DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent Claims 1 and 12
The applicant argues “Watfa [0009] describes an abnormal case in which a
5GMM cause #31 is received by the UE over non-3GPP access and the serving network rejects a service request message, with the serving network being a 5GC and the target network being an EPC. In other words, Watfa [0009] merely states that receipt of a message over non-3GPP access can occur as an abnormal case. That disclosure is not a disclosure that the UE has performed a registration procedure to the 5G network over non-3GPP access (i.e., the UE is registered over non- 3GPP access). The claim language requires an affirmative act and resulting state: "registering to the 5G network over non-3GPP access." Receipt of a message "over non-3GPP access," particularly where the reference characterizes the situation as abnormal, does not necessarily or inherently establish that the UE has registered to the 5G network over non-3GPP access. Watfa does not describe a non-3GPP registration procedure (e.g., via N3IWF) nor that the UE is registered over non-3GPP access contemporaneously with 3GPP access, as required by the independent claims.” See page 7 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claims reads as “registering to the 5G network over non-3GPP access” this claim language does not require the UE to be registered to the non-3GPP but rather having access via non-3GPP for receiving messages for registering to the 5G network. For example, Watfa discloses an attempt to register to a target network to which the request is rejected. Watfa states a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for redirecting the UE from a serving network to a target network, the method comprising: in case that the UE is in a N1 mode, receiving a service reject with fifth generation mobility management (5GMM) cause #31; setting a fifth generation system (5GS) update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED (therefore, teaching registering to the target network which is a 5G network)… wherein, If 5GMM cause #31 is …received by the UE over non-3GPP access (therefore, teaching over non-3GPP access by the UE where the UE has access via non-3GPP for receiving the service reject message). See paragraph [0009]. Even if in an abnormal case, Watfa discloses applicant’s claimed “registering to the 5G network over non-3GPP access”.
The applicant argues “Watfa does not teach this claim-critical access-type-driven
behavior. To the contrary, Watfa paragraph [0206] conditions EMM parameter handling on the access over which the message is received: "If the message was received via 3GPP access and the UE is operating in single-registration mode, the UE shall handle the EMM parameters ...." Watfa thus teaches receipt-access-based handling, NOT handling "based on the access type" in the Deregistration Type IE. Further, Watfa underscores the distinction by expressly describing that receipt of the relevant cause over non-3GPP access is an "abnormal case" (see, e.g., Watfa [0202], and similarly Watfa [0009]). Claim 1 is specifically directed to correct behavior in such multi-access scenarios by relying on the Deregistration Type IE's access type (i.e., the access to which deregistration applies), rather than the access over which the message was received. Watfa does not disclose that approach. ” See page 8 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Watfa discloses handling the EMM parameters based on the access type and the
5GMM cause value as required in the claims. Watfa discloses receiving the service reject message with 5GMM cause #31 which is considered as the de-registration type IE which comprises an access type (in other words, 5GMM giving access to the communication system) and a 5GMM cause value (in other words, cause #31). Watfa discloses receiving a service reject with fifth generation mobility management (5GMM) cause #31; setting a fifth generation system (5GS) update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED; resetting the service request attempt counter and enter the state 5GMM-REGISTERED LIMITED-SERVICE; operating in a single-registration mode; handling an evolved packet system (EPS) parameters, an EPS mobility management (EMM) parameters (Watfa clearly states handling the EMM parameters based on the access type and the 5GMM cause value whereas discussed above, the 5GMM cause #31 comprises an access type and a 5GMM cause value), EMM state, and EPS update status. See paragraphs [0009] and [0204]-[0206].
Dependent Claims 2 and 13
The applicant argues “…As discussed above, there is not teaching of the access
type in Watfa. Specifically, here, Watfa paragraphs [0201]-[0205] discuss receiving a Deregistration Request message with 5GMM cause #31 and describe "abnormal case" handling when that cause is received over non-3GPP access (Watfa [0202]), but they do not disclose that the Deregistration Request message includes an "access type" in the Deregistration Type IE indicating 3GPP access or both accesses, nor that the UE makes the claimed determinations based on such a field.” See page 9 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
For the reasons as discussed above, the 5GMM cause #31 rejection message is
received over non-3GPP access. See paragraph [0009]. The access type of the 5GMM cause #31 rejection message refers to the 5GMM giving access to the communication system. See paragraphs [0009] and [0204]-[0206]. Therefore, Watfa discloses wherein the message is received over non-3GPP access, and the access type indicates 3GPP access or indicates both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access as required in the claims.
Dependent Claim 10
The applicant argues “…Watfa [0090] addresses a different concept - upon
receipt of a reject message, the UE disables N1 mode capability and enables E-UTRA capability to move to EPC. Watfa [0090] does not discuss the Deregistration Type IE, does not discuss an "access type" field within a Deregistration Type IE, and does not disclose the claimed determinations based on that field.” See page 9 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above, Watfa discloses the deregistration type IE as the service
reject message with 5GMM cause #31 comprising an access type (in other words, 5GMM giving access to the communication system) and a 5GMM cause value (in other words, cause #31). Therefore, Watfa discloses wherein the access type indicates 3GPP access, and the UE determines the de- registration procedure is for 3GPP access as required in the claims.
