DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilibarda et al (WO2021252329) in view of Ding (CN109676280).
Referring to claim 1. Kilibarda et al (herein “Kilibarda”) discloses an “Assembly Material Logistics System and Method”. See Figs. 1-21 and respective portions of the specification. Kilibarda further discloses a materials delivery and assembly system comprising: a plurality of storage locations including assembly materials (See at least Sect. 0008, 0009, Fig.2 ); one or more vehicle transports (40, 40A) including a controller (80) and being configured to transport assembly materials and to guide the one or more vehicle transports through an assembly process (See at least Sect. 0010-0015, 0056-0059); and a control server (326, 616) communicatively coupled with the controller of the one or more vehicle transports, the control server being configured to identify an available vehicle transport from the one or more vehicle transports (selective assignment inherently requires identifying an available vehicle transport) and being configured to determine a fitness (coordinating vehicle assignments based on build schedules, container type, delivery sequence and location, inherently reflects determining vehicle fitness) of the available vehicle transport to receive a first set of the assembly materials (See at least Sects. 0047, 0056, 0076-0079). Ding et al (herein “Ding”) discloses “Vehicle Body Manufacturing Universal System and Intelligent Factory System’. Ding further discloses one or more vehicle transports (AGV’s) including a controller (console PLC), assembly materials (tooling materials) and further teaches selecting vehicle transports (AGV’s) based on vehicle status and task requirements (determines fitness). If applicant disagrees that Kilibarda discloses determining a fitness of the available vehicle transports Ding teaches wherein a controller determines vehicle status and task requirements (fitness) of the available vehicle transports. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ding into the system of Kilibarda wherein a central controller determined the fitness of available vehicle transports so that proper vehicle transports could be requested and assigned based upon job requirement, load capacity, size, which would make the system more efficient, safe, and time efficient.
Referring to claim 2. Kilibarda discloses an assembly station (areas) configured to receive the available vehicle transport including the first set of assembly materials, the control server being configured to send a signal to the controller (onboard controller, 80) of the available vehicle transport corresponding to delivery of a second set of assembly materials. It should be noted Kilibarda discloses delivering subsequent additional materials (2nd set) in accordance with a build schedule (See at least Sect. 0047, 0078).
Referring to claim 3. Kilibarda discloses wherein the control server is configured to transmit coordinates to the controller of the available vehicle transport, the available vehicle transport being configured to autonomously travel between a holding station and the assembly station on the coordinates received from the control server. It should further be noted that Kilibarda discloses autonomous guided vehicles (AGV’s) that navigate between storage areas and assembly areas under control of the onboard and central control systems, which inherently involves coordinate-based autonomous travel (See at least Sects. 0056-0059).
Referring to claim 4. Kilibarda discloses wherein an available vehicle transport is configured to have the assembly materials installed at one or more of the plurality of storage locations, the controller of the available vehicle transport being configured to transmit an installation signal to the control server in response to an installation of the assembly materials. Kilibarda further discloses signaling and feedback between transfer vehicles and the central control system regarding engagement, delivery, and disengagement of component carriers corresponding to transmitting an installation signal (See at least Sects. 0076-0079).
Referring to claim 5. Kilibarda discloses wherein the available vehicle transport is configured to transport the assembly materials to the assembly station, the assembly materials being configured to be removed from the available vehicle transport at the assembly station. Kilibarda explicitly discloses disengagement and removal of component containers from transfer vehicles at assembly areas (See at least Sect. 0015, 0074-0076).
Referring to claim 6. Kilibarda discloses wherein the one or more vehicle transports are autonomous vehicle transports (AGV’s, 40). Kilibarda doesn’t disclose wherein the controller is configured to detect objects around the one or more vehicle transports. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kilbara wherein the controller was configured to detect objects around the one or more vehicles transports as a way of improving safety and ensuring safe and clear surrounding conditions.
Referring to claim 7. Kilibarda doesn’t explicitly discloses wherein the control server includes an assembly time associated with each vehicle transport of the one or more vehicle transports, the control server being configured to identify the available vehicle transport based on the associated assembly time. However, Kilibarda discloses coordinating deliveries according to build schedules and predetermined assembly operations, inherently associating assembly time with vehicle operations (See at least Sects. 0047, 0056). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kilibarda so that the control sever includes assembly time associated with each vehicle transport and configured to identify the available vehicle transport based on associated assembly time so that operations could be optimized based upon available vehicles and assembly time.
