DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1, 4-5
“Locking means”
Claim 6,
“deformable peripheral means”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The term “tighten the main body on the patient's bone or on an intermediate element attached to said bone” is directed to claiming human organisms; placeholders “configured to attach” or “adapted to attach” are suggested.
Claims 2-10 are rejected for the same reasons because they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “mainly” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “mainly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 2-19 are rejected for the same reasons because they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gargac et al (Pub. No.: US 2019/0298537) in view of Cardon et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0161169).
Regarding claims 1, 10, Gargac et al disclose a prosthesis joint implant comprising:
a main body (glenosphere 116, fig 4) made mainly of ceramic and comprising a joint outer surface (articular surface 244) made of ceramic, of concave or convex shape [see fig 4, 0059];
at least one tightening screw (locking screw 256) configured to tighten the main body on the patient's bone or on an intermediate element attached to said bone [see fig 4, 0060];
at least one added ring (threaded member 264, fig 4) in the main body (glenosphere 116, fig 4) and forming with it a chamber (internal cavity 292, fig 4) trapping the head of the tightening screw and comprising a bearing surface forming a stop (compression washer 260, fig 4) for said head of the tightening screw (256) [see fig 4, 0060];
the added ring being configured to be in contact with the tightening screw during said tightening [see fig 4] by disclosing threaded member 264 comprises internal and external surfaces which engage screw 256 [see fig 4, 0060];
the added ring comprising a central hole crossed by the tightening screw (by disclosing screw 256 mates with internal threads 284 of threaded member 264 which comprises a hole [see fig 4, 0060];
the added ring (264) being configured to homogeneously distribute in the main body the mechanical stresses caused by tightening the tightening screw [see fig 4, 0063, 0066],
the added ring comprising a first member forming the outer surface of the added ring and comprising means for clipping [see 0055] to the main body and a second member acting as a spacer between the first member and the tightening screw [see 0058];
said second member being assembled in the first member, forming said bearing surface and defining the central hole [see fig 3, 0060-0063];
the first member and the second member being two members separate from each other and comprising locking means configured to prevent them from separating from each other after assembly [see 0059].
Gargac et al don’t disclose main body made mainly of ceramic.
Nonetheless, Cardon et al disclose main body made mainly of ceramic
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Gargac et al and Cardon et al by using ceramic; Ceramics offer numerous advantages, including high durability, heat resistance, corrosion resistance, and excellent insulation properties, making them ideal for various applications.
Regarding claim 2, Gargac et al disclose wherein the first member comprises a tapped portion and the second member comprises a corresponding threaded portion [see fig 4, 0060-0063]
the threaded portion and the tapped portion being configured so that the second member can be screwed to the first member, preferably, the second member being screwed to the first member in the direction opposite to that when tightening the tightening screw [see fig 4, 0060-0063].
Regarding claim 4, Gargac et al disclose wherein the locking means comprise a circular channel and a collar configured to engage in said channel the channel being formed on the first member or on the second member and the collar being respectively formed on the second member or the first member [see fig 4]
Regarding claim 5, Gargac et al disclose wherein the locking means comprise at least one clip and at least one hole configured to be crossed by the clip, the clip being formed on the first member or on the second member and the hole being respectively formed on the second member or the first member [see 0055, fig 4].
Regarding claim 6, Gargac et al disclose wherein the first member comprises elastically deformable peripheral means [see fig 4]
Regarding claim 7, Gargac et al disclose wherein the main body is a glenosphere, the tightening screw being configured to tighten the glenosphere onto a metaglene (basseplate) attached to the patient's glenoid [see 0084]
Regarding claim 9, Gargac et al disclose wherein the main body is a ceramic tibial plateau, a knee condyle, an anatomic glenoid [see 0065], a hip acetabulum or a ceramic cup.
Claim(s) 3, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gargac et al (Pub. No.: US 2019/0298537) in view of Cardon et al (Pub. No.: US 2018/0161169) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Iannotti et al (Pub. No.: US 2013/0150975).
Regarding claim 3, Gargac et al don’t disclose wherein the tapped portion and the threaded portion have a left-hand pitch or a right-hand pitch, preferably of between 0.5 mm and 2 mm, the threaded portion preferably being a metric thread, a buttress thread or a square thread.
Nonetheless, Iannotti et al disclose between 0.5 mm and 2 mm [see 0225].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Gargac et al and Cardon et al by using 0.5 mm and 2 mm; to promote compactness.
Regarding claim 8, Gargac et al and Cardon et al don’t disclose wherein the diameter of the glenosphere is between 30 and 46 mm.
Nonetheless, Iannotti et al disclose wherein the diameter of the glenosphere is between 30 and 46 mm [see 0225].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Gargac et al and Cardon et al by between 30 and 46 mm; to provide desired size of implants.
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798