Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
This office action is in response to the amendment after final rejection filed on 07/30/2026.
Claims 1-9, 11-19 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-9, 11, 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NGUYEN et al. ( US 20190007974, hereinafter, NGUYEN’s 974 ) in view of RAO et al. ( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ), and further in view of ADJAKPLE et al. ( US 20210153065, Provisional Application No. 62691302 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20190007974 teaches a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured with range information for data to be transmitted (a processor configured with range information for data to be transmitted) [see Paragraph 0147 ];
a transmitter configured to transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission including an index value, wherein the index value is selected from a plurality of indices (range information for data to be transmitted; and a transmitter configured to transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission including an index value) [see Paragraph 0147 ];
wherein the index value (channel index) is associated with a physical distance (transmission range ) , wherein the index value indicates a communication range (communication range ) requirement corresponding to the range information ( the SCI are mapped on the two separate SCI SCI-channel indexes ) [see Paragraph 0147 ] [see Paragraphs 0147 & Figure 13B ].
However, US 20190007974 does not explicitly teach wherein the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value is based on the range information.
( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ) , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value is based on the range information, and further wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels ( [0106] Step 4: From the selected CCs, the subchannels required for transmissions are determined from the corresponding resource pools based on Layer 1 parameters (e.g. RSSI) and SCI sent by other UEs in the vicinity range ) [see Paragraph 0106 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20190007974 in view of US 20190239112 because US 20190239112 suggests that [0031] With the foregoing in view, the present invention in one form, resides broadly in a data communication method for use in a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication system, the method including: selecting, at a first V2X device, a control channel of a control channel resource pool; transmitting, on the selected control channel, sidelink control information (SCI) to a second V2X device.
However, US 20190007974 and ( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ) do not explicitly teach wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission.
( US 20210153065, Provisional Application No. 62691302 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the range information (transmission range) [see Paragraphs 0241 & 0243 & 0280 ] is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) (one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit) [see Paragraph 0362 ] that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission (SCI) [see Paragraphs 0140 & 0144] (wherein the range transmission is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission) [see Paragraphs 0241 & 0243 & 0280 & 0362 ];
Wherein the range information (transmission range) [see Paragraph 0241 ] is associated with at least one of:
A sidelink radio bearer that is mapped to at least one of the one or more logical channels (a mapping of the sidelink radio bearer to sidelink logical channel) [see the Abstract];
A quality of service (QoS) flow that is mapped to the at least one of the one or more logical channels (a mapping of QFI (QoS Flow Identifier) and logical channels) [see Paragraph 0243] multiplexed into the PDU (multiplexed into the PDU [see Paragraph 0362].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20190007974 and US 20190239112 ), and further in view of US 20210153065 because US 20210153065 suggests that there is a need for LCP procedures for advanced V2X applications for use in new radio (NR) systems and a need for rules prioritizing sidelink and uplink (UL) transmissions.
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a communication range requirement of a transmission of the PDU (wherein the processor is further configured to determine a communication range requirement of a transmission of the PDU) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0147 ].
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the index value is based on the determined communication range requirement (wherein the index value is based on the determined communication range requirement ) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to: transmit the PDU to another WTRU, wherein the PDU is associated with the SCI transmission (wherein the transmitter is further configured to: transmit the PDU to another WTRU, wherein the PDU is associated with the SCI transmission) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the WTRU is a first vehicle and the another WTRU is a second vehicle (wherein the WTRU is a first vehicle and the another WTRU is a second vehicle) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the WTRU is a first vehicle and the another WTRU is a second vehicle [see Figure 3]
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the range information is a quality of service (QoS) parameter (wherein the range information is a quality of service (QoS) parameter) [see Paragraphs 0146 & 0147 ].
Regarding to the claim 7, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the range information is associated with one or more quality of service (QoS) flows mapped to the one or more logical channels (wherein the range information is associated with one or more quality of service (QoS) flows mapped to the one or more logical channels) [see Paragraphs 0146 & 0147 ].
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein each QoS flow of the one or more QoS flows is indicated by a corresponding QoS flow ID (wherein each QoS flow of the one or more QoS flows is indicated by a corresponding QoS flow ID) [see Paragraphs 0147 & 0146 ].
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the range information is received from one or more upper layers (wherein the range information is received from one or more upper layers ) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ].
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20190007974 teaches a method of a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
a processing range information for data to be transmitted (a processor configured with range information for data to be transmitted) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ];
transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission including an index value, wherein the index value is selected from a plurality of indices ( the SCI are mapped on the two separate SCI SCI-channel indexes ) [see Paragraph 0147 ];
wherein the index value (channel index) is associated with a physical distance (transmission range ) , wherein the index value indicates a communication range (communication range ) requirement corresponding to the range information ( the SCI are mapped on the two separate SCI SCI-channel indexes ) [see Paragraph 0147 ] [see Paragraphs 0147 & Figure 13B ].
However, US 20190007974 does not explicitly teach wherein the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value is based on the range information.
( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ) , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value is based on the range information, and further wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels ( [0106] Step 4: From the selected CCs, the subchannels required for transmissions are determined from the corresponding resource pools based on Layer 1 parameters (e.g. RSSI) and SCI sent by other UEs in the vicinity range ) [see Paragraph 0106 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20190007974 in view of US 20190239112 because US 20190239112 suggests that [0031] With the foregoing in view, the present invention in one form, resides broadly in a data communication method for use in a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication system, the method including: selecting, at a first V2X device, a control channel of a control channel resource pool; transmitting, on the selected control channel, sidelink control information (SCI) to a second V2X device.
However, US 20190007974 and ( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ) do not explicitly teach wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission.
( US 20210153065, Provisional Application No. 62691302 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the range information (transmission range) [see Paragraphs 0241 & 0243 & 0280 ] is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) (one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit) [see Paragraph 0362 ] that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission (SCI) [see Paragraphs 0140 & 0144] (wherein the range transmission is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission) [see Paragraphs 0241 & 0243 & 0280 & 0362 ];
Wherein the range information (transmission range) [see Paragraph 0241 ] is associated with at least one of:
A sidelink radio bearer that is mapped to at least one of the one or more logical channels (a mapping of the sidelink radio bearer to sidelink logical channel) [see the Abstract];
A quality of service (QoS) flow that is mapped to the at least one of the one or more logical channels (a mapping of QFI (QoS Flow Identifier) and logical channels) [see Paragraph 0243] multiplexed into the PDU (multiplexed into the PDU [see Paragraph 0362].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20190007974 and US 20190239112 ), and further in view of US 20210153065 because US 20210153065 suggests that there is a need for LCP procedures for advanced V2X applications for use in new radio (NR) systems and a need for rules prioritizing sidelink and uplink (UL) transmissions.
Regarding to the claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Regarding to the claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 4 above.
Regarding to the claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Regarding to the claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 6 above.
Regarding to the claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 7 above.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 8 above.
Regarding to the claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 9 above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412