DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Pao et al. (CA 2278019).
With respect to claim 1, Pao et al. teaches a stencil for depositing solder (32, Paragraphs 0034, 0035) on a printed circuit board, the stencil comprising:
a plurality of stencil apertures (36, Figure 6B), a first stencil aperture of the plurality of stencil apertures having an aperture wall (refer to marked-up Figure 6B in the detailed action) defining an aperture perimeter (Figure 6B),
wherein the aperture wall (refer to marked-up Figure 6B in the detailed action) is configured to not extend beyond an outer edge of a PCB pad (10) provided on the PCB,
wherein the aperture wall (refer to marked-up Figure 6B in the detailed action) is configured to not extend beyond an outer edge of a terminal (22) of a surface mount component, and
wherein the first stencil aperture (36) is configured to receive solder paste to form a non-convex solder joint (i.e. concave joint 24) between the PCB pad (10) and the terminal (22).
[AltContent: textbox (Aperture Wall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Non-solderable side of terminal 22)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claim 2, Pao et al. teaches the non-convex solder joint (24) is a concave solder joint (Figures 6A, 6B).
With respect to claim 8, Pao et al. teaches wherein the first stencil aperture is configured to receive the solder paste that contacts the PCB pad (10) and only a surface of the terminal that faces the PCB pad (10, Paragraphs 0034, 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pao et al. (CA 2278019)
With respect to claim 3, Pao et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of a non-convex solder joint is a straight solder joint.
However, it is noted that the mere change in shape would not patentably
distinguish from the prior art since the size and configuration does not change the
functionality of the recesses. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Also, no
criticality in the change in size and configuration is disclosed in the specification, and
the change in size seems to be merely design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a non-convex solder joint is a straight solder joint for the purpose of ensuring a paste properly flows through the aperture in the stencil evenly and consistent.
With respect to claim 4, Pao et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of a maximum principal stress level exerted by the non-convex solder joint is less than or equal to 42 megapascal (MPa).
However, it has been held that held that where general conditions are disclosed
in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in
the art. In re Aller, 105USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Pao et al., to provide maximum principal stress level exerted by the non-convex solder joint is less than or equal to 42 megapascal (MPa) as claimed since such a modification would assist in minimizing the stress and strains in the solder joints.
With respect to claim 5, Pao et al. teaches the claimed invention with a non-convex solder joint (24, Figures 6A, 6B). Pao et al. is silent with respect to a maximum principal stress level exerted by the concave solder joint is equal to 30 megapascal (MPa).
However, it has been held that held that where general conditions are disclosed
in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in
the art. In re Aller, 105USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Pao et al., to provide a maximum principal stress level exerted by the concave solder joint is equal to 30 megapascal (MPa) as claimed since such a modification would assist in minimizing the stress and strains in the solder joints.
With respect to claim 6, Pao et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of a portion of the aperture perimeter defined by the aperture wall has a width of approximately 0.2milimeters (mm).
However, it has been held that held that where general conditions are disclosed
in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Pao et al., to provide a portion of the aperture perimeter defined by the aperture wall has a width of approximately 0.2milimeters (mm) as claimed since such a modification would assist in minimizing the stress and strains in the solder joints.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pao et al. (CA 2278019) in view of Vasudevan et al. (US Publication 2021/0315107).
With respect to claim 7, Pao et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of the surface mount circuit component is a quad flat no-lead (QFN) package.
Vasudevan et al. teaches an assembly process with a surface mount circuit component is a quad flat no-lead (QFN) package (Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Pao et al. to provide a surface mount circuit component is a quad flat no-lead (QFN) package as taught by Vasudevan et al. for the purpose of providing a low cost package that provides excellent thermal performance.
Conclusion
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852