containing segment, comprising, as fillers the tobacco paper containing trace amount of lignin and hemicellulose [0003]; therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to perform routine experimentation to arrive to the claimed range.
Regarding claims 7 and 18-20, Ishikawa discloses the paper containing an aerosol-generating agent [0002].
Regarding claim 8, Ishikawa discloses a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler, comprising: a tobacco-containing segment containing the tobacco sheet for the non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler (Abstract and fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ishikawa discloses a non-combustion heating-type flavor inhalation system, comprising: the non-combustion heating-type flavor inhaler; and a heating device (by reference sign 104, fig. 1) configured to heat the tobacco-containing segment (Abstract and fig. 1).
Conclusion
/PHU H NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1747