DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 2/27/2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 1-30 are rejected.
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to Applicant’s reply filed under 3 CFR 1.111 on 2/27/2026. Claims 1,25, and 28 were amended and claims 1-30 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,12,13,15,16,19,20,24,25,28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US Pub. 2025/0175814)(W1 hereafter) in view of Ramamurthi et al. (US Pub. 2022/0353163)(R1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 25, W1 teaches a network node (i.e. base station)[refer Fig. 3; 104] for wireless communication [paragraph 0034], comprising:
one or more memories [paragraph 0054]; and one or more processors (i.e. CPUs), coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination [paragraph 0054], to:
receive a request [paragraph 0137] associated with a protocol data unit (PDU) session (a PDU session configured by the SMF for a UE)[paragraph 0036];
establish, based at least in part on the request [paragraph 0137], the PDU session [paragraph 0040]; and
establish, based at least in part on the request, a tunnel associated with the PDU session (a tunnel can be set up between a CU-UP and a DU so that the DU can transmit UL data, which includes initial UL MAC PDU, and subsequent UL data)[paragraph 0091].
However, W1 fails to disclose transmitting, via the tunnel, energy usage information as part of user plane traffic, the energy usage information indicating an amount of energy consumed to deliver one or more protocol data units (PDUs) to or from a user equipment (UE).
R1 discloses that a CU and DU can provide energy consumption information that includes amount of energy consumption over a time period, a rate of energy consumption over time and/or other suitable energy usage information, which provides information indicating particular traffic attributes, such as particular amount of information to decrypt, queue, handle, receive, output or otherwise process traffic (i.e. energy usage information as part of user plane traffic)[paragraph 0018], the monitoring of protocol level throughput and energy consumption metrics associated with one or more CUs and/or Dus are provided using GPRS tunneling protocol-user plane tunnels (i.e. transmitting via tunnel, the energy usage information)[paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the identification of energy consumption through traffic as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improve energy efficiency [refer R1; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 12, W1 fails to disclose transmitting one or more user plane protocol control PDUs containing the energy usage information.
R1 discloses that a CU and DU can provide energy consumption information that includes amount of energy consumption over a time period, a rate of energy consumption over time and/or other suitable energy usage information, which provides information indicating particular traffic attributes, such as particular amount of information to decrypt, queue, handle, receive, output or otherwise process traffic (i.e. energy usage information as part of user plane traffic)[paragraph 0018], the monitoring of protocol level throughput and energy consumption metrics associated with one or more CUs and/or Dus are provided using GPRS tunneling protocol-user plane tunnels (i.e. transmitting energy usage information using PDUs)[paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the identification of energy consumption through traffic as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improve energy efficiency [refer R1; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 13, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage information is specific to a PDU associated with the PDU session.
R1 discloses that a CU and DU can provide energy consumption information that includes amount of energy consumption over a time period, a rate of energy consumption over time and/or other suitable energy usage information, which provides information indicating particular traffic attributes, such as particular amount of information to decrypt, queue, handle, receive, output or otherwise process traffic (i.e. energy usage information is specific to a PDU associated with the PDU session)[paragraph 0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the identification of energy consumption through traffic as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improve energy efficiency [refer R1; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 15, W1 fails to disclose receiving, by a central unit user plane (CU-UP) of the network node, the energy usage information from a distributed unit (DU) of the network node, and the one or more processors, to transmit the energy usage information, are configured to transmit the energy usage information by the CU-UP.
R1 discloses that a CU and DU can provide energy consumption information that includes amount of energy consumption over a time period, a rate of energy consumption over time and/or other suitable energy usage information, which provides information indicating particular traffic attributes, such as particular amount of information to decrypt, queue, handle, receive, output or otherwise process traffic (i.e. energy usage information as part of user plane traffic)[paragraph 0018], the monitoring of protocol level throughput and energy consumption metrics associated with one or more CUs and/or Dus are provided using GPRS tunneling protocol-user plane tunnels (i.e. transmitting via tunnel, the energy usage information)[paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the identification of energy consumption through traffic as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improve energy efficiency [refer R1; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claims 16 and 28, W1 teaches a network entity [refer Fig. 1A; 160][paragraph 0034] for wireless communication [paragraph 0036], comprising:
one or more memories (it is inherent that a core network device [refer Fig. 1A; 110][paragraph 0034] will have memories to store information and/or instructions); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination (it is inherent that a core network device [refer Fig. 1A; 110][paragraph 0034] will have memories to store information and/or instructions and a subsequent processor to read from said memories), to:
receive a request [paragraph 0137] associated with a protocol data unit (PDU) session (a PDU session configured by the SMF for a UE)[paragraph 0036];
establish, based at least in part on the request [paragraph 0137], a tunnel associated with the PDU session (a tunnel can be set up between a CU-UP and a DU so that the DU can transmit UL data, which includes initial UL MAC PDU, and subsequent UL data)[paragraph 0091];
receive, via the tunnel, information (i.e. UL data)[paragraph 0091].
