DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 3/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 under Frenger have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Frenger and Zhang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 14-16, 20, 23, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger; Pål et al. US PGPUB 20180302843 A1, in view of Zhang; Xiaoxia et al. US PGPUB 20190313260 A1
Regarding claim 1. Frenger teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors each communicatively coupled with at least one of the one or more memories, the one or more processors, (Fig. 10, Memory 1002/1003, Processing Circuit 1004) individually or in any combination, operable to cause the apparatus to:
send, to a network entity, an uplink signal requesting transmission of at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a system information block type 1 (SIB1), ([0087] In case the minimum system information that the wireless communication device 120 need in order to access the wireless communication network 100, is not periodically broadcasted, but instead is to be requested and transmitted “on demand”)
the uplink signal indicating a transmission parameter for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1, ([0087] The request may be made on a Physical Random Access CHannel for SI request (SI-PRACH). The identifier and/or configuration of the response channel may e.g. specify a NR-PDCCH and/or a NR-PDSCH where the SI will be transmitted, e.g. in NR-SIB1, and may in this case thus may be referred to as “on-demand NR-SIB(s)”.)
But Frenger does not teach the transmission parameter being at least one of a transmission power or a repetition factor; and obtain the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 associated with the transmission parameter based at least in part on the uplink signal.
However, Zhang teaches
the transmission parameter being at least one of a transmission power or a repetition factor; ([0064] In some instances, the BS may receive SIB-CE-requests from multiple UEs with different requested repetition levels. The BS may transmit the CE-SIBs 522 using the maximum repetition level among the requested repetition levels to enable all UEs requesting the CE more support to receive the CE-SIBs 522.)and
obtain the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 associated with the transmission parameter based at least in part on the uplink signal. (Ibid. For example, when the BS receives an SIB-CE-request for a repetition of 4 from one UE and another SIB-CE-request for a repetition of 16 from another UE, the BS may transmit the CE-SIBs 522 with a repetition of 16.)
in order to reduce system overhead for extended broadcasting by adapting on-demand SIB transmission ([0005])
Frenger and Zhang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of on-demand SIB transmission in Zhang in order to reduce system overhead.
Regarding claim 3. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, and Frenger teaches wherein the uplink signal indicates the transmission power respectively for one or a subset of SSB transmission beams, or one or a subset of SIB1 transmission beams, requested in the uplink signal or transmitted from the network entity. ([0098] information, such as parameters, enabling a wireless communication device, e.g. the wireless communication device 100, to access the network, including e.g. how to find one or more cells and/or beams, here e.g. the first cell 115 and/or the first beam 115a, that provide such access. The SI thereby enables the wireless communication device to operate in the network using said one or more cells and/or beams.)
Regarding claim 5. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, Frenger teaches wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 includes a channel indicating the transmission power based on the uplink signa ([0087] The NR-MIB of format 2 contains information, such as a configuration, required to request on-demand system information, e.g. specifying a pre-amble, a timing window, and/or parameters for open-loop power control, as well as an identifier and/or configuration of the response channel that will be used to transmit the requested system information.) or indicating a different transmission power based on another uplink signal from a different user equipment (UE).
Regarding claim 8. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, Frenger teaches wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in repetitions in at least one of a time domain or a frequency domain based on a frequency range associated with the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1. ([0087] The NR-MIB of format 2 contains information, such as a configuration, required to request on-demand system information, e.g. specifying a pre-amble, a timing window, and/or parameters for open-loop power control, as well as an identifier and/or configuration of the response channel that will be used to transmit the requested system information.)
Regarding claim 14. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, Frenger teaches wherein the uplink signal is sent in a transmission occasion or includes a random access channel (RACH) preamble from a preamble group, and the transmission power or the repetition factor is indicated via the transmission occasion or the preamble group. ([0087] The NR-MIB of format 2 contains information, such as a configuration, required to request on-demand system information, e.g. specifying a pre-amble, a timing window, and/or parameters for open-loop power control, as well as an identifier and/or configuration of the response channel that will be used to transmit the requested system information.)
