DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first component” in claims 1 and 13 (interpreted to be PV modules, piles, support structures (like torque tubes), torque tubes, or mounting elements (like brackets), see for example Para. 0043 of Applicant’s specification), “a second component” in claims 1 and 13 (interpreted to be PV modules, piles, support structures (like torque tubes), torque tubes, or mounting elements (like brackets), see for example Para. 0043 of Applicant’s specification), “a support structure” in claims 4 and 15 (interpreted to be a torque tube, see for example Para. 0042 of Applicant’s specification), “a mounting element” in claims 4 and 15 (interpreted to be brackets, see for example Para. 0040 of Applicant’s specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, “a portion of a first component” and “a portion of a second component” is are indefinite because it is unclear if “a portion .of a first component” and “a portion of a second component” in claim 9 is the same as “a portion of a first component” and “a portion of a second component” in claim 1. For examination purposes, “a portion of a first component” and “a portion of a second component” in claim 9 is being interpreted to be “the portion of the first component” and “the portion of the second component”.
Regarding claim 11, “an impact force” is indefinite because it is unclear if “an impact force” in claim 11 is the same as “an impact force” in claim 10. For examination purposes, “an impact force” in claim 11 is being interpreted to mean “the impact force”.
Regarding claim 12, “an impact force” is indefinite because it is unclear if “an impact force” in claim 12 is the same as “an impact force” in claim 10. For examination purposes, “an impact force” in claim 12 is being interpreted to mean “the impact force”.
Regarding claims 14-20, “the system” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ballentine et al (US 2020/0153382).
Regarding claim 13, Ballentine discloses a solar power system (Fig. 1, item 1100) comprising:
a first component (Fig. 3, item 1150);
a second component (Fig. 3, item 1200); and
a high-impact fastener (Fig. 3, item 1310, 1342) extending through a portion of the first component (Para. 0069-0071) and through a portion of the second component (Para. 0069-0071) to prevent slippage between the first and second components (Para. 0069-0071).
Regarding claim 14, Ballentine discloses the system of claim 13, further comprising:
a strap (Fig. 3, item 1300) secured over a top surface of the high-impact fastener (Fig. 3, strap 1300 is over a top surface of nut plates 1342) (Para. 0087) and around the first and second components (Para. 0069) to prevent a disengagement of the high-impact fastener (Para. 0069) from the first and second components (Para. 0069) and a separation between the first and second components (Para. 0069).
Regarding claim 15, Ballentine discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the first component is a support structure (Fig. 3, item 1150, torque tube 1150) and the second component is a mounting element (Fig. 3, item 1200, mounting bracket).
Regarding claim 17, Ballentine discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the support structure is a torque tube (Fig. 3, item 1150, torque tube 1150).
Regarding claim 19, Ballentine discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the first component is a torque tube (Fig. 3, item 1150, torque tube 1150) and the second component is an internal torque tube coupler (Fig. 3, item 1200).
Regarding claim 20, Ballentine discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the first component is a torque tube (Fig. 3, item 1150, torque tube 1150) and the second component is an external torque tube coupler (Fig. 3, item 1200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballentine et al (US 2020/0153382) in view of Aftanas (US 2011/0214365).
Regarding claim 1, Ballentine discloses a method of assembling a solar power system (Fig. 1, item 1100), the method comprising:
positioning (Para. 0055-0057) a first component (Fig. 3, item 1150) of the solar power system proximate to a second component (Fig. 3, item 1200) of the solar power system (Para. 0055-0057); and
driving a high-impact fastener (Fig. 3, item 1310, 1342) through a portion of the first component (Para. 0069-0071) and through a portion of the second component (Para. 0069-0071) to prevent slippage between the first and second components (Para. 0069-0071).
Ballentine does not expressly disclose using an actuated fastener device to drive the high-impact fastener.
