DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application is a Continuation of PCT/CN2022/088217 (filed 04/21/2022) that claims foreign priority to application of CHINA: 202110450474.6 (filed 04/25/2021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU et al. (US 2020/0229114 A1, hereinafter RYU), in view of VARGAS et al. (US 2020/0374858 A1, hereinafter VARGAS).
Regarding claim 1, RYU teaches a synchronization resource configuration method, comprising (in general, see fig. 6 and corresponding paragraphs 97-128):
determining, by user equipment (UE), a target configuration parameter (RYU, see at least para. 107, “...UE-1 620 located in the coverage of the gNB 610 may receive information on a time resource of an NR S-SSB, which should be transmitted by the UE-1 620 itself, the information being configured by the gNB 610 through an NR V2X SIB...”),
wherein the target configuration parameter is used to transmit synchronization resources on at least two carriers (RYU, see at least para. 107-108, “...In this example, the information on the time resource of the NR S-SSB may include at least one of an offset of a subframe, an offset of a slot, or an offset of a symbol, a transmission cycle of the NR S-SSB, and a subcarrier spacing for transmission of the NR S-SSB...”, note that “...when a carrier frequency is f1, 30 kHz may be used as a subcarrier spacing, and when a carrier frequency is f2, 60 kHz may be used as a subcarrier spacing...”),
the target configuration parameter comprises target interval information, the target interval information comprises an interval of a synchronization resource (RYU, see at least para. 107 along with para. 110, “...In this example, the information on the time resource of the NR S-SSB may include at least one of an offset of a subframe, an offset of a slot, or an offset of a symbol, a transmission cycle of the NR S-SSB, and a subcarrier spacing for transmission of the NR S-SSB...),
wherein configuration parameters of the synchronization resources on the at least two carriers are the same (RYU, see at least para. 107-108 along with para. 110, “...When a subcarrier spacing is fixed, subcarrier spacings of an NR S-SSB are identical regardless of a carrier frequency at which NR V2X communication is performed, or may be different according to a carrier frequency...”).
RYU does not specifically teach the at least two carriers are at least partially the same.
VARGAS teaches the at least two carriers are at least partially the same (in general, see fig. 7A and 7B along with their paragraphs 111-115, in particular, see at least para. 111 and 114, “...For example, with reference now to FIGS. 7A and 7B, FR1 may include a first carrier frequency time-divided into a first plurality of slots 702 a, while FR2 may include a second carrier frequency time-divided into a second plurality of slots 702 b. The slot boundaries of the first plurality of slots 702 a are misaligned with the slot boundaries of the second plurality of slots 702 b such that there is a timing offset tO between respective slot boundaries of a first FR1 slot 702 and a first FR2 slot...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate VARGAS into RYU to improve the vehicle driving experience, increase vehicle safety, and support autonomous vehicles.
Regarding claim 2, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 1.
RYU further teaches wherein the target configuration parameter comprises target time information, the target time information is used to indicate a target time, and the target time information comprises at least one of the following: a length of the target time, a start point of the target time, an end point of the target time, and a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the target time. (RYU, see at least para. 107 along with para. 110, for one non-limiting example, “...In this example, the information on the time resource of the NR S-SSB may include at least one of an offset of a subframe, an offset of a slot, or an offset of a symbol, a transmission cycle of the NR S-SSB, and a subcarrier spacing for transmission of the NR S-SSB...”, note that “...When information on a time resource of an NR S-SSB includes an offset of a subframe, the gNB 610 may configure, for the UE-1 620, a start time point of a subframe in which an NR S-SSB can be first transmitted...)
Regarding claim 3, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 2.
