Priority
Applicant' s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/7/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7, 9, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bollerud, United States Patent Publication 2003/0149742 (hereinafter “Bollerud”), in view of Mahan et al., United States Patent Publication 2010/0262780 (hereinafter “Mahan”).
Claim 1:
Bollerud discloses:
A method for performing pre-publication checks on webpage content, the method comprising (see paragraphs [0017] and [0018]):
displaying, in a graphical user interface (GUI) for a content management system (CMS) application running on a client computing device, a selectable element to perform a pre-publication check on unpublished webpage content, wherein the unpublished webpage content has not yet been published to a webserver (see paragraphs [0017]-[0019]). Bollerud teaches receiving an indication of the user input at the clients device indicating an option to perform the check on the static webpage by performing functions to initiate the analysis of the content before the content is rendered;
retrieving, in response to selection of the selectable element, the webpage content from the CMS application on the client computing device (see paragraphs [0017]-[0019]). Bollerud teaches receiving an indication of the user input at the clients device indicating an option to perform the check.
transmitting, by the client computing device, at least a portion of the webpage content to a web content analysis system for pre-publication checks, wherein the web content analysis system includes a plurality of web content analysis services that each perform a different type of webpage content check, wherein transmitting the at least a portion of the webpage content causes the web content analysis system to initiate the webpage content checks on the webpage content by the plurality of web content analysis services (see paragraphs [0018]). Bollerud teaches transmitting the page to the content staging system to verify the accuracy and error-free status of their content using web content analysis services that perform different content checks.
polling, by the client computing device, the plurality of web content analysis services for results of the webpage content checks (see paragraphs [0018] and [0029]). Bollerud teaches polling the one or more service processing updates.
retrieving, from the web content analysis system, the results from each of the web content analysis services as the results become available based on the polling, wherein the results identify one or more elements in the unpublished webpage content for correction (see paragraphs [0018] and [0029]). Bollerud teaches receiving updates from the staging content services.
displaying, in the GUI for the CMS application, the results for each of the web content analysis services in one or more designated areas of the GUI, wherein the results are displayed in the one or more designated areas of the GUI with information identifying the one or more elements for correction (see paragraphs [0018]-[0021]). Bollerud teaches displaying the results of the services on the GUI based on the GUI design, identifying the areas of correction; and
outputting, in the GUI for the CMS application, one or more graphical features that identify the one or more elements in the unpublished webpage content as displayed in other portions of the CMS application (see paragraph [0016]). Bollerud teaches outputting the features that need to be corrected.
Bollerud fails to explicitly disclose rendering a static version of a webpage using a DOM.
Mahan discloses:
identifying, by the client computing device, one or more DOM elements for the unpublished webpage content in the CMS application that correspond to the one or more elements identified in the results (see paragraph [0007]). Mahan teaches determining the DOM elements that correspond to the element in the web page.
based on the one or more DOM elements (see paragraph [0007]). Mahan teaches determining the DOM elements that correspond to the element in the web page
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Bollerud to include identifying the Dom elements of a webpage for the purpose of efficiently improving the resources needed during page rendering including static elements (see paragraphs [0004] and [0005]), as taught by Mahan.
Claim 3:
Bollerud discloses:
wherein retrieving, in response to selection of the selectable element, the webpage content from the CMS application on the client computing device comprises retrieving an uneditable version of the webpage content from the webserver (see paragraph [0018]). Bollerud teaches receiving an uneditable version of the content because only the content provider can edit the content.
Claim 4:
Bollerud discloses:
wherein the one or more graphical features are presented over at least a portion of the uneditable version of the webpage content (see paragraph [0018]). Bollerud teaches receiving an indication of corrections to be made on the content.
Claim 5:
Bollerud discloses:
wherein the one or more graphical features are presented over an editable version of the webpage content, wherein the editable version of the webpage content is different from the uneditable version of the webpage content (see paragraph [0018] and [0019]). Bollerud teaches the corrections are referenced by the metadata for the content provider to edit the source document but the document submitted to be CMS is not editable.
Claim 7:
Bollerud discloses:
further comprising identifying, by the client computing device, for the unpublished webpage content in the CMS application from identifiers that correspond to the one or more elements identified in the results, wherein the identifiers are generated by the web content analysis system (see paragraphs [0027] and [0053]). Bollerud teaches identifying the elements for the unpublished webpage content that corresponds to the elements.
