DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alonso (US 3,491,563) in view of Carpenter (GB 2119681 A).
Regarding claim 1, Alonso (Fig. 7) discloses a system for reducing wear to a shot peening valve, comprising: a valve (180) comprising a valve body (180) and defining a working gap through which a shot peening media (65) may flow, the valve capable of controlling a flow rate of the shot peening media (65).
Alonso fails to disclose a wear plate comprising a semi-rigid material, the wear plate mountable to the valve body proximate the working gap to cover a portion of the valve body and configured to isolate abrasive wear from the shot peening media away from the valve.
Carpenter (Fig. 5; pg. 5, lines 15-23) teaches that a replaceable wear-resistant liner (152, 154) can be applied to the interior of the part of a shot blasting device that distributes the shot. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Alonso by applying a replaceable wear-resistant liner to the interior of the valve, as taught by Carpenter, in order to minimize wear within the valve.
Regarding claim 8, Alonso (Fig. 7) discloses a method for reducing wear to a shot peening valve (180) comprising: providing a valve (180) comprising a valve body (180) defining an opening through which a shot peening media (65) may flow, the valve body (180) is capable of controlling a flow rate of the shot peening media (65).
Alonso fails to disclose providing a wear plate comprising a semirigid material, the wear plate mountable to the valve body proximate the opening to cover a portion of the valve body.
Carpenter (Fig. 5; pg. 5, lines 15-23) teaches that a replaceable wear-resistant liner (152, 154) can be applied to the interior of the part of a shot blasting device that distributes the shot. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Alonso by applying a replaceable wear-resistant liner to the interior of the valve, as taught by Carpenter, in order to minimize wear within the valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2:
Closest prior art: Alonso (US 3,491,563) and Carpenter (GB 2119681 A)
Alonso and Carpenter disclose the system of claim 1.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest the semi-rigid material is plastic.
Regarding claim 3:
Closest prior art: Alonso (US 3,491,563) and Carpenter (GB 2119681 A)
Alonso and Carpenter disclose the system of claim 1.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest the semi-rigid material has a lower hardness than a material of the valve body.
Regarding claim 4:
Closest prior art: Alonso (US 3,491,563) and Carpenter (GB 2119681 A)
Alonso and Carpenter disclose the system of claim 1.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that the valve further comprises: a pole piece mounted around a periphery of the working gap; and a center bar mounted within the working gap, generally bisecting the working gap into two working gaps.
Claims 5-7 depend upon claim 4 and are objected to for depending upon claim 4.
Regarding claim 9:
Closest prior art: Alonso (US 3,491,563) and Carpenter (GB 2119681 A)
Alonso and Carpenter disclose the method of claim 8.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest the semirigid material has a lower hardness factor than a material of the valve body.
Regarding claim 10:
Closest prior art: Alonso (US 3,491,563) and Carpenter (GB 2119681 A)
Alonso and Carpenter disclose the method of claim 8.
The closest prior art fails to disclose or suggest that the valve further comprising: a pole piece mounted around a periphery of the opening; and a center bar mounted within the opening, generally bisecting the opening into two working gaps.
Claims 11-13 are objected to for depending upon claim 10.
Contact Information
/Danielle M. Christensen/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745