DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation, "water pump provided in the valve" is not supported by applicant's original disclosure because the drawings (figures 1-6) and the specification (see paragraphs 80-84, specification) describe the water pumps (54, 55) as attached to or adjacent to or on the valve (valve 51) but not in the valve or inside the valve (see figs. 1-6). The original description describes the pumps (54, 55) being next to the valve (51) and within the valve module (50, see figs. 1-6). Therefore, the above claim limitation is interpreted for examination purposes, as ‘-- water pump provided in the valve module or at the valve --’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnston (US 2012/0183815 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Johnston discloses a heat pump system (see figs. 1-5 and abstract) comprising: a valve module (valves 249, 401, 403 and pumps 231, 245, see figs. 2-5) configured to control a flow of an interiorly introduced coolant (coolant circulated by pump, see paragraph 26) according to a mode for temperature adjustment of a vehicle interior (by operation of evaporator 211, heater 221 and cabin HVAC system 103, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 23-25) and a battery module (coolant circulated through battery pack 241, see fig. 3 and paragraph 27);
a first line (coolant line containing drive electronics 227 and line 223, see fig. 2) connected to the valve module to selectively flow the coolant (see fig. 2), wherein an electrical component (inverter 227, see fig. 2 and paragraph 26) is disposed on the first line (coolant line containing drive electronics 227, see fig. 2);
a second line (cooling line passing through radiator 233, see fig. 2) having a first end connected to the first line (first end of second line connected to first line 223 via drive 227, see fig. 2) and a second end connected to the valve module (second end of second line connected to valve 249 via radiator 233, see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant, wherein a radiator (radiator 233) is disposed on the second line (see fig. 2);
a third line (coolant line between heater 247 and battery 241 and coolant line passing through heater 247, see fig. 2) connected to the valve module to selectively flow the coolant (see third line connected to valve 249 via battery 241, fig. 2), wherein the battery module (battery pack 241) is disposed on the third line (see fig. 2);
a fourth line (coolant line after battery 241, see fig. 2) having a first end connected to the valve module (one end of fourth line connected to valve 249 via battery 241, see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant (see fig. 2) and a second end connected to the third line (second end of fourth line connected to line between battery 241 and heater 247, see fig. 2);
a fifth line (coolant line 243 between valve 249 and chiller 215, see fig. 2 and paragraph 24) having a first end connected to the valve module (see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant, wherein a chiller is disposed at a second end of the fifth line (see chiller 215 at an opposite end of the line 243 from valve 249, fig. 2);
a sixth line (see below annotated fig. 5 and figs. 2-4) having a first end connected to the first line at a position where the first line and the second line are connected (sixth line connected between loop 223 and the second line passing through radiator 233, see figs. 2-5), wherein the sixth line is configured to selectively flow the coolant (see figs. 2-5); and
a seventh line (see below annotated fig. 5) having a first end connected to the third line at a position where the third line and the fourth line are connected (line 243 connected to third and fourth line via heater 247 and battery 241, fig. 5), wherein the seventh line is configured to selectively flow the coolant (by operation of pump 245, see figs. 2-5), and wherein a second end of the sixth line and a second end of the seventh line are respectively connected to the chiller (see seventh line connected between the chiller 215 and the heater 247, below annotated fig. 5) such that the sixth line and the seventh line may be connected to the fifth line through the chiller (see line 243 connected between chiller and valve 401, below annotated fig. 5, wherein sixth line is also connected to the chiller via valve 401, see fig. 5).
In regards to claim 2, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a valve (see valves 249, 401, 403 and pumps 231, 245, figs. 2-5) configured to control the flow of the coolant that is interiorly introduced (see valve control, figs. 2-5); and a water pump (pumps 231 and 245) provided in the valve module (see pumps 231, 245, valve 249 and reservoir 235 as valve module, figs. 2-4).