Referring to claim 8. Kilibarda et al (herein “Kilibarda”) discloses an “Assembly Material Logistics System and Method”. See Figs. 1-21 and respective portions of the specification. Kilibarda further discloses a materials delivery and assembly system comprising: a plurality of storage locations including assembly materials (See at least Sect. 0008, 0009, Fig.2 ); one or more vehicle transports (40, 40A) including a controller (80) and being configured to transport assembly materials and to guide the one or more vehicle transports through an assembly process (See at least Sect. 0010-0015, 0056-0059); and a control server (326, 616) communicatively coupled with the controller of the one or more vehicle transports, the control server being configured to identify an available vehicle transport from the one or more vehicle transports (selective assignment inherently requires identifying an available vehicle transport) and being configured to determine a fitness (coordinating vehicle assignments based on build schedules, container type, delivery sequence and location, inherently reflects determining vehicle fitness) of the available vehicle transport to receive a first set of the assembly materials (See at least Sects. 0047, 0056, 0076-0079). Ding et al (herein “Ding”) discloses “Vehicle Body Manufacturing Universal System and Intelligent Factory System’. Ding further discloses one or more vehicle transports (AGV’s) including a controller (console PLC), assembly materials (tooling materials) and further teaches selecting vehicle transports (AGV’s) based on vehicle status and task requirements (determines fitness). Further, Kilibarda discloses an assembly station (areas) configured to receive the available vehicle transport including the first set of assembly materials, the control server being configured to send a signal to the controller (onboard controller, 80) of the available vehicle transport corresponding to delivery of a second set of assembly materials. It should be noted Kilibarda discloses delivering subsequent additional materials (2nd set) in accordance with a build schedule (See at least Sect. 0047, 0078). If applicant disagrees that Kilibarda discloses determining a fitness of the available vehicle transports Ding teaches wherein a controller determines vehicle status and task requirements (fitness) of the available vehicle transports. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ding into the system of Kilibarda wherein a central controller determined the fitness of available vehicle transports so that proper vehicle transports could be requested and assigned based upon job requirement, load capacity, size, which would make the system more efficient, safe, and time efficient.
Referring to claim 9. Kilibarda doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the one or more vehicle transports include a sensor skid operably coupled to the controller and configured to direct the available vehicle transport between a holding station, the plurality of storage locations and the assembly. However, Kilibarda as disclosed above discloses autonomous guided vehicles (AGV’s) operated in shared material and assembly aisles (See Sect. 0056-0059). It is broadly construed and generally understood that such autonomous operation employs onboard sensing devices for navigation and environment awareness. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kilibarda such that the vehicle transports included a sensor skid operably coupled to the controller so that the vehicles could navigate and have environmental awareness while moving from holding station, to storage locations and assembly stations.
Referring to claim 10. Kilibarda doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the control server is configured to identify the available vehicle transport based on the available size. However, Kilibarda discloses the system handles component containers of different size and tyeps and transfer vehicles are selected and coordinated based on the type of component container and the assembly operation (See Sects. 0047, 0076). Ding teaches wherein a controller determines vehicle status and task requirements (fitness) of the available vehicle transports. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ding into the system of Kilibarda wherein a central controller determined the fitness of available vehicle transports (size) so that proper vehicle transports could be requested and assigned based upon job requirement, load capacity, size, which would make the system more efficient, safe, and time efficient.
Referring to claim 11. Kilibarda discloses the system as described above. Kilibarda further discloses that assembly materials and components are stored in marketplace storage areas, rack aisles and warehouse-type storage prior to assembly operations (See at least Sect. 0008-0009, 0048). Kilibarda doesn’t disclose wherien the plurality of storage locations includes a material storage location and a tool storage location, the material storage location including one or more of a delivery vehicle, a shelving unit and a warehouse. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate storage locations into material storage locations and tool storage locations as it is a conventional way to organize in assembly facilities and would have made it more organized and efficient for loading, delivering and assembling materials.
Referring to claim 12. Kilibarda discloses that transfer vehicles (AGV’s) selectively engage component containers at storage locations and subsequently deposit or disengage those containers at designated locations (See Sects. 0014, 0073-0076), inclusive of installing or depositing containers at storage or staging locations as part of logistics operations. Accordingly, it is broadly construed and generally understood that Kilibarda vehicle transport is configured to have assembly materials installed at the delivery vehicle of the material storage location, which is considered a routine logistics operation.
