DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 7 – 9, 10 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al (US 2012/0056514) in view of Okamoto (JP 2014-175887).
Ishikawa et al discloses, regarding,
Claim 1, An AT-cut quartz-crystal vibrating piece (see title and abstract) having an oscillation frequency of 24 MHz (see Fig. 4) and a planar shape in a rectangular shape (see Fig. 1A), comprising: a vibrator 31; a peripheral portion 32 having a thickness thinner than a thickness of the vibrator 31 (see Fig. 1B); and a level difference on each of a front and a back of the quartz-crystal vibrating piece (see Fig. 1B), the level difference being generated caused by a thickness difference between the vibrator and the peripheral portion (see Fig. 1B, wherein when a dimension along an X-axis of a crystal of the quartz-crystal vibrating piece is defined as Lx, a dimension along a Z'-axis of the crystal of the quartz-crystal vibrating piece is defined as Lz, a thickness of the vibrator is defined as t, and a height of the level difference is defined as d, Lx is in a range from 849 to 857 μm [0040, 0055], Lz is in a range from 625 to 645 μm [0040, 0055], and d/t is in a range of 0.094 ≤ d/t ≤ 0.11 [0057, 0058, 0059].
Although Ishikawa et al does not disclose the exact ranges as disclosed in the claims, the ranges disclosed by Ishikawa et al are very close to the ones mentioned in the claim and the difference seems to be obtained based on the thickness of the peripheral area with respect to the vibrator.
In that respect, Okamoto teaches providing a vibrator and disclosing a peripheral area with different thicknesses, thus providing different ranges for X-axis and Z-axis and also for the d/t range (see Figs. 5b, 11b), thus making possible to obtain the ranges as disclosed in the claim.
Moreover, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, specially when the ranges disclosed by the Prior Art are very close to the ranges disclose in the claim(s).
The Prior Art further discloses, regarding,
Claim 2, the Lz is in a range from 630 to 638 μm (Ishikawa et al, Fig 4; Okamoto, Fig 5b, 11b) since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 3, the quartz-crystal vibrating piece has angles θy1 and θy2 in a range from 85 to 90 degrees, the angles θy1 and θy2 are formed by a distal-end-side short side of the quartz-crystal vibrating piece and long sides of the quartz-crystal vibrating piece since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 and the distal-end-side short side is a short side opposite to a side to be adhered to a container with a securing member (Ishikawa et al, Figs. 1C; Okamoto, Figs. 1, 13).
Claims 7, 10, 12, a container that contains the quartz-crystal vibrating piece (see Ishikawa et al, Figs. 1A, 1B).
Claims 8, 11, 13, the container is in a rectangular shape in plan view (Ishikawa et al, Figs. 1A, 1B) and has an outer dimension with a long side dimension of 1.2 mm and a short side dimension of 1.0 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 9, An AT-cut quartz-crystal vibrating piece having an oscillation frequency of 32 MHz and a planar shape in a rectangular shape, comprising: a vibrator; a peripheral portion having a thickness thinner than a thickness of the vibrator; and a level difference on each of a front and a back of the quartz-crystal vibrating piece, the level difference being generated caused by a thickness difference between the vibrator and the peripheral portion, wherein when a dimension along an X-axis of a crystal of the quartz-crystal vibrating piece is defined as Lx, a dimension along a Z'-axis of the crystal of the quartz-crystal vibrating piece is defined as Lz, a thickness of the vibrator is defined as t, and a height of the level difference is defined as d, Lx is in a range from 636 to 643 μm, Lz is in a range from 472 to 479 μm, and d/t is in a range of 0.094 ≤d/t ≤ 0.11 (see rejection for claim 1 above).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the vibrating piece as disclosed by Ishikawa et al and to disclose the limitations per Okamoto for the purpose of reducing the cost of manufacturing a vibrator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 6, 14 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to disclose the width reduction portion as specifically described in the claims and how the vibrating piece is secured to the container as specifically described in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Toshikawa et al discloses a quart crystal having a vibrator with different thicknesses and the vibrator is inside a container.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Julio C. Gonzalez/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2831
October 13, 2026