In regards to claim 3, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the valve is configured to selectively discharge the coolant selectively flowing from the second line, the fourth line, or the fifth line through the first line or the third line based on the mode (see different modes of operations implemented by various positions of the valves 249, 401 and 403, figs. 1-5).
In regards to claim 4, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the valve module further comprises a reservoir tank (coolant reservoir 235) provided in the valve and connected to the second line (see reservoir 235 connected to radiator 233 via valve 249, fig. 3 and paragraph 23).
In regards to claim 5, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the chiller (chiller 215, see figs. 2-5) is connected to an air conditioner unit (refrigeration cycle with compressor 201, condenser 203, expansion valve 213 and evaporator 211) through a refrigerant connection line (refrigerant connection lines 209, see figs. 2-5).
In regards to claim 7, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a coolant (heater 247, see fig. 2) heater disposed on the third line (coolant line between heater 247 and battery 241 and coolant line passing through heater 247, see fig. 2).
In regards to claim 8, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that in order to increase a temperature of the battery module, the coolant heater (heater 247) is configured to be operated to heat the coolant supplied to the battery module along the third line (heater 247 operated to maintain battery temperature within an operating range, see paragraph 27 and fig. 2).
In regards to claim 9, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the valve module comprises:
a valve (see valves 249, 401, 403 and pumps 231, 245, figs. 2-5) configured to control the flow of the coolant that is interiorly introduced (see valve control, figs. 2-5); a first water pump (pump 231) mounted on the valve to correspond to the first line (see pump 231 mounted on the line 223 connecting drive electronics/inverter 227, figs. 2-5); and a second water pump (pump 245) mounted on the valve to correspond to the third line (see pump 245 mounted on the line 243 connecting heater and battery pack 241, figs. 2-5).
In regards to claim 10, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 9 and further discloses that the first water pump (pump 245) and the second water pump (pump 231) are disposed at positions facing each other with respect to the valve (pumps 245 and 231 on opposite sides of the valves 249, 401, 403, see figs. 2-5).
In regards to claim 11, Johnston discloses a heat pump system (see figs. 1-5 and abstract) comprising: a valve module (valves 249, 401, 403 and pumps 231, 245, see figs. 2-5) configured to control a flow of an interiorly introduced coolant (coolant circulated by pump, see paragraph 26) according to a selected mode of a plurality of modes for temperature adjustment of a vehicle interior (by operation of evaporator 211, heater 221 and cabin HVAC system 103, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 23-25) and a battery module (coolant circulated through battery pack 241, see fig. 3 and paragraph 27);
a first line (coolant line containing drive electronics 227 and line 223, see fig. 2) connected to the valve module to selectively flow the coolant (see fig. 2), wherein an electrical component (inverter and electronics 227, charger 229, motor 225, see figs. 2-5 and paragraph 26) is disposed on the first line (coolant line containing drive electronics 227, see fig. 2);
a second line (cooling line passing through radiator 233, see fig. 2) having a first end connected to the first line (first end of second line connected to first line 223 via drive 227, see fig. 2) and a second end connected to the valve module (second end of second line connected to valve 249 via radiator 233, see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant, wherein a radiator (radiator 233) is disposed on the second line (see fig. 2);
a third line (coolant line between heater 247 and battery 241 and coolant line passing through heater 247, see fig. 2) connected to the valve module to selectively flow the coolant (see third line connected to valve 249 via battery 241, fig. 2), wherein the battery module (battery pack 241) is disposed on the third line (see fig. 2);
a fourth line (coolant line after battery 241, see fig. 2) having a first end connected to the valve module (one end of fourth line connected to valve 249 via battery 241, see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant (see fig. 2) and a second end connected to the third line (second end of fourth line connected to line between battery 241 and heater 247, see fig. 2);
