DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/493,693 filed on 10/24/2023.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 03/26/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
- Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 15, 22-24 are amended.
-Claims 1-24 are pending.
-Claims 1-11, 15-24 are rejected.
-Claims 12, 13, 14 are objected.
Response to Remarks/Amendments
4. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 9, filed on 03/26/2026, with respect to Objections to the Claims have been considered in light of applicant’s remarks and amendments.
The Claim Objections pertaining to Claims 1, 9, 22-24 as applicable to the previous office action have been withdrawn.
5. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see pages 9-12, filed on 03/26/2026, with respect to Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent have been considered, and are moot for the same reasons noted above, and are not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
A. Applicant in applicant’s remarks (See page 10 (ln 21-25)), indicates:
“HE fails to teach or suggest receiving configuration information of a DRX cycle, the configuration information indicating a set of values for an offloading parameter, and that a first quantity of the one or more first cell measurements and a second quantity of the one or more second cell measurements are in accordance with the offloading parameter, as recited in amended Claim 1”
B. In response, applicant is respectfully directed to the rejection of Claim 1 (see office action) now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in combination over Martin et al. (US 20240397422 A1), i.e. “Martin” in view of HE et al. (US 20240196328 A1) i.e. “HE”, where the office action under new grounds of rejection presents teachings from new primary reference Martin pertaining to amendments incorporated into Claim 1. To the extent HE is additionally relied upon in combination, the office respectfully contends that HE continues to teach in combination the following:
An apparatus configured for wireless communication (HE FIG. 2 & FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0027 […] an exemplary UE 110; ¶0048 […] a UE 505 comprising a main radio (MR) 510 and a wakeup radio (WUR) 515; ¶0060 […] a UE 605 comprising a main radio (MR) 610 and a wakeup radio (WUR) 615, and a gNB 620 operating as the serving cell for the UE 605, similar to the UE 505 and gNB 520 );
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes teaches and discloses: per ¶0027 UE 110 and per ¶0048 i.e. UE 505 and per ¶0060 US 605 reads on: An apparatus configured for wireless communication .
comprising: one or more memories (HE – FIG. 2 & ¶0031 […] a program) executed by the processor 205 ; ¶0032 […] memory 210 may be a hardware component configured to store data related to operations performed by the UE 110);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes teaches and discloses: per ¶0032 i.e. memory 210 may be a hardware component configured to store data related to operations reads on: comprising: one or more memories .
and one or more processors configured to (HE – FIG. 2 & ¶0031 See above; ¶0032 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes teaches and discloses: per ¶0031 […] a program) executed by the processor 205 reads on: and one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus .
to: receive information of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (HE FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0056 […] 545, the UE 505 may receive from the gNB 520 a set of WUR Signal (WUR-S) configuration parameters […] The WUR-S configuration parameters may include a WUR-specific DRX configuration, a WUR-S repetition number, a resource configuration, etc. The resource configuration may include a time-domain location, e.g., DRX configuration (DRX-On duration, Cycle Period/Offset), a frequency domain location );
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes teaches and discloses: per ¶0056 i.e. , the UE 505 may receive from the gNB 520 reads on: to: receive , where per ¶0056 i.e. a set of WUR Signal (WUR-S) configuration parameters i.e. The WUR-S configuration parameters may include a WUR-specific DRX configuration i.e. including DRX-On duration, Cycle Period/Offset reads on: ).
perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the apparatus (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0056 see above; ¶0063 […] 625, the UE 605 measures WUR-RS on the WUR 615 during the WUR DRX cycles. As discussed above, in some embodiments, as long as the triggering condition W1 is not fulfilled, the UE 605 may remain in the WUR state with only the WUR 615 enabled and the MR 610 powered off or in a deep sleep state; ¶0064 […] 630, the UE 605 switches to the RRC_CONNECTED state when the triggering condition (event W1) is satisfied and transmits the WUR measurement report; ¶0065 […] 630 is to indicate to the network to switch the UE 605 from the ‘WUR State’ to a legacy RRC state, e.g., RRC_CONNECTED, due to out-of-coverage of the WUR-S, for example, due to mobility; ¶0105 […] a second alternative, the WUR wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement when the serving cell measurement performed by the WUR meets certain conditions. This alternative may be used when the serving cell measurement by the WUR is not sufficiently reliable/accurate. The parameters for the measurement conditions (e.g., SINR threshold, offset, etc.) may be configured by the gNB. In this scenario, a tighter condition can be set for the WUR, and the main radio can be woken up to perform more accurate measurements. After the main radio is woken up to perform serving cell measurements, there may be further conditions defined for the UE to fall back to serving cell measurements being performed by the WUR. For example, the UE may return to using the WUR for serving cell measurements when the measured RSRP/RSRQ is above a certain threshold).
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: per ¶0105 i.e. a second alternative, the WUR wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement reads on: perform , where per ¶0063 i.e. UE 605 measures WUR-RS on the WUR 615 during the WUR DRX cycles and subsequently per ¶0105 i.e. the WUR wakes up the main radio i.e. subject to the WUR state and subsequently again i.e. the UE may return to using the WUR for serving cell measurements when the measured RSRP/RSRQ is above a certain threshold i.e. the main radio to perform serving cell measurement subject to exit from into WUR mode and entry into WUR mode which is based on WUR DRX cycles reads on: in accordance with the DRX cycle , where per ¶0105 i.e. wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement reads on: one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the apparatus .
perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more second cell measurements using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the apparatus (HE- FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0063 see above; ¶0105 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes teaches and discloses: per ¶0063 i.e. 625, the UE 605 measures WUR-RS on the WUR 615 during the WUR DRX cycles reads on: perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle , where per ¶0105 i.e. the UE to fall back to serving cell measurements being performed by the WUR and per ¶0063 i.e. UE 605 measures WUR-RS on the WUR 615 reads on: one or more second cell measurements using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the apparatus .
