This office action is in response to the amendment filed 02/18/2026.
Claims 1-10, 11-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On the page 9, Lines 8-13, the applicant argues that the cited references (US 20190007974, US 20190239112, US 20180139724) do not disclose “ the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value indicates a communication range requirement corresponding to the range information, and further wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument.
US 20190007974 teaches wherein the index value is selected from a plurality of indices (range information for data to be transmitted; and a transmitter configured to transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission including an index value) [see Paragraph 0147 ];
wherein the index value (channel index) is associated with a physical distance (transmission range ) , wherein the index value indicates a communication range (communication range ) requirement corresponding to the range information ( the SCI are mapped on the two separate SCI SCI-channel indexes ) [see Paragraph 0147 ] [see Paragraphs 0147 & Figure 13B ].
US 20180139724 teaches wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission (as long as the UE multiplexes logical channels within a PDU of Source Layer-2 ID-Destination Layer-2 ID pairs where the 8 LSB of the Destination Layer-2 ID is the same, the UE is allowed to transmit data to different sidelink destination groups within one SC period. ) [see Paragraphs 0359 & 0279 ].
For the reasons above, the examiner respectfully submits that the cited references (US 20190007974, US 20180139724) of record, alone or combination teach, suggest, or disclose all of the features recited in claim 1, claim 11 recites similar features as claim 1.
Thus, the examiner believes the 103 rejection of the claim 1 and claim 11 should be sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-9, 11, 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NGUYEN et al. ( US 20190007974, hereinafter, NGUYEN’s 974 ) in view of RAO et al. ( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ), and further in view of Loehr et al. ( US 20180139724, hereinafter, Loehr’s 724 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20190007974 teaches a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured with range information for data to be transmitted (a processor configured with range information for data to be transmitted) [see Paragraph 0147 ];
a transmitter configured to transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission including an index value, wherein the index value is selected from a plurality of indices (range information for data to be transmitted; and a transmitter configured to transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission including an index value) [see Paragraph 0147 ];
wherein the index value (channel index) is associated with a physical distance (transmission range ) , wherein the index value indicates a communication range (communication range ) requirement corresponding to the range information ( the SCI are mapped on the two separate SCI SCI-channel indexes ) [see Paragraph 0147 ] [see Paragraphs 0147 & Figure 13B ].
However, US 20190007974 does not explicitly teach wherein the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value is based on the range information.
( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ) , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value is based on the range information, and further wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels ( [0106] Step 4: From the selected CCs, the subchannels required for transmissions are determined from the corresponding resource pools based on Layer 1 parameters (e.g. RSSI) and SCI sent by other UEs in the vicinity range ) [see Paragraph 0106 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20190007974 in view of US 20190239112 because US 20190239112 suggests that [0031] With the foregoing in view, the present invention in one form, resides broadly in a data communication method for use in a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication system, the method including: selecting, at a first V2X device, a control channel of a control channel resource pool; transmitting, on the selected control channel, sidelink control information (SCI) to a second V2X device.
However, US 20190007974 and ( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ) do not explicitly teach wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission.
US 20180139724, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission (wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission) [see Paragraphs 0359 & 0279 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20190007974 and US 20190239112 ), and further in view of US 20180139724 because US 20180139724 suggests that In the V2X communications, the data transmitted by one UE is meaningful for merely receiving UEs within a certain range. The range is related to the moving speed of the transmitting UE and the receiving UE, as well as service type of the transmitted data. In the current V2X communication mechanism based on LTE system architecture, data successful receiving rate within the valid distance (i.e., data reliability) can reach 95% at most. This reliability is able to meet requirement of basic security services.
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a communication range requirement of a transmission of the PDU (wherein the processor is further configured to determine a communication range requirement of a transmission of the PDU) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0147 ].