a fifth line (coolant line 243 between valve 249 and chiller 215, see fig. 2 and paragraph 24) having a first end connected to the valve module (see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant, wherein a chiller is disposed at a second end of the fifth line (see chiller 215 at an opposite end of the line 243 from valve 249, fig. 2);
a sixth line (see below annotated fig. 5 and figs. 2-4) having a first end connected to the first line at a position where the first line and the second line are connected (sixth line connected between loop 223 and the second line passing through radiator 233, see figs. 2-5), wherein the sixth line is configured to selectively flow the coolant (see figs. 2-5); and
a seventh line (see below annotated fig. 5) configured to selectively flow the coolant (by operation of pump 245, see figs. 2-5) and having a first end connected to the third line at a position where the third line and the fourth line are connected (line 243 connected to third and fourth line via heater 247 and battery 241, fig. 5), wherein a second end of the sixth line and a second end of the seventh line are respectively connected to the chiller (see seventh line connected between the chiller 215 and the heater 247, below annotated fig. 5) such that the sixth line and the seventh line may be connected to the fifth line through the chiller (see line 243 connected between chiller and valve 401, below annotated fig. 5, wherein sixth line is also connected to the chiller via valve 401, see fig. 5); and wherein the plurality of modes comprises:
a first mode configured to cool the electrical component (supplying coolant via pump 231 to drive electronics 227, see figs. 2-5) and the battery module by using the coolant cooled at the radiator (see paragraphs 37, 27, 31-32, and figs. 3, 5, where coolant from radiator 233 is supplied via valve 401 and by pump 245 to the battery module 241 to cool the battery; Also see paragraph 40 for battery cooling mode);
a second mode configured to heat the vehicle interior (heated air circulated through cabin by operation of fans 219, paragraph 25) and recollect a waste heat of the battery module (battery 241 used as thermal capacitor to save waste heat, paragraph 38);
a third mode configured to heat the vehicle interior (heated air circulated through cabin by operation of fans 219, paragraph 25) and recollect a waste heat of the electrical component (see paragraphs 30-32, 37-38, and fig. 3, where coolant collects heat from drive train electronic components 227, 229, 225);
a fourth mode configured to rapidly cool the battery module by using the coolant cooled at the radiator (see paragraphs 37, 27, 31-32, and figs. 3, 5, where coolant from radiator 233 is supplied via valve 401 and by pump 245 to the battery module 241 to cool the battery); and
a fifth mode configured to inject the coolant (by operation of pumps 231, 245 and reservoirs 235, see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs 46-48, 43).
In regards to claim 12, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that in the first mode:
the second line is connected to the third line by an operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 249 and pumps 245, 231) such that the coolant cooled at the radiator (radiator 233) may be supplied to the electrical component (via pump 231 and path 223, see fig. 3) and the battery module (see coolant from radiator 233 supplied to battery 241 and drive electronics 227, fig. 3 and paragraph 37);
the fourth line is connected to the first line by the operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 249, lines from battery 241 is connected to line 223, see fig. 3);
the first line, the second line, the third line, and the fourth line are interconnected by the operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 249 and pumps 245, 231, see fig. 3) such that the coolant may circulate along the first line, the second line, the third line, and the fourth line (see flow of coolant through first line 223, second line of radiator 233, third line 243 and fourth line past battery 241, fig. 3);
the fifth line is closed by the operation of the valve module (coolant is not supplied from battery module/heater to the fifth line via valve 249, see fig. 3); and the sixth line and the seventh line are closed (radiator, battery module and heater are not bypassed by sixth and seventh lines, fig. 3).