RYU further teaches wherein the method further satisfies at least one of:
the length of the target time is any one of the following:
a length of a first time on a first carrier,
a length of a first time on a second carrier,
and a preset length (RYU, see at least para. 107 along with para. 110, for one non-limiting example, “...In this example, the information on the time resource of the NR S-SSB may include at least one of an offset of a subframe, an offset of a slot, or an offset of a symbol, a transmission cycle of the NR S-SSB, and a subcarrier spacing for transmission of the NR S-SSB...),
wherein the second carrier is a carrier with a longest length of a first time in all carriers, and the first time is a time range in which the synchronization resources on the at least two carriers are located;
or
the start point of the target time comprises a start point of a target time on a first carrier and a start point of a target time on another carrier, the start point of the target time on the another carrier is obtained by using a first distance, the first distance is a distance between the start point of the target time on the another carrier and a first location, the first distance is determined by using a second distance, and the second distance is a distance between the start point of the target time on the first carrier and the first location;
or
the end point of the target time comprises an end point of a target time on a first carrier and an end point of a target time on another carrier, the end point of the target time on the another carrier is obtained by using a third distance, the third distance is a distance between the end point of the target time on the another carrier and a first location, the third distance is determined by using a fourth distance, and the fourth distance is a distance between the end point of the target time on the first carrier and the first location;
or
the SCS of the target time meets any one of the following: being the same as an SCS of a first time on a first carrier, an SCS of a target time on each carrier is the same as an SCS of a first time on the respective carrier, being the same as a maximum SCS of all carriers, being the same as a maximum SCS of all carriers, and being a preset SCS, wherein
the first carrier is a carrier selected by the UE from the at least two carriers, and the first location is any one of the following: a location of a direct frame number DFN0/system frame number SFN0 on a carrier, a start point of a synchronization cycle on a carrier, and an end point of a synchronization cycle on a carrier.
Regarding claim 4, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 1.
RYU further teaches wherein the target interval information is determined by at least one of the following:
specific interval information;
group information of a synchronization resource;
common interval information;
reference interval information;
and an SCS of a carrier (RYU, see at least para. 107 along with para. 110, for one non-limiting example, “...In this example, the information on the time resource of the NR S-SSB may include at least one of an offset of a subframe, an offset of a slot, or an offset of a symbol, a transmission cycle of the NR S-SSB, and a subcarrier spacing for transmission of the NR S-SSB...).
Regarding claim 5, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 4.
RYU further teaches wherein the target interval information further comprises an interval of a target time, and the specific interval information comprises at least one of the following:
only one sidelink-synchronization signal block (S-SSB) is transmitted within a transmission cycle (RYU, see at least para. 107 along with para. 110, for one non-limiting example, “...For example, the UE-1 620 may acquire information on a start point, at which an NR S-SSB can be first transmitted, using at least one piece of information among the above-described pieces of offset information, and may acquire information on how long time interval, when an NR S-SSB should be retransmitted, passes from the start point, through information on the transmission cycle of an NR S-SSB. The transmission cycle of an NR S-SSB may have a fixed value,...);
the number of S-SSBs within each synchronization resource is 1;
there is only one target time within a transmission cycle;
the interval of the target time does not exist;
an interval of an S-SSB group does not exist;
an interval of an S-SSB within an S-SSB group does not exist; and
the number of S-SSB groups is 1.
Regarding claim 6, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 4.
RYU further teaches
[(i)] wherein in a first case, the target interval information further comprises an interval of a target time, and the target interval information meets at least one of the following:
the interval of the target time does not exist;
an interval of an S-SSB group does not exist (RYU, see at least para. 107 along with para. 110, for one non-limiting example, “...The UE-1 620 located in the coverage of the gNB 610 may receive information on a time resource of an NR S-SSB, which should be transmitted by the UE-1 620 itself, note that one S-SSB is being sent);
and an interval of an S-SSB within an S-SSB group meets: an interval of an S-SSB within an S-SSB group on a carrier on which one S-SSB is transmitted within one cycle does not exist, or an interval of an S-SSB within an S-SSB group on a carrier on which a plurality of S-SSBs are transmitted within one cycle is 0, wherein
the first case meets: the group information of the synchronization resource is used to indicate that when a plurality of S-SSBs are transmitted on the at least two carriers within one cycle, the number of S-SSB groups transmitted on each carrier within one cycle is configured as 1;
or,
[(ii)] wherein in a second case, the target interval information meets at least one of the following:
the interval of the target time meets:
when there is a carrier on which only one S-SSB is transmitted within one cycle in the at least two carriers, the interval of the target time does not exist;
or
when there is no carrier on which only one S-SSB is transmitted within one cycle, the interval of the target time is configured by a network side device, preconfigured, predefined, autonomously determined by the UE, or indicated by other UE;
an interval of an S-SSB group meets: when there is a carrier on which only one S-SSB is transmitted within one cycle in the at least two carriers, the interval of the S-SSB group does not exist; or when there is no carrier on which only one S-SSB is transmitted within one cycle, the interval of the S-SSB group is the same as the interval of the target time;
an interval of an S-SSB within an S-SSB group meets: when there is a carrier on which only one S-SSB is transmitted within one cycle in the at least two carriers, an interval of an S-SSB within an S-SSB group on a carrier on which only one S-SSB is transmitted within one cycle does not exist, or an interval of an S-SSB within an S-SSB group on a carrier on which a plurality of S-SSBs are transmitted within one cycle is 0; or when there is no carrier on which only one S-SSB is transmitted within one cycle, an interval of an S-SSB within an S-SSB group on each carrier is 0; and
the number of S-SSBs within an S-SSB group meets: the number of S-SSBs comprised in each S-SSB group on any carrier is a ratio of the number of S-SSBs transmitted on the any carrier within one cycle to the number of S-SSB groups, wherein
the second case meets: the group information of the synchronization resource is used to indicate that when a plurality of S-SSBs are transmitted on the at least two carriers within one cycle, the number of S-SSB groups transmitted on each carrier within one cycle is configured as a first value, the first value is the number of S-SSBs transmitted on a third carrier within one cycle, and the third carrier is a carrier with the minimum number of S-SSBs transmitted within one cycle.