furthermore (i.e. specific to limitations referenced herein above in this rejection for which HE is combined) HE teaches:
evaluate a cell selection criterion according to at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): the one or more first cell measurements(HE – FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶105 See above; ¶0106 […] the UE handling of neighbor cell measurements during WUR operation, the following options are available; ¶0107 […] According to a first option, the neighbor cell measurement is performed by the MR, and triggered by the serving cell measurement by the MR, similar to existing methods);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes teaches and discloses: per ¶0107 i.e. the neighbor cell measurement is performed by the MR, and triggered by the serving cell measurement reads on: evaluate a cell selection criterion , where per ¶0107 i.e. triggered by the serving cell measurement by the MR reads on: according to at least one of the one or more first cell measurements ),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the one or more second cell measurements (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6, FIG. 9 & ¶0109 […] a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied. This option may be preferably implemented together with the second alternative of the second option for serving cell measurements discussed above, where the serving cell measurements can be done by WUR alone. The conditions may include mobility and serving cell signal strength/quality; FIG. 9 & ¶0113 […] 905 […]determines whether to enable the WUR […] determination may be based on signal strength/quality thresholds);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes teaches and discloses: per ¶0109 i.e. a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied reads on: evaluate a cell selection criterion i.e. based on certain conditions determine or select to perform neighbor cell measurements. Where per ¶0109 i.e. The conditions may include mobility and serving cell signal strength/quality and per FIG. 9 & ¶0113 i.e. based on signal strength/quality thresholds and per ¶0105 i.e. This alternative may be used when the serving cell measurement by the WUR is not sufficiently reliable/accurate. i.e. The parameters for the measurement conditions (e.g., SINR threshold, offset, etc.) reads on: according to at least one of: the one or more second cell measurements .
and transmit a communication in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements, the one or more second cell measurements, or the cell selection criterion (HE – FIG. 5 & Fig. 6; ¶0054 […]535, the UE 505 receives and measures WUR-RS transmitted by the gNB 520 using the UE WUR 515 […] Alternatively, the MR 510 may be used for WUR-RS reception ; ¶0057 i.e. In 550, when the UE 505 receives the WUR-S configuration of 545 in a given slot ‘n’, the UE 505 provides HARQ-ACK feedback over the PUCCH for the PDSCH reception in a slot n+k);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes teaches and discloses: per ¶0057 i.e. 550 i.e. UE 505 provides HARQ-ACK feedback over the PUCCH reads on: and transmit a communication , where i.e. where 550 is subsequent to 545, 540 and triggered by step 535 where per ¶0054 i.e. MR 510 may be used for WUR-RS reception reads on: in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements, or per ¶0054 i.e. 535, the UE 505 receives and measures WUR-RS transmitted by the gNB 520 using the UE WUR 515 reads on: the one or more second cell measurements which per ¶0063 and per ¶0105 could be applied to entry back to WUR after exit at 635.
C. Applicant is respectfully directed to the new grounds of rejection of claims now presented under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in of HE, where each and every claim element of claim 1 (i.e. utilized as an example representing other independent claims 22, 23, 24) is taught and rejected in combination.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding claim 8 ( i.e. depending from Claim 1) and claim 9 (i.e. depending from claim 8) – claim 8 recites “a set of values for the offloading parameter” where “a set of values” in claim 8 is recited a second time after a first preceding recitation of “a set of values” pertaining to “for an offloading parameter” in claim 1. The office action presents a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “a set of values” in Claim 8 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the first preceding recitation of “a set of values” in claim 1 serves as the antecedent basis for “a set of values” in claim 8 , or whether “a set of values” in claim 8 refers to a separate instance of “a set of values” different from the first preceding recitation of “a set of values” in claim 1.
Claim 9 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph at least via dependency to Claim 8.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
9. Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-11, 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al. (US 20240397422 A1), i.e. “Martin” in view of HE et al. (US 20240196328 A1) i.e. “HE”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Martin teaches: An apparatus configured for wireless communication (Martin - FIG. 1B & FIG. 11 & ¶0037 […] an example WTRU 102 ; ¶0120 […] A WTRU may receive configuration information (1110); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0037 i.e. WTRU 102 and per ¶00120 i.e. A WTRU reads on: An apparatus configured for wireless communication )),
comprising: one or more memories(Martin – FIG. 1B & ¶0042 […] processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 […] ;¶0223 […] methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0042 i.e. non-removable memory 130 where per ¶0223 i.e. a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor reads on: comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions, where i.e. methods are implemented reads on: and cause the apparatus )
to: receive information of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Martin - FIG. 11 & ¶0120 See above […]A WTRU may receive configuration information (1110). The configuration information may comprise information regarding a first DRX cycle with a first periodicity and a second DRX cycle with a second periodicity. The second periodicity may be longer than the first periodicity. The configuration information may comprise a time offset value (T). The time offset value (T) may be a period of time to allow a main receiver to turn on or be activated. The configuration information may comprise a threshold value for WUS detection. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections. […] The WTRU may monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) according to the first periodicity (1120). The WUS may be a low power WUS. The WTRU may monitor for the WUS using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) […] The WTRU may monitor for a paging indication using a main receiver. The paging indication may be in a downlink control information (DCI). […] the main receiver switches from the second periodicity to the first periodicity to monitor for a paging indication. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a WUS is not received or detected. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for the N consecutive monitoring occasions; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. A WTRU may receive configuration information (1110). Reads on: to: receive configuration information , where per ¶0120 i.e. The configuration information may comprise information regarding a first DRX cycle with a first periodicity reads on: of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle and additionally i.e. and a second DRX cycle with a second periodicity ),
