DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2025; 03/14/2024 and 10/24/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Foreign Application data is missing from the specification.
Appropriate correction is required and respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishii et al. (US PAP 2022/0313199 A1).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to claim 1, Nishii et al. teaches a radiation imaging system comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117):
a radiation imaging apparatus (1) including a conversion unit (300) comprising detector pixels (101) each including conversion elements (102) configured to generate electric charge in response to irradiation with radiation (see Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0053),
and a transmission unit (225; 403) configured to transmit, based on the electric charge generated by the conversion unit and a target value, a signal related to control of irradiation with radiation to an external apparatus (see Fig. 5; paragraph 0075); and a control apparatus (310) including a dose index generating unit (502) configured to generate a target dose index value that is based on the target value (see Fig. 6; paragraph 0086), and a dose index value that is based on information regarding electric charge, the information being acquired from the radiation imaging apparatus, an allowable range setting unit (see paragraph 0102) configured to set an allowable range of the target dose index value, and a determination unit (501) configured to determine whether the dose index value is within the allowable range (see Figs. 5 and 6; paragraphs 0075, 0086 and 0102).
With respect to claim 2, Nishii et al. teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 1 (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), wherein the allowable range setting unit (see Figs. 8A-8D and 9A-9C wherein a display control unit (503) displays dose index target values and deviation index values along with dose index values) is configured to set the allowable range, based on a ratio of the dose index value to the target dose index value (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 3, Nishii et al. teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 2 (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), wherein the control apparatus (310) further includes a reporting unit configured to, in a case where a determination result of the determination unit (501) indicates that the dose index value is out of the allowable range, report the determination result (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 4, Nishii et al (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117). teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 3, wherein the reporting unit includes a display unit (314) (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 5, Nishii et al. teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 3 (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), wherein contents of a report made by the reporting unit are different between a case where the determination result of the determination unit (501) indicates that the dose index value is above an upper limit of the allowable range and a case where the determination result of the determination unit (501) indicates that the dose index value is below a lower limit of the allowable range (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 6, Nishii et al. teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 3 (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), wherein the radiation imaging apparatus is capable of transmitting the signal related to control of irradiation with radiation to the external apparatus by wired communication or wireless communication, and contents of a report made by the reporting unit are different between a case where the signal is transmitted by wired communication and a case where the signal is transmitted by wireless communication (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117). In addition, the limitations after the recitation “capable of “ are not considered because it has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only require the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense.
With respect to claim 7, Nishii et al. teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 3 (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), wherein the transmission unit is capable of notifying the control apparatus of whether the signal related to control of irradiation with radiation has been transmitted to the external apparatus, and contents of a report made by the reporting unit are different between a case where the transmission unit has transmitted the signal to the external apparatus and a case where the transmission unit has not transmitted the signal to the external apparatus (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117). In addition, the limitations after the recitation “capable of “ are not considered because it has been held that the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only require the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense.
With respect to claim 8, Nishii et al. teaches a radiation imaging system comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117): a radiation imaging apparatus (1) including: a conversion unit (300) configured to generate electric charge in response to irradiation with radiation, and a transmission unit (225; 403) configured to transmit, based on the electric charge generated by the conversion unit and a target value, a signal related to control of irradiation with radiation to an external apparatus (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117); and a control apparatus (310) including a dose index generating unit (502) configured to generate a target dose index value that is based on the target value, and a dose index value that is based on information regarding electric charge, the information being acquired from the radiation imaging apparatus, an allowable range setting unit (see Figs. 8A-8D and 9A-9C wherein a display control unit (503) displays dose index target values and deviation index values along with dose index values) configured to set an allowable range of the target dose index value (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), and a determination unit (501) configured to determine whether the dose index value is within the allowable range, wherein the conversion unit (300) includes a plurality of regions, the signal transmitted by the transmission unit (403) is a signal for providing an instruction to stop irradiation with radiation (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), the signal being transmitted based on electric charge of each of the plurality of regions, the target value, and a stop condition, the dose index generating unit (502) is configured to generate a dose index value for each of the plurality of regions of the conversion unit (300), and the determination unit is configured to, in a case where the stop condition is AND (see paragraphs 0078, 0103, 0117), determine whether a smallest dose index value among the dose index values of the plurality of regions is within the allowable range (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 9, Nishii et al. teaches a radiation imaging system comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117): a radiation imaging apparatus (1) including: a conversion unit (300) configured to generate electric charge in response to irradiation with radiation, and a transmission unit (225; 403) configured to transmit, based on the electric charge generated by the conversion unit and a target value (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), a signal related to control of irradiation with radiation to an external apparatus; and a control apparatus (310) including a dose index generating unit (502) configured to generate a target dose index value that is based on the target value, and a dose index value that is based on information regarding electric charge (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), the information being acquired from the radiation imaging apparatus, an allowable range setting unit (see Figs. 8A-8D and 9A-9C