DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments with regard to the art rejection are not persuasive. It is noted that the detailed action in the prior rejection dated 30 January 2026 incorrectly referred to the Kanemoto reference as US Patent Application Publication 2017/0254654 rather than 2017/0254645 (emphasis added). Form PTO-892 (notice of references cited) included the correct document number and as all references were made to Kanemoto in the rejection, the arguments with regard to the incorrect document of Nordbruch (US 2017/0254654) of an unrelated art are moot. Additionally, the claims as amended comprise new subject matter which was not previously examined and therefore requires new consideration as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim comprises newly added limitations of a dynamic capacitance component provided for an opposite variation of “the variable capacitance formed with the first electrode structure relative to the variable capacitance formed with the second electrode structure” which was not previously disclosed in the specification as originally filed. While the variable capacitances between the elements would be inherent in the structure between the first electrode and second electrode, defining their relationship to one another as “an opposite variation” is not and was not originally included as filed.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites similar newly added limitations as those of claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the newly added limitations in the claim include that a dynamic capacitance component is provide for an opposite variation “of the variable capacitance formed with the first electrode structure relative to the variable capacitance formed with the second electrode structure.” However, it is still unclear as to what is meant by the “opposite variation” of the capacitance. For example, if “opposite” refers to a capacitance of an equal and opposite direction of the static capacitance or essentially two variable capacitances which are opposite from one another. Beginning on page 4 of the specification, and continuing to page 5, the application references “opposite variation” however it does not explain as to what is “opposite” about it.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites similar newly added limitations as those of claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanemoto US 2017/0254645.
Regarding claim 1, as best interpreted, Kanemoto teaches a microelectromechanical rotation rate sensor comprising a sensor element 106 a drive device 160 configured to drive an oscillation of the sensor element along a drive direction (X-direction, fig. 1) and an acquisition device (detecting circuit 30) configured to acquire a measurement signal generated using the sensor element, wherein the acquisition device includes a first electrode structure 140 and second electrode structure 142 configured to acquire a mechanical deflection or a force effect of the sensor element parallel to an acquisition direction (Y-direction, fig. 1) provided parallel to an acquisition direction provide substantially perpendicular to the drive direction. When the sensor element is subjected to a predetermined voltage (voltage is applied to electrode 126, paragraph 0091) and both the first electrode structure and second electrode structure are disposed along the acquisition direction relative to the sensor element in such a way that a variable capacitance is formed between the sensor element and the first electrode in such a way that a variable capacitance is formed between the sensor element 106 and the first electrode 140 structure and between the sensor element and the second electrode structure 142 wherein the acquisition device is configured for differential acquisition of the variable capacitances (paragraph 0083), which would inherently include a static capacitance from the applied voltage corresponding to a common-mode capacitance change when the plates move in the same direction, and a dynamic capacitance when the first electrode and second electrode elements deflect in opposite directions, causing a change in capacitance in the system, wherein the micromechanical rotation rate sensor is configured such that the static capacitance component is ascertained using a variation of the predetermined voltage (paragraph 0091).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemoto and Painter et al. US 2019/0277656.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kanemoto teaches the claimed invention including an operational operating mode wherein the sensor element is statically subjected to the predetermined voltage during operation (paragraph 0091), but does not explicitly teach the test operating mode as claimed. Painter discloses a MEMS gyroscope which can detect an angular rate applied to the system based on a change of capacitance detected. Painter further discloses a self-test operating mode in which the sensor is acted upon according to a variation of a predetermined voltage via test electrodes 108a-108d (paragraph 0025, 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Painter with those of Kanemoto in order to provide testing means to the sensor to determine proper operation during use and for calibration of the sensor. In combination, the sensor would be configured to be operated for any amount of time including a maximum of 2 seconds or for a maximum of 1 second in the test operating mode since the structural limitations would be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 8, in combination with Kanemoto, Painter discloses operating the test mode of the sensor without operation of the drive device or in operational use temporarily for calibration purposes as claimed (paragraph 0005).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanemoto and Prandi et al. US 2008/0190199.
Regarding claim 7, Kanemoto teaches the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the variation of the predetermined voltage as being a square wave voltage as claimed. Prandi teaches a MEMS gyroscope which uses a self-test mode including a square wave signal provided to drive a sensing mass (paragraph 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Prandi with those of Kanemoto in order to provide a consistent drive signal to the mass which would be separate from the generated signals during operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose the claimed limitations found in dependent claim 4 with regard to the further acquisition device configured to acquire a mechanical deflection of the sensor element parallel to the drive device including a third and fourth electrode structure wherein the sensor element is disposed in the claimed manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK A SHABMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855