DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15, 17-18, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al (US 20200294257) in view of Fontijne et al (US 20210255304).
Regarding claim 12, 17, and 22, Yoo teaches a computer-implemented method for determining a classification for an object (abs, “fuse 2D and 3D object detection results for classifying objects”), the method comprising the following steps: providing pixels of a radar image that are assigned to the object; and providing a point cloud (abs, “a point cloud may be filtered to include only points”), wherein the point cloud includes at least one point that represents a radar reflection assigned to the object (para 31), through at least one property assigned to the object (para 31); extracting first features that characterize the object from the pixels (para 31, “locations and corresponding image-space locations of LIDAR data, RADAR data, and/or other depth data may be known, or determined, using intrinsic and/or extrinsic parameters”); extracting second features that characterize the object from the point cloud (para 29 and 31 and 67, “one or more of the layers may include an input layer. The input layer may hold values associated with the input (e.g., vectors, tensors, etc. corresponding to sensor data, voxelized sensor data, feature vectors, etc.). For example, when the sensor data is an image(s), the input layer may hold values representative of the raw pixel values of the image(s) as a volume (e.g., a width, W, a height, H, and color channels, C (e.g., RGB), such as 32×32×3), and/or a batch size, B (e.g., where batching is use”); and determining the classification of the object depending on the first features and the second features (para 67 and claim 16), a signal for controlling at least one actuator of a driver assistance mechanism or an autonomous vehicle is determined depending on the classification (para 163 “ When the AEB system detects a hazard, it typically first alerts the driver to take corrective action to avoid the collision and, if the driver does not take corrective action, the AEB system may automatically apply the brakes in an effort to prevent, or at least mitigate, the impact of the predicted collision “), control a physical operation of the at least one actuator of the driver assistance mechanism or the autonomous vehicle based on the signal. (para 80 and 81, “The controller(s) 736 may provide the signals for controlling one or more components and/or systems of the vehicle 700 in response to sensor data received from one or more sensors (e.g., sensor inputs)”).
Regarding claim 12, 17, and 22, Fontijne teaches concatenating the first features and the second features into an input variable for a third neural network (para 83, “The radar and LiDAR features are then concatenated (1114) for further processing by a neural network (1116) for object detection (1118).”); operating the third neural network to determine the classification of the object depending on the input variable including the concatenated first features and second features (para 51, “ach feature 344 within a respective cell 342 can be identified as having up to four parameters: range, Doppler, azimuth, and elevation. This is called a radar frame. As an example, a feature 344 within a cell 342 may be the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) computed by a constant false alarm rate (CFAR) algorithm. However, it should be understood that other methods may be used to target and identify features 344 within a cell 342.”). It would have been obvious to modify Yoo to include concatenating the first features and the second features into an input variable for a third neural network and operating the third neural network to determine the classification of the object depending on the input variable including the concatenated first features and second features because it is merely a substitution of a well-known method to determine an object features of Yoo with the method to determine if an object features of to yield a predictable method to determine if an object features
Regarding claim 13 and 20, Yoo teaches the pixels are mapped to the first features using a first neural network trained for mapping the pixels to the first features, wherein the point cloud is mapped to the second features using a second neural network trained to map the point cloud to the second features (claim 16 and fig 6), and wherein an input variable is determined depending on the first features and the second features, wherein the input variable is mapped to the classification using a third neural network trained to map the input variable to the classification (para 47 and fig 6).
Regarding claim 14 and 21, Yoo teaches the first neural network and the second neural network and the third neural network are trained independently of one another or that at least two of the first, second, and third neural networks are trained jointly (para 28 and 30).
Regarding claim 15 and 18, Yoo teaches raw data for determining the radar image are sensed by at least one sensor, and wherein the radar image is determined depending on the raw data sensed (para 24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-15, 17-18, and 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIMOTHY A. BRAINARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648