Regarding claim 15. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, Frenger teaches wherein the uplink signal includes uplink control information (UCI), the UCI indicating the transmission power or the repetition factor for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1. ([0087] The NR-MIB of format 2 contains information, such as a configuration, required to request on-demand system information, e.g. specifying a pre-amble, a timing window, and/or parameters for open-loop power control, as well as an identifier and/or configuration of the response channel that will be used to transmit the requested system information.)
Regarding claim 16. Frenger teaches An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors each communicatively coupled with at least one of the one or more memories, ([0149]-[0150]) the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, operable to cause the apparatus to:
obtain, from a user equipment (UE), an uplink signal requesting transmission of at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a system information block type 1 (SIB1), ([0087] In case the minimum system information that the wireless communication device 120 need in order to access the wireless communication network 100, is not periodically broadcasted, but instead is to be requested and transmitted “on demand”)
the uplink signal indicating a transmission parameter for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1, ([0087] The request may be made on a Physical Random Access CHannel for SI request (SI-PRACH). The identifier and/or configuration of the response channel may e.g. specify a NR-PDCCH and/or a NR-PDSCH where the SI will be transmitted, e.g. in NR-SIB1, and may in this case thus may be referred to as “on-demand NR-SIB(s)”.)
But Frenger does not teach the transmission parameter being at least one of a transmission power or a repetition factor; and send the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 associated with the transmission parameter based at least in part on the uplink signal.
However, Zhang teaches
the transmission parameter being at least one of a transmission power or a repetition factor; ([0064] In some instances, the BS may receive SIB-CE-requests from multiple UEs with different requested repetition levels. The BS may transmit the CE-SIBs 522 using the maximum repetition level among the requested repetition levels to enable all UEs requesting the CE more support to receive the CE-SIBs 522.)and
send the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 associated with the transmission parameter based at least in part on the uplink signal. (Ibid. For example, when the BS receives an SIB-CE-request for a repetition of 4 from one UE and another SIB-CE-request for a repetition of 16 from another UE, the BS may transmit the CE-SIBs 522 with a repetition of 16.)
in order to reduce system overhead for extended broadcasting by adapting on-demand SIB transmission ([0005])
Frenger and Zhang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of on-demand SIB transmission in Zhang in order to reduce system overhead.
Regarding claim 18.Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, and Frenger teaches wherein the uplink signal indicates the transmission power respectively for one or a subset of SSB transmission beams, or one or a subset of SIB1 transmission beams, requested in the uplink signal or transmitted from the apparatus. ([0098] information, such as parameters, enabling a wireless communication device, e.g. the wireless communication device 100, to access the network, including e.g. how to find one or more cells and/or beams, here e.g. the first cell 115 and/or the first beam 115a, that provide such access. The SI thereby enables the wireless communication device to operate in the network using said one or more cells and/or beams.)
Regarding claim 20. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, and Frenger teaches wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 includes a channel indicating the transmission power based on the uplink signal ([0087] The NR-MIB of format 2 contains information, such as a configuration, required to request on-demand system information, e.g. specifying a pre-amble, a timing window, and/or parameters for open-loop power control, as well as an identifier and/or configuration of the response channel that will be used to transmit the requested system information.) or indicating a different transmission power based on another uplink signal from a different UE.
Regarding claim 23. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, and Frenger teaches wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is sent in repetitions in at least one of a time domain or a frequency domain based on a frequency range associated with the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1. ([0087] The NR-MIB of format 2 contains information, such as a configuration, required to request on-demand system information, e.g. specifying a pre-amble, a timing window, and/or parameters for open-loop power control, as well as an identifier and/or configuration of the response channel that will be used to transmit the requested system information.)
Regarding claim 28. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, and Frenger teaches wherein the uplink signal is obtained in a transmission occasion or includes a random access channel (RACH) preamble from a preamble group, (([0087] The NR-MIB of format 2 contains information, such as a configuration, required to request on-demand system information, e.g. specifying a pre-amble, a timing window, and/or parameters for open-loop power control, as well as an identifier and/or configuration of the response channel that will be used to transmit the requested system information.) the transmission power or the repetition factor being indicated via the transmission occasion or the preamble group, or the uplink signal includes uplink control information (UCI), the UCI indicating the transmission power or the repetition factor for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1.