Dependent Claims 11 and 20
The applicant argues “…As discussed above, Watfa paragraphs [0201]-[0205]
discuss receiving a Deregistration Request message with 5GMM cause #31 and describe "abnormal case" handling when that cause is received over non-3GPP access (Watfa [0202]), but they do not disclose that the Deregistration Request message includes an "access type" in the Deregistration Type IE indicating 3GPP access or both accesses, nor that the UE makes the claimed determinations based on such a field.” See page 10 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above, Watfa discloses the deregistration type IE as the service
reject message with 5GMM cause #31 comprising an access type (in other words, 5GMM giving access to the communication system) and a 5GMM cause value (in other words, cause #31). Also, discussed above, Watfa discloses if 5GMM cause #31 is received by the UE over non-3GPP access (therefore, teaching over non-3GPP access by the UE where the UE has access via non-3GPP for receiving the service reject message). See paragraphs [0009] and [0201]-[0205]. In other words, the deregistration type IE in Watfa indicates 3GPP access or both access as required in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-14, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watfa, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0199605.
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Watfa discloses a method, comprising:
maintaining a set of EPS mobility management (EMM) parameters by a User Equipment (UE), wherein the UE is registered to a 5G network over 3GPP access (in other words, if the message was received via 3GPP access and the UE is operating in single-registration mode, the UE shall handle the EMM parameters EMM state, EPS update status, 4G-GUTI, TAI list, eKSI and attach attempt counter as specified in 3GPP TS 24.301 therefore, considered as maintaining a set of EPS mobility management (EMM) parameters by a User Equipment (UB), wherein the UE is registered to a 5G network over 3GPP access; see paragraph [0206]);
registering to the 5G network over non-3GPP access by the UE (in other words,
received by the UE over non-3GPP access therefore, registering to the 5G network over non-3GPP access by the UE; see paragraph [0009]);
receiving a DEREGISTRATION REQUEST message from the 5G network,
wherein the message carries a de-registration type Information element (IE) comprising an access type and a 5GMM cause value (i.e., Deregistration Request message with 5GMM cause #31 “Redirection to EPC required”; see paragraph [0201]); and
performing a de-registration procedure to deregister from 5G 3GPP and handling
the EMM parameters based on the access type and the 5GMM cause value (i.e., The UE shall set the 5GS update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED (and shall store it according to subclause 5.1.3.2.2) and shall delete any 5G-GUTI, last visited registered TAI, TAI list and ngKSI…see paragraphs [0204]-[0206]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Watfa discloses wherein the message is received
over non-3GPP access, and the access type indicates 3GPP access or indicates both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access (see paragraphs [0201]-[0204]).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Watfa discloses wherein the set of EMM
parameters comprises at least one of an EMM state, an EPS update status, a 4G global unique temporary ID (GUTI), a last visited registered tracking area identity (TAI), a TAI list and a Key Set Identifier (eKSI), and an attach attempt counter (see paragraph [0206]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Watfa discloses wherein the 5GMM cause value
indicates one of illegal UE, Illegal ME, 5GS services not allowed (see paragraph [0207]), PLMN not allowed, Tracking area not allowed, Roaming not allowed in this tracking area, No suitable cells in tracking area, Congestion, N1 mode not allowed, No network slices available, PLMN not allowed to operate at the present UE location, UAS services not allowed, and Onboarding services terminated.
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, Watfa discloses wherein the UE is registered to the
5G network over 3GPP and enters an EMM-REGISTERED state upon successful registration (see paragraphs [0170] and [0172]).
Regarding Claim 9, Watfa discloses wherein the UE is operating in the single-
registration mode (see paragraphs [0009] and [0174]).
Regarding Claim 10, Watfa discloses wherein the access type indicates 3GPP
access, and the UE determines the de- registration procedure is for 3GPP access (see paragraph [0090]).
Regarding Claims 11 and 20, Watfa discloses wherein the access type
indicates 3GPP access and non-3GPP access, and the UE determines the de-registration procedure is for both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access (see paragraphs [0202] and [0205]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watfa in view of Liu, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0201488.
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Watfa discloses the method and UE wherein the
UE resets the attach attempt counter, and enters an EMM-DEREGISTERED state (see paragraph [0211]) as described above. Watfa fails to disclose wherein the UE sets the EPS update status to EU2 NOT UPDATED. Liu discloses wherein the UE sets the EPS update status to EU2 NOT UPDATED (see paragraphs [0090] and [0108]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Watfa’s invention for managing security to prevent malicious user equipment from gaining access to the communication network (see abstract of Liu).
Regarding Claims 6 and 17, Watfa discloses the method and UE as described
above. Watfa fails to disclose wherein the UE is registered to a 4G network over 3GPP access and then performs intersystem change to the 5G network over 3GPP. Liu discloses wherein the UE is registered to a 4G network over 3GPP access and then performs intersystem change to the 5G network over 3GPP (see paragraph [0043]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Liu’s invention with Watfa’s invention for managing security to prevent malicious user equipment from gaining access to the communication network (see abstract of Liu).
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watfa in view of Won, U.S. Publication No. 2021/0258857.
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Watfa discloses the method and UE as described
above. Watfa fails to disclose wherein the 5GMM cause value indicates a network congestion, and wherein the UE deletes a 4G-GUTI as one of the EMM parameters. Won discloses wherein the 5GMM cause value indicates a network congestion (see paragraph [0137]), and wherein the UE deletes a 4G-GUTI as one of the EMM parameters (see paragraph [0144]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Won’s invention with Watfa’s invention for managing network capabilities for UEs as described throughout Won.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
February 25, 2026