DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Regner et al. (US Publication 2001/0011676).
With respect to claim 1, Regner et al. teaches a stencil (10) for depositing solder on a printed circuit board (PCB), the stencil comprising:
a plurality of stencil apertures (12, 14, Figure 1), a first stencil aperture (12) of the plurality of stencil apertures (12, 14) having an aperture wall (20) defining an aperture perimeter,
wherein the aperture wall (20) is configured to not extend beyond an outer edge of a PCB pad provided on the PCB (20 does not extend beyond 18 in fig. 4),
wherein the aperture wall (20) is configured to not extend beyond an outer edge of a terminal of a surface mount component (20 does not extend beyond any surface mount component as shown in Figures 3 and 4 and note the claim is directed to a solder stencil, not a PCB. Therefore, the surface mount components are not positively recited as part of the stencil/claimed invention and are functional limitations), and
wherein the first stencil aperture (12) is configured to receive solder paste to form a non-convex solder joint between the PCB pad and the terminal (note: the recitation “to form a non-convex solder joint between the PCB pad and the terminal” is an intended use).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, as noted above the limitations “the non-convex solder joint is a concave solder joint” and “the non-convex solder joint is a straight solder joint” is an intended use and not part of the claimed invention, therefore Regner is capable of performing the intended function.
With respect to claim 4, as noted above, “non-convex solder joint” is intended use and not part of the claimed invention therefore “a maximum principal stress level” of the limitation, “wherein a maximum principal stress level exerted by the non-convex solder joint is less than or equal to 42 megapascal (MPa)” is not a positively recited feature and not part of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 5, as noted above, “non-convex solder joint” is intended use therefore “a maximum principal stress level” of the limitation, “the non-convex solder joint is a concave solder joint, wherein the maximum principal stress level exerted by the concave solder joint is approximately equal to 30 MPa” is not a positively recited feature and not part of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 7, the limitation, “the surface mount component is a quad flat no- lead (QFN) package” it is noted that the surface mount components are not positively recited as part of the stencil/claimed invention and are functional limitations.
With respect to claim 8, Regner et al. teaches the first stencil aperture (12) is configured to receive the solder paste (20) that contacts the PCB pad (18) and only a surface of the terminal that faces the PCB pad (note: the recitation “configured to receive the solder paste that contacts the PCB pad and only a surface of the terminal that faces the PCB pad” is an intended use, however Regner et al. does teach a solder paste 20 received in the aperture 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regner et al. (US Publication 2001/0011676).
With respect to claim 6, Pao et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of a portion of the aperture perimeter defined by the aperture wall has a width of approximately 0.2milimeters (mm).
However, it has been held that held that where general conditions are disclosed
in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105USPQ 233.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in that art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Pao et al., to provide a portion of the aperture perimeter defined by the aperture wall has a width of approximately 0.2milimeters (mm) as claimed since such a modification would assist in minimizing the stress and strains in the solder joints.
The following rejections under 35 USC are presented to expedite prosecution.
Claims 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Regner et al. (US Publication 2001/0011676). There are a limited number of solder joints (concave, convex and straight). Since there are a small number of possible joint shapes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a concave solder joint or a straight solder joint is for the purpose of maximizing a combination of strength, material cost and available space. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 4-5 It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a principal stress less than or equal to 42 MPa or approximately 30MPa for the purpose of using an optimum value. The applicant should note that it has been held discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cayrefourcq (US Publication 2001/0010743) teaches an apparatus with solder bumps with recesses. Shown are a plurality of stencil apertures (30), a first stencil aperture of the plurality of stencil apertures having an aperture wall defining an aperture perimeter, wherein the aperture wall is configured to not extend beyond an outer edge of a PCB pad (30 does not extend beyond 26, see fig. 1) provided on the PCB, wherein the aperture wall is configured to not extend beyond an outer edge of a terminal of a surface mount component (30 does not extend beyond an outer edge of 12 or 20, see fig. 1), and wherein the first stencil aperture is configured to receive solder paste to form a non-convex solder joint between the PCB pad and the terminal.
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852