DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant was sent an Election/Restriction Action on 09/26/2024 in regards to two sets of claims, Group I (1-11) & Group II (12-19). Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II Claims 12-19 in the reply filed on 10/10/2024 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 12, 14-15, & 17-19 of U.S. Application No. 18/493291 filed on 12/30/2025 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed12/30/2025. Claim 12 is presently amended. Claims 1-11 are withdrawn and Claims 13 & 16 are cancelled. Claims 12, 14-15, & 17-19 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 2016/0377508A1 (“Perrone”), in view of US 2006/0284839A1 (“Breed”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14-15, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0071112A1 (“Toddenroth”), in view of US 2016/0377508A1 (“Perrone”), in view of US 2006/0284839A1 (“Breed”), in view of US 2023/0242047A1 (“Daly, Jr”).
As per claim 12 Toddenroth discloses
A method for emulating factory-installed button functions of a vehicle, comprising:
attaching a plate to a steering wheel of the vehicle (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0098]: Alternatively, the screen display 122 may be embodied as a tablet computer and integrated detachably into the central part 120. Therefore, the tablet computer, which is detachably inserted into a corresponding receptacle on the central part 120, may be mechanically connected to the central part 120.),
the plate comprising a plurality of user-operated buttons with corresponding mounts, and an emulating module (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0129]: First in the header line of the screen display 122 a type of menu line 123 is displayed for central and rapid selection of certain categories represented by corresponding graphical symbols 123a-123e. The header line 123 shows from left to right: a symbol 123a representing a switch for selecting between manual, semi-autonomous or autonomous driving mode; a symbol 123b for activation of deicing of the windshield;);
wherein the plate is attached to a rim or spoke of the steering wheel and comprises an attachment point for secure connection to the steering wheel (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0021] & para. [0110]: In the perspective diagram in FIG. 2 it can be seen quite well that the steering wheel 110 in this embodiment has two spokes 114 which converge at a steering wheel hub 112 behind the steering wheel with respect to a plane of the steering wheel defined by the steering wheel 110 and thereby define the steering wheel bowl. The steering wheel bowl is coupled via the steering wheel hub 112 to a steering shaft 140 for transmission of rotational movements executed by the steering wheel 110 to the steering shaft 140.),
wherein the emulating module comprises a memory module for storing user preferences and custom button configurations of the plurality of user-operated buttons (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0137]: For control by the user, input elements 912, 914, 916,918 are shown graphically on the left edge of the screen display 122 as a submenu 123c* so that the user can make a corresponding adjustment of the driver's seat 910 by means of touch or a touch gesture via these input elements 912 (inclination of the back rest), 914 (setting of the seat heating), 916 (setting of the lumbar support), 918 (storage of personal settings).);
receiving Controller Area Network (CAN) signals from electronic control units of the vehicle by the emulating module (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0126-0127]: The system 300 consists of a plurality of components which are operatively and communicatively interconnected via communication bus 350, for example, a CAN bus… The airbag unit 130 is also connected to the communication bus 350, and the touch-sensitive screen display 122, which combines an input unit 122a together with a graphical output unit 122b, is also connected.);
converting the CAN signals to control signals for the plurality of user-operated buttons by the emulating module (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0129]: First in the header line of the screen display 122 a type of menu line 123 is displayed for central and rapid selection of certain categories represented by corresponding graphical symbols 123a-123e. The header line 123 shows from left to right: a symbol 123a representing a switch for selecting between manual, semi-autonomous or autonomous driving mode; a symbol 123b for activation of deicing of the windshield;); and
activating the plurality of user-operated buttons, whereby the plurality of user-operated buttons emulate the factory installed button functions of the vehicle (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0129]: First in the header line of the screen display 122 a type of menu line 123 is displayed for central and rapid selection of certain categories represented by corresponding graphical symbols 123a-123e. The header line 123 shows from left to right: a symbol 123a representing a switch for selecting between manual, semi-autonomous or autonomous driving mode; a symbol 123b for activation of deicing of the windshield;).
However Toddenroth does not explicitly disclose
wherein the plate is attached to a rim or spoke of the steering wheel and comprises a plurality of attachment points for secure connection to the steering wheel, and wherein each of the plurality of user-operated buttons comprises a momentary button providing tactile feedback,
customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons associating each of the plurality of user-operated buttons with a function of one factory installed button and storing the same as user preferences and custom button configurations on the memory module of the emulating module.