Regarding claim 7, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 4.
RYU further teaches wherein the method further satisfies at least one of:
that the target interval information is determined by common interval information comprises:
[(i)] the common interval information is configured by a network side device, preconfigured, predefined, indicated by other user equipment, or autonomously determined by the UE, and interval information of the at least two carriers is the same as the common interval information;
or
[(ii)] wherein that the target interval information is determined by reference interval information comprises at least one of the following:
when there is a first synchronization resource in to-be-transmitted synchronization resources on a fourth carrier, the first synchronization resource or all synchronization resources are not transmitted, wherein the first synchronization resource is a synchronization resource that is not within a time determined by the reference interval information;
and
when there is a second time on a fifth carrier and the second time is aligned with the time determined by the reference interval information, information transmitted in the second time is padding information or specific information, wherein the second time is a time in which no synchronization resource is transmitted on the fifth carrier;
or
[(iii)] wherein the common interval information or the reference interval information comprises at least one of the following:
an SCS of an S-SSB,
the number of S-SSBs,
the number of S-SSB groups,
an interval of an target time,
and
an interval of an S-SSB (RYU, see at least para. 107, for one non-limiting example, “...information on how long time interval, when an NR S-SSB should be retransmitted...”).
Regarding claim 8, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 4.
RYU further teaches wherein that the target interval information is determined by an SCS of a carrier comprises one of the following:
being determined by a configuration parameter of a synchronization resource on a first carrier;
and
the numbers of synchronization resources on different carriers are preset values (RYU, see at least para. 109, for one non-limiting example, “...the number of times of repetitive transmission may be fixed according to a carrier frequency...”).
Regarding claim 9, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 2.
RYU further teaches wherein the method further satisfies at least one of:
the target configuration parameter is determined by any one of the following:
a first time,
a configuration of a network side device (RYU, see at least para. 107, for one non-limiting example, “...The UE-1 620 located in the coverage of the gNB 610 may receive information on a time resource of an NR S-SSB, which should be transmitted by the UE-1 620 itself, the information being configured by the gNB 610...”),
a preconfiguration,
an indication of other user equipment,
and
autonomous determining by the UE,
wherein
the first time is a time range in which the synchronization resources on the at least two carriers are located;
wherein a resource within the first time does not belong to a resource pool;
or
a resource within the first time is not used to transmit a specific channel or a specific signal or a specific signaling; or
wherein a resource within the target time does not belong to a resource pool;
or
a resource within the target time is not used to transmit a specific channel or a specific signal or a specific signaling.
Regarding claim 12, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 1.
RYU further teaches
[(i)] wherein the target configuration parameter further comprises first information, and the first information is used to indicate whether a synchronization resource is configured on a carrier, wherein
the first information comprises at least one of the following: configuring a synchronization resource only on a first carrier, configuring synchronization resources on all carriers used for carrier aggregation (CA) transmission, configuring a synchronization resource on a carrier actually used for CA transmission, configuring a synchronization resource only on a carrier in a first set, and configuring a synchronization resource only on a carrier in a second set;
or,
[(ii)] wherein the target configuration parameter further comprises synchronization resource content, and the synchronization resource content comprises at least one of the following:
a DFN (RYU, see at least para. 105-106, for one non-limiting example, “...the transmission of an NR S-SSB based on the timing of the gNB may imply that a direct frame number (DFN) of NR V2X is configured with reference to a system frame number (SFN) of the gNB 610...”),
a slot index, in-coverage,
a duplex configuration,
and
a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) identifier.