However, W1 fails to disclose receive, via the tunnel, energy usage information as part of user plane traffic, the energy usage information indicating an amount of energy consumed to deliver one or more protocol data units (PDUs) to or from a user equipment (UE), and transmit, based at least in part on the energy usage information, an energy usage report.
R1 discloses that a CU and DU can provide energy consumption information that includes amount of energy consumption over a time period, a rate of energy consumption over time and/or other suitable energy usage information, which provides information indicating particular traffic attributes, such as particular amount of information to decrypt, queue, handle, receive, output or otherwise process traffic (i.e. energy usage information as part of user plane traffic)[paragraph 0018], the monitoring of protocol level throughput and energy consumption metrics associated with one or more CUs and/or Dus are provided using GPRS tunneling protocol-user plane tunnels (i.e. transmitting an energy usage report)[paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the identification of energy consumption through traffic as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improve energy efficiency [refer R1; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claims 19 and 30, W1 fails to disclose to receive the energy usage information, are configured to receive one or more user plane protocol control PDUs containing the energy usage information.
R1 discloses that a CU and DU can provide energy consumption information that includes amount of energy consumption over a time period, a rate of energy consumption over time and/or other suitable energy usage information, which provides information indicating particular traffic attributes, such as particular amount of information to decrypt, queue, handle, receive, output or otherwise process traffic (i.e. energy usage information as part of user plane traffic)[paragraph 0018], the monitoring of protocol level throughput and energy consumption metrics associated with one or more CUs and/or Dus are provided using GPRS tunneling protocol-user plane tunnels (i.e. transmitting via tunnel, the energy usage information)[paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the identification of energy consumption through traffic as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improve energy efficiency [refer R1; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 20, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage information is specific to a PDU associated with the PDU session.
R1 discloses that a CU and DU can provide energy consumption information that includes amount of energy consumption over a time period, a rate of energy consumption over time and/or other suitable energy usage information, which provides information indicating particular traffic attributes, such as particular amount of information to decrypt, queue, handle, receive, output or otherwise process traffic (i.e. energy usage information as part of user plane traffic)[paragraph 0018], the monitoring of protocol level throughput and energy consumption metrics associated with one or more CUs and/or Dus are provided using GPRS tunneling protocol-user plane tunnels (i.e. transmitting via tunnel, the energy usage information)[paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the identification of energy consumption through traffic as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improve energy efficiency [refer R1; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 24, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage report is specific to the PDU session.
R1 discloses that a CU and DU can provide energy consumption information that includes amount of energy consumption over a time period, a rate of energy consumption over time and/or other suitable energy usage information, which provides information indicating particular traffic attributes, such as particular amount of information to decrypt, queue, handle, receive, output or otherwise process traffic (i.e. energy usage report specific to PDU session)[paragraph 0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the identification of energy consumption through traffic as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improve energy efficiency [refer R1; paragraph 0025].
Claims 2-5,7-10,14,17,21-23,26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W1 in view of R1, as applied to claims 1,16,25 and 28, in further view of Papageorgiou et al. (EP 4,156,737A)(P1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 2 and 26, W1 teaches the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: receive a configuration from a session management function (SMF) [paragraph 0036].
However, W1 fails to disclose an energy usage monitoring configuration.
P1 discloses a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036].
Regarding claim 3, W1 teaches one or more quality of service (QoS) flows [paragraph 0012].
However, W1 fails to disclose an energy usage monitoring configuration specific to the QoS flows.
P1 discloses, that for network analytics that are an extension for an existing concept for satisfying QoS related requirements [paragraph 0006], a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036], while satisfying QoS requirements [refer P1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claim 4, W1 teaches the one or more processors, to receive the configuration, are configured to receive the configuration by a central unit control plane (CU-CP) of the network node [paragraph 0059], and the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to transmit, by the CU-CP to a distributed unit (DU) of the network node [paragraph 0060].
However, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage monitoring configuration, and receiving the energy usage monitoring configuration, transmit based at least in part on the energy usage monitoring configuration, a request to perform energy usage reporting.
P1 discloses a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044], when a terminal establishes a PDU session, a request for energy data, such as consumption and energy status, can be made for the terminal [paragraph 0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036].
Regarding claims 5 and 27, W1 in view of P1, as applied to claims 1 and 25, teaches the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: receive an energy usage monitoring configuration [refer P1; paragraph 0044] via the tunnel (a tunnel can be set up between a CU-UP and a DU so that the DU can transmit UL data, which includes initial UL MAC PDU, and subsequent UL data)[refer W1; paragraph 0091].
Regarding claim 7, W1 fails to disclose receiving one or more user plane protocol control PDUs that indicate the energy usage monitoring configuration.
P1 discloses a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044], a service, EnergyInfluence, can be defined to provide UE or PDU session related data [paragraph 0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036].
Regarding claim 8, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage monitoring configuration is specific to a PDU associated with the PDU session.
P1 discloses a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044], when a terminal establishes a PDU session, a request for energy data, such as consumption and energy status, can be made for the terminal [paragraph 0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036].
Regarding claim 9, W1 teaches a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the PDU session [paragraph 0012].
However, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage monitoring configuration is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the PDU session.