the configuration information indicating a set of values for an offloading parameter (Martin – FIG. 7¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The configuration information may comprise […] i.e. a second DRX cycle with a second periodicity, […] a threshold value for WUS detection. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections reads on: the configuration information indicating a set of values, and per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for the N consecutive monitoring occasions i.e. a second DRX cycle, a threshold value, a number (N) , all associated with i.e. a number (N) of monitoring occasions reads on: for an offloading parameter i.e. offloading or switching from WUS measurements using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) and the first periodicity to paging indications using the main radio and first periodicity );
perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the apparatus (Martin - ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for a paging indication using a main receiver. The paging indication may be in a downlink control information (DCI). […] the main receiver switches from the second periodicity to the first periodicity reads on: perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle , per ¶0120 i.e. to monitor for a paging indication reads on: one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the apparatus);
perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more second cell measurements using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the apparatus (Martin - ¶0102 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) according to the first periodicity (1120) reads on: perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle where per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the WUS reads on: one or more second cell measurements and per ¶0120 i.e. using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) reads on: using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the apparatus ),
wherein a first quantity of the one or more first cell measurements and a second quantity of the one or more second cell measurements are in accordance with parameter (Martin - ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity reads on: wherein a first quantity of the one or more first cell measurements and furthermore per ¶0120 i.e. The configuration information may comprise a threshold value for WUS detection. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections and per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) according to the first periodicity (1120) reads on: and a second quantity of the one or more second cell measurements, and per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for i.e. the N consecutive monitoring occasions reads on: are in accordance with a-the offloading parameter i.e. offloading or switching from WUS measurements using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) and the first periodicity to paging indications using the main radio and first periodicity );
evaluate a cell according to at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): the one or more first cell measurements(Martin - ¶0120 see above […] The WTRU may receive the paging indication (1150). The WTRU may respond to the paging indication, for example by performing a RACH procedure and transmitting data over a physical random access channel (PRACH) (1160); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may receive the paging indication (1150). The WTRU may respond to the paging indication, for example by performing a RACH procedure reads on: evaluate a cell and transmitting data over a physical random access channel (PRACH) (1160) where per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may receive the paging indication (1150). The WTRU may respond to the paging indication reads on: according to at least one of the one or more first cell measurements ),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the one or more second cell measurements (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
and transmit a communication in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements (Martin - ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may receive the paging indication (1150). The WTRU may respond to the paging indication, for example by performing a RACH procedure and transmitting data over a physical random access channel (PRACH) (1160) reads on: and transmit a communication where per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may receive the paging indication (1150). The WTRU may respond to the paging indication reads on: in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements ), the one or more second cell measurements (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the cell selection criterion (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
Martin does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: i.e. see italicized portions): evaluate a cell selection criterion;
HE which also teaches: An apparatus configured for wireless communication (HE FIG. 2 & FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0027 […] an exemplary UE 110; ¶0048 […] a UE 505 comprising a main radio (MR) 510 and a wakeup radio (WUR) 515; ¶0060 […] a UE 605 comprising a main radio (MR) 610 and a wakeup radio (WUR) 615, and a gNB 620 operating as the serving cell for the UE 605, similar to the UE 505 and gNB 520 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0027 UE 110 and per ¶0048 i.e. UE 505 and per ¶0060 US 605 reads on: An apparatus configured for wireless communication ),
comprising: one or more memories (HE – FIG. 2 & ¶0031 […] a program) executed by the processor 205 ; ¶0032 […] memory 210 may be a hardware component configured to store data related to operations performed by the UE 110; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0032 i.e. memory 210 may be a hardware component configured to store data related to operations reads on: comprising: one or more memories );
and one or more processors configured to (HE – FIG. 2 & ¶0031 See above; ¶0032 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0031 […] a program) executed by the processor 205 reads on: and one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus )
to: receive information of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (HE FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0056 […] 545, the UE 505 may receive from the gNB 520 a set of WUR Signal (WUR-S) configuration parameters […] The WUR-S configuration parameters may include a WUR-specific DRX configuration, a WUR-S repetition number, a resource configuration, etc. The resource configuration may include a time-domain location, e.g., DRX configuration (DRX-On duration, Cycle Period/Offset), a frequency domain location ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0056 i.e. , the UE 505 may receive from the gNB 520 reads on: to: receive , where per ¶0056 i.e. a set of WUR Signal (WUR-S) configuration parameters i.e. The WUR-S configuration parameters may include a WUR-specific DRX configuration i.e. including DRX-On duration, Cycle Period/Offset reads on: );
perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the apparatus (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0056 see above; ¶0063 […] 625, the UE 605 measures WUR-RS on the WUR 615 during the WUR DRX cycles. As discussed above, in some embodiments, as long as the triggering condition W1 is not fulfilled, the UE 605 may remain in the WUR state with only the WUR 615 enabled and the MR 610 powered off or in a deep sleep state; ¶0064 […] 630, the UE 605 switches to the RRC_CONNECTED state when the triggering condition (event W1) is satisfied and transmits the WUR measurement report; ¶0065 […] 630 is to indicate to the network to switch the UE 605 from the ‘WUR State’ to a legacy RRC state, e.g., RRC_CONNECTED, due to out-of-coverage of the WUR-S, for example, due to mobility; ¶0105 […] a second alternative, the WUR wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement when the serving cell measurement performed by the WUR meets certain conditions. This alternative may be used when the serving cell measurement by the WUR is not sufficiently reliable/accurate. The parameters for the measurement conditions (e.g., SINR threshold, offset, etc.) may be configured by the gNB. In this scenario, a tighter condition can be set for the WUR, and the main radio can be woken up to perform more accurate measurements. After the main radio is woken up to perform serving cell measurements, there may be further conditions defined for the UE to fall back to serving cell measurements being performed by the WUR. For example, the UE may return to using the WUR for serving cell measurements when the measured RSRP/RSRQ is above a certain threshold. NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0105 i.e. a second alternative, the WUR wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement reads on: perform , where per ¶0063 i.e. UE 605 measures WUR-RS on the WUR 615 during the WUR DRX cycles and subsequently per ¶0105 i.e. the WUR wakes up the main radio i.e. subject to the WUR state and subsequently again i.e. the UE may return to using the WUR for serving cell measurements when the measured RSRP/RSRQ is above a certain threshold i.e. the main radio to perform serving cell measurement subject to exit from into WUR mode and entry into WUR mode which is based on WUR DRX cycles reads on: in accordance with the DRX cycle , where per ¶0105 i.e. wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement reads on: one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the apparatus );
perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more second cell measurements using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the apparatus (HE- FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0063 see above; ¶0105 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0063 i.e. 625, the UE 605 measures WUR-RS on the WUR 615 during the WUR DRX cycles reads on: perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle , where per ¶0105 i.e. the UE to fall back to serving cell measurements being performed by the WUR and per ¶0063 i.e. UE 605 measures WUR-RS on the WUR 615 reads on: one or more second cell measurements using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the apparatus ),
furthermore (i.e. specific to limitations referenced herein above in this rejection for which HE is combined) HE teaches: evaluate a cell selection criterion according to at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight): the one or more first cell measurements(HE – FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶105 See above; ¶0106 […] the UE handling of neighbor cell measurements during WUR operation, the following options are available; ¶0107 […] According to a first option, the neighbor cell measurement is performed by the MR, and triggered by the serving cell measurement by the MR, similar to existing methods; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0107 i.e. the neighbor cell measurement is performed by the MR, and triggered by the serving cell measurement reads on: evaluate a cell selection criterion , where per ¶0107 i.e. triggered by the serving cell measurement by the MR reads on: according to at least one of the one or more first cell measurements ),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the one or more second cell measurements (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6, FIG. 9 & ¶0109 […] a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied. This option may be preferably implemented together with the second alternative of the second option for serving cell measurements discussed above, where the serving cell measurements can be done by WUR alone. The conditions may include mobility and serving cell signal strength/quality; FIG. 9 & ¶0113 […] 905 […]determines whether to enable the WUR […] determination may be based on signal strength/quality thresholds; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0109 i.e. a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied reads on: evaluate a cell selection criterion i.e. based on certain conditions determine or select to perform neighbor cell measurements. Where per ¶0109 i.e. The conditions may include mobility and serving cell signal strength/quality and per FIG. 9 & ¶0113 i.e. based on signal strength/quality thresholds and per ¶0105 i.e. This alternative may be used when the serving cell measurement by the WUR is not sufficiently reliable/accurate. i.e. The parameters for the measurement conditions (e.g., SINR threshold, offset, etc.) reads on: according to at least one of: the one or more second cell measurements );
and transmit a communication in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements, the one or more second cell measurements, or the cell selection criterion (HE – FIG. 5 & Fig. 6; ¶0054 […]535, the UE 505 receives and measures WUR-RS transmitted by the gNB 520 using the UE WUR 515 […] Alternatively, the MR 510 may be used for WUR-RS reception ; ¶0057 i.e. In 550, when the UE 505 receives the WUR-S configuration of 545 in a given slot ‘n’, the UE 505 provides HARQ-ACK feedback over the PUCCH for the PDSCH reception in a slot n+k; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0057 i.e. 550 i.e. UE 505 provides HARQ-ACK feedback over the PUCCH reads on: and transmit a communication , where i.e. where 550 is subsequent to 545, 540 and triggered by step 535 where per ¶0054 i.e. MR 510 may be used for WUR-RS reception reads on: in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements, or per ¶0054 i.e. 535, the UE 505 receives and measures WUR-RS transmitted by the gNB 520 using the UE WUR 515 reads on: the one or more second cell measurements which per ¶0063 and per ¶0105 could be applied to entry back to WUR after exit at 635 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin with teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore HE teaches: wherein the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements are serving cell measurements (HE- FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0060 See above; ¶0063 see above; ¶0105 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0105 i.e. the WUR wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement reads on: wherein the one or more first cell measurements and per ¶0105 i.e. when the serving cell measurement performed by the WUR reads on: the one or more second cell measurements are serving cell measurements meets certain conditions. Furthermore per FIG. 6 and ¶0063 WUR-RS 625 measurements also reads on: and the one or more second cell measurements per ¶0060 i.e. a gNB 620 operating as the serving cell for the UE 605, similar to the UE 505 and gNB 520 reads on: are serving cell measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE, further with the teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Martin teaches: wherein the offloading parameter indicates a distribution of the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements (Martin – FIG. 7 ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) according to the first periodicity (1120), and per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for i.e. the N consecutive monitoring occasions reads on: wherein the offloading parameter i.e. which determines offloading or switching from WUS measurements using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) and the first periodicity to paging indications using the main radio and first periodicity determines or distinguishes between the first periodicity on first DRX applied to the WUR and the first periodicity applied to Main receiver and therefore the distribution of measurement between the measurements by the WUR and the measurements by the main receiver see FIG. 7 reads on: indicates a distribution of the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements ).
