DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation that the variable capacitances each include a static capacitance component and a dynamic capacitance component “provided for an opposite variation.” It is not clear as to what is meant by this limitation and what the “opposite” refers to. For example, is the change in static capacitance in the opposite direction as that of the dynamic, or are both the static and dynamic components opposite of something else?
Additionally, it is unclear what is meant by the variable capacitances each include a static capacitance component and a dynamic capacitance component since the variable capacitance would seemingly not be static as a static capacitance would not have any variation.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the limitation that the further acquisition device acquires a deflection of the sensor element “parallel to the drive device” however no orientation of the drive device has been defined. The drive device itself does not have a direction associated with it to which the deflection could be parallel to. It is therefore not clear if the claim should be parallel to the drive direction from parent claim 1, or similar.
The claim recites the limitation of an “opposite variation” which is similar to that of claim 1 and therefore indefinite for the same reasons.
All claims which depend from those above are rejected for the same reasons due to their dependency thereon4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanemoto US 2017/0254654.
Regarding claim 1, as best interpreted, Kanemoto teaches a microelectromechanical rotation rate sensor comprising a sensor element 106 a drive device 160 configured to drive an oscillation of the sensor element along a drive direction (X-direction, fig. 1) and an acquisition device (detecting circuit 30) configured to acquire a measurement signal generated using the sensor element, wherein the acquisition device includes a first electrode structure 140 and second electrode structure 142 configured to acquire a mechanical deflection or a force effect of the sensor element parallel to an acquisition direction (Y-direction, fig. 1) provided parallel to an acquisition direction provide substantially perpendicular to the drive direction. When the sensor element is subjected to a predetermined voltage (voltage is applied to electrode 126, paragraph 0091) and both the first electrode structure and second electrode structure are disposed along the acquisition direction relative to the sensor element in such a way that a variable capacitance is formed between the sensor element and the first electrode in such a way that a variable capacitance is formed between the sensor element 106 and the first electrode 140 structure and between the sensor element and the second electrode structure 142 wherein the acquisition device is configured for differential acquisition of the variable capacitances (paragraph 0083), which would inherently include a static capacitance from the applied voltage and a dynamic capacitance when the sensor element deflects, causing a change in capacitance in the system, wherein the micromechanical rotation rate sensor is configured such that the static capacitance component is ascertained using a variation of the predetermined voltage (paragraph 0091).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemoto and Painter et al. US 2019/0277656.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kanemoto teaches the claimed invention including an operational operating mode wherein the sensor element is statically subjected to the predetermined voltage during operation (paragraph 0091), but does not explicitly teach the test operating mode as claimed. Painter discloses a MEMS gyroscope which can detect an angular rate applied to the system based on a change of capacitance detected. Painter further discloses a self-test operating mode in which the sensor is acted upon according to a variation of a predetermined voltage via test electrodes 108a-108d (paragraph 0025, 036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Painter with those of Kanemoto in order to provide testing means to the sensor to determine proper operation during use and for calibration of the sensor. In combination, the sensor would be configured to be operated for any amount of time including a maximum of 2 seconds or for a maximum of 1 second in the test operating mode since the structural limitations would be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 8, in combination with Kanemoto, Painter discloses operating the test mode of the sensor without operation of the drive device or in operational use temporarily for calibration purposes as claimed (paragraph 0005).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemoto and Prandi et al. US 2008/0190199.
Regarding claim 7, Kanemoto teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the variation of the predetermined voltage as being a square wave voltage as claimed. Prandi teaches a MEMS gyroscope which uses a self-test mode including a square wave signal provided to drive a sensing mass (paragraph 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Prandi with those of Kanemoto in order to provide a consistent drive signal to the mass which would be separate from the generated signals during operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose the claimed limitations found in dependent claim 4 with regard to the further acquisition device configured to acquire a mechanical deflection of the sensor element parallel to the drive device including a third and fourth electrode structure wherein the sensor element is disposed in the claimed manner.
Conclusion
/MARK A SHABMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855