DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the other side" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “another side”.
Claim 1, line 10, requires the second medium channel be connected to an engine through a pipeline. The claim is directed to an oil filter base assembly, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as a component that would be attached to an engine but would not include the engine. Therefore, it is unclear if the claimed invention requires the recited engine and pipeline. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to require the second medium channel be configured to connect to an engine through a pipeline.
The additional claims are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. CN 113062784.
Claim 1, Zhu teaches an oil filter base assembly, comprising an oil filter base (10), where in the oil filter base has one side connected to a first cooler (20) arranged and another side connected to a second cooler (30) arranged, a first medium channel (11) and a second medium channel (12) are further arranged inside the oil filter base, opposite ends of the first medium channel and the second medium channel are both connected to interiors of the first and second coolers and one end, away from the first cooler of the first medium channel is connected to a medium inlet (50) provided on the oil filter base, and one end, away from the first cooler of the second medium channel is configured to be connected to an engine through a pipeline (fig. 1-5, abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. CN 113062784 in view of Girondi US 2019/0316499.
Claim 2, Zhu teaches the oil filter base but does not teach what material the base is made of. Aluminum alloy is common material used to make an oil filter base as demonstrated by Girondi (fig. 1-7, par 111) and would have been an obvious choice of material to one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 3, Zhu further teaches the first medium channel and the second medium channel are arranged on the oil filter base is parallel (fig. 2, 4).
Claims 4-5, Zhu further teaches a process hole on an end surface of the oil filter base (at 60) (fig.1-3). Zhu appears to show a cap/plug arranged at the hole, as opposed to the clearly open channel (at 50). One of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that the channel (60) would need to be sealed at the end surface of the base to prevent fluid from leaking from the base. The recitation of the plug being welded onto the process hole is a recitation of how the plug is attached. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 227 USDQ 964 (1985). The method of attaching the plug of Zhu is deemed a structural equivalent to the method of welding.
Claim 6, Zhu does not teach the material of the first and second coolers. As stated above, the use of aluminum alloy for a filter base is well known in the art and the use of the alloy for the coolers would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the aluminum alloy is commonly used for automotive engine components. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779