DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The replacement drawings filed on 3/8/2024 are accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,800,584. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader in every instance when compared to the patented claims.
Instant claims 1-4 are broader than patented claim 1.
Instant claims 5 and 6 are broader than patented claims 2 and 3.
Instant claims 7-10 are broader than patented claim 4.
Instant claims 11 and 12 are broader than patented claims 5 and 6.
Instant claims 13-16 are broader than patented claim 7.
Instant claims 17 and 18 are broader than patented claims 8 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al. (US-2019/0297538 hereinafter, Keller) in view of Ryu (US-2021/0045029).
Regarding claim 1, Keller teaches a method for providing a 5G mobile network (Fig. 5 [NR] and Page 5 [0107]), comprising:
providing a first base station having a first coverage area for a first Radio Access Network (RAN); (Fig. 5 [LTE] and Page 5 [0107-0108])
providing a second base station (Fig. 5 [eLTE]) having a second coverage area, the second coverage area within the first coverage area of the first base station for an overlay RAN; (Page 5 [0110])
providing a 5G base station (Fig. 5 [NR]) having a third coverage area and a part of the overlay RAN; (Fig. 2C [New RAN]) and
determining, by a 5G Interworking Function (IWF) device (Fig. 7 [102]), which subscribers are to be serviced by the overlay RAN and which subscribers are to be serviced by the first RAN. (Page 16 [0307-0311])
Keller differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting the third coverage area within the first coverage area and within the second coverage area.
In an analogous art, Ryu teaches a method for providing a 5G mobile network (Abstract), comprising:
providing a first base station (Fig. 1 [4G only eNB]) having a first coverage area for a first RAN; (Fig. 1 [LTE])
providing a second base station (Fig. 1 [eNB DU] & [0062]) having a second coverage area, the second coverage area within the first coverage area of the first base station for an overlay RAN; (Fig. 1 [4G+5G] and Page 4 [0062])
providing a 5G base station (Fig. 1 [5G RU]) having a third coverage area within the first coverage area and within the second coverage area. (Fig. 1, Page 4 [0062-0064] note: it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the 4G+5G Only Area overlaps with the 4G only area in order to perform handoffs without dropouts between legacy 4G and 5G [gNB] and eLTE eNB)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Keller after modifying it to incorporate the cellular overlay structure of Ryu since this is a standard 4G/5G network structure (Ryu Fig. 1 and Page 3 [0039 & 0061]) as eLTE/5G cell coverage is smaller than legacy LTE cell coverage.
Regarding claim 2, Keller in view of Ryu teaches acting, by the 5G IWF Ryu (Fig. 1 [enB CU-CP]), as a standard multi-Radio Access Technology (RAT) dual connectivity capable eNodeB towards and Evolved Packet Core (EPC). (Ryu Fig. 1 [enB CU-CP & eNB [DU] connected to MME in EPC)
Regarding claim 3, Keller in view of Ryu teaches acting, by the 5G IWF, as an Evolved Packet Core (EPC) towards the overlay RAN. (Ryu Fig. 1 [enB CU-CP & eNB [DU] connected to MME in EPC)
Regarding claim 4, Keller in view of Ryu teaches handing over coverage of a 5G Non-Stand Alone (NSA) User Equipment (UE) to an incumbent RAN when1 the 5G NSA UE moves out of coverage of the overlay RAN. (Ryu Fig. 1 [Intra RAT HO w/DC release] from 4G+5G to 4G only area)
Regarding claim 5, Keller in view of Ryu teaches wherein 5G Non-Stand Alone (NSA) User Equipment (UE) capable devices are 5G NSA subscription authorized. (Keller [0192])
Regarding claim 6, Keller in view of Ryu teaches redirecting, by the 5G IWF, User Equipments (UEs) that are not 5G NSA subscription authorized to the incumbent RAN. (Keller [0200-0201])
Regarding claims 7-12, the limitations of claims 7-12 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claims 1-6.
Regarding claims 13-18, the limitations of claims 13-18 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claims 1-6.
Conclusion
/Matthew C Sams/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646
1 Under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard for conditional “if language” or “when language”, the condition does not occur and the step or function claimed would never be realized, hence the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim does not require performing the step or function. See Ex parte Katz, 2011 WL 514314, at 4-5 (BPAI Jan. 27, 2011,2011 WL 1211248 at 2 (BPAI Mar. 25, 2011); see also In re Johnston, 435 f.3d 1381, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2006)("optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted”). If conditions are not limitations against which prior art must be found because the step or function only occurs “if the answer is positive”. Under the broadest scenario, the steps or functions dependent on the “if condition” would not be invoked, and such, the Examiner is not required to find these limitations in the prior art in order to render the claim anticipated. See In re Am. Acad. Of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 f.3d 1359, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2004).