In regards to claim 13, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that in the second mode:
the second line is connected to the third line by an operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 249 and pumps 245, 231) such that the coolant cooled at the radiator (radiator 233) may be supplied to the electrical component (via pump 231 and path 223, see fig. 2);
the fifth line is connected to the third line by the operation of the valve module (coolant from line 243 flowing into heater, via third line, see fig. 2);
the seventh line is opened to be connected to the third line and the chiller (see seventh line at valve 239 being opened, fig. 5, to be connected to chiller 215);
the fourth line is closed by the operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 249, line from battery 241 is not connected to line 223, see fig. 2);
the sixth line is closed (radiator is not bypassed by sixth line, see figs. 3, 5);
the first line and the second line define a first independent closed circuit by the operation of the valve module (see coolant flow through radiator 233, valve 249, pump 231 and drive electronics 227 and the coolant returning back to the radiator, fig. 2);
the third line, the fifth line, and the seventh line define a second independent closed circuit by the operation of the valve module (see flow of coolant through valve 401, line 243, pump 245 and seventh line at valve 239 in a closed circuit, fig. 5); and
the chiller (HX 215) is configured to recollect the waste heat of the battery module (chiller 215 collecting waste heat of battery 241, see fig. 2) from the coolant heated while cooling the battery module (see paragraphs 37, 27, 31-32, and figs. 2-5, where coolant from radiator 233 is supplied via valve 401 and by pump 245 to the battery module 241 to cool the battery; Also see paragraph 40 for battery cooling mode; and battery 241 used as thermal capacitor to save waste heat, paragraph 38).
In regards to claim 14, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that in the third mode:
the second line is closed by an operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 239, radiator 233 is bypassed, see fig. 5) such that the coolant having passed through the electrical component is not supplied to the radiator (coolant from drive electronics 227 bypasses the radiator 233, see fig. 5);
the fifth line is connected to the first line by the operation of the valve module (coolant from line 243 flowing into drive 227, via valve 403 and first line 223, see fig. 5);
the sixth line is opened to be connected to the first line and the chiller (coolant from line 243 flowing via chiller 215 and sixth line into the first line 223, see fig. 5);
the fourth line is connected to the third line by the operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 403, the third and fourth lines are connected to each other, see figs. 3, 5);
the seventh line is closed (see seventh line at valve 239 being closed, figs. 2-4);
the first line, the fifth line and the sixth line define a first independent closed circuit by the operation of the valve module (see coolant flow through line 243, chiller 215, sixth line, pump 245 and through first line 223 based on operation of valves 401, 403 and pumps, see fig. 5);
the third line and the fourth line define a second independent closed circuit by operation of the valve module (see flow of coolant through valves 249, 403; through heater 247, and battery module 241 in a closed coolant circulation loop, figs. 2-4); and
the chiller (HX 215) is configured to recollect the waste heat of the electrical component (chiller 215 collecting waste heat of drive train and electronic drive 227, see fig. 5 and paragraph 38) from the coolant heated while cooling the electrical components (see fig. 5 and paragraphs 37-38, 31-32).
In regards to claim 15, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that in the third mode: the battery module is selectively heated (heater 247 operated to maintain battery temperature within an operating range, see paragraph 27 and fig. 2).
In regards to claim 16, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that in the fourth mode:
the second line is connected to the third line by an operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 249 and pumps 245, 231) such that the coolant cooled at the radiator (radiator 233) may be supplied to the battery module (via valve 401 and pump 245 to battery module 241, see figs. 4-5);
the fifth line is closed by the operation of the valve module (radiator 233 is not bypassed and coolant flows from electronic drive 227 to the radiator 233, see figs. 4-5);
the sixth line is opened to be connected to the third line and the chiller (coolant from heater 247 is supplied through sixth line and chiller 215 via valve 403, see fig. 4);
the seventh line is opened to be connected to the second line and the chiller (see seventh line at valve 239 being capable of being connected to the second line and chiller 215, see figs. 2-5);
the first line and the fourth line are closed by the operation of the valve module (see coolant flow towards the radiator 233 being blocked, fig. 5; and by operation of valve 249, line from battery 241 is not connected to line 223, see fig. 2); and
the second line, the third line, the sixth line, and the seventh line are interconnected by the operation of the valve module (see coolant flow through radiator 233, chiller 215, pump 245, heater 247, and then through valve 239 and seventh line, see figs. 3-5) such that the coolant may circulate along the second line, the third line, the sixth line, and the seventh line (see figs. 3-5).