Bollerud fails to explicitly disclose rendering a static version of a webpage using a DOM.
Mahan discloses:
the one or more DOM elements (see paragraph [0007]). Mahan teaches determining the DOM elements that correspond to the element in the web page
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Bollerud to include identifying the Dom elements of a webpage for the purpose of efficiently improving the resources needed during page rendering including static elements (see paragraphs [0004] and [0005]), as taught by Mahan.
Claim 9:
Bollerud discloses:
wherein the web analysis services include at least one of a readability service, an SEO service, a policy service, an accessibility service, and a misspelling service (see paragraphs [0032] and [0033]). Bollerud teaches a readability service and a misspelling service.
Claim 19, 21:
Although Claim 19 and 21 are system claims, they are interpreted for the same reasons as the method Claims 1 and 7.
Claim 6, 8, 10, 11, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bollerud, in view of Mahan, in further view of Roussel et al., United States Patent Publication 2011/0271149 (hereinafter “Roussel”).
Claim 6:
Bollerud fails to expressly disclose editing the webpage within the gui.
Roussel discloses:
wherein the editable version of the webpage content is displayed in the GUI for the CMS application and the uneditable version of the webpage content is not displayed in the GUI for the CMS application (see paragraphs [0020]). Roussel teaches the rendered webpage content is presented in a first frame and the user is able to edit elements provided on the webpage.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Bollerud to include user input indicating changes to elements on the webpage for the purposes of being user friendly and easily correcting errors in rendered webpages, as taught by Roussel.
Claim 8:
Bollerud fails to display a gui displaying different designated sections of the display.
Roussel discloses:
wherein each of the one or more designated areas of the GUI can include information indicating an issue category, a quantity of occurrences identified by the respective web content analysis service for the issue category, the respective web content analysis service that identified the quantity of occurrences, and a quantity of potential issues identified by the respective web content analysis service that should be verified or rejected by a user of the client computing device. (see paragraphs [0031] and [0032]). Roussel teaches the rendered webpage content is presented in a different frames relating to different data. The data also includes counting the occurrences of requests, queries, occurrences.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Bollerud to include determining a quantity of metrics to display to the user for the purposes of being user friendly displaying errors or issues within a dashboard, as taught by Roussel.
Claim 10:
Bollerud discloses:
wherein the broken links service is configured to identify broken links in the webpage content and (see paragraphs [0005]-[0007]). Bollerud teaches identifying broken links within the content.
Bollerud fails to expressly disclose determining the quantity of occurrences.
Roussel discloses:
determine a quantity of occurrences of broken links in the webpage content, wherein the quantity of occurrences is outputted in one of the one or more designated areas of the GUI (see paragraphs [0031] and [0032]). Roussel teaches the rendered webpage content is presented in a different frames relating to different data. The data also includes counting the occurrences of requests, queries, occurrences.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Bollerud to include determining a quantity of metrics to display to the user for the purposes of being user friendly displaying errors or issues within a dashboard, as taught by Roussel.
Claim 11:
Bollerud discloses:
wherein the spelling service is configured to identify misspellings in the webpage content and. (see paragraphs [0032]). Bollerud teaches identifying misspellings and codes in order to standardize the text.
Bollerud fails to expressly disclose determining the quantity of occurrences.
Roussel discloses:
determine a quantity of occurrences of an error or issue, wherein the quantity of occurrences is outputted in one of the one or more designated areas of the GUI (see paragraphs [0031] and [0032]). Roussel teaches the rendered webpage content is presented in a different frames relating to different data. The data also includes counting the occurrences of requests, queries, occurrences.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Bollerud to include determining a quantity of metrics to display to the user for the purposes of being user friendly displaying errors or issues within a dashboard, as taught by Roussel.
Claim 17:
Bollerud fails to expressly disclose include a visual emphasis on the identified section of the webpage corresponding to the generated results of the analysis.
