Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 08/31/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
Applicant submits that Invention I and II encompass overlapping subject matter. Claim 2 reads in relevant part, the first and second welding head parts are sized and oriented such that, when welding the welded member, a bottom surface of one of the first welding end or the second welding end abuts a top side of the welded member, and a side surface of the other one of the first welding end or the second welding end abuts a side of the welded member. Claim 2, which is part of Invention I, expressly requires the process of Invention II that the Examiner has identified as the distinguishing feature of Invention II. As such, at least claim 9 of Invention I cannot be practiced without the process of Invention II.
The inventions have not acquired a separate status in the art in view of their related classification, similar subject matter and field of search. As such, the Examiner must recognize that there exists a correlation between the subject matters of Invention I and Invention II, negating the Examiner's claim that there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required.
This is not found persuasive. Claim 2, referenced by Applicant as expressly requiring the process of Invention I, recites “wherein the first and second welding head parts are sized and oriented such that, when welding the welded member, a bottom surface of one of the first welding end or the second welding end abuts a top side of the welded member, and a side surface of the other of the first welding end or the second welding end abuts one side of the welded member” (emphasis added). Here, claim 2 recites a cooperative relationship that is based on the manner in which the claimed welding head is intended to be employed. Nothing in claim 2 requires the welding head to be used in the same manner as the process of Invention II as Invention I and II belong to distinct statutory categories of invention. Invention I is directed to an apparatus and not to a process. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). As such, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that claim 2 expressly requires the process of Invention II. It is assumed that Applicant’s statement of “at least claim 9 of Invention I cannot be practiced without the process of Invention II” is intended to refer to claim 2 rather than 9. If this is not the case, the Examiner is unsure of Applicant’s position as the subject matter of claim 9 was not discussed in the traversal.
With respect to the latter traversal, the Examiner notes that the Requirement (pages 2-3) set for that serious search and/or examination burden existed as “one or more” of the following reasons applied:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of
their different classification
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to
their recognized divergent subject matter; and/or
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for
example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources,
or employing different search queries).
In this case, Applicant’s traversal against the search and/or examination burden focused on element (a). However, only one of the above needs to be met. As outlined in the Requirement (page 3), “the different groups require separate fields of search as a result of their differing scopes.” While Applicant may contend that both Groups being classed in B23K means that there is a “correlation between the subject matters of Invention I and Invention II, the Examiner is unpersuaded that search and/or examination burden does not exist. The Examiner notes that “correlation” is not enough to refute a determination of search burden outlined in the Requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation of “wherein the first welding head part is identical to, and interchangeable with, the second welding head part” renders the claim indefinite as it is not reasonably clear what is meant by the first welding heat part being interchangeable with the second welding head part. For instance, it is unclear if the first and second welding head parts are intended to be removed from the welding head and their respective positions within the welding head changed (i.e., the first welding head part is moved to where the second welding head part resides, etc.) or if the intention is for the first welding part and the second welding part to alternate as to which one is operational at a given time. In other words, it is not clear if the intention is for “interchangeable” to refer to physical interchangeability, electrical interchangeability, or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schultz et al. (US2019/0314925).
Regarding claim 1, Schultz teaches a welding head (para. 0001; resistance spot welding head) (Fig. 1; welding head 12), comprising:
Figures 3A and 3B of Schultz
a first welding head part (16A or 16B) having a first welding end adapted to contact a welded member (end of either 16A or 16B that comes into contact with 22A or 22C, respectively. See also paragraph 0046); and
a second welding head part (16A or 16B) having a second welding end adapted to contact the welded member (end of either 16A or 16B that comes into contact with 22A or 22C, respectively. See also paragraph 0046), the first welding head part and the second welding head part (16A and 16B) are arranged side by side in a horizontal direction (16A and 16 B are shown arranged next to each other in a horizontal, left to right, direction in Figures 1, 3A, and 3B) and are movable relative to each other in a vertical direction (Fig. 3B and paragraph 0046; “Arm 14A securing electrode 16A may be configured to extend further along Z axis than arm 14B securing electrode 16B to move into step weld configuration 76. For example, one or more lock nuts (e.g., lock nuts 134 of FIG. 6), spring 34, and/or motors or drivers configured to move arms 14 may be configured to move arm 14A relatively further along Z axis than 14B.”).