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Martin teaches: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to :receive signaling that indicates a set of values for the offloading parameter (Martin – FIG. 7 & ¶0120 see Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. A WTRU may receive configuration information (1110)reads on: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to :receive signaling i.e. The configuration information may comprise […] i.e. a second DRX cycle with a second periodicity, […] a threshold value for WUS detection. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections reads on: that indicates a set of values, and per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for the N consecutive monitoring occasions i.e. a second DRX cycle, a threshold value, a number (N) , all associated with i.e. a number (N) of monitoring occasions reads on: for the offloading parameter i.e. offloading or switching from WUS measurements using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) and the first periodicity to paging indications using the main radio and first periodicity );
and select a value from the set of values (Martin – FIG. 7¶0120 see Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections and i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for the N consecutive monitoring occasions reads on: and select a value from the set of values), wherein performing the one or more first cell measurements and performing the one or more second cell measurements is in accordance with the value of the offloading parameter(Martin - ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity reads on: wherein performing the one or more first cell measurements and furthermore per ¶0120 i.e. The configuration information may comprise a threshold value for WUS detection. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections and per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) according to the first periodicity (1120) reads on: and performing the one or more second cell measurements, and per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for i.e. the N consecutive monitoring occasions reads on: is in accordance with the value of the offloading parameter i.e. offloading or switching from WUS measurements using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) and the first periodicity to paging indications using the main radio and first periodicity ).
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 8,
furthermore Martin teaches: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to select the value, are configured to cause the apparatus to select the value using at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a length of the DRX cycle (Martin – FIG. 7 & ¶0120 see Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. A WTRU may receive configuration information (1110) The configuration information may comprise […] a first DRX cycle with a first periodicity […] a threshold value for WUS detection. i.e. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections i.e. associated with i.e. a first DRX cycle with a first periodicity and with i.e. missed WUS detections such as in FIG. 7 depicting at least the first DRX i.e. reads on: a length of the DRX cycle , where the (N) of monitoring occasions triggers i.e. offloading or switching from WUS measurements using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) and the first periodicity to paging indications using the main radio and first periodicity ),
a frequency range of a serving cell of the apparatus(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a frequency band of the serving cell(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a frequency gap between a synchronization signal block of the one or more first cell measurements and a low power synchronization signal of the one or more second cell measurements(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a transmission periodicity of the low power synchronization signal(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a bandwidth of the low power synchronization signal(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a class of the apparatus(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a capability of the apparatus(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), or
the cell selection criterion(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 10. Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1. (Original),
furthermore HE teaches: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to evaluate the cell selection criterion, are configured to cause the apparatus to evaluate the cell selection criterion while the main radio is in a sleep state (HE – FIG. 5, FIG. 6, FIG. 9 & ¶0109 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0109 i.e. a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied reads on: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to evaluate the cell selection criterion, are configured to cause the apparatus to evaluate the cell selection criterion furthermore i.e. wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements reads on: while the main radio is in a sleep state i.e.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE, further with the teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 11. (Original). Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 10,
furthermore HE teaches: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to trigger the main radio to wake up in association with evaluating the cell selection criterion (HE – FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0063 See claim 1; ¶0064 […] In 630, the UE 605 switches to the RRC_CONNECTED state when the triggering condition (event W1) is satisfied and transmits the WUR measurement report; ¶0109 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0064 i.e. the UE 605 switches to the RRC_CONNECTED state when the triggering condition (event W1) is satisfied reads on: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to trigger the main radio to wake up , where per ¶0109 i.e. a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied reads on: in association with evaluating the cell selection criterion ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE, further with the teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 17. (Original). Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1. (Original) ,
furthermore HE teaches: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the one or more first cell measurements and perform the one or more second cell measurements, are configured to cause the apparatus to perform, in association with the apparatus satisfying a relaxation criterion, the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements in accordance with a scaling factor (HE- FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0063 see above; ¶0105 See above; ¶0107 […] the neighbor cell measurement is performed by the MR […] where the serving cell measurement requirements are also relaxed, or with the second alternative of the second option discussed above for serving cell measurements, where the WUR wakes up the MR when the serving cell measurements performed by the WUR are not sufficiently reliable; ¶0108 […]instead of requiring neighbor cell measurements every three DRX cycles, the requirement can be relaxed to every X DRX cycles, where X>3. In another example, the extent of relaxation can be dependent on factors such as serving cell measurement and mobility. Multiple values of X may be defined, wherein more relaxation (larger×value) can be allowed when the serving cell measurements are sufficiently reliable and/or in lower mobility scenarios; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0107 i.e. the neighbor cell measurement is performed by the MR and i.e. the WUR wakes up the MR when the serving cell measurements performed by the WUR are not sufficiently reliable reads on: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the one or more first cell measurements and perform the one or more second cell measurements, are configured to cause the apparatus to perform , where per ¶0107 i.e. where the serving cell measurement requirements are also relaxed reads on: in association with the apparatus satisfying a relaxation criterion , where per ¶0108 […]instead of requiring neighbor cell measurements every three DRX cycles, the requirement can be relaxed to every X DRX cycles, where X>3 reads on: the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements in accordance with a scaling factor ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE, further with the teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 18. Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1. (Original),
furthermore HE teaches: wherein the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements are serving cell measurements for radio resource management (HE – FIG. 9 & ¶0115 […] 915, the UE performs serving cell and/or neighbor cell measurements using the WUR and/or with relaxed measurement requirements using the MR. The WUR may perform all the RRM measurements, may perform some of the RRM measurements in coordination with the MR NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0115 i.e. performs serving cell measurements, i.e. The WUR may perform all the RRM measurements, may perform some of the RRM measurements in coordination with the MR reads on: wherein the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements are serving cell measurements for radio resource management ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE, further with the teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 19. Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1. (Original),
