DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is in response to the papers filed 10/24/2023 for Application No. 18/493,249. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs’) received on 10/24/2023 and 01/13/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 6-10, please amend the limitation "an angle made by a first straight line connecting a wheel rotation center that matches a rotation axis of the wheel and a first linking point that is a linking point of the motor unit and the trailing arm, and a second straight line connecting the first linking point and a second linking point that is a linking point of the trailing arm and the vehicle body, is no less than 150 degrees and no more than 210 degrees” with limitation - - an angle made by:
a first straight line connecting:
a wheel rotation center that matches a rotation axis of the wheel and a first linking point that is a linking point of the motor unit and the trailing arm, and
a second straight line connecting:
the first linking point and a second linking point that is a linking point of the trailing arm and the vehicle body,
is no less than 150 degrees and no more than 210 degrees - - for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (US 2020/0122565 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada discloses a vehicle comprising:
a vehicle body (par [0022], i.e., vehicle body side component Z of the vehicle, hereinafter referred as “Z”);
a wheel (8) supporting the vehicle body,
a motor unit (i.e., includes in-wheel motor 12 and motor housing/carrier 14) including an in-wheel motor (12) that drives the wheel (8); and
a trailing arm (20) linked to the motor unit through an elastic member (i.e., upper rubber bushing 52) and extending toward a vehicle front (fig. 3),
wherein an angle (see Figures 1-8 and annotated Figure 3 below) made by a first straight line (“FSL” or between axis A and axis of end point 32, Fig. 3) connecting a wheel rotation center (A) that matches a rotation axis of the wheel (8) and
a first linking point (i.e., linking point B or at the linking point where 32 is coupled to member 46 of carrier 14) that is a linking point of the motor unit (12,14) and the trailing arm (20), and
a second straight line (“SSL” or line between center axis of end point 32 to center axis of top portion 30) connecting the first linking point and a second linking point (linking point C or center point of top portion 30; or end portion 30 of trailing 20 is coupled to vehicle body, par [0022]) that is a linking point of the trailing arm (20) and the vehicle body (Z).
However, Yamada further teaches an angle between the linking points is approximately between 90 and 180 shown in annotated Figure 3 below but does not specifically teach the angle is no less than 150 degrees and no more than 210 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have the angle between the first and second linking points from 150 to 210 degrees, for the purpose of improvement in suspension movement and riding comfort, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)
Annotated Figure 3 – side view
Regarding claim 2, Yamada discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the angle is no less than 160 degrees and no more than 200 degrees.
However, Yamada further teaches an angle between the linking points is approximately between 90 and 180 but does not specifically teach the angle is no less than 160 degrees and no more than 200 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have the angle between the first and second linking points from 160 to 200 degrees, for the purpose of improvement in suspension movement and riding comfort, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)
Regarding claim 3, Yamada discloses the vehicle according to claim 2, wherein the angle is no less than 170 degrees and no more than 190 degrees.
However, Yamada further teaches an angle between the linking points is approximately between 90 and 180 but does not specifically teach the angle is no less than 170 degrees and no more than 190 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have the angle between the first and second linking points from 170 to 190 degrees, for the purpose of improvement in suspension movement and riding comfort, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)
Regarding claim 4, Yamada discloses the vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the motor unit further includes a speed reduction mechanism (par [0018], i.e., a speed reducer).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada discloses the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the trailing arm is linked to the vehicle body through an elastic member (fig. 2; paragraphs [0019] – [0021], i.e., trailing arm 20 is linked/coupled to vehicle body through lower rubber bushing 52 via carrier 14 and lower suspension 23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kato et al. (US 2018/0334002 A1) discloses a suspension device for non-steered driving wheel incorporating in-wheel motors, see Figures 1-3; and
Takenaka et al. (US 2020/0139775 A1) discloses a suspension apparatus and vehicle includes a trailing arm 25, see Figures 1-3.
/TINH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 March 5, 2026