Regarding claim 2, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first and second welding head parts (16A and 16B) are sized and oriented such that (Fig. 3B), when welding the welded member (22A/22C), a bottom surface of one of the first welding end or the second welding end abuts a top side of the welded member (as shown in either Figure 3A or 3B), and a side surface of the other of the first welding end or the second welding end abuts (indirectly) one side of the welded member [In this case 16A is moved to contact 22a during welding such that the bottommost end of 16A contacts a top surface of 22a. Similarly, 16B is moved to contact a top surface of 22C. Here, while the bottommost surface of 16a contacts a top surface of 22A, a side surface of 16B contacts a side surface of 22C. Similarly, 16B is shown having a bottommost end contacting a top surface of 22C while a bottommost end of 16A indirectly contacts a side of 22C. For purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “abut” includes indirect and direct contact such that the aforementioned ends of 16A/16B are adjacent the respective sides of the workpiece. In this context,. “abut” is defined as “to be adjacent; touch or join at the edge or border (often followed by on, upon, or against).” See dictionary.com/browse/abut, viewed on 10/21/2026.].
Regarding claim 3, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 2 and further teaches wherein one of the first welding head part or the second welding head part is connected to a positive pole of a power supply, and the other one of the first welding head part or the second welding head part is connected to a negative pole of the power supply (para. 0048; “welding system 10 may include a first lead 32A coupled to electrode 16B and a second lead 32C coupled to electrode 16A. Both leads 32A, 32C may be coupled to power source 42. In this way, when welding power source 42 is fired, current may flow in the form of electrons from first lead 32A to electrode 16B to component 22C through surfaces 20C and 20A to weld both surfaces 20A, 20C together, upon which electrons/current may exit component 22A through electrode 16A to return to power source 42 via second lead 32C.”) [While Schultz does not explicitly teach a positive and negative pole, those of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that a positive and negative pole is necessarily required for form a complete circuit in order for the welding system 10 to function as intended. To that end, a positive and negative pole is inherently disclosed.].
Figure 3B of Schultz (annotated)
Regarding claim 4, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 3 and further teaches wherein a gap (annotated above) (see also para. 0019 detailing a gap between the electrodes) is defined between the first welding head part and the second welding head part (16A and 16B) to electrically isolate the first welding head part from the second welding head part [Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim scope is not limited to the gap including any specific electrically insulating material. In other words, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes situations in which the gap itself is sufficient to electrically isolate the electrodes and is not limited to the gap being filled with some electrically insulating material, such as ceramic. In this case, Schultz teaches the electrode parts 16A and 16B being separated by a gap and that the size of the gap is variable. See para. 0019. This gap would necessarily be filled with ambient air. Those of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the gap between the electrodes of Schultz would, at least partially, electrically isolate the electrodes from one another. In this case, the ambient air residing within the gap is understood to be a poor conductor of electrical current. Similarly, paragraph 0048 details the intended current path along the electrodes and workpiece. This gap would necessarily, at least partially, electrically isolate the electrodes from one another in order for the current to flow as intended to weld the workpiece.].
Regarding claim 5, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 3 and further teaches wherein the first and second welding head parts are sized and oriented such that, when welding the welded member, the first welding head part and the second welding head part are electrically connected through the welded member (para. 0048; “welding system 10 may include a first lead 32A coupled to electrode 16B and a second lead 32C coupled to electrode 16A. Both leads 32A, 32C may be coupled to power source 42. In this way, when welding power source 42 is fired, current may flow in the form of electrons from first lead 32A to electrode 16B to component 22C through surfaces 20C and 20A to weld both surfaces 20A, 20C together, upon which electrons/current may exit component 22A through electrode 16A to return to power source 42 via second lead 32C.”).
Regarding claim 6, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 3 and further teaches wherein:
Figure 3B of Schultz (annotated)
the first welding end and the second welding end define a pin shape (para. 0021; “cross sectional shapes such as circular, ovaloid, triangular, or the like.”) [The plain and ordinary meaning of “pin” is “a slender, usually cylindrical piece of wood or metal for holding of fastening parts together, or serving as a support for suspending one thing from another.” See thefreedicitonary.com/pin, viewed on 10/21/2026. Accordingly, “pin shape” is understood to refer to anything resembling the shape of a pin. In this case, a slender and cylindrical or circular shape. As shown above, and supplemented by para. 0021; the respective ends of 16A and 16B are pin shape as they are slender portions of the electrodes and have a circular or similar cross sectional area.] and have a resistance greater than a predetermined value (The invention of Schultz is directed to resistance spot welding in which electrodes 16A and 16B are used to pass current through the workpiece in order to form a weld. By definition the electrodes must have a resistance that is greater than some predetermined value. In this case, the electrodes must have a resistance greater than 0 such that 0 is a predetermined value. Further, para. 0039 details that the welding system includes a resistance sensor that detects resistance levels of electrodes.); and
when welding the welded member, the welding head is adapted such that current flows through the first welding end and the second welding end and generates heat to heat the welded member in contact with the first welding end and the second welding end (para. 0048; “welding system 10 may include a first lead 32A coupled to electrode 16B and a second lead 32C coupled to electrode 16A. Both leads 32A, 32C may be coupled to power source 42. In this way, when welding power source 42 is fired, current may flow in the form of electrons from first lead 32A to electrode 16B to component 22C through surfaces 20C and 20A to weld both surfaces 20A, 20C together, upon which electrons/current may exit component 22A through electrode 16A to return to power source 42 via second lead 32C.”).