furthermore HE teaches: wherein the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements are intra-frequency cell reselection measurements (HE- FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0063 see above; ¶0089 […] handle RRM measurements properly when the WUR is enabled, including the handling of both serving cell measurements and neighbor cell measurements (intra-frequency and inter-frequency) ; ¶0105 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0105 i.e. the WUR wakes up the main radio i.e. subject to the WUR state and subsequently again i.e. the UE may return to using the WUR for serving cell measurements when the measured RSRP/RSRQ is above a certain threshold i.e. the main radio to perform serving cell measurement subject to exit from into WUR mode and entry into WUR mode based on a condition i.e. as it pertains per ¶0105 i.e. a second alternative, the WUR wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement reads on: wherein the one or more first cell measurements when the serving cell measurement performed by the WUR meets certain conditions. Furthermore per ¶0063 i.e. as long as the triggering condition W1 is not fulfilled, the UE 605 may remain in the WUR state with only the WUR 615 enabled i.e. perform per FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 625 measurements while in WUR mode reads on: measurements and the one or more second cell measurements and solutions applicable to per ¶0089 handle RRM measurements properly when the WUR is enabled, including the handling of both serving cell measurements and neighbor cell measurements (intra-frequency and inter-frequency) reads on: are intra-frequency cell reselection measurements such as i.e. applied to where per ¶0109 i.e. a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE, further with the teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 20. Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1. (Original),
furthermore HE teaches: wherein the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements are inter-frequency cell reselection measurements (HE- FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0063 see above; ¶0089 See claim 19 ; ¶0105 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0105 i.e. the WUR wakes up the main radio i.e. subject to the WUR state and subsequently again i.e. the UE may return to using the WUR for serving cell measurements when the measured RSRP/RSRQ is above a certain threshold i.e. the main radio to perform serving cell measurement subject to exit from into WUR mode and entry into WUR mode based on a condition i.e. as it pertains per ¶0105 i.e. a second alternative, the WUR wakes up the main radio to perform serving cell measurement reads on: wherein the one or more first cell measurements when the serving cell measurement performed by the WUR meets certain conditions. Furthermore per ¶0063 i.e. as long as the triggering condition W1 is not fulfilled, the UE 605 may remain in the WUR state with only the WUR 615 enabled i.e. perform per FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 625 measurements while in WUR mode reads on: measurements and the one or more second cell measurements and solutions applicable to per ¶0089 handle RRM measurements properly when the WUR is enabled, including the handling of both serving cell measurements and neighbor cell measurements (intra-frequency and inter-frequency) reads on: are inter-frequency cell reselection measurements such as i.e. applied to where per ¶0109 i.e. a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE, further with the teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 21. (Original) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore HE teaches: wherein the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements are neighbor cell measurements (HE- FIG. 5 , FIG. 6 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0063 see above; ¶0089 See claim 19 ; ¶0105 See above; FIG. 9 & ¶0115 See claim 18; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0109 i.e. a second option, the WUR wakes up the MR to perform neighbor cell measurements when certain conditions are satisfied and i.e. FIG. 9 & ¶0115 […] 915, the UE performs serving cell and/or neighbor cell measurements using the WUR and/or with relaxed measurement requirements using the MR reads on: wherein the one or more first cell measurements and the one or more second cell measurements are neighbor cell measurements ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE, further with the teachings of HE, since HE enables procedures where a UE implements a WUR DRX operation based on the configured parameters for the WUR signal monitoring to reduce the power consumption (HE - ¶0046).
Regarding Claim 22. (Currently Amended) Martin teaches: A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Martin - FIG. 1B & FIG. 11 & ¶0037 […] an example WTRU 102 ; ¶0120 […] A WTRU may receive configuration information (1110); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 11 per ¶0120 A WTRU may receive configuration information (1110) reads on A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE)),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
comprising: receiving a-configuration information of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, the configuration information indicating a set of values for an offloading parameter; performing, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the UE; performing, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more second cell measurements using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the UE, wherein a first quantity of the one or more first cell measurements and a second quantity of the one or more second cell measurements are in accordance with evaluating a cell selection criterion according to at least one of: the one or more first cell measurements, or the one or more second cell measurements; and transmitting a communication in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements, the one or more second cell measurements, or the cell selection criterion (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 23. (Currently Amended) Martin teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE (Martin – FIG. 1B & ¶0042 […] processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 […] ;¶0223 […] methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0042 i.e. non-removable memory 130 where per ¶0223 i.e. a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium reads on: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication for execution by a computer or processor reads on: the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), , where i.e. methods are implemented reads on: cause the UE )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 23 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 23. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: receive a-configuration information of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, the configuration information indicating a set of values for an offloading parameter; perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the UE; perform, in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more second cell measurements using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the UE, wherein a first quantity of the one or more first cell measurements and a second quantity of the one or more second cell measurements are in accordance with a-the offloading parameter; evaluate a cell selection criterion according to at least one of: the one or more first cell measurements, or the one or more second cell measurements; and transmit a communication in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements, the one or more second cell measurements, or the cell selection criterion (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 23 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 23. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 24. (Currently Amended) Martin teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication (Martin - FIG. 1B & FIG. 11 & ¶0037 […] an example WTRU 102 ; ¶0120 […] A WTRU may receive configuration information (1110); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0037 i.e. WTRU 102 and per ¶00120 i.e. A WTRU reads on: An apparatus for wireless communication),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 24 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 24. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: means for receiving (Martin FIG. 1 B & ¶0041 […] The transceiver 120 may be configured to modulate the signals that are to be transmitted by the transmit/receive element 122; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0041 The transceiver 120 & transmit/receive element 122 reads on: means for receiving ) information of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, the configuration information indicating a set of values for an offloading parameter; means for performing (Martin ¶0042 See claim 1& ¶0223 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0042 i.e. non-removable memory 130 where per ¶0223 i.e. a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor reads on: means for performing in conjunction with transceiver), in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more first cell measurements using a main radio of the UE; means for performing(Martin ¶0042 See claim 1& ¶0223 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0042 i.e. non-removable memory 130 where per ¶0223 i.e. a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor reads on: means for performing in conjunction with transceiver), in accordance with the DRX cycle, one or more second cell measurements using a low-power wakeup radio (LP-WUR) of the UE, wherein a first quantity of the one or more first cell measurements and a second quantity of the one or more second cell measurements are in accordance with parameter; means for evaluating (Martin ¶0042 See claim 1& ¶0223 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0042 i.e. non-removable memory 130 where per ¶0223 i.e. a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor reads on: means for evaluating in conjunction with transceiver) a cell selection criterion according to at least one of: the one or more first cell measurements, or the one or more second cell measurements; and means for transmitting (Martin FIG. 1 B & ¶0041 […] The transceiver 120 may be configured to modulate the signals that are to be transmitted by the transmit/receive element 122; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0041 The transceiver 120 & transmit/receive element 122 reads on: means for transmitting) a communication in accordance with the one or more first cell measurements, the one or more second cell measurements, or the cell selection criterion (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 24 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 24. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
10. Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of HE, further in view of Cheng et al. (US 20240015655 A1) i.e. “Cheng”.