Perrone teaches
wherein the plate is attached to a rim or spoke of the steering wheel and comprises a plurality of attachment points for secure connection to the steering wheel (see at least Perrone, para. [0111-0114]: In some embodiments, adjustment mechanism 240 includes a connecting portion 241, linking members 242, and a base portion 245. Connecting portion 241 provides for adjustment that may accommodate different types of steering wheels (e.g., elliptical and asymmetric steering, circular and symmetric steering). In some embodiments, connecting portion 241 is L-shaped. In some embodiments, connecting portion 241 comprises a plurality of holes 243 in a circular pattern disposed adjacent to base portion 245 and a plurality of holes (not shown) adjacent to attachment mechanism 239. In some embodiments, base portion 245 also includes a plurality of holes 247 (see FIG. 7)…In some embodiments, linking members 242 are attached to base plate 245 with a fastener. Linking members 242 may be attached with a fastener 246 that permits linking members 242 to rotate around the fastener 246. This attachment also contributes to adjustment mechanism accommodating different steering wheels. In some embodiments, linking members 242 extend towards steering wheel12 and attach to steering motor 250. Linking members 242 may attach to steering motor 250 in the same manner as linking members 242 are attached to base plate 245.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Toddenroth to incorporate the teaching of wherein the plate is attached to a rim or spoke of the steering wheel and comprises a plurality of attachment points for secure connection to the steering wheel of Perrone, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improved systems for testing automated driving functions (see at least Perrone, para. [0005]).
Breed teaches
wherein each of the plurality of user-operated buttons comprises a momentary button providing tactile feedback (see at least Breed, para. [1025] & para. [1036]: The menu item select function can be implemented as a wheel 805, similar to the scroll wheel on modern computer mice. Option select could be implemented with a wheel press or with a separate switch. A menu select wheel would bethumb-accessible, and a select switch could be a finger trigger switch. A thumb or scroll wheel such as805 can be placed elsewhere on the steering wheel spokes, rim or airbag module. & para. [1049]:As the switch function becomes more complicated, additional power may be required and the options for interrogation become more limited. For a continuously varying switch, for example the volume control on a radio, it may be desirable to use a more complicated design where an inductive transfer of information is utilized. On the other hand, by using momentary contact switches that would set the one bit on only while the switch is activated and by using the duration of activation, volume control type functions can still be performed even though the switch is remote from the interrogator. & para. [1148-1149]: Similar options can also be available for the defrost button. Once again, the operator could merely push at the proper point on the touch pad or could move the cursor to the proper point and tap anywhere on the touch pad or press a pre-assigned button on the steering wheel hub or rim, arm rest or other convenient location. When a continuous function is provided, for example, the temperature of the vehicle, each tap could represent one degree increase or decrease of the temperature…A more advanced application is shown in FIG. 105C where the operator is presented with a touch pad for dialing phone numbers after he or she has selected the telephone (Tele) from the first screen. The operator can either depress the numbers to the dial a phone number, in which case, the keypad or touch pad, or steering wheel rim, may be pre-textured to provide a tactile feel for where the buttons are located, or the driver can orally enunciated the numbers. Alternately, a haptic force feedback approach can be used.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Toddenroth to incorporate the teaching of wherein each of the plurality of user-operated buttons comprises a momentary button providing tactile feedback of Breed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to guide the driver into making choices by feel allowing her to maintain eye contact with the road (see at least Breed, para. [1038]).
Daly Jr teaches
customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons associating each of the plurality of user-operated buttons with a function of one factory installed button and storing the same as user preferences and custom button configurations on the memory module of the emulating module (see at least Daly Jr, para. [0110-0114] & para. [0121]: Bezel 66 is sized to replace a bezel originally found in the Ford truck. OEM control panel 70 is designed to accommodate a series of buttons and knobs that were mounted on the original factory bezel. For example, climate control function buttons and knobs must be included in this panel. In many instances replacement switches and knobs will have to be provided with the replacement bezel, and emulator circuit boards may also be required to “fool” the OEM electronics into “thinking” that the OEM components are still in place. All these components are expensive and their inclusion drives up the cost of a replacement bezel. Altering this design to utilize more standardized hardware is advantageous. & para. [0143]: Since the vehicle's digital network allows control of seat and mirror functions, an individual driver can store his or her favorite selections in the memory of the touch-screen module or other embodiment. These can then be loaded when the system is booted up and the seats and mirrors will move to the preselected positions. In addition, the driver might have more than one saved set. For example, the driver might have settings for “sport” and settings for “highway.” The substantial amount of memory available on the user interface device allows many different drivers to store custom settings.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Toddenroth to incorporate the teaching of customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons associating each of the plurality of user-operated buttons with a function of one factory installed button and storing the same as user preferences and custom button configurations on the memory module of the emulating module of Daly Jr, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for provision of a flexible and capable user interface allowing a user to access more of the digital capability of a car (see at least Daly Jr, para. [0091]).