In regards to claim 17, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that in the fifth mode:
the first line is connected to the second line (see coolant flowing through pump 231 and line 223, also passes through radiator 233, fig. 3);
the second line is connected to the third line by an operation of the valve module (by operation of valve 249 and pumps 245, 231);
the fourth line is connected to the first line by operation of the valve module (coolant flow through battery 241 is connected to line 223 via operation of valve 249, see figs. 3 and 5);
the fifth line is connected to the third line by operation of the valve module (coolant flow through heater 247 is connected to fifth line and chiller 215, see figs. 2 and 4);
the sixth line is opened to be connected to the third line and the chiller (coolant from heater 247 is supplied through sixth line and chiller 215 via valve 403, see fig. 4);
the seventh line is opened to be connected to the second line and the chiller (see seventh line at valve 239 being capable of being connected to the second line and chiller 215, see figs. 2-5); and
the first line (223), the second line (coolant flow path through radiator 233), the third line (coolant flow path through heater 247), the fourth line (coolant flow path through battery 241), the fifth line (coolant flow path 243 before chiller 215, see figs. 2-5), the sixth line, and the seventh line are all connected by the operation of the valve module (see coolant flow through radiator 233, chiller 215, pump 245, heater 247, battery 241, pump 231, drive 227 and then through valve 239 and seventh line, see figs. 3-5) such that the coolant may be injected into the first line, the second line, the third line, the fourth line, the fifth line, the sixth line, and the seventh line (see reservoir 235 for injecting coolant into circuit, by operation of pumps 231, 245 and reservoirs 235, figs. 2-7 and paragraphs 46-48, 43).
In regards to claim 18, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses a valve (see valves 249, 401, 403 and pumps 231, 245, figs. 2-5) configured to selectively discharge the coolant selectively flowing from the second line, the fourth line, or the fifth line through the first line or the third line based on the selected mode (see different modes of operations implemented by various positions of the valves 249, 401 and 403, figs. 1-5); and a water pump (pumps 231 and 245) provided in the valve module (see pumps 231, 245, valve 249 and reservoir 235 as valve module, figs. 2-4).
In regards to claim 20, Johnston discloses a vehicle (electric vehicle, see abstract and paragraphs 22, 39) comprising:
a vehicle body (vehicle includes a vehicle body, see paragraphs 3-4, 7-9 and 22-28) having a vehicle interior (vehicle passenger cabin, fig. 1 and paragraph 25);
a battery module (battery pack 241);
a electrical component (inverter, drive 227, motor 225, charger 229, see figs. 2-5);
a radiator (radiator 233);
a chiller (heat exchanger chiller 215);
a valve module (valves 249, 401, 403 and pumps 231, 245, see figs. 2-5) configured to control a flow of an interiorly introduced coolant (coolant circulated by pump, see paragraph 26) according to a mode for temperature adjustment of the vehicle interior (by operation of evaporator 211, heater 221 and cabin HVAC system 103, see figs. 1-5 and paragraphs 23-25) and the battery module (coolant circulated through battery pack 241, see fig. 3 and paragraph 27);
a first line (coolant line containing drive electronics 227 and line 223, see fig. 2) connected to the valve module to selectively flow the coolant (see fig. 2), wherein an electrical component (inverter 227, see fig. 2 and paragraph 26) is disposed on the first line (coolant line containing drive electronics 227, see fig. 2);
a second line (cooling line passing through radiator 233, see fig. 2) having a first end connected to the first line (first end of second line connected to first line 223 via drive 227, see fig. 2) and a second end connected to the valve module (second end of second line connected to valve 249 via radiator 233, see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant, wherein a radiator (radiator 233) is disposed on the second line (see fig. 2);
a third line (coolant line between heater 247 and battery 241 and coolant line passing through heater 247, see fig. 2) connected to the valve module to selectively flow the coolant (see third line connected to valve 249 via battery 241, fig. 2), wherein the battery module (battery pack 241) is disposed on the third line (see fig. 2);