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
Martin in view of HE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: HE implies i.e. see italicized portions): wherein the one or more first cell measurements use a synchronization signal block and the one or more second cell measurements use a low-power synchronization signal;
Cheng teaches: wherein the one or more first cell measurements use a synchronization signal block and the one or more second cell measurements use a low-power synchronization signal (Cheng FIG. 7 FIG. 8 & ¶0066 […] When the main transceiver is turned off, the UE may use LP-SS for synchronization until the N DRX or N e-DRX cycles are not synchronized because of the timing offset and/or frequency offset. The timing offset and frequency offset may occur when the RRM measurement relaxation is enabled. Therefore, when the RRM measurement is needed, the LP-WUR may wake up the main radio to measure SSB; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0066 i.e. when the RRM measurement is needed, the LP-WUR may wake up the main radio to measure SSB reads on: wherein the one or more first cell measurements use a synchronization signal block per ¶0066 i.e. When the main transceiver is turned off, the UE may use LP-SS for synchronization reads on: and the one or more second cell measurements use a low-power synchronization signal );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE with teachings of Cheng, since Cheng enables procedures where if a WUS is detected by the LP-WRU, the LP-WRU of the UE may keep monitoring the WUS without waking the main transceiver of the UE, and therefore, the LP-WUR may reduce the overall power when the main transceiver is turned off or enter a sleep mode (Cheng - ¶0047).
11. Claims 5, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of HE, further in view of XU et al. (US 20250048148 A1) i.e. “XU”.
Regarding Claim 5. (Currently Amended) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 4,
furthermore Martin teaches: wherein the offloading parameter indicates an integer R (Martin - ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The configuration information may comprise a threshold value for WUS detection. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections reads on: wherein the offloading parameter indicates an integer R ), wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the one or more first cell measurements and perform the one or more second cell measurements, are configured to cause the apparatus to: perform the one or more first cell measurements in the DRX cycle(Martin - ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity reads on: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the one or more first cell measurements and perform the one or more second cell measurements, are configured to cause the apparatus to: perform the one or more first cell measurements in the DRX cycle) and perform the one or more second cell measurements in the DRX Cycle(Martin - ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) according to the first periodicity (1120) reads on: and perform the one or more second cell measurements in the DRX cycle);
Martin in view of HE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: i.e. see italicized portions): perform a first cell measurement of the one or more first cell measurements in every Rth iteration of the cycle; and perform the one or more second cell measurements in remaining iterations of the cycle other than every Rth iteration;
XU teaches: wherein the parameter indicates an integer R (XU - ¶0612 […] in a case where the terminal meets the requirements of relaxed RRM measurement: if the measurement for the serving cell (including the Pcell) and neighboring cells (including the intra-frequency and inter-frequency neighboring cells) of the terminal may all be relaxed, for example, the RRM measurement may be performed once every K RRM measurement cycles, at this time, the terminal only needs to turn on the primary receiver for the RRM measurement every K RRM measurement cycles, and may still use the WUR to monitor the WUS in the remaining K−1 RRM measurement cycles, so there is still the gain of saving the power consumption in these K−1 cycles; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0612 i.e. the RRM measurement may be performed once every K RRM measurement cycles reads on: wherein the parameter indicates an integer R), wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the one or more first cell measurements and perform the one or more second cell measurements, are configured to cause the apparatus to: perform a first cell measurement of the one or more first cell measurements in every Rth iteration of the cycle (XU - ¶0612 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0612 i.e. the RRM measurement may be performed once every K RRM measurement cycles, at this time, the terminal only needs to turn on the primary receiver for the RRM measurement every K RRM measurement cycles reads on: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the one or more first cell measurements and perform the one or more second cell measurements, are configured to cause the apparatus to: perform a first cell measurement of the one or more first cell measurements in every Rth iteration of the cycle ); and perform the one or more second cell measurements in remaining iterations of the cycle other than every Rth iteration (XU - ¶0612 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. and may still use the WUR to monitor the WUS in the remaining K−1 RRM measurement cycles reads on: and perform the one or more second cell measurements in remaining iterations of the cycle other than every Rth iteration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE with teachings of XU, since XU enables procedures where a terminal turns on the primary receiver for the RRM measurement every K RRM measurement cycles, and may still use the WUR to monitor the WUS in the remaining K−1 RRM measurement cycles, so there is still the gain of saving the power consumption in these K−1 cycles (XU - ¶0612).