Regarding claim 7, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 1 and further teaches wherein a first actuator connected to the first welding head part and driving the first welding head part to move in the vertical direction; and a second actuator connected to the second welding head part and driving the second welding head part to move in the vertical direction (para. 0046; “Arm 14A securing electrode 16A may be configured to extend further along Z axis than arm 14B securing electrode 16B to move into step weld configuration 76. For example, one or more lock nuts (e.g., lock nuts 134 of FIG. 6), spring 34, and/or motors or drivers configured to move arms 14 may be configured to move arm 14A relatively further along Z axis than 14B.”).
Regarding claim 8, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 7 and further teaches a controller (computing device 26; Figures 1-2 and para. 0030-0031) electrically connected to the first actuator and the second actuator and adapted to control the movement amount of the first actuator and the second actuator in the vertical direction.
Regarding claim 9, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 1 and further teaches wherein:
the welding head (12) is adapted to solder the welded member to a circuit board having a preset solder point formed thereon [MPEP 2115; “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” In this case, the claimed invention is directed to the welding head and not to the workpiece. The limitation of “to solder the welded member to a circuit board having a preset solder point formed thereon” refers to the material or article worked upon by the welding head which does not structurally limit the claimed welding head. The welding head of Schultz possesses the necessary structure to solder a circuit board having a preset solder point formed thereon. See also MPEP 2114.); and
when welding the welded member, a bottom surface of one of the first welding end or the second welding end abuts a top side of the welded member, and a side surface of the other one of the first welding end or the second welding end abuts a side of the welded member opposite to the preset solder point to prevent the welding head from touching the preset solder point [In this case 16A is moved to contact 22a during welding such that the bottommost end of 16A contacts a top surface of 22a. Similarly, 16B is moved to contact a top surface of 22C. Here, while the bottommost surface of 16a contacts a top surface of 22A, a side surface of 16B contacts a side surface of 22C. Similarly, 16B is shown having a bottommost end contacting a top surface of 22C while a bottommost end of 16A indirectly contacts a side of 22C. For purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “abut” includes indirect and direct contact such that the aforementioned ends of 16A/16B are adjacent the respective sides of the workpiece. In this context,. “abut” is defined as “to be adjacent; touch or join at the edge or border (often followed by on, upon, or against).” See dictionary.com/browse/abut, viewed on 10/21/2026.].
Regarding claim 10, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the welded member is a wire (MPEP 2115; “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” In this case, the claimed invention is directed to the welding head and not to the workpiece. The limitation of “the welded member is a wire” refers to the material or article worked upon by the welding head which does not structurally limit the claimed welding head. The welding head of Schultz possesses the necessary structure to weld a wire member. See also MPEP 2114.).
Regarding claim 11, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 10 and further teaches wherein when welding the welded member, the bottom surface of the first welding end and the bottom surface of the second welding end are staggered by a predetermined distance in the vertical direction (as shown by the offset illustrated in Figure 3B).
Regarding claim 12, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 11 and further teaches wherein the predetermined distance (offset distance between respective ends of electrodes 16A and 16B shown in Figure 3B) is greater than a radius of the wire and smaller than a diameter of the wire (MPEP 2115; “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” In this case, the claimed invention is directed to the welding head and not to the workpiece. The limitation of the welded member being a “wire” refers to the material or article worked upon by the welding head which does not structurally limit the claimed welding head. The welding head of Schultz possesses the necessary structure to weld a wire member. Additionally, the offset distance shown in Figure 3B is greater than some wire member having a diameter smaller than the offset distance. See also MPEP 2114.).
