DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 12/15/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of claims
The amendment filed on 05/15/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 2-5 and 7 have been canceled and new claims 21 and 22 have been added. Claims 1, 6, 8-22 are under examination in the instant office action.
Rejections withdrawn
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 05/15/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Rejections maintained
The following rejections of the claims are remained for reasons of record and the following. New claims are hereby included in the rejections and the rejections are modified based on the amendments, new claims and for clarity (newly underlined).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brode, II et al. (US 4,663,159) in view of Brode et al. (US 5,407,919).
Brode, II et al. teach a hydrophobic substituted cationic polysaccharide with a desirable combination of properties of enhanced solution viscosity, emulsification, foaming and surface pressure properties combined with the substantivity and desirable cosmetic properties for care cosmetic and non-cosmetic personal applications
including lotion (flowable thus the claimed liquid in the instant claims 1 and 18) or rinses as carriers for active agents in internal drugs (the claimed (b) in the instant claim 1) (column 15, line 67 through column 16, line 20) together in an aqueous solution with NaCl (the claimed liquid aqueous solution in the instant clams 1 and 18 and the claimed inorganic salt in the instant claim 16)) (column 13, line 20-23);
wherein the hydrophobic substituted cationic polysaccharide is
with Q being -O-, Rsacch being the residue of a polysaccharide repeating unit, z being about 250-4,000 (the claimed structure II in the instant claim 1) (column 8, line 8-14), each R1, R2, and R3 (the claimed Ra, Rb, and Rc in the claimed structure II in the instant claim 1) being hydrogen or
with R6 being
(the claimed
portion in the claimed structure III in the instant claim 1 and the claimed -Rd- being -CH2- in the instant claims 1 and 8) (column 7 line 29 through column 9, line 11); 2 of R9, R10, and R11 being methyl and 1 of R9, R10 (the claimed R2 and R3 in the instant claims 1 and 8), and R11 being Rh of Cabout 12-18 alkyl (the claimed R4 in the instant claims 1, 21, and 22) (column 9, line 19-44) and A being chloride (the instant claim 10) (column 8, line 28-30) and 2 of R1, R2, and R3 being -H and 1 of R1, R2, and R3
(the instant claim 9) (column 10, line 26-36); and
the hydrophobic substituted cationic polysaccharide having viscosity of 23 cps (mPa.s) measured at 25 °C for a 2% hydrophobic substituted cationic polysaccharide in aqueous solution in table II run 26 (the instant claims 19 and 20) (column 13, line 13-19) and 0.096-0.113 of CS (cationic substitution) (the instant claims 11-13) (claim 2), and
exemplified a lotion comprising 1% by weight of hydrophobic substituted cationic polysaccharide in table IV (the instant claim 6), i.e., < about 25-500,000 cps viscosity.
The molecular weight (MW) of the polysaccharide is calculated to be 45,750-732,000 based on the 250-4000 repeating units (claim 2) and 183 g/mol saccharide repeating unit weight. The hydrophobic cationic substitution is calculated to be 2.62% of the MW of the polysaccharide: 0.1045%x14/351=2.62% based on the cationic substitution of 0.096-0.113 (claim 2) using the midpoint 0.1045 for calculation and 1 nitrogen (14 g/mol) in each of
(351 g/mol) while CS is a percent nitrogen content (column 11, line 39-45). The MW of the hydrophobic substituted cationic polysaccharide is calculated to be about 46,948-751,178 (45,750 x 102.62% = 46,948 and 732,000 x 102.62% = 751,178).
Brode, II et al. teach selection and optimization of various hydrophobic and/or non-hydrophobic substitutions producing hydrophobe substituted cationic polysaccharides with a wide range of desired viscosity (column 13, line 7-19); thus, non-hydrophobic quaternary ammonium group is not taught by Brode, II et al. as must have substitution (the instant claim 1).