Regarding claim 29. Frenger and Zhang teach A method of wireless communication performable at a user equipment (UE), comprising steps performed by the UE in claim 1. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 30. Frenger and Zhang teach A method of wireless communication performable at a network entity, comprising steps performed by the network entity in claim 16. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger and Zhang as applied to claim 1 and 16 above, and further in view of CHENG; Chien-Chun US PGPUB 20250112715 A1,
Regarding claim 2. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to:
obtain a reference signal from the network entity, the transmission power being based on a measured reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal.
However, Cheng teaches obtain a reference signal from the network entity, the transmission power being based on a measured reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal. ([0039] Meanwhile, the UE may request RS (e.g., SSB/SIB1) beams and periodicity to satisfy a reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a service quality (e.g., QoS).)
in order to provide energy saving schemes for different traffic scenarios ([0006])
Frenger and Cheng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of RSRP power control in Cheng in order to provide energy saving schemes for different traffic scenarios.
Regarding claim 17. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: send a reference signal to the UE, the transmission power being based on a measured reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal.
However, Cheng teaches
send a reference signal to the UE, the transmission power being based on a measured reference signal received power (RSRP) of the reference signal. ([0039] Meanwhile, the UE may request RS (e.g., SSB/SIB1) beams and periodicity to satisfy a reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or a service quality (e.g., QoS).)
in order to provide energy saving schemes for different traffic scenarios ([0006])
Frenger and Cheng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of RSRP power control in Cheng in order to provide energy saving schemes for different traffic scenarios.
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger and Zhang as applied to claim 1 and 16 above, and further in view of KIM; Seonwook et al. US 20250253962 A1.
Regarding claim 4. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the uplink signal indicates the transmission power from a preconfigured set of transmission power values for SSBs or SIB1s.
However, Kim teaches wherein the uplink signal indicates the transmission power from a preconfigured set of transmission power values for SSBs or SIB1s. ([0229] For example, when an offset value from an SSB transmission power value may be configured by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS, an SSB group index or SSB index that serves as a reference or an SSB transmission power value may be required.)
In order to improve reception performance ([0237])
Frenger and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of power control in Kim in order to improve reception performance.
Regarding claim 19. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the uplink signal indicates the transmission power from a preconfigured set of transmission power values for SSBs or SIB1s.
However, Kim teaches wherein the uplink signal indicates the transmission power from a preconfigured set of transmission power values for SSBs or SIB1s. ([0229] For example, when an offset value from an SSB transmission power value may be configured by the parameter powerControlOffsetSS, an SSB group index or SSB index that serves as a reference or an SSB transmission power value may be required.)
In order to improve reception performance ([0237])
Frenger and Kim are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of power control in Kim in order to improve reception performance.
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger and Zhang as applied to claim 1 and 16 above, and further in view of AWADA; Ahmad et al. US PGPUB 20190253124 A1.
Regarding claim 6. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the uplink signal indicates the repetition factor from a preconfigured set of repetition factors for SSBs or SIB1s.
However, Awada teaches
wherein the uplink signal indicates the repetition factor from a preconfigured set of repetition factors for SSBs or SIB1s. ([0039] [0039] The parameters required for requesting an on-demand other SI message using Msg 1 or Msg 3 may be included in the RMSI. The network may acknowledge the SI request of the UE in Msg 2 or Msg 4, depending on whether SI request is performed using Msg 1 or Msg 3, respectively. Moreover, to inform the UE on how to receive the other SI, the RMSI may include the scheduling information, such as the mapping of the SIBs to SI messages, the configuration of the length of the SI window pertaining to each SI message, i.e., the time duration over which the SI message is delivered by the network and scheduled periodically, the periodicity of the SI window, and the number of repetitions within the SI window, etc.)
in order to improve detection probability by combining the multiple repetitions ([0039])
Frenger and Awada are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of repletion of system information window in Awada in order to improve detection probability.