Roussel discloses:
applying, by the client computing device and using a CSS selector, a visual emphasis to the one or more elements for correction in the unpublished webpage content (see paragraph [0031]). Roussel teaches developers and admins definiens these monitored scopes and sub copes in code to break down the data collected and how it will be displayed on the diagnostic dashboard;
displaying at least the one or more graphical features that identify the one or more elements in a first segment of the GUI for the CMS application; displaying the unpublished webpage content with the one or more elements for correction having the visual emphasis in a second segment of the GUI for the CMS application (see paragraph [0031]). Roussel teaches identifying the sections of the content that need to be corrected and allowing the user to hover the area and viewing the results;
wherein the first segment of the GUI for the CMS application is configured to partially overlay a portion of the second segment of the GUI for the CMS application (see figure 3). Roussel teaches applying a rule to modify the identified section of the page with an overlay which provides a visual emphasis; and
wherein the one or more elements for correction having the visual emphasis in the second segment of the GUI for the CMS application are directly editable in the second segment of the GUI for the CMS application (see figure 3). Roussel teaches returning the visual emphasis along with the corresponding identified section of the webpage.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Bollerud to include a visual emphasis on the identified section of the webpage corresponding to the generated results of the analysis for the purposes of being user friendly and easily correcting errors in rendered webpages, as taught by Roussel.
Claim 18:
Bollerud discloses:
until receiving user input by the client computing device to publish the webpage content to the webserver, iteratively performing the polling, retrieving, identifying, displaying, and outputting operations, wherein the results and the one or more graphical features are continuously updated and displayed in the GUI for the CMS application as the results are generated by the plurality of web content analysis services (see paragraphs [0018] and [0029]). Bollerud teaches constantly receiving updates from the staging content services and displaying the results.
Claim 20:
Although Claim 20 are system claims, they are interpreted for the same reasons as the method Claims 17.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bollerud, in view of Mahan, in further view of Molina et al., “Process Model for Continuous Testing of Web Accessibility”.
Claim 12:
Bollerud and Mahan fail to expressly disclose determining noncompliance accessibility standards of the web content.
Molina discloses:
wherein the accessibility service is configured to: identify occurrences of noncompliance with accessibility standards in the webpage content (see page 8, “Planning Solutions”). Molina teaches counting the number of occurrences of the noncompliance issues;
group the occurrences of noncompliance with particular accessibility standards; and determine a quantity of the occurrences of noncompliance in each group (see page 8 figure 6). Molina teaches grouping the occurrences and the quantity.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method disclosed by Bollerud and Mahan to include identify the noncompliance web accessibility standards for the purpose efficiently producing web accessible documents, as taught by Molina.
Claim 13:
Bollerud discloses:
one or more designated areas of the GUI (see paragraphs [0018]-[0021]). Bollerud teaches displaying the results of the services on the GUI based on the GUI design, identifying the areas of correction;
Bollerud and Mahan fail to expressly disclose determining noncompliance accessibility standards of the web content.
Molina discloses:
wherein the accessibility service is further configured to output each group of the occurrences of noncompliance in one or more of the one or more designated areas of the GUI that correspond to the particular accessibility standards (see page 8 figure 6). Molina teaches output the grouping of occurrences and the quantity.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method disclosed by Bollerud and Mahan to include identify the noncompliance web accessibility standards for the purpose efficiently producing web accessible documents, as taught by Molina.
Claim 14:
Bollerud and Mahan fail to expressly disclose particular accessibility standards.
Molina discloses:
wherein the particular accessibility standards include level A, level AA, level AAA, WAI-ARIA authoring practices, and accessibility best practices (see page 3, “Web Accessibility”). Molina particular accessibility standards.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method disclosed by Bollerud and Mahan to include identify the particular noncompliance web accessibility standards for the purpose efficiently producing web accessible documents, as taught by Molina.
Claim 15:
Bollerud discloses:
wherein the one or more designated areas of the GUI each correspond to different categories of services offered by the web content analysis services, wherein the different categories of services include, quality assurance, readability, and policy (see paragraphs [0032] and [0033]). Bollerud teaches a readability service, policy and quality assurance.
Bollerud and Mahan fail to expressly disclose displaying accessibility standards.
Molina discloses:
displaying accessibility issues (see page 8 figure 6). Molina particular displaying accessibility standards.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method disclosed by Bollerud and Mahan to include identify the particular noncompliance web accessibility standards for the purpose efficiently producing web accessible documents, as taught by Molina.
Claim 16:
Bollerud and Mahan fail to expressly disclose an overall quality score.
Molina discloses:
wherein at least one of the one or more designated areas of the GUI is configured to display information about an overall quality score of the webpage content (see page 13-14, “Phase III”). Molina teaches an overall measurement of the quality of the webpage content.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method disclosed by Bollerud and Mahan to include identifying overall score of the webpage for the purpose efficiently producing web accessible documents, as taught by Molina.
Conclusion
/TIONNA M BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 2/21/26