DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
In the claims, “aromatic aramids” is taken to mean “aramids,” which are already aromatic by definition. These are also called aromatic polyamides.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 2, “about5000” should be separated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4, “and/or” should be changed to “and” to avoid being redundant with “or a combination thereof.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it recites a “carbon molecular sieve membrane, “said membrane comprising one or more aromatic aramids.” This is indefinite because the specification makes it clear that the aromatic aramids are precursors of the membrane that are pyrolyzed (carbonized) to form the carbon molecular sieve (see instant specification paragraphs 57, 58, 69, 76-emboidment 26, 87, 116). The pyrolyzed membrane will not contain any actual aromatic aramids unless the thermal decomposition is incomplete, which is not disclosed in this application. It appears that claim 1 should recite a “carbon molecular sieve membrane derived from an aramid precursor” to overcome this rejection. This is assumed for examination.
Claim 16 is indefinite because it recites a % concentration but does not specify whether this is by volume, mass or mole, which can be very different for a gas.
Claims 2-15 are rejected for depending from an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 107824056 A.
CN ‘056 teaches a carbon molecular sieve membrane that is formed by carbonization of waste aromatic polyamide (aramid) reverse osmosis film membranes at a temperature of 400-900°C (see abstract, page 3 of the machine-generated English translation). The aramid will inherently be either crosslinked or uncrosslinked and have a hydrogen gas permeability and selectivity over other gases as recited in instant claims 8-11 because the same precursors and carbonization conditions are used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘056 in view of applicants’ admitted prior art.
CN ‘056 discloses all of the limitations of the claims except that the aramid is solution processable and prepared by interfacial polymerization of a preferred amine and acid halide, and that the membrane is used for separating hydrogen from carbon dioxide or other gas to produce a permeate of 50-99.99% hydrogen (no method of making the aramid or using the CMS is disclosed). Applicants’ admitted prior art discloses that CMS membranes have H2/CO2 selectivity and can recover hydrogen and capture hydrogen to produce blue hydrogen from steam methane reforming. Also disclosed is that aramids can be inexpensively and rapidly synthesized by in situ interfacial polymerization or stirred interfacial polymerization in a solution using m-phenylenediamine (1,3-phenylenediamine) and trimesoyl chloride (see instant specification paragraphs 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the membrane of CN ‘056 by using well-known formation methods for the aramid in order to provide rapid and inexpensive synthesis and defect-free ultra-thin films, and to use the CMS for hydrogen purification to provide sustainable production of hydrogen and outstanding selectivity to produce a high purity hydrogen product. A high purity is assumed to be greater than 50% and one skilled in the art will understand that steam methane reforming product gas will also contain some methane.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN ‘056 in view of applicants’ as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of CN 1778457 A.
CN ‘056 in view of applicants’ admitted prior art discloses all of the limitations of the claims except that a preferred acid halide mixture is used. CN ‘457 discloses an aromatic polyamide membrane that is produced from m-phenylenediamine and a mixture of isophthaloyl chloride and terephthaloyl chloride as halides (see abstract, claim 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the aramid precursors of the primary references by using those disclosed in CN ‘457 in order to provide a membrane that is formed from easily obtained raw materials and has low cost, high desalting rate, and large flux.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references listed on the attached PTO-892 form disclose fluid separation membranes.
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl