DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 4/28/26 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, 7, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 7, 10, and 13 are indefinite for reciting “…contained in 100mass% of the tobacco sheet ranges from [X]mass% to [Y]mass%.” because the phrasing is unclear. The specification appears to suggest the above phrasing is intended to indicate the percent mass quantity of a corresponding component, and thus “… 100mass% of…” is repetitive and may be confusing. ([0033]). Therefore, for purposes of examination, the claim or phrase will be interpreted as: “…contained in
Claim 6 is indefinite because it is drawn to a method which merely recites that the product may be made from “leaf tobacco, leaf midrib, and stalk” without any active, positive steps delineating how the product is actually manufactured. See MPEP 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sciboz (US 20180310608 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet for a heat-not-burn flavor inhaler ([0001]), comprising a fiber material (The sheet of homogenized tobacco comprises tobacco material which comprises tobacco fibers and may further contain additional fiber in the form of reinforcement fiber. [0050]-[0057]).
Regarding Claim 2, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet wherein a percentage of the fiber material contained in 100mass% of the tobacco sheet ranges from 5mass% to 50mass% (The sheet of homogenized tobacco may comprise 1wt% to 15wt% of reinforcement fibers. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet wherein the fiber material is at least one selected from the group consisting of fiber pulp, fiber tobacco material, and fiber synthetic cellulose (The reinforcement fibers may comprise cellulose fibers from woods or tobacco fibers which may be refined and pulped. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 4, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet wherein the fiber material is a fiber pulp (The reinforcement fibers may comprise pulped fibers. [0052]).
Regarding Claim 5, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet further comprising a tobacco raw material (The sheet of homogenized tobacco comprises a tobacco material component. [0041], [0050]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sciboz discloses a manufacturing method for the tobacco sheet for a heat-not-burn flavor inhaler according to claim 5 ([0014]), wherein the tobacco raw material is tobacco powder of at least one type selected from the group consisting of leaf tobacco, leaf midrib, and stalk (The tobacco material component is formed from the powder of one or both of tobacco leaf lamina and tobacco leaf stems. [0014]).
Regarding Claim 7, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet wherein a percentage of the tobacco raw material contained in 100mass% of the tobacco sheet ranges from 30mass% to 91mass% (The sheet of homogenized tobacco comprises 60wt% to 80wt% of the tobacco material component. [0041], [0060]).
Regarding Claim 8, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet further comprising a forming agent (The homogenized tobacco may further comprise a binder to help during the formation of the homogenized tobacco material during the slurry casting process. [0003], [0047]).
Regarding Claim 9, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet wherein the forming agent is at least one selected from the group consisting of polysaccharide, protein, and synthetic polymer (The binder may comprise compounds such as: natural pectins, guar gums, celluloses, and starches, which are polysaccharides. [0048]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet wherein a percentage of the forming agent contained in 100mass% of the tobacco sheet ranges from 0.1mass% to 15mass% (The sheet of homogenized tobacco may comprise 1wt% to 5wt% of the binder. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 11, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet further comprising an aerosol generator (The sheet of homogenized tobacco may comprise an aerosol-former. [0042]-[0045]).
Regarding Claim 12, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet wherein the aerosol generator is at least one selected from the group consisting of glycerin, propylene glycol, and 1,3-butanediol (The aerosol former may comprise of compounds such as: glycerin, propylene glycol, or 1,3-butanediol. [0045]).
Regarding Claim 13, Sciboz discloses a tobacco sheet wherein a percentage of the aerosol generator contained in 100mass% of the tobacco sheet ranges from 5mass% to 50mass% (The sheet of homogenized tobacco may comprise 5wt% to 30wt% of the aerosol-former content. [0045]).
Double Patenting
Rejection 1
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/529884. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a tobacco sheet comprising fiber. The claims differ in that conflicting Claim 1 further discloses thickness and tensile strength of the sheet. However, Claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/529884 discloses the element(s) of rejected Claim 1. Therefore, all the elements of rejected Claim 1 are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Rejection 2
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 6, and 7 of copending Application No. 19/039098. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a tobacco sheet comprising fiber. The claims differ in that rejected Claim 1 recites a tobacco sheet comprising fiber whereas conflicting Claim 1 disclosed a reconstituted tobacco. However, Claim 6 of copending Application No. 19/039098 discloses that the reconstituted tobacco may comprise a fiber material and Claim 7 of copending Application No. 19/039098 discloses that the reconstituted tobacco is a reconstituted tobacco in sheet form. Therefore, all the elements of rejected Claim 1 are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY A. BUCKMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755