Regarding claim 13, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first welding head part is identical to (para. 0021; “Electrodes 16 may be many conductive elements, such as, e.g., class 2 copper, class 1 copper, or silica loaded copper. Electrodes may be any size consistent with the disclosure herein. For example, electrodes 16 may define a 3.175 millimeter×3.175 millimeter cross section at a “top” portion (e.g., where electrodes 16 are secured to arms 14) and a 1.015 millimeter×0.635 millimeter cross-section at a “bottom” portion (e.g., where electrodes 16 contact components 20 as discussed herein). In some examples, electrodes 16 may define different cross-sectional shapes, such as circular, ovaloid, triangular, or the like.”), and interchangeable with, the second welding head part (para. 0018 details the electrodes can be swapped out. Para. 0057 details that knob 108 is used to secure and unsecure the electrodes within each arm 14. In this regard, 16A is structurally capable of being removed from the welding head and replaced with 16B and vice versa.).
Regarding claim 14, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first welding end and the second welding end each have a flat bottom surface adapted to abut against a top side of the welded member and a flat side surface adapted to abut one side of the welded member (para. 0021; “Electrodes 16 may be many conductive elements, such as, e.g., class 2 copper, class 1 copper, or silica loaded copper. Electrodes may be any size consistent with the disclosure herein. For example, electrodes 16 may define a 3.175 millimeter×3.175 millimeter cross section at a “top” portion (e.g., where electrodes 16 are secured to arms 14) and a 1.015 millimeter×0.635 millimeter cross-section at a “bottom” portion (e.g., where electrodes 16 contact components 20 as discussed herein). In some examples, electrodes 16 may define different cross-sectional shapes, such as circular, ovaloid, triangular, or the like.”) (Figure 3B illustrates the bottom ends of each electrode having a substantially flat surface that contacts the workpiece.) [In this case 16A is moved to contact 22a during welding such that the bottommost end of 16A contacts a top surface of 22a. Similarly, 16B is moved to contact a top surface of 22C. Here, while the bottommost surface of 16a contacts a top surface of 22A, a side surface of 16B contacts a side surface of 22C. Similarly, 16B is shown having a bottommost end contacting a top surface of 22C while a bottommost end of 16A indirectly contacts a side of 22C. For purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “abut” includes indirect and direct contact such that the aforementioned ends of 16A/16B are adjacent the respective sides of the workpiece. In this context,. “abut” is defined as “to be adjacent; touch or join at the edge or border (often followed by on, upon, or against).” See dictionary.com/browse/abut, viewed on 10/21/2026.].
Figure 3B of Schutlz (annotated)
Regarding claim 15, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first welding head part and the second welding head part (16A and 16B) are movable relative to each other in the horizontal direction, such that a horizontal spacing between the first welding head part and the second welding head part is adjustable according to a horizontal dimension of the welded member in the horizontal direction (para. 0019 details the use of securing mechanisms that allow for different gaps between the electrodes) (Fig. 1 and 4 illustrate each electrode 16A and 16B being held with arm 14A and 14B, respectively. See para. 0020.) (Para. 0044 details that “locations of both electrodes 16 may define a small distance along X axis between itself and central plane 25, therein defining a distance between both electrodes 16 along X axis.”) (Additionally, with respect to the arm 14A/14B, para. 0059 details that “In some examples, different apertures 114 may be used to secure arms 14 to weld head 12 in different relative locations. For example, aperture 114A may be used to secure arm 14A to weld head 12 to define relatively more distance and/or space between arm 14A and arm 14B along X axis, while aperture 114B may be used to secure arm 14A to weld head 12 to define relatively less space between arm 14A and arm 14B along X axis. In this way, a subset (e.g., less than all) of apertures 114 are used to secure arms 14 at any one relative location to weld head 12”) [Based on the aforementioned citations, Schultz teaches that the horizontal spacing along the x direction is adjustable depending on the welding process. The limitation of “according to a horizontal dimension of the welded member in the horizontal direction” is also considered met as the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language is not limited to situations in which the horizontal dimension of the welded member is used as a input variable for controlling the spacing of the electrodes. Rather, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language includes situations in which the horizontal spacing between the electrodes corresponds to the horizontal dimension of the workpiece. In this case, having a greater horizontal spacing between the electrodes means that a wider workpiece can be welded).