As per claim 14 Toddenroth discloses
further comprising displaying visual feedback of button functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons on a display screen connected to the emulating module (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0098]: Alternatively, the screen display 122 may be embodied as a tablet computer and integrated detachably into the central part 120. Therefore, the tablet computer, which is detachably inserted into a corresponding receptacle on the central part 120, may be mechanically connected to the central part 120.).
As per claim 15 Toddenroth does not explicitly disclose
wherein the plate is securely attached to the steering wheel using a plurality of holes located at a center of the plate and a plurality of fasteners
Perrone teaches
wherein the plate is securely attached to the steering wheel using a plurality of holes located at a center of the plate and a plurality of fasteners (see at least Perrone, para. [0111-0114]: In some embodiments, adjustment mechanism 240 includes a connecting portion 241, linking members 242, and a base portion 245. Connecting portion 241 provides for adjustment that may accommodate different types of steering wheels (e.g., elliptical and asymmetric steering, circular and symmetric steering). In some embodiments, connecting portion 241 is L-shaped. In some embodiments, connecting portion 241 comprises a plurality of holes 243 in a circular pattern disposed adjacent to base portion 245 and a plurality of holes (not shown) adjacent to attachment mechanism 239. In some embodiments, base portion 245 also includes a plurality of holes 247 (see FIG. 7)…In some embodiments, linking members 242 are attached to base plate 245 with a fastener. Linking members 242 may be attached with a fastener 246 that permits linking members 242 to rotate around the fastener 246. This attachment also contributes to adjustment mechanism accommodating different steering wheels. In some embodiments, linking members 242 extend towards steering wheel12 and attach to steering motor 250. Linking members 242 may attach to steering motor 250 in the same manner as linking members 242 are attached to base plate 245.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Toddenroth to incorporate the teaching of wherein the plate is attached to a rim or spoke of the steering wheel and comprises a plurality of attachment points for secure connection to the steering wheel of Perrone, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improved systems for testing automated driving functions (see at least Perrone, para. [0005]).
As per claim 17 Toddenroth does not explicitly disclose
wherein customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons further comprises customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons through a user interface provided on a display screen.
Daly Jr teaches
wherein customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons further comprises customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons through a user interface provided on a display screen (see at least Daly Jr, para. [0110-0114], para. [0121] & para. [0143]: Since the vehicle's digital network allows control of seat and mirror functions, an individual driver can store his or her favorite selections in the memory of the touch-screen module or other embodiment. These can then be loaded when the system is booted up and the seats and mirrors will move to the preselected positions. In addition, the driver might have more than one saved set. For example, the driver might have settings for “sport” and settings for “highway.” The substantial amount of memory available on the user interface device allows many different drivers to store custom settings.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Toddenroth to incorporate the teaching of wherein customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons further comprises customizing functions of the plurality of user-operated buttons through a user interface provided on a display screen of Daly Jr, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for provision of a flexible and capable user interface allowing a user to access more of the digital capability of a car (see at least Daly Jr, para. [0091]).
As per claim 18 Toddenroth discloses
further comprising a step of calibrating the emulating module to adapt to variations in CAN signal output from different vehicle models (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0164-0165]: Therefore, a respective program can derive a necessary control command on the processor of the control unit 310 from the deviation between the status parameters and the current control inputs. The control command(s) is/are forwarded to the respective control unit, for example, the seat controller 911 via the communication bus 350. The control unit converts the control command(s) by activation of corresponding activators. In the example of the seat controller 911, the seat controller 911 activates an adjusting motor M, for example, and thus results in the required seat adjustment, for example, a change in the inclination of the back rest…Accordingly, as explained on the basis of the example with the seat controller 911, fundamentally any or all other functions and functionalities present nor or in the future in a model vehicle can be controlled in this way.).
As per claim 19 Toddenroth discloses
wherein the vehicle is an off-road vehicle (see at least Toddenroth, para. [0078]: The invention is particularly suitable for any type of vehicle in which the driver of the vehicle wants to initiate a change in direction of the movement of the vehicle by executing a tum on a steering device. This includes in particular all known motor vehicle for roads and all terrain. However, the invention is also suitable for boats and aircraft when a fundamentally similar steering device is provided.).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668