Regarding claim 13, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 12.
RYU further teaches the method further satisfies at least one of:
[(i)] wherein the first information is further used to indicate that carriers are configured with the same number of synchronization resources;
or,
[(ii)] wherein a DFN value in the synchronization resource is the same as or different from a DFN value in a synchronization resource on a first carrier, or is a preset value (RYU, see at least para. 105-106, for one non-limiting example, “...the transmission of an NR S-SSB based on the timing of the gNB may imply that a direct frame number (DFN) of NR V2X is configured with reference to a system frame number (SFN) of the gNB 610...”),
or
a slot index value in the synchronization resource is the same as or different from a slot index value in a synchronization resource on a first carrier, or is a preset value;
or
an in-coverage value in the synchronization resource is the same as or different from an in-coverage value in a synchronization resource on a first carrier, or is a preset value;
or
a TDD configuration in the synchronization resource is the same as or different from a TDD configuration in a synchronization resource on a first carrier, or is a preset value;
or
an SLSS identifier in the synchronization resource is the same as or different from an SLSS identifier in a synchronization resource on a first carrier, or is a preset value.
Regarding claim 14, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 1.
RYU further teaches
performing carrier synchronization on the at least two carriers in at least one of the following manners:
timing synchronization (RYU, see at least para. 108 along with para. 121, for one non-limiting example, “...When a subcarrier spacing is fixed, subcarrier spacings of an NR S-SSB are identical regardless of a carrier frequency at which NR V2X communication is performed, or may be different according to a carrier frequency. As an example in which subcarrier spacings of an NR S-SSB are different according to a carrier frequency, when a carrier frequency is f1, 30 kHz may be used as a subcarrier spacing, and when a carrier frequency is f2, 60 kHz may be used as a subcarrier spacing...”),
and
transmission direction synchronization,
wherein...
the transmission direction synchronization is that a transmission direction of a synchronization resource on the first carrier is used as a transmission direction of a target synchronization resource on the another carrier, wherein the target synchronization resource is a synchronization resource that is on the another carrier and that is aligned with the synchronization resource on the first carrier.
RYU does not specifically teach the timing synchronization is that a synchronization reference source corresponding to a first carrier is used as a synchronization reference of another carrier.
VARGAS teaches the timing synchronization is that a synchronization reference source corresponding to a first carrier is used as a synchronization reference of another carrier (in general, see fig. 7A and 7B along with their paragraphs 111-115, in particular, see at least para. 111 and 114, “...as shown in FIG. 7B, the sidelink devices may synchronize the timing by aligning respective slot boundaries between the first plurality of slots and the second plurality of slots to accommodate the timing offset...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate VARGAS into the method of RYU to improve the vehicle driving experience, increase vehicle safety, and support autonomous vehicles.
Regarding claim 15, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 14.
RYU does not specifically teach
[(i)] wherein the timing synchronization comprises at least one of the following:
frame boundary alignment,
subframe boundary alignment,
slot boundary alignment,
symbol boundary alignment,
and
second or millisecond or microsecond alignment;
or,
[(ii)] wherein the another carrier is any one of the following: all carriers used for CA transmission, a carrier actually used for CA transmission, a carrier configured with a synchronization resource, a carrier in a first set, and a carrier in a second set.
VARGAS teaches
[(i)] wherein the timing synchronization comprises at least one of the following:
frame boundary alignment,
subframe boundary alignment,
slot boundary alignment (VARGAS, see at least para. 114, for one non-limiting example, “...as shown in FIG. 7B, the sidelink devices may synchronize the timing by aligning respective slot boundaries between the first plurality of slots and the second plurality of slots to accommodate the timing offset...”),
symbol boundary alignment,
and
second/millisecond/microsecond alignment;
or,
[(ii)] wherein the another carrier is any one of the following: all carriers used for CA transmission, a carrier actually used for CA transmission, a carrier configured with a synchronization resource, a carrier in a first set, and a carrier in a second set.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate VARGAS into the method of RYU to improve the vehicle driving experience, increase vehicle safety, and support autonomous vehicles.
Regarding claim 16, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 1.
RYU further teaches transmitting synchronization signals of the synchronization resources on the at least two carriers in any one of the following manners:
transmitting, by the UE, a synchronization signal only on a first carrier (RYU, see at least para. 107-108, for one non-limiting example, “...When a subcarrier spacing is fixed, subcarrier spacings of an NR S-SSB are identical regardless of a carrier frequency at which NR V2X communication is performed...”);
determining, by the UE according to values of interval information of the at least two carriers, whether to transmit synchronization signals on the respective carriers;
and
in a case that transmission exceeds a capability of the UE, autonomously determining, by the UE, a carrier on which a synchronization signal is to be transmitted.