Regarding claim 21. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the uplink signal indicates the repetition factor from a preconfigured set of repetition factors for SSBs or SIB1s.
However, Awada teaches
wherein the uplink signal indicates the repetition factor from a preconfigured set of repetition factors for SSBs or SIB1s. ([0039] [0039] The parameters required for requesting an on-demand other SI message using Msg 1 or Msg 3 may be included in the RMSI. The network may acknowledge the SI request of the UE in Msg 2 or Msg 4, depending on whether SI request is performed using Msg 1 or Msg 3, respectively. Moreover, to inform the UE on how to receive the other SI, the RMSI may include the scheduling information, such as the mapping of the SIBs to SI messages, the configuration of the length of the SI window pertaining to each SI message, i.e., the time duration over which the SI message is delivered by the network and scheduled periodically, the periodicity of the SI window, and the number of repetitions within the SI window, etc.)
in order to improve detection probability by combining the multiple repetitions ([0039])
Frenger and Awada are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of repletion of system information window in Awada in order to improve detection probability.
Claims 7, 9-13, 22, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger and Zhang as applied to claim 1 and 16 above, and further in view of ABEDINI; Navid et al. US PGPUB 20230421321 A1.
Regarding claim 7. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the uplink signal further indicates a request basis for SSB repetitions or SIB1 repetitions, the request basis being reception beam combining or reception beam refinement, and a number of repetitions of the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is a function of the request basis.
However, Abedini teaches
wherein the uplink signal further indicates a request basis for SSB repetitions or SIB1 repetitions, ([0085] FIG. 8 illustrates an example 800 of a first approach for achieving a balance between network energy savings and uplink reference signal reliability or diversity for on-demand SSB, RMSI, or paging message activation. In this example, a base station 802 may configure rules for a UE 804 to consider when transmitting repetitions of an uplink reference signal such as ULTs and PEI-Rs in uplink occasions 806 occurring at different times 808. Each uplink occasion may be associated with a downlink reference signal 810 received via a transmission beam 812 of the base station 802 and a reception beam 814 of the UE 804. )
the request basis being reception beam combining or reception beam refinement, and a number of repetitions of the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is a function of the request basis. ([0085] That is, a one-to-one mapping 815 exists between downlink reference signals 810 and uplink occasions 806 (e.g., uplink occasions are associated with different beams). If the UE 804 receives multiple downlink reference signals such as KASs, SSBs, DCIs in PDCCH, or PEIs via different transmission beams 812 of the base station, the UE may measure an RSRP 816 of each received reference signal and compare the RSRPs against one or more configured thresholds (e.g., a RSRP high threshold, a RSRP low threshold, or an effective RSRP threshold).)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 9. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the uplink signal indicates the repetition factor respectively for one or more SSB transmission beams or one or more SIB transmission beams, and the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in consecutive repetition occasions or inconsecutive repetition occasions for the one or more SSB transmission beams or the one or more SIB transmission beams.
However, Abedini teaches
wherein the uplink signal indicates the repetition factor respectively for one or more SSB transmission beams or one or more SIB transmission beams, ([0108] Additionally, the indication 1206 or configured uplink repetition mode 1238 may indicate whether the mapping or uplink reference signal repetitions in the first mode 1240, the second mode 1242, or the third mode 1244 (whichever may be applied) are beam-specific.) and the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in consecutive repetition occasions or inconsecutive repetition occasions for the one or more SSB transmission beams or the one or more SIB transmission beams. ([0108] the base station 802, 1002, 1102 may indicate or identify certain downlink reference signals 810, 1010, 1110 or transmission beams 812, 1012, 1112 that are associated with uplink occasions 806, 1006, 1106 in which the UE 804, 1004, 1104 may transmit uplink reference signal repetitions for on-demand SSB, RMSI, or paging transmission or RACH monitoring.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 10. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in repetitions according to a maximum configured repetition factor associated with multiple user equipment (UEs).