P1 discloses, that for network analytics that are an extension for an existing concept for satisfying QoS related requirements [paragraph 0006], a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036], while satisfying QoS requirements [refer P1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claim 10, W1 teaches receiving the energy usage monitoring configuration by a central unit user plane (CU-UP) of the network node [paragraph 0059], and the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to transmit, by the CU-UP to a distributed unit (DU) of the network node [paragraph 0060].
However, W1 fails to disclose receiving the energy usage monitoring configuration, and to transmit, by the CU-UP to a distributed unit (DU) of the network node, based at least in part on the energy usage monitoring configuration, a request to perform energy usage reporting.
P1 discloses a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044], when a terminal establishes a PDU session, a request for energy data, such as consumption and energy status, can be made for the terminal [paragraph 0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036].
Regarding claim 14, W1 teaches a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the PDU session [paragraph 0012].
However, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage information is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the PDU session.
P1 discloses, that for network analytics that are an extension for an existing concept for satisfying QoS related requirements [paragraph 0006], a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036], while satisfying QoS requirements [refer P1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claim 17, W1 teaches the use of a tunnel [paragraph 0092].
However, W1 fails to disclose the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in any combination, to: transmit an energy usage monitoring configuration via the tunnel.
P1 discloses a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036].
Regarding claim 21, W1 teaches the use of a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with a PDU session [paragraph 0012].
However, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage information is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the PDU session.
P1 discloses, that for network analytics that are an extension for an existing concept for satisfying QoS related requirements [paragraph 0006], a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036], while satisfying QoS requirements [refer P1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claim 22, W1 teaches the use of a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with a PDU session [paragraph 0012].
However, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage report is specific to a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the PDU session.
P1 discloses, that for network analytics that are an extension for an existing concept for satisfying QoS related requirements [paragraph 0006], a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036], while satisfying QoS requirements [refer P1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claim 23, W1 teaches a service data flow (SDF) (i.e. service data including IMS services)[paragraph 0038] associated with the PDU session [paragraph 0036].
However, W1 fails to disclose the energy usage report is specific to a service data flow (SDF) associated with the PDU session.
P1 discloses, that for network analytics that are an extension for an existing concept for satisfying QoS related requirements (i.e. service data flow)[paragraph 0006], a multi-access or normal PDU session is established according to a 3GPP standard and in which a PCF manages policies and subscribes to receiving UE-energy-data of the UE using a subscribe service (i.e. energy usage monitoring configuration)[paragraph 0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] to incorporate the transmission of battery level and individual UE energy consumption statistics as part of PDU session as taught by P1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of optimizing energy consumption for a UE [refer P1; paragraph 0036], while satisfying QoS requirements [refer P1; paragraph 0006].
Claims 11,18 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W1 in view of P1, as applied to claims 1,16, and 28, in further view of Nuggehalli et al. (US Pub. 2018/0132263)(N1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 11, W1 fails to disclose to transmit the energy usage information, transmit one or more PDUs containing header markings that indicate the energy usage information.
N1 discloses that a header of a PDU can comprise of a 1 bit flag to indicate a marking flag that can indicate any control information [paragraph 0024], if specific information is to be comprised within a PDU, the marking flag can be set to indicate that the PDU contains specific information [paragraph 0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] in view of P1 for providing energy reporting to further incorporate the marking of a specific field within a header of a PDU to indicate specific information, such as an energy usage monitoring as disclosed by P1, as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of identifying whether the PDUs comprise of specific information that would need to be transmitted [refer N1; paragraph 0024].
Regarding claims 18 and 29, W1 fails to disclose to receive the energy usage information, receive one or more PDUs containing header markings that indicate the energy usage information.
N1 discloses that a header of a PDU can comprise of a 1 bit flag to indicate a marking flag that can indicate any control information [paragraph 0024], if specific information is to be comprised within a PDU, the marking flag can be set to indicate that the PDU contains specific information [paragraph 0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] in view of P1 for providing energy reporting to further incorporate the marking of a specific field within a header of a PDU to indicate specific information, such as an energy usage monitoring as disclosed by P1, as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of identifying whether the PDUs comprise of specific information that would need to be transmitted [refer N1; paragraph 0024].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W1 in view of R1 in further view of P1, as applied to claim 5, in further view of N1.
Regarding claim 6, W1 in view of P1 fails to disclose to receive the energy usage monitoring configuration, receive one or more PDUs containing header markings that indicate the energy usage monitoring configuration.
N1 discloses that a header of a PDU can comprise of a 1 bit flag to indicate a marking flag that can indicate any control information [paragraph 0024], if specific information is to be comprised within a PDU, the marking flag can be set to indicate that the PDU contains specific information [paragraph 0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of W1 for establishing a PDU session [refer W1; paragraph 0036] in view of P1 for providing energy reporting to further incorporate the marking of a specific field within a header of a PDU to indicate specific information, such as an energy usage monitoring as disclosed by P1, as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of identifying whether the PDUs comprise of specific information that would need to be transmitted [refer N1; paragraph 0024].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 2/27/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1,16,25 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments to claims 1,16,25 and 28. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ramamurthi et al. (US Pub. 2022/0353163)(R1 hereafter) as noted in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ryan Kavleski
/R.C.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412