DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 7-14 and 17- 20 are allowed for having essentially the allowable subject matters indicated in the Office action of 2/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder (US 2023/0175923 A1) in view of Geropp et al. (DE 19702234 A1; hereinafter “Geropp.” This Office action provides a machine translation of Geropp).
Schroeder teaches a method for detecting a bearing failure condition for a disk gang assembly (44) of an agricultural implement (10), the disk gang assembly (44) comprising a shaft (73), a bearing (75) rotatably supporting the shaft (73) for rotation about a rotational axis (71), and a plurality of disks (46) supported on the shaft (73) for rotation with the shaft (73) about the rotational axis (71), the method comprising (See fig. 3, reproduced below):
receiving, with a computing system 110 (Fig. 4), data generated by a sensor (80) provided in operative association with the disk gang assembly (44), the data being indicative of a disk gang-related parameter (e.g., loading, strain, etc.; Par. 0036);
identifying, with the computing system, when the bearing (75) is experiencing a bearing failure condition based at least in part on an evaluation of the data (Abstract; Pars. 0030-0032); and
performing, with the computing system, a control action associated with the agricultural implement (10) when the bearing (75) is identified as experiencing the bearing failure condition (as is obvious per Schroeder Pars. 0019; 0053-0054).
Schroeder doesn’t teach:
the data generated by the sensor (80) provided in operative association with the bearing (75), the data being indicative of a bearing-related parameter;
converting, with the computing system, the data to a frequency domain using a spectral analysis technique, the data converted to the frequency domain indicating a magnitude of the bearing-related parameter at a detected rotational frequency;
identifying, with the computing system, when the bearing (75) is experiencing a bearing failure condition when the magnitude of the bearing-related parameter at the detected rotational frequency is greater than a baseline magnitude of the bearing-related parameter by at least a threshold difference.
Geropp teaches a method for detecting a bearing failure condition for a machine part, the machine part comprising a rotating part having a bearing, the method comprising (See fig. 2, reproduced and annotated below):
receiving, with a computing system (6-9), data generated by a sensor 5 (which may be a vibration sensor) provided in operative association with the bearing (of the rotating part; Pars. 0001, 0027), the data being indicative of a bearing-related parameter (e.g., vibration);
converting, with the computing system (6-9), the data to a frequency domain using a spectral analysis technique (e.g., a Fourier transformation; Fig. 2 below; Pars. 0004, 0016, 0027), the data converted to the frequency domain indicating a magnitude of the bearing-related parameter at a detected rotational frequency (detected by a further sensor 10 shown in fig. 2; Pars. 0001, 0027-0028);
identifying, with the computing system, when the bearing is experiencing a bearing failure condition when the magnitude of the bearing-related parameter (vibration) at the detected rotational frequency is greater than a baseline magnitude of the bearing-related parameter essentially by at least a threshold difference (Abstract; Pars. 0011, 0022, 0025); and
triggering, with the computing system, an alarm associated with the machine part when the bearing is identified as experiencing the bearing failure condition (Pars. 0011-0012, 0025).
The method may at least modify the threshold difference based on a speed, and/or load, and/or stress of the rotating part on the bearing in order to accurately identify when the bearing is experiencing the bearing failure condition (Abstract; Pars. 0008-0013, 0015-0016, 0021-0022).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Geropp teaching to Schroeder method by having the data generated by the sensor (80) provided in operative association with the bearing (75), the data being indicative of a bearing-related parameter; converting, with the computing system, the data to a frequency domain using a spectral analysis technique, the data converted to the frequency domain indicating a magnitude of the bearing-related parameter at a detected rotational frequency; identifying, with the computing system, when the bearing (75) is experiencing a bearing failure condition when the magnitude of the bearing-related parameter at the detected rotational frequency is greater than a baseline magnitude of the bearing-related parameter by at least a threshold difference. As such, the method may at least modify the threshold difference based on a speed, and/or load, and/or stress of the disk gang assembly (44) on the bearing (75) in order to accurately identify when the bearing (75) is experiencing the bearing failure condition.
23. Schroeder as modified teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the detected rotational frequency is a rotational frequency of the plurality of disks 46 (that would be detected by the further sensor 10 taught by Geropp. See discussion above in claim 21).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroeder in view of Geropp as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Thomson (US 9,989,439 B2).
Schroeder as modified teaches the method of claim 21, but is silent about: wherein receiving the data generated by the sensor (80/5) comprises receiving the data from a draft load sensor, the data being indicative of a load on the bearing (75).
Thomson teaches a method for detecting a bearing failure condition for mechanical systems (like wind turbines, trains, trucks, automobiles, etc.; Col. 1, lines 20-32), the method comprising receiving data generated by a sensor (12) being a draft load sensor (12), the data being indicative of a load on a bearing 10 (as is evident from at least in fig. 1, reproduced below).
Note: Similar to Schroeder as modified, Thomson also teaches that the sensor 12 (Fig. 1) is provided in operative association with the bearing (10), the sensor (12) being configured to generate data indicative of a bearing-related parameter (e.g., vibrations of the bearing 10; Abstract);
and a computing system 14 (Fig. 1) configured to:
receive the data generated by the sensor 12 (Fig. 2, S100; Thomson claim 1);
convert the data to a frequency domain using a spectral analysis technique (e.g., Fourier Transform; S101; Thomson claim 1); and
identify when the bearing (10) is experiencing a bearing failure condition based at least in part on an evaluation of the data converted to the frequency domain (S107; Thomson claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to apply Thomson teaching to Schroeder method as modified by having the receiving the data generated by the sensor (80/5) comprises receiving the data from a draft load sensor (as an alternative), the data being indicative of a load on the bearing (75), so as to identify when the bearing (75) is experiencing the bearing failure condition as well.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed with the response on 5/27/2026 with respect to the 103 rejections of independent claims 1, 11 and 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schroeder and Geropp with respect to independent claim 21.
Conclusion
/Nguyen Q. Ha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 June 9, 2026