However, Abedini teaches
at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in repetitions according to a maximum configured repetition factor associated with multiple user equipment (UEs). ([0098] in a RACH procedure, multiple UEs may attempt to access the network without synchronization and thus collide with each other, leading to contention resolution. Thus, a large pool of RACH occasions or RACH message preamble formats may be configured to minimize the chances of collision and contention. In contrast, no such notion of collision exists between UEs attempting to send ULT or PEI-R repetitions to wake up the base station for on-demand SSB, RMSI, RACH monitoring, or paging, since one UE may equally benefit from another UE waking up the base station.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 11. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in repetitions according to a maximum requested repetition factor from between multiple user equipment (UEs), the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 including a channel indicating the maximum requested repetition factor, and the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 being obtained in the repetitions at a periodicity for decoding the channel.
However, Abedini teaches
wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in repetitions according to a maximum requested repetition factor from between multiple user equipment (UEs), the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 including a channel indicating the maximum requested repetition factor, and the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 being obtained in the repetitions at a periodicity for decoding the channel. ([0098] in a RACH procedure, multiple UEs may attempt to access the network without synchronization and thus collide with each other, leading to contention resolution. Thus, a large pool of RACH occasions or RACH message preamble formats may be configured to minimize the chances of collision and contention. In contrast, no such notion of collision exists between UEs attempting to send ULT or PEI-R repetitions to wake up the base station for on-demand SSB, RMSI, RACH monitoring, or paging, since one UE may equally benefit from another UE waking up the base station.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 12. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: obtain downlink control information (DCI) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) prior to the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1, the DCI or the PDSCH indicating a maximum requested repetition factor for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 from between multiple user equipment (UEs) or indicating the transmission power for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1.
However, Abedini teaches
wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: obtain downlink control information (DCI) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) prior to the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1, ([0111] In another example, the indication 1206 or configuration(s) of configuration parameters 1208, the configured uplink repetition mode 1238, and base station beam refinement may be activated for UE 1204 dynamically, e.g., via a PDCCH 1256. For example, in a variation of examples 630 and 660 in FIGS. 6B and 6C for on-demand RMSI, the base station may configure DCI in one of the PDCCHs 636, 664 to schedule multiple (M) uplink occasions for ULT 638, 666 in a one-to-many mapping with SSB 634, 662 (such as illustrated in FIG. 10), and subsequently configure DCI in another one of the PDCCHs 636, 664 to schedule an uplink occasion for ULT 638, 666 in a one-to-one mapping with SSB 634, 662 (such as illustrated in FIG. 8).)
the DCI or the PDSCH indicating a maximum requested repetition factor for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 from between multiple user equipment (UEs) or indicating the transmission power for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1. ([0111] Additionally, the base station may dynamically change threshold(s) 1210 (and thus the RSRP comparison rules the UE is to apply for uplink reference signal repetitions) from one DCI or PEI in PDCCH 1256 to the next.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 13. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the uplink signal includes a random access channel (RACH) preamble, ([0028] FIG. 3 schematically depicts an example of joint transmissions of NR-SIB1 in a multi-beam scenario. In the shown example there is one cell defined by PCI1 consisting of 8 beams. In this example each set of two nearby beams use the same NR-MIB. By allowing for different NR-MIBs in different beams there can be different PRACH parameters, e.g. PRACH pre-ambles and PRACH timing window, in different beams.)
But it does not teach the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: obtain, in response to the uplink signal, downlink control information (DCI) in a random access response (RAR) window associated with the RACH preamble, the DCI indicating subsequent transmission of the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 via a first parameter in the DCI and indicating the transmission power or the repetition factor via a second parameter in the DCI.