Referring to claims 13-14. Kilibarda discloses wherein an available vehicle transport is configured to have the assembly materials installed at one or more of the plurality of storage locations, the controller of the available vehicle transport being configured to transmit an installation signal to the control server in response to an installation of the assembly materials. Kilibarda further discloses signaling and feedback between transfer vehicles and the central control system regarding engagement, delivery, and disengagement of component carriers corresponding to transmitting an installation signal (See at least Sects. 0076-0079). Likewise, Kilibarda discloses communication between the onboard control systems of the vehicle transports and the central control server/system regarding delivery operations, including engagement transport and disengagement of component containers (See at least Sects. 0046, 0076-0079). It is generally understood that such communication necessarily includes signaling corresponding to delivery completion or status.
Referring to claim 15. Kilibarda et al (herein “Kilibarda”) discloses an “Assembly Material Logistics System and Method”. See Figs. 1-21 and respective portions of the specification. Kilibarda further discloses a materials delivery and assembly system comprising: a plurality of storage locations including assembly materials (See at least Sect. 0008, 0009, Fig.2 ); one or more vehicle transports (40, 40A) including a controller (80) and being configured to transport assembly materials and to guide the one or more vehicle transports through an assembly process (See at least Sect. 0010-0015, 0056-0059); and a control server (326, 616) communicatively coupled with the controller of the one or more vehicle transports, the control server being configured to identify an available vehicle transport from the one or more vehicle transports (selective assignment inherently requires identifying an available vehicle transport) and being configured to determine a fitness (coordinating vehicle assignments based on build schedules, container type, delivery sequence and location, inherently reflects determining vehicle fitness) of the available vehicle transport to receive a first set of the assembly materials (See at least Sects. 0047, 0056, 0076-0079). Ding et al (herein “Ding”) discloses “Vehicle Body Manufacturing Universal System and Intelligent Factory System’. Ding further discloses one or more vehicle transports (AGV’s) including a controller (console PLC), assembly materials (tooling materials) and further teaches selecting vehicle transports (AGV’s) based on vehicle status and task requirements (determines fitness). Kilibarda doesn’t disclose wherein the controller includes memory hardware that stores capacity of the one or more vehicle transports. Ding teaches wherein a controller determines vehicle status and task requirements (fitness) of the available vehicle transports, in addition to status information used by the control system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ding into the system of Kilibarda wherein a central controller strored vehicle capacity in memory to help determine the fitness of available vehicle transports so that proper vehicle transports could be requested and assigned based upon job requirement, load capacity, size, which would make the system more efficient, safe, and time efficient.
Referring to claim 16. Kilibarda discloses wherein the controller of the one or more vehicle transports is configured to determine a travel time between the plurality of storage locations and the assembly station. Moreover, Kilibarda explicitly discloses that the central control server coordinates delivery of component containers according to a predetermined build schedule, delivery timing and routing of transfer vehicles through material and assembly areas (See at least Sect. 0047, 0056, 0078). It should be noted determining whether a delivery can be completed in accordance with a build schedule necessarily requires determining the travel time of a selected transfer vehicle between storage locations and assembly areas.
Referring to claim 17. Kilibarda discloses wherein the controller is configured to send a delivery signal to the control server corresponding to retrieval and delivery of a second set of assembly materials, as it should be noted that Kilibarda disclose multiple assembly cells and assembly areas within the facility, each configured to receive delivered component containers from transfer vehicles (See at least Sect. 0049-0050). The multiple assembly cells constitute the first and second assembly stations.
Referring to claim 18. Kilibarda discloses that transfer vehicles component containers to different assembly cells according to build progression and scheduling requirements, and that vehicles may perform multiple delivery missions as part of coordinated assembly operations (See at least Sect. 0047, 0056, 0078). Delivering a first set of assembly materials to one assembly station and a second set to another assembly station is inherently disclosed by the disclosed multi-station delivery architecture.
Referring to claim 19. Kilibarda discloses that transfer vehicles (AGV’s) selectively engage component containers at storage locations and subsequently deposit or disengage those containers at designated locations (See Sects. 0014, 0073-0076), inclusive of installing or depositing containers at storage or staging locations as part of logistics operations. Accordingly, it is broadly construed and generally understood that Kilibarda vehicle transport is configured to have assembly materials installed at the delivery vehicle of the material storage location, which is considered a routine logistics operation.
Referring to claim 20. Kilibarda doesn’t disclose wherein the assembly materials include a seat for the available vehicle transport. However, Kilibarda discloses that the system is directed to passenger vehicle assembly facilities and logistics systems for delivering vehicle components to assembly operations (See at least Sects. 0001-0002). Its generally understood that seats are well-known and fundamental passenger vehicle components. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kilibarda wherein the assembly materials included a seat for the available vehicle transports, as it would have been a fundamental and known vehicle component within the disclosed assembly and logistics system.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653