Regarding claim 17, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 3.
RYU further teaches wherein the first carrier is determined by at least one of the following:
an SCS of a carrier,
a priority of a carrier,
a synchronization priority order of a carrier,
a synchronization reference of a carrier,
an SLSS identifier of a carrier,
a duplex pattern of a carrier,
the number of synchronization resources of a carrier,
the number of S-SSBs of a carrier,
a frequency of a carrier,
a frequency band/frequency range of a carrier,
an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN) of a carrier,
a global synchronization channel number (GSCN) of a carrier,
a coverage state corresponding to a carrier,
whether a base station or global navigation satellite system (GNSS) is detected on a carrier, and
an index of a carrier (RYU, see at least para. 119-121, for one non-limiting example, “...an n value may have an association relationship with a carrier frequency at which NR V2X communication is performed. More specifically, if NR V2X communication is performed at a frequency f1, it may imply that n=0...”);
Regarding claim 18, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 17.
RYU further teaches the method further satisfies at least one of:
[(i)] wherein the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with a maximum SCS, a carrier with a minimum SCS, and a carrier with a specific SCS (RYU, see at least para. 119-121 in view of para. 108, for one non-limiting example, “...an n value may have an association relationship with a carrier frequency at which NR V2X communication is performed. More specifically, if NR V2X communication is performed at a frequency f1, it may imply that n=0...”, note that “...n's may have integer values of 0, 1, 2, 3..., and for example, a subcarrier of 15 kHz may imply that n=0, and subcarriers of 30 kHz, 60 kHz, and 120 kHz may imply that n=1, n=2, and n=3, respectively...”);
or,
[(ii)] wherein the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with a highest priority during carrier selection, a carrier with a lowest priority during carrier selection, a carrier with a specific priority, a carrier with a highest priority during synchronization reference selection, and a carrier with a lowest priority during synchronization reference selection;
or
the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier whose synchronization priority order is a base station, and a carrier whose synchronization priority order is a GNSS; or,
wherein the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier whose synchronization reference is a base station, a carrier whose synchronization reference is a GNSS, and a carrier whose synchronization reference is synchronization reference user equipment;
or
the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with a minimum SLSS identifier and a carrier with a specific SLSS identifier;
or
the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier whose duplex pattern is TDD, a carrier for which a TDD configuration has been obtained, a carrier within an unpaired band, a carrier whose duplex pattern is frequency division duplex FDD, a carrier for which a TDD configuration is not obtained, and a carrier within a paired band;
or
the first carrier is a carrier with the specific number of synchronization resources;
or
the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with the minimum number of S-SSBs within one synchronization cycle, a carrier with the maximum number of S-SSBs within one synchronization cycle, and a carrier with the specific number of S-SSBs within one synchronization cycle.
Regarding claim 19, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 17.
RYU further teaches the method further satisfies at least one of:
[(i)] wherein the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with a lowest frequency, a carrier with a highest frequency, and a carrier with a specific frequency (RYU, see at least para. 119-121 in view of para. 108, for one non-limiting example, “...an n value may have an association relationship with a carrier frequency at which NR V2X communication is performed. More specifically, if NR V2X communication is performed at a frequency f1, it may imply that n=0, and if NR V2X communication is performed at a frequency f2, it may imply that n=1...”);
or
[(ii)] the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with a lowest frequency band or frequency range, a carrier with a highest frequency band or frequency range, a carrier with a minimum frequency band or frequency range, a carrier with a maximum frequency band or frequency range, and a carrier with a specific frequency band or frequency range; or,
wherein the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with a minimum ARFCN, a carrier with a maximum ARFCN, and a carrier with a specific ARFCN;
or
the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with a minimum GSCN, a carrier with a maximum GSCN, and a carrier with a specific GSCN;
or
the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier within in-coverage and a carrier outside in-coverage;
or
the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier on which a base station is detected and a carrier on which a GNSS is detected;
or
the first carrier is any one of the following: a carrier with a minimum index, a carrier with a maximum index, and a carrier with a specific index.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1 except this claim is in apparatus claim format.