Brode, II et al. do not teach the same MW (about 46,948-751,178 vs the claimed ≥100,000 and 100,000-500,000 in the instant claims 14 and 15).
This deficiency is cures by the rationale that a prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the ranges of MW lie inside/overlap with the range disclosed in the prior art, such as in the instant rejection.
The claimed range of MW is ≥100,000 and 100,000-500,000 and the range of MW taught in the prior art is about 46,948-751,178 and therefor, includes/overlaps with the claimed ranges.
Brode, II et al. do not teach the lotion being used for nasal application (instant claim 1).
This deficiency is cures by Brode et al. who teach a composition in form of lotion, etc., (column 4, line 42-55) with water as a diluent (column 5, line 1-2) as personal care or a nasal transmucosal system (abstract and column 1, line 57-61) (implies a step of applying to nasal mucosal) comprising active including nonoxynol-9 (column 5, line 68), buffered saline (column 5, line 34-49) (containing NaCl), and from about 0.5-10% by weight (column 5, line 18-23) of water soluble cationic hydrophobic modified cellulose including hydroxyethyl cellulose modified by
with each R1 and R2 being CH3 or C2H5; R3 being CH2CH2; R4 being a C8-18 alkyl; and A1 being a halide ion (column 2, line 66 through column 3, line 27); wherein cationic substitution is about 0.1-0.25 (column 3, line 61-67) with the MW of the cationic hydrophobic modified cellulose being about 20,000-200,000 and a viscosity of about 10-500 cp (mPa.s) at 25 °C for a 2% solution (column 2, line 25-43).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Brode, II et al. and Brode et al. to specify the personal care lotion and/or interna drugs taught by Brode, II et al. being suitable for nasal application (implies a step of applying to nasal mucosal). A lotion comprising cationic hydrophobic modified cellulose being suitable for personal use also being suitable for nasal application was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for specifying it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicants argue that Brode, II et al. do not teach the claimed application to mucosal surface such as nasal cavity while the rejection concluded eyes, noses, mouths, vaginas and GI tracts being physiologically and biochemically interchangeable from Brode et al.’s teachings of eyes, noses, mouths, vaginas and GI tracts.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. The rejection did not conclude eyes, noses, mouths, vaginas and GI tracts being physiologically and biochemically interchangeable, rather, concluded that it would have been prima facie obvious to specify the personal care lotion and/or interna drugs taught by Brode, II et al. being suitable for nasal application (implies a step of applying to nasal mucosal) based on Brode et al.’s teaching of a composition in form of lotion, etc., as personal care or a nasal transmucosal system and Brode, II et al.’s teaching of a hydrophobic substituted cationic polysaccharide being in compositions as carriers for active agents in internal drugs (which includes mucosal surface such as nasal cavity).
Claims 1, 6, and 8-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brode, II et al. (US 4,663,159) in view of Brode et al. (US 5,407,919) and McCarty (US 2007/0071806 A1).
The teachings of Brode, II et al. and Brode et al. are discussed above and applied in the same manner.
Brode, II et al. do not specify adding a phosphate buffer in the instant claim 17.
This deficiency is cured by Brode et al. who teach the personal care or a nasal transmucosal system comprising cationic hydrophobic modified cellulose and buffered saline and McCarty who teaches transmucosal composition for antiviral actives to nasal or vaginal being buffered with phosphate buffer (abstract, paragraph 6-8).
It would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Brode, II et al., Brode et al., and McCarty to add buffer Brode et al. to the composition taught by Brode, II et al. and specify the buffer in the composition taught by Brode et al. being a phosphate buffer. Buffer being incorporated in personal care and internal drug lotion and a phosphate buffer being suitable in nasal composition were well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The motivation for adding buffer Brode et al. to the composition taught by Brode, II et al. and specifying the buffer in the composition taught by Brode et al. being a phosphate buffer flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Argument regarding the 103 rejection is basically the same as the above rejection, thus the response discussed above applies here as well and is not persuasive for reason discussed above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG YU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614