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the index value is based on the determined communication range requirement (wherein the index value is based on the determined communication range requirement ) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to: transmit the PDU to another WTRU, wherein the PDU is associated with the SCI transmission (wherein the transmitter is further configured to: transmit the PDU to another WTRU, wherein the PDU is associated with the SCI transmission) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the WTRU is a first vehicle and the another WTRU is a second vehicle (wherein the WTRU is a first vehicle and the another WTRU is a second vehicle) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the WTRU is a first vehicle and the another WTRU is a second vehicle [see Figure 3]
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the range information is a quality of service (QoS) parameter (wherein the range information is a quality of service (QoS) parameter) [see Paragraphs 0146 & 0147 ].
Regarding to the claim 7, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the range information is associated with one or more quality of service (QoS) flows mapped to the one or more logical channels (wherein the range information is associated with one or more quality of service (QoS) flows mapped to the one or more logical channels) [see Paragraphs 0146 & 0147 ].
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein each QoS flow of the one or more QoS flows is indicated by a corresponding QoS flow ID (wherein each QoS flow of the one or more QoS flows is indicated by a corresponding QoS flow ID) [see Paragraphs 0147 & 0146 ].
Regarding to the claim 9, US 20190007974 further teaches wherein the range information is received from one or more upper layers (wherein the range information is received from one or more upper layers ) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ].
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20190007974 teaches a method of a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
a processing range information for data to be transmitted (a processor configured with range information for data to be transmitted) [see Paragraphs 0014 & 0117 & 0146 & 0151 ];
transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) transmission including an index value, wherein the index value is selected from a plurality of indices ( the SCI are mapped on the two separate SCI SCI-channel indexes ) [see Paragraph 0147 ];
wherein the index value (channel index) is associated with a physical distance (transmission range ) , wherein the index value indicates a communication range (communication range ) requirement corresponding to the range information ( the SCI are mapped on the two separate SCI SCI-channel indexes ) [see Paragraph 0147 ] [see Paragraphs 0147 & Figure 13B ].
However, US 20190007974 does not explicitly teach wherein the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value is based on the range information.
( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ) , from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the index value is associated with a physical distance, wherein the index value is based on the range information, and further wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels ( [0106] Step 4: From the selected CCs, the subchannels required for transmissions are determined from the corresponding resource pools based on Layer 1 parameters (e.g. RSSI) and SCI sent by other UEs in the vicinity range ) [see Paragraph 0106 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20190007974 in view of US 20190239112 because US 20190239112 suggests that [0031] With the foregoing in view, the present invention in one form, resides broadly in a data communication method for use in a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication system, the method including: selecting, at a first V2X device, a control channel of a control channel resource pool; transmitting, on the selected control channel, sidelink control information (SCI) to a second V2X device.
However, US 20190007974 and ( US 20190239112, Provisional Application No. 62623640 ) do not explicitly teach wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission.
US 20180139724, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission (wherein the range information is associated with one or more logical channels multiplexed into a protocol data unit (PDU) that includes at least a portion of the data to be transmitted associated with the SCI transmission) [see Paragraphs 0359 & 0279 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20190007974 and US 20190239112 ), and further in view of US 20180139724 because US 20180139724 suggests that In the V2X communications, the data transmitted by one UE is meaningful for merely receiving UEs within a certain range. The range is related to the moving speed of the transmitting UE and the receiving UE, as well as service type of the transmitted data. In the current V2X communication mechanism based on LTE system architecture, data successful receiving rate within the valid distance (i.e., data reliability) can reach 95% at most. This reliability is able to meet requirement of basic security services.
Regarding to the claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 2 above.
Regarding to the claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 3 above.
Regarding to the claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 4 above.
Regarding to the claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 5 above.
Regarding to the claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 6 above.
Regarding to the claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 7 above.
Regarding to the claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 8 above.
Regarding to the claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same limitations of the claim 9 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein range information is associated with at least one of a sidelink radio bearer or a quality of service (QoS) flow that is mapped to at least one of the one or more logical channels multiplexed into the PDU.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein range information is associated with at least one of a sidelink radio bearer or a quality of service (QoS) flow that is mapped to at least one of the one or more logical channels multiplexed into the PDU
wherein range information is associated with at least one of a sidelink radio bearer or a quality of service (QoS) flow that is mapped to at least one of the one or more logical channels multiplexed into the PDU.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412