Regarding claim 16, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 15 and further teaches wherein the welded member is a wire, and when welding the welded member, the horizontal spacing between the first welding head part and the second welding head part is greater than zero and less than a radius of the wire (MPEP 2115; “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” In this case, the claimed invention is directed to the welding head and not to the workpiece. The limitation of the welded member being a “wire” refers to the material or article worked upon by the welding head which does not structurally limit the claimed welding head. The welding head of Schultz possesses the necessary structure to weld a wire member. Additionally, the horizontal spacing shown in Figure 3B is greater than 0 and less than some numerical value. A wire member having a radius greater than this numerical value exists such that it does not impart a structural limitation to the claim language. In other words, a wire of some diameter that is larger than the horizontal spacing can be put onto base 18A to be welded without structurally changing the weld head of Schultz. See also MPEP 2114.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz in view of Behmlander (US 2013/0270243).
Figure 3B of Schutlz (annotated)
Regarding claim 15, Shultz teaches the welding head of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first welding head part and the second welding head part (16A and 16B) are arranged such that a horizontal spacing between the first welding head part and the second welding head part exists (para. 0019 details the use of securing mechanisms that allow for different gaps between the electrodes) (Fig. 1 and 4 illustrate each electrode 16A and 16B being held with arm 14A and 14B, respectively. See para. 0020.) (Para. 0044 details that “locations of both electrodes 16 may define a small distance along X axis between itself and central plane 25, therein defining a distance between both electrodes 16 along X axis.”).
Scultz does not explicitly teach that the electrodes (16A and 16B) are movable relative to each other in the horizontal direction, such that the horizontal spacing between the first welding head part and the second welding head part is adjustable according to a horizontal dimension of the welded member in the horizontal direction.
Figure 2 of Behmlander (annotated)
Behmlander relates to a welding head comprising first and second welding head parts (para. 0003 and Figure 2, welding head 112 comprising first and second welding head parts 212 and 214). Behmlander teaches that it is known in the art for the first and second welding head parts to be movable relative to each other in the horizontal direction, such that the horizontal spacing between the first welding head part and the second welding head part is adjustable (para. 0041; “The present disclosure relates to providing an arrangement which facilitates in adjusting a spacing between the plurality of electrodes 216 to create more fill at the edges of the molten pool 802 without using a higher rate of wire feed speed on outer electrodes of the arrangement. As described above, the welding head 112 may include the first and second block 206, 208 which are capable of variable positioning relative to the bracket 202. The design of the welding head 112 allows for adjustment of the electrode angle a of the contact tips 212, 214 affixed to the first and second block 206, 208.) according to a horizontal dimension of the welded member in the horizontal direction (para. 0017; “The present disclosure relates to the welding head 112 having at least one of the plurality of blocks 206, 208 capable of variable positioning relative to the bracket 202. The variable positioning of the at least one of the plurality of blocks 206, 208 may be based on one or more parameters. In one embodiment, the one or more parameters may include a width of the cladding layer, type or shape of the workpiece 108, and the like. It should be understood that other factors not described herein may also be taken into consideration.”) [In this case, Behmlander teaches a welding head in which the horizontal positioning of the welding head parts 212 and 214 is adjustable depending on the width or shape of the workpiece, or a component thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schutlz with Behmlander, by replacing the horizontal configuration of the first and second welding head parts of Schultz, to be adjustable as taught by Behmlander, for in doing so would allow for the horizontal spacing between the welding head parts to be variable which would allow for the spacing to be tailored to the particular width or shape of the workpiece, which would provide greater control over the welding of the workpiece.
Regarding claim 16, the primary combination teaches the welding head of claim 15 and further teaches wherein the welded member is a wire, and when welding the welded member, the horizontal spacing between the first welding head part and the second welding head part is greater than zero and less than a radius of the wire (MPEP 2115; “A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” In this case, the claimed invention is directed to the welding head and not to the workpiece. The limitation of the welded member being a “wire” refers to the material or article worked upon by the welding head which does not structurally limit the claimed welding head. The welding head of Schultz possesses the necessary structure to weld a wire member. Additionally, the horizontal spacing shown in Figure 3B is greater than 0 and less than some numerical value. A wire member having a radius greater than this numerical value exists such that it does not impart a structural limitation to the claim language. In other words, a wire of some diameter that is larger than the horizontal spacing can be put onto base 18A to be welded without structurally changing the weld head of Schultz. A similar analysis applies to the welding head of Behmlander. See also MPEP 2114.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0346033 to Song illustrates first and second electrodes (Fig. 1; 105 and 110) being displaceable relative to one another (para. 0046) (see also Fig. 7).
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761