However, Abedini teaches
the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: obtain, in response to the uplink signal, downlink control information (DCI) in a random access response (RAR) window associated with the RACH preamble, ([0111] In another example, the indication 1206 or configuration(s) of configuration parameters 1208, the configured uplink repetition mode 1238, and base station beam refinement may be activated for UE 1204 dynamically, e.g., via a PDCCH 1256. For example, in a variation of examples 630 and 660 in FIGS. 6B and 6C for on-demand RMSI, the base station may configure DCI in one of the PDCCHs 636, 664 to schedule multiple (M) uplink occasions for ULT 638, 666 in a one-to-many mapping with SSB 634, 662 (such as illustrated in FIG. 10), and subsequently configure DCI in another one of the PDCCHs 636, 664 to schedule an uplink occasion for ULT 638, 666 in a one-to-one mapping with SSB 634, 662 (such as illustrated in FIG. 8).) the DCI indicating subsequent transmission of the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 via a first parameter in the DCI and indicating the transmission power or the repetition factor via a second parameter in the DCI. ([0111] Additionally, the base station may dynamically change threshold(s) 1210 (and thus the RSRP comparison rules the UE is to apply for uplink reference signal repetitions) from one DCI or PEI in PDCCH 1256 to the next.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 22. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the uplink signal further indicates a request basis for SSB repetitions or SIB1 repetitions, the request basis being reception beam combining or reception beam refinement, and a number of repetitions of the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is a function of the request basis.
However, Abedini teaches
wherein the uplink signal further indicates a request basis for SSB repetitions or SIB1 repetitions, ([0085] FIG. 8 illustrates an example 800 of a first approach for achieving a balance between network energy savings and uplink reference signal reliability or diversity for on-demand SSB, RMSI, or paging message activation. In this example, a base station 802 may configure rules for a UE 804 to consider when transmitting repetitions of an uplink reference signal such as ULTs and PEI-Rs in uplink occasions 806 occurring at different times 808. Each uplink occasion may be associated with a downlink reference signal 810 received via a transmission beam 812 of the base station 802 and a reception beam 814 of the UE 804. )
the request basis being reception beam combining or reception beam refinement, and a number of repetitions of the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is a function of the request basis. ([0085] That is, a one-to-one mapping 815 exists between downlink reference signals 810 and uplink occasions 806 (e.g., uplink occasions are associated with different beams). If the UE 804 receives multiple downlink reference signals such as KASs, SSBs, DCIs in PDCCH, or PEIs via different transmission beams 812 of the base station, the UE may measure an RSRP 816 of each received reference signal and compare the RSRPs against one or more configured thresholds (e.g., a RSRP high threshold, a RSRP low threshold, or an effective RSRP threshold).)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 24. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the uplink signal indicates the repetition factor respectively for one or more SSB transmission beams or one or more SIB transmission beams, and the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is sent in consecutive repetition occasions or inconsecutive repetition occasions for the one or more SSB transmission beams or the one or more SIB transmission beams.
However, Abedini teaches
wherein the uplink signal indicates the repetition factor respectively for one or more SSB transmission beams or one or more SIB transmission beams, ([0108] Additionally, the indication 1206 or configured uplink repetition mode 1238 may indicate whether the mapping or uplink reference signal repetitions in the first mode 1240, the second mode 1242, or the third mode 1244 (whichever may be applied) are beam-specific.) and the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in consecutive repetition occasions or inconsecutive repetition occasions for the one or more SSB transmission beams or the one or more SIB transmission beams. ([0108] the base station 802, 1002, 1102 may indicate or identify certain downlink reference signals 810, 1010, 1110 or transmission beams 812, 1012, 1112 that are associated with uplink occasions 806, 1006, 1106 in which the UE 804, 1004, 1104 may transmit uplink reference signal repetitions for on-demand SSB, RMSI, or paging transmission or RACH monitoring.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 25. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is sent in repetitions according to a maximum requested repetition factor from between multiple UEs, the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 including a channel indicating the maximum requested repetition factor, and the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 being sent in the repetitions at a periodicity for decoding the channel.
However, Abedini teaches
wherein at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in repetitions according to a maximum configured repetition factor associated with multiple user equipment (UEs). ([0098] in a RACH procedure, multiple UEs may attempt to access the network without synchronization and thus collide with each other, leading to contention resolution. Thus, a large pool of RACH occasions or RACH message preamble formats may be configured to minimize the chances of collision and contention. In contrast, no such notion of collision exists between UEs attempting to send ULT or PEI-R repetitions to wake up the base station for on-demand SSB, RMSI, RACH monitoring, or paging, since one UE may equally benefit from another UE waking up the base station.)
