Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Claims 1-9 have been previously cancelled. Claim 13 has been cancelled. Claims 10-12 and 14-19 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Presented arguments have been fully considered, but are rendered moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendment(s) initiated by the applicant(s).
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the detection processing” should be “the object detection processing” [Line 11]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the detection processing” should be “the object detection processing” [Line 8]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the detection processing” should be “the object detection processing” [Line 9]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the detection processing” should be “the object detection processing” [Line 16]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the detection processing” should be “the object detection processing” [Line 14]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the detection processing” should be “the object detection processing” [Line 14]. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tojo et al. (Hereafter, “Tojo”) [US 2017/0236010 A1] in view of Ratner [US 2018/0295375 A1] in further view of ZHAO et al. (Hereafter, “Zhao”) [US 2019/0327463 A1].
In regards to claim 10, Tojo discloses a video distribution apparatus [Fig. 10] comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors executing the instructions: to execute object detection processing with respect to a video indicated by video data ([0055] The object detection unit 103 sets plural initial frame images as backgrounds and then obtains differences between the initial frame images and a current frame image, thereby detecting an object.); to encode data of a corresponding frame of the video ([Fig. 10] video compression encoding unit 102); to add metadata related to an object detected by the object detection processing to the encoded data of the corresponding frame ([0052] Next, in a step S204, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data, obtained as the result of the process by the event detection unit 104, to the frame image subjected to the compression encoding process, and transmits the obtained frame image to the network. For example, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data to a header area of the frame image, and then transmits the obtained frame image.); to transmit the encoded data of the corresponding frame with metadata ([0052] Next, in a step S204, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data, obtained as the result of the process by the event detection unit 104, to the frame image subjected to the compression encoding process, and transmits the obtained frame image to the network.) ([0051] Next, in a step S203, the event detection unit 104 detects the phenomenon (event) such as intrusion, misplacement, carrying-away or the like, by analyzing the object information obtained as the result of the detection by the object detection unit 103, and then outputs the detected result as the meta data.); and after transmitting the encoded data of the corresponding frame with the metadata indicating the disappearance of the object, to transmit, with the metadata indicating the disappearance of the object, encoded data of a frame that follows the corresponding frame and satisfies a predetermined condition ([0052] Next, in a step S204, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data, obtained as the result of the process by the event detection unit 104, to the frame image subjected to the compression encoding process, and transmits the obtained frame image to the network. For example, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data to a header area of the frame image, and then transmits the obtained frame image. [0118] As above, the misplacement is exemplarily described. However, for example, in the case where carrying-away occurs, the event occurrence time point determination unit 114 may detect as the event the time point when the object is “carried away”, and add the detected event to the meta data. Incidentally, in the object detection unit 103, the object is detected based on a difference between the object and the background image. For this reason, also in the case where the previously existed object is carried away (disappeared), the relevant object is detected as the carried away (disappeared) object. Therefore, even in the case of “carrying-away”, it is possible to perform the above-described processes as well as the case of “misplacement”. [0142] In the first to third embodiments, as described with reference to FIG. 8, if the event is the event of the detection-delayed type such as the misplacement detection, the PC 110 displays the frame image at the time of the occurrence of the misplacement (steps S608, S610). However, the PC 110 may display not only one frame image at the time of the occurrence of the misplacement but also sequentially plural frame images included in a predetermined interval between a time immediately before the occurrence of the misplacement and a time immediately after the occurrence of the misplacement. By doing so, the user can further confirm in detail the aspect at the time when the misplacement occurred. Incidentally, the interval may be determined by either a method of always using a fixed time (for example, one second before and two second after the time point of occurrence) as the interval or a method of using a fixed time determined according to the classification of event (for example, one second before and two second after the occurrence of the misplacement, three seconds after the occurrence of the carrying-away, or the like).).