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 4,
furthermore Martin teaches: wherein the offloading parameter indicates a duration (Martin - ¶0120 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The configuration information may comprise a threshold value for WUS detection. The configuration information may comprise a number (N) of monitoring occasions for missed WUS detections i.e. a duration of N occasions reads on: wherein the offloading parameter indicates a duration )
Martin in view of HE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note: i.e. see italicized portions): wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to perform a single first cell measurement, and the one or more second cell measurements, during the duration;
XU teaches: wherein the parameter indicates a duration (XU - ¶0612 see Claim 5; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0612 i.e. the RRM measurement may be performed once every i.e. K RRM measurement cycles reads on: wherein the parameter indicates a duration ), wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the one or more first cell measurements and perform the one or more second cell measurements, are configured to cause the apparatus to perform a single first cell measurement(XU - ¶0612 see Claim 5; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0612 i.e. the RRM measurement may be performed once reads on: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the one or more first cell measurements and perform the one or more second cell measurements, are configured to cause the apparatus to perform a single first cell measurement every K RRM measurement cycles within the duration ), and the one or more second cell measurements, during the duration (XU - ¶0612 see Claim 5; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0612 i.e. and may still use the WUR to monitor the WUS in the remaining K−1 RRM measurement cycles reads on: and the one or more second cell measurements, during the duration i.e. K-1 is within the K RRM cycles) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE with teachings of XU, since XU enables procedures where a terminal turns on the primary receiver for the RRM measurement every K RRM measurement cycles, and may still use the WUR to monitor the WUS in the remaining K−1 RRM measurement cycles, so there is still the gain of saving the power consumption in these K−1 cycles (XU - ¶0612).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) Martin in view of HE and XU teaches: The apparatus of claim 6,
furthermore XU teaches: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to trigger a start of the duration (XU FIG. 8 & ¶0597 […] within the measurement relaxed area of the serving cell, a corresponding terminal device may meet the relaxed measurement condition; ¶0611 […] whether to use the WUR may be determined based on a relaxed measurement threshold of the serving cell (corresponding to the terminal device meeting the relaxed measurement condition; ¶0612 See claim 5; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0611 i.e. whether to use the WUR may be determined based on i.e. a relaxed measurement threshold of the serving cell (corresponding to the terminal device meeting the relaxed measurement condition reads on: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to trigger a start of the duration where the K RMM duration is triggered with threshold for relaxed measurement is met).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE and XU, further with the teachings of XU, since XU enables procedures where a terminal turns on the primary receiver for the RRM measurement every K RRM measurement cycles, and may still use the WUR to monitor the WUS in the remaining K−1 RRM measurement cycles, so there is still the gain of saving the power consumption in these K−1 cycles (XU - ¶0612).
12. Claims 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of HE, further in view of WON et al. (US 20220386237 A1) i.e. “WON”.
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) Martin in view of HE teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore Martin teaches: a value of the offloading parameter the offloading parameter in accordance with a criterion being satisfied (Martin - ¶0120 see Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value for WUS detection for i.e. the N consecutive monitoring occasions reads on: a value of the offloading parameter i.e. offloading or switching from WUS measurements using a low power wake-up receiver (WUR) and the first periodicity to paging indications using the main radio and first periodicity, where per ¶0120 i.e. The WTRU may monitor for the paging indication using the first periodicity on a condition that a measurement of the WUS is less than the threshold value reads on: in accordance with a criterion being satisfied for WUS detection for the N consecutive monitoring occasions ).
Martin in view of HE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): to adjust a value of the offloading parameter;
WON teaches: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to adjust a value of the offloading parameter in accordance with a criterion being satisfied (WON – FIG. 15 & ¶0111 […] operation 1505 with the wireless device determining whether a wake-up receiver beacon frame was received (as expected). If not, then at operation 1525, the wireless device determines whether the number of missed wake-up receiver beacon frames exceeds a predefined threshold. If not, then at operation 1540, the wireless device adds a wake-up time margin to the duty cycle service period (to make the duty cycle service period longer). Otherwise, at operation 1535, the wireless device transitions to a (fully) awake state (the main radio is turned on); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0111 i.e. operation 1505 with the wireless device determining whether a wake-up receiver beacon frame was received (as expected). If not, then at operation 1525, the wireless device determines whether the number of missed wake-up receiver beacon frames exceeds a predefined threshold. If not, then at operation 1540, i.e. the wireless device adds a wake-up time margin to the duty cycle service period (to make the duty cycle service period longer) reads on: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to adjust a value of the offloading parameter associated with switching from measurements using wake-up receiver to main radio where per ¶0111 i.e. Otherwise, at operation 1535, the wireless device transitions to a (fully) awake state (the main radio is turned on). Furthermore per ¶0110 i.e. the wireless device determines whether the number of missed wake-up receiver beacon frames exceeds a predefined threshold. If not, then at operation 1540 reads on: in accordance with a criterion being satisfied )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE with teachings of WON, since WON enables an efficient configuration for each non-AP STA can be performed by using the wake-up receiver data wakeup frame, and small amounts of general data can be transmitted through the wake-up signal, thereby reducing power consumption (WON - ¶0107).
Regarding Claim 16. (Original) Martin in view of HE and WON teaches: The apparatus of claim 15,
furthermore WON teaches: wherein the criterion is associated with at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a measurement threshold (WON - ¶0110 see Claim 15; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0110 i.e. the wireless device determines whether the number of missed wake-up receiver beacon frames exceeds a predefined threshold. If not, then at operation 1540 reads on: wherein the criterion is associated with at least one of a measurement threshold ),
a measurement change threshold (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a combination thereof(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin in view of HE and WON, further with the teachings of WON, since WON enables an efficient configuration for each non-AP STA can be performed by using the wake-up receiver data wakeup frame, and small amounts of general data can be transmitted through the wake-up signal, thereby reducing power consumption (WON - ¶0107).
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 12, 13, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 12. The apparatus of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to evaluate the cell selection criterion, are configured to cause the apparatus to evaluate, by the main radio, the cell selection criterion using the one or more second cell measurements”.
Regarding Claim 13. The apparatus of claim 12, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to store the one or more second cell measurements, prior to evaluating the cell selection criterion, while the main radio is in a sleep state”.
Regarding Claim 14. The apparatus of claim 13, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to trigger the main radio to wake up in accordance with the one or more second cell measurements failing to satisfy a threshold”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALICK A SOHRAB whose telephone number is (571)272-4347. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
05/07/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414