To be more specific, RYU in view of VARGAS also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising processor and memory (RYU, see at least fig. 10), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RYU in view of VARGAS, and further in view of RYU et al. (US 2021/0392717 A1, hereinafter RYU_717).
Regarding claim 10, RYU in view of VARGAS teaches claim 2.
RYU further teaches wherein a relationship between the synchronization resources on the at least two carriers and a timing mechanism comprises at least one of the following:
the target time at least partially overlaps with a timing (RYU, see at least para. 109, “...information on a time resource of an NR S-SSB may include offset information notifying of a start point of transmission of an NR S-SSB, a cycle of transmission of an NR S-SSB, and the number of times of repetitive transmission of an NR S-SSB in the cycle...”);
the interval of the target time is an integer multiple of a DRX cycle, or a DRX cycle is an integer multiple of the interval of the target time;
a first time at least partially overlaps with the DRX active time;
an interval of the first time is an integer multiple of the DRX cycle, or the DRX cycle is an integer multiple of an interval of the first time;
a cycle of a synchronization resource is an integer multiple of the DRX cycle, or the DRX cycle is an integer multiple of a cycle of a synchronization resource;
the first time or the target time or the synchronization resource is located before the DRX active time;
the UE is allowed to transmit a synchronization signal on a synchronization resource in a DRX inactive time; and
the UE is not allowed to transmit a synchronization signal on the synchronization resource in the DRX inactive time, wherein
the first time is a time range in which the synchronization resources on the at least two carriers are located.
RYU in view of VARGAS does not specifically teach discontinuous reception (DRX) mechanism and DRX active time.
RYU_717 teaches discontinuous reception (DRX) mechanism and DRX active time (RYU_717, see at least para. 82, “...During the awake state of the sidelink DRX mode, the first UE may perform a sidelink beam failure recovery procedure to reestablish the first communications link between the first UE and the second UE. For example, in some cases, performing the sidelink beam failure recovery procedure may comprise transmitting one or more sidelink SSBs. In some cases, the first UE may transmit the one or more sidelink SSBs using multiple different transmission beams...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate RYU_717 into the method of RYU in view of VARGAS to reduce likelihood of interference between the DRX mode and the resources for beam failure detection reference signals.
Regarding claim 11, RYU in view of VARGAS and RYU_717 teaches claim 10.
RYU in view of VARGAS does not specifically teach wherein the method further satisfies at least one of:
[(i)] that the target time at least partially overlaps with a DRX active time comprises at least one of the following: a start point of the target time is the same as a start point of the DRX active time, an end point of the target time is the same as an end point of the DRX active time, a first overlapping length is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold, and a ratio of the first overlapping length to the target time/DRX active time/DRX cycle is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold, wherein the first overlapping length is an overlapping length between the target time and the DRX active time;
or
[(ii)] that a first time at least partially overlaps with the DRX active time comprises at least one of the following: a start point of the first time is the same as a start point of the DRX active time, an end point of the first time is the same as an end point of the DRX active time, a second overlapping length is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold, and a ratio of the second overlapping length to the first time/DRX active time/DRX cycle is greater than or equal to a fourth preset threshold, wherein the second overlapping length is an overlapping length between the first time and the DRX active time.
RYU_717 teaches wherein the method further satisfies at least one of:
[(i)] that the target time at least partially overlaps with a DRX active time comprises at least one of the following:
a start point of the target time is the same as a start point of the DRX active time, an end point of the target time is the same as an end point of the DRX active time (RYU_717, see at least para. 82, “...During the awake state of the sidelink DRX mode ... transmitting one or more sidelink SSBs. In some cases, the first UE may transmit the one or more sidelink SSBs using multiple different transmission beams...”).
a first overlapping length is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold,
and
a ratio of the first overlapping length to the target time/DRX active time/DRX cycle is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold, wherein the first overlapping length is an overlapping length between the target time and the DRX active time;
or
[(ii)] that a first time at least partially overlaps with the DRX active time comprises at least one of the following: a start point of the first time is the same as a start point of the DRX active time, an end point of the first time is the same as an end point of the DRX active time, a second overlapping length is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold, and a ratio of the second overlapping length to the first time/DRX active time/DRX cycle is greater than or equal to a fourth preset threshold, wherein the second overlapping length is an overlapping length between the first time and the DRX active time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate RYU_717 into the method of RYU in view of VARGAS to reduce likelihood of interference between the DRX mode and the resources for beam failure detection reference signals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1 and 20, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/YEE F LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465