a fourth line (coolant line after battery 241, see fig. 2) having a first end connected to the valve module (one end of fourth line connected to valve 249 via battery 241, see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant (see fig. 2) and a second end connected to the third line (second end of fourth line connected to line between battery 241 and heater 247, see fig. 2);
a fifth line (coolant line 243 between valve 249 and chiller 215, see fig. 2 and paragraph 24) having a first end connected to the valve module (see fig. 2) to selectively flow the coolant, wherein a chiller is disposed at a second end of the fifth line (see chiller 215 at an opposite end of the line 243 from valve 249, fig. 2);
a sixth line (see below annotated fig. 5 and figs. 2-4) having a first end connected to the first line at a position where the first line and the second line are connected (sixth line connected between loop 223 and the second line passing through radiator 233, see figs. 2-5), wherein the sixth line is configured to selectively flow the coolant (see figs. 2-5); and
a seventh line (see below annotated fig. 5) having a first end connected to the third line at a position where the third line and the fourth line are connected (line 243 connected to third and fourth line via heater 247 and battery 241, fig. 5), wherein the seventh line is configured to selectively flow the coolant (by operation of pump 245, see figs. 2-5), and wherein a second end of the sixth line and a second end of the seventh line are respectively connected to the chiller (see seventh line connected between the chiller 215 and the heater 247, below annotated fig. 5) such that the sixth line and the seventh line may be connected to the fifth line through the chiller (see line 243 connected between chiller and valve 401, below annotated fig. 5, wherein sixth line is also connected to the chiller via valve 401, see fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnston (US 2012/0183815 A1) as applied to claim 5 and 11 above and further in view of Mazaira (US 2023/0074313 A1).
In regards to claim 6, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 5 and further discloses that the chiller (chiller 215, see figs. 2-5) comprises a fluid-cooled heat exchanger (heat exchanger 215) configured to heat-exchange the interiorly introduced coolant with a refrigerant supplied from the air conditioner unit (heat exchange between coolant and refrigerant at chiller heat exchanger 215, see figs. 2-5 and paragraphs 24, 27, 34).
However, Johnston does not explicitly teach that the chiller is a water-cooled chiller.
Mazaira teaches battery and cabin heating system for a vehicle (see abstract), wherein the chiller (76) is a water-cooled heat exchanger (water as a coolant within system 58, where water passes through chiller 76, see fig. 2 and paragraphs 21-22).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coolant circuit of the heat pump system of Johnston by providing a water-cooled heat exchanger as part of the chiller based on the teachings of Mazaira in order to improve the efficiency of the system by utilizing high thermal coefficient of water for heat exchange with refrigerant and the battery circuit.
In regards to claim 19, Johnston teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that the chiller (chiller 215, see figs. 2-5) is connected to an air conditioner unit (refrigeration cycle with compressor 201, condenser 203, expansion valve 213 and evaporator 211) through a refrigerant connection line (refrigerant connection lines 209, see figs. 2-5), and wherein the chiller comprises a fluid-cooled heat exchanger (heat exchanger 215) configured to heat-exchange the interiorly introduced coolant with a refrigerant supplied from the air conditioner unit (heat exchange between coolant and refrigerant at chiller heat exchanger 215, see figs. 2-5 and paragraphs 24, 27, 34).
However, Johnston does not explicitly teach that the chiller is a water-cooled chiller.
Mazaira teaches battery and cabin heating system for a vehicle (see abstract), wherein the chiller (76) is a water-cooled heat exchanger (water as a coolant within system 58, where water passes through chiller 76, see fig. 2 and paragraphs 21-22).
It would have been obvious for one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coolant circuit of the heat pump system of Johnston by providing a water-cooled heat exchanger as part of the chiller based on the teachings of Mazaira in order to improve the efficiency of the system by utilizing high thermal coefficient of water for heat exchange with refrigerant and the battery circuit.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763