However, Aftanas teaches using an actuated fastener device (Aftanas, Para. 0028) to drive the high-impact fastener (Aftanas, Fig. 4, item 14) to secure a first component (Aftanas, Fig. 4, item 54) of a solar power system (Aftanas, Para. 0028) to a second component (Aftanas, Fig. 4, item 12) of the solar power system (Aftanas, Para. 0028).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Ballentine and Aftanas to modify the method of Ballentine to include the actuated fastener device of Aftanas. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to ensure maximum torque is reached to securely fasten the first component to the second component (Aftanas, Para. 0028).
Regarding claim 2, Ballentine discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
securing a strap (Fig. 3, item 1300) over a top surface of the high-impact fastener (Fig. 3, strap 1300 is over a top surface of nut plates 1342) (Para. 0087) and around the first and second components (Para. 0069) to prevent a disengagement of the high-impact fastener from the first and second components (Para. 0069) and a separation between the first and second components (Para. 0069).
Regarding claim 4, Ballentine discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first component is a support structure (Fig. 3, item 1150, torque tube 1150) and the second component is a mounting element (Fig. 3, item 1200, mounting bracket).
Regarding claim 5, Ballentine discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the support structure is a torque tube (Fig. 3, item 1150, torque tube 1150).
Regarding claim 6, Ballentine in view of Aftanas does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the actuated fastener device comprises a powder actuated fastener device.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize a powder actuated fastener device, since applicant has not disclosed that a powder actuated fastener device solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the power tool of Aftanas.
Regarding claim 7, Ballentine in view of Aftanas does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the actuated fastener device comprises a gas actuated fastener device.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize a gas actuated fastener device, since applicant has not disclosed that a gas actuated fastener device solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the power tool of Aftanas.
Regarding claim 8, Ballentine in view of Aftanas does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the actuated fastener device comprises an electronically actuated fastener device.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize a electronically actuated fastener device, since applicant has not disclosed that a electronically actuated fastener device solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the power tool of Aftanas.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Ballentine teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the actuated fastener device (Aftanas, Para. 0028) is configured to drive the high-impact fastener through a portion of a first component (Ballentine, Fig. 3, item 1150) of a solar power system (Ballentine, Para. 0069-0071) and a portion of a second component (Ballentine, Fig. 3, item 1300) of the solar power system (Ballentine, Para. 0069-0071) to attach the first component to the second component (Ballentine, Para. 0069-0071).
Regarding claim 10, Ballentine in view of Aftanas does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the actuated fastener device is configured to apply an impact force equal to or greater than one hundred joules.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply an impact force equal to or greater than one hundred joules, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Ballentine in view of Aftanas does not expressly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the actuated fastener is configured to apply an impact force at a level of approximately one hundred fifty joules.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply an impact force equal to or greater than one hundred fifty joules, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, Ballentine in view of Aftanas does not expressly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the actuated fastener is configured to apply an impact force at a level of approximately three hundred thirty-five joules.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to apply an impact force equal to or greater than three hundred thirty-five joules, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballentine et al (US 2020/0153382).
Regarding claim 16, Ballentine does not expressly disclose the system of claim 15, wherein the support structure is a pile.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize a pile as the support structure, since applicant has not disclosed that a pile solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the torque tube.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballentine et al (US 2020/0153382) in view of Schulte et al (US 2018/0062568), hereinafter Schulte.
Regarding claim 18, Ballentine is silent about the system of claim 17, further comprising a PV module that is secured to the torque tube through the mounting element.
However, Schulte teaches a solar power system (Schulte, Fig. 2) comprising a PV module (Schulte, Fig. 2, item 110) that is secured to the torque tube (Schulte, Fig. 2, item 102) through the mounting element (Schulte, Fig. 2, item 202).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Ballentine and Schulte to modify the solar power system of Schulte to include the PV module of Schulte. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to permit the solar power system to pivot the solar modules to track the movement of the sun (Schulte, Para. 0001).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731