DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to the Amendment filed on 09/02/2025.
In the Instant Amendment, claims 1-11 have been amended; claims 1. 9, 10, and 11 are independent claims. Claims 1-11 have been examined and are pending in this application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. “a second display area for displaying a page image of a subset of the pages contained in the document file.” The Examiner respectfully requests the Applicant to point out where in the specification support can be found for the limitation in question above.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control section configure to” and “display section displays/to display,” recited in claim 1-9.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 09/02/2025, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikura, US 20210027749, published on 01/28/2021, in view of Jong et al., (“Jong,” US 2014/0250391).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikura discloses display apparatus comprising:
a touch screen configured to receive user-initiated touch operations (Ishikura: par 0048; Fig. 1; an input 7A-7F receives an operation);
a display section (Ishikura: Fig. 1, a touch panel 7G); and
a control section controlling configured to control the display section to display a display window on the touch screen, the display window including a first display area for displaying a bundle of reduced images of respective pages contained in a document file (Ishikura: Fig. 2B shows a thumbnail image bundle) and a second display area for displaying a page image of a subset of the pages contained in the document file (Ishikura: par. 0048, Fig. 2 shows a bundle of images of reduced images is displayed on bottom of a touch panel 7G and a partially enlarged plan view is displayed on top of the touch panel 7G; and also see pars. 0179-0182, 0184-0186, 0193-0198; Fig. 5; Step S101-S105); and displays such that the bundle of reduced images displayed in the first display area is augmented to include a images containing a reduced image of the page image of the additional page in the first display area (Ishikura: pars. 0112-0122, 0030-0031; Figs. 11 and 25-26 describe the method for displaying a thumbnail image bundle with the width thereof reduced).
Ishikura discloses all limitations above, but does not explicitly disclose the control section is further configured such that when an instruction to add a page is received is received by the touch screen and the control section displays a page image of an additional page not previously contained within the document file, such that the page image is displayed in the second display area.
However, Jong discloses a method/system for operating a page, wherein the control section is further configured such that when an instruction to add a page is received is received by the touch screen (Jong: pars. 0090-0092; a thumbnail image 614 for adding a page).
the control section displays a page image of an additional page not previously contained within the document file, such that the page image is displayed in the second display area (Jong: pars. 0090-0091; Fig. 6; a page indicator 610 includes a thumbnail image functions/menus, which does include document image);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jong with the method/system of Ishikura to provide users can easily be aware of a structure of the corresponding image page.
Regarding claim 2, Ishikura and Jong disclose the display apparatus according to claim 1.
Jong further discloses wherein the control section is configured to that the instruction to add a page represents a selection of a blank page, a copy of the page image of the page contained in the document file, or an externally input captured image as the additional page (Jong: par. 0103; Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jong with the method/system of Ishikura to provide users can easily be aware of a structure of the corresponding image page.
Regarding claim 6, Ishikura and Jong disclose the display apparatus according to claim 1.
Ishikura further discloses the control section displays is configured to display the page image of the additional page anterior or posterior to the page selected by the operation received by the touch screen (Ishikura: pars. 0109, 0113-0122; Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 7, Ishikura and Jong disclose the display apparatus according to claim 1.
Ishikura further discloses the control section is configured such that when displaying the bundle of images containing the reduced image of the page image of the additional page in the first display area, the control section does not attach a page number to the reduced image of the page image of the additional page (Ishikura: 0081-0082, 0085).
Regarding claim 9, Ishikura discloses display apparatus comprising:
a touch screen configured to receive user-initiated touch operations (Ishikura: par 0048; Fig. 1; an input 7A-7F receives an operation);
a display section (Ishikura: Fig. 1, a touch panel 7G); and
a control section configured to control the display section to display a display window on the touch screen, the display window including a first display area for displaying a bundle of reduced images of respective pages contained in a document file (Ishikura: Fig. 2B shows a thumbnail image bundle) and a second display area for displaying a page image of a subset of the pages contained in the document file (Ishikura: par. 0048, Fig. 2 shows a bundle of images of reduced images is displayed on bottom of a touch panel 7G and a partially enlarged plan view is displayed on top of the touch panel 7G; and also see pars. 0179-0182, 0184-0186, 0193-0198; Fig. 5; Step S101-S105),
superimposes and displays the reduced page image on a page image of a page selected by the operation received by the touch unit in the second display area (Ishikura: pars. 0112-0122; Fig. 11), and displays the reduced page image of the additional page in the first display area (Ishikura: pars. 0112-0122; Fig. 11).
Ishikura discloses all limitations above, but does not explicitly disclose the control section is further configured such that wherein the control section is further configured such that when an instruction to add a page is received by the touch screen; the control section displays a page image of an additional page not previously contained within the document file, such that the page image is displayed.
However, Jong discloses a method/system for operating a page, wherein the control section is further configured such that when an instruction to add a page is received is received by the touch screen (Jong: pars. 0090-0092; a thumbnail image 614 for adding a page).
the control section displays a page image of an additional page not previously contained within the document file, such that the page image is displayed (Jong: pars. 0090-0091; Fig. 6; a page indicator 610 includes a thumbnail image functions/menus, which does include document image);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jong with the method/system of Ishikura to provide users can easily be aware of a structure of the corresponding image page.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is directed to control method associated with the system claimed in claim 1; Claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable storage medium associated with the system claimed in claim 1; Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikura and Jong applied claim 1, and in view of Kwon et al., (“Kwon,” US 2020/0358896), published on 11/12/2020.
Regarding claim 3, Ishikura and Jong disclose the display apparatus according to claim 2.
Ishikura discloses wherein the control section sets an aspect ratio of the additional page based on an aspect ratio of the page contained in the document file (Ishikura: pars. 0109, 0124-0128; Fig. 6, 10A-10C, 13), and when the [[captured]] image is selected as the additional page, the control section sets an aspect ratio of the additional page based on an aspect ratio of the [[externally input captured]] image (Ishikura: pars. 0109, 0124-0128; Fig. 6, 10A-10C, 13).
Jong further disclose wherein when the a copy of the page image of the page contained in the document file is selected as the additional page (Jong: pars. 0101-0103; Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jong with the method/system of Ishikura to provide users can easily be aware of a structure of the corresponding image page.
Ishikura and Jong discloses all limitations above, but do not explicitly disclose a capture image by external capture image.
However, Kwon discloses a method/system for generating a stack image from a mobile device, wherein a capture image by external capture image (Kwon: pars. 0117; a mobile terminal 100 include a camera 121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the camera of Kwon with the method/system of Ishikura and Jong to provide users with a means for adding capture image(s) into currently stack/bundle image).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but claims 4 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In addition, the claim 5 must be further amended to depend on claim 2.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968))
Inquiry
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174