wherein a display control unit (503) displays dose index target values and deviation index values along with dose index values) configured to set an allowable range of the target dose index value, and a determination unit (501) configured to determine whether the dose index value is within the allowable range, wherein the conversion unit includes a plurality of regions, the signal transmitted by the transmission unit is a signal for providing an instruction to stop irradiation with radiation, the signal being transmitted based on electric charge of each of the plurality of regions, the target value (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), and a stop condition, the dose index generating unit (502) is configured to generate a dose index value for each of the plurality of regions of the conversion unit, and the determination unit is configured to, in a case where the stop condition is OR (see paragraphs 0078 and 0103), determine whether a largest dose index value among the dose index values of the plurality of regions is within the allowable range (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 10, Nishii et al. teaches a radiation imaging system comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117): a radiation imaging apparatus (1) including: a conversion unit (300) configured to generate electric charge in response to irradiation with radiation, and a transmission unit (225; 403) configured to transmit, based on the electric charge generated by the conversion unit (300) and a target value, a signal related to control of irradiation with radiation to an external apparatus; and a control apparatus (310) including a dose index generating unit (502) configured to generate a target dose index value that is based on the target value, and a dose index value that is based on information regarding electric charge, the information being acquired from the radiation imaging apparatus, an allowable range setting unit (see Figs. 8A-8D and 9A-9C wherein a display control unit (503) displays dose index target values and deviation index values along with dose index values) configured to set an allowable range of the target dose index value, and a determination unit (501) configured to determine whether the dose index value is within the allowable range, wherein the conversion unit includes a plurality of regions, the signal transmitted by the transmission unit is a signal for providing an instruction to stop irradiation with radiation, the signal being transmitted based on electric charge of each of the plurality of regions, the target value, and a stop condition, the dose index generating unit is configured to generate a dose index value for each of the plurality of regions of the conversion unit (300), and the determination unit is configured to, in a case where the stop condition is AVG (see paragraphs 0077, 0078, 0097, 0103 and 0117), determine whether an average value of the dose index values of the plurality of regions is within the allowable range (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 11, Nishii et al. teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 8 (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), wherein the allowable range setting unit is configured to set the allowable range, based on a ratio of the dose index value to the target dose index value (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 12, Nishii et al. teaches a radiation imaging system comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117):
a radiation imaging apparatus (1) including a conversion unit (300) configured to generate electric charge in response to irradiation with radiation, and a transmission unit (225; 403) (see Fig. 5; paragraph 0075) configured to transmit, based on the electric charge generated by the conversion unit and a target value (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), a signal related to control of irradiation with radiation to an external apparatus; and a control apparatus (310) including a dose index generating unit (502) configured to generate a target dose index value that is based on the target value, and a dose index value that is based on information regarding electric charge (see Fig. 6; paragraph 0086), the information being acquired from the radiation imaging apparatus, an allowable range setting unit (see Figs. 8A-8D and 9A-9C wherein a display control unit (503) displays dose index target values and deviation index values along with dose index values) configured to set an allowable range of the target dose index value, a determination unit (501) configured to determine whether the dose index value is within the allowable range, and a display unit (314) configured to display a determination result, wherein the conversion unit (300) includes a plurality of regions, the signal transmitted by the transmission unit (403) is a signal for providing an instruction to stop irradiation with radiation, the signal being transmitted based on electric charge of each of the plurality of regions, the target value, and a stop condition (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), the dose index generating unit is configured to generate a dose index value for each of the plurality of regions of the conversion unit, the determination unit is configured to, based on the stop condition (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), select at least one region among the plurality of regions and make a determination of whether the dose index value of the selected region is within the allowable range, and the display unit (314) is configured to, in a case where a determination result of the determination indicates that the dose index value of the selected region is out of the allowable range, display (314) the determination result such that a position of the selected region is recognizable (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 13, Nishii et al. teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 12 (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), wherein the allowable range setting unit is configured to set the allowable range, based on a ratio of the dose index value to the target dose index value (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
With respect to claim 14, Nishii et al. teaches the radiation imaging system according to Claim 13 (see abstract; Figs. 1-14; paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117), wherein the display unit is configured to display the determination result in accordance with magnitude of the ratio of the determination result (see paragraphs 0053, 0075-0078, 0086, 0097, 0102-0103 and 0117).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US PAP 2017/0172535 A1; see abstract; Figs. 1-18; paragraphs 0003-0009, 0014-0026, 0051, 0054-0058 and 0066-0070); Hayashida (US PAP 2016/0183908 A1; see abstract; Figs. 1-9; paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0011, 0012, 0024-0034 and 0036-0047); Tajima (US PAP 2015/0182182 A1; see abstract; Figs. 1-13B; paragraphs 0005, 0007, 0008, 0014-0018, 0040-0042 and 0045-0048); Katagawa et al. (US PAP 2014/0177798 A1; see abstract; Figs. 1-22; paragraphs 0004, 0008-0015, 0018-0029 and 0054-0064) and Tajima (US PAP 2013/0251106 A1; see abstract; Figs. 1-27; paragraphs 0002-0010, 0011, 0015, 0020-0024 and 0054-0064) teach the variety of radiation imaging detection methods and apparatuses comprising automatic exposure control (AEC).
Kitagawa et al. (US PAP 2014/0205066 A1) teach a radiographic system (see abstract: Figs. 2, 5, 9 and 10; paragraphs 0093, 0094, 0097, 0100, 0106- 0108 and 0113) that includes a radiation generation apparatus (11) configured to emit radiation,
a radiographic apparatus (10) configured to generate a radiographic image based on the radiation, a control apparatus (31) configured to communicate with the radiographic apparatus to receive the radiographic image and control operation, the radiographic system comprising (11): an obtaining unit (62) configured to obtain a plurality of dose index values using the radiation image generated based on the radiation (see abstract: Figs. 9 and 10; paragraphs 0093, 0094, 0097, 0107, 0108 and 0113).
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/I.K./ November 20, 2025