wherein the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 is obtained in repetitions according to a maximum requested repetition factor from between multiple user equipment (UEs), the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 including a channel indicating the maximum requested repetition factor, and the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 being obtained in the repetitions at a periodicity for decoding the channel. ([0098] in a RACH procedure, multiple UEs may attempt to access the network without synchronization and thus collide with each other, leading to contention resolution. Thus, a large pool of RACH occasions or RACH message preamble formats may be configured to minimize the chances of collision and contention. In contrast, no such notion of collision exists between UEs attempting to send ULT or PEI-R repetitions to wake up the base station for on-demand SSB, RMSI, RACH monitoring, or paging, since one UE may equally benefit from another UE waking up the base station.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 26. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, but it does not teach wherein the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: send downlink control information (DCI) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) prior to the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1, the DCI or the PDSCH indicating a maximum requested repetition factor for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 from between multiple UEs or indicating the transmission power for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1.
However, Abedini teaches
send downlink control information (DCI) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) prior to the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1, ([0111] In another example, the indication 1206 or configuration(s) of configuration parameters 1208, the configured uplink repetition mode 1238, and base station beam refinement may be activated for UE 1204 dynamically, e.g., via a PDCCH 1256. For example, in a variation of examples 630 and 660 in FIGS. 6B and 6C for on-demand RMSI, the base station may configure DCI in one of the PDCCHs 636, 664 to schedule multiple (M) uplink occasions for ULT 638, 666 in a one-to-many mapping with SSB 634, 662 (such as illustrated in FIG. 10),
the DCI or the PDSCH indicating a maximum requested repetition factor for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 from between multiple UEs or indicating the transmission power for the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1. ([0111] Additionally, the base station may dynamically change threshold(s) 1210 (and thus the RSRP comparison rules the UE is to apply for uplink reference signal repetitions) from one DCI or PEI in PDCCH 1256 to the next.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Regarding claim 27. Frenger and Zhang teach The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the uplink signal includes a random access channel (RACH) preamble, ([0028] FIG. 3 schematically depicts an example of joint transmissions of NR-SIB1 in a multi-beam scenario. In the shown example there is one cell defined by PCI1 consisting of 8 beams. In this example each set of two nearby beams use the same NR-MIB. By allowing for different NR-MIBs in different beams there can be different PRACH parameters, e.g. PRACH pre-ambles and PRACH timing window, in different beams.)
But it does not teach and the one or more processors, individually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to: send, in response to the uplink signal, downlink control information (DCI) in a random access response (RAR) window associated with the RACH preamble, the DCI indicating subsequent transmission of the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 via a first parameter in the DCI and indicating the transmission power or the repetition factor via a second parameter in the DCI.
However, Abedini teaches
send, in response to the uplink signal, downlink control information (DCI) in a random access response (RAR) window associated with the RACH preamble, ([0111] In another example, the indication 1206 or configuration(s) of configuration parameters 1208, the configured uplink repetition mode 1238, and base station beam refinement may be activated for UE 1204 dynamically, e.g., via a PDCCH 1256. For example, in a variation of examples 630 and 660 in FIGS. 6B and 6C for on-demand RMSI, the base station may configure DCI in one of the PDCCHs 636, 664 to schedule multiple (M) uplink occasions for ULT 638, 666 in a one-to-many mapping with SSB 634, 662 (such as illustrated in FIG. 10), and subsequently configure DCI in another one of the PDCCHs 636, 664 to schedule an uplink occasion for ULT 638, 666 in a one-to-one mapping with SSB 634, 662 (such as illustrated in FIG. 8).)
the DCI indicating subsequent transmission of the at least one of the SSB or the SIB1 via a first parameter in the DCI and indicating the transmission power or the repetition factor via a second parameter in the DCI. ([0111] Additionally, the base station may dynamically change threshold(s) 1210 (and thus the RSRP comparison rules the UE is to apply for uplink reference signal repetitions) from one DCI or PEI in PDCCH 1256 to the next.)
in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB ([0084]
Frenger and Abedini are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Frenger with the technique of beam selection in Abedini in order to improve the signal reliability for on-demand SSB.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468