Ratner discloses after transmitting the encoded data of the corresponding frame with the metadata indicating the disappearance of the object, to transmit, with the metadata indicating the disappearance of the object, encoded data of a frame that follows the corresponding frame and satisfies a predetermined condition ([0600] According to embodiments, metadata (e.g., object information, segmentation information, etc.) may be leveraged to dynamically configure group-of-picture (GOP) structure during encoding. In embodiments, methods of dynamically configuring GOP structure may include specifying a maximum I-frame interval, and selecting I-frame positions in locations (sequential positions within the GOP structure) calculated to result in increased quality. In embodiments, for example, I-frame positions may be selected to maximize (or optimize) video quality (e.g., as measured by a quality metric). In embodiments, the I-frame positions may be selected based on object information. Similarly, P- and/or B-frame positions may be selected based on object information to maximize or optimize quality. In embodiments, a conventional dynamic GOP structure configuring algorithm may be modified to be biased toward favoring certain structures based on various metadata. [0601] For example, in embodiments, I-frames may be favored for placement in locations associated with the appearance or disappearance of an object or objects. In embodiments, P- and B-frames may be favored for placement in locations associated with other material changes that are less significant than the appearance and/or disappearance of an object. For example, P frames might be placed just before a sudden movement of an object within a scene occurs. Embodiments include utilizing machine-learning techniques that may be configured to enhance the GOP structure configuration process. For example, in embodiments, objects and their movements may be treated as feature inputs to a classifier that learns to make GOP structure configuration decisions that improve the video quality and encoding efficiency over time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tojo with the metadata for appearance and/or disappearance of an object to favor placement in I-frames as taught by Ratner in order to maximize (or optimize) video quality [See Ratner].
Zhao discloses a video distribution apparatus [Fig. 1] comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors executing the instructions: ([0023] The transmitter 102 can be configured to encode (e.g., compress) image frames 106, such as video frames and still image frames.); to add metadata ([0050] Still referring to FIG. 1, the packaging module 116 of the transmitter 102 can be configured to package the encoded data from the encoder 114 for transmission to the receiver 104. For example, the packaging module 116 can be configured to package the encoded data into one or more packets. Each packets may comprise at least a portion of the encoded data that is encapsulated by metadata about the encoded data such as a header portion (affixed before the encoded data) or a tail portion (appended to the end of the encoded data). [0054] Examples of the metadata can include frame identifier, frame type (e.g., I-frame, short-term-P-frame, long-term-P-frame), reference frame offset, timestamp, frame rate, data rate, resolution, and the like.); to transmit the encoded data of the corresponding frame ([0023] The transmitter 102 can transmit the resulting encoded data 108 to the receiver 104.) with metadata ([0050] Each packets may comprise at least a portion of the encoded data that is encapsulated by metadata about the encoded data such as a header portion (affixed before the encoded data) or a tail portion (appended to the end of the encoded data).) at a constant interval ([0060-0061] the transmitter transmits the packages at a certain interval, wherein the interval can be an automatic process); in a case when ([0021] For example, the feedback information may indicate that a received frame cannot be decoded successfully (e.g., due to transmission error or decoder malfunction). For example, the feedback information may also include an identifier (e.g., a unique sequence number) of a frame that has been previously received and/or successfully decoded by the receiver. Depending on the feedback information, the transmitter can choose a suitable way to encode a current frame. For example, when the feedback information indicates an error, the transmitter can choose a suitable error recovery mechanism based on the feedback information and/or the current state at the transmitter. For example, the transmitter may determine whether to encode the current frame under an intraframe coding mode or an interframe coding mode. [0120] At block 604, an error feedback message is generated to request I-frame. [0073] Optionally, in some embodiments, the encoded data may be packaged with additional metadata information (e.g., header and/or tail information) prior to being transmitted to the receiver 204. Such metadata information may facilitate efficient verification and/or decoding at the receiver 204. In some other embodiments, the encoded data may not be associated with additional metadata information.) ([0023] The transmitter 102 can transmit the resulting encoded data 108 to the receiver 104. [0050] Each packets may comprise at least a portion of the encoded data that is encapsulated by metadata about the encoded data such as a header portion (affixed before the encoded data) or a tail portion (appended to the end of the encoded data).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tojo and Ratner with the transmission of the encoded data at automatic intervals, the detection of a transmission error, the generation of an error feedback message requesting an I-frame, and the packaging of the frame with additional metadata before transmission of the frame as taught by Zhao in order to improve the reliability and efficiency of data transmission [See Zhao].
In regards to claim 11, the limitations of claim 10 have been addressed. Tojo discloses wherein the metadata includes information indicating a position of a rectangular region surrounding the object and a label ([0068] Here, it should be noted that the object information includes coordinates (x1, y1) of the upper left point of a circumscribed rectangle of the object, coordinates (x2, y2) of the lower right point of the circumscribed rectangle, a square measure of the object, an existing time of the object, and an activity ratio of the object. [0084] Furthermore, the object meta data includes an event ID which is the information of the event to which the object is relevant, coordinates of the circumscribed rectangle of the object, the existing time, and the like.).
In regards to claim 12, the limitations of claim 10 have been addressed. Tojo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to perform encoding processing in units of a Group Of Picture (GOP) that comprises at least one I frame and a plurality of P frames, and the frame that follows the corresponding frame and satisfies the predetermined condition is a first I frame that follows a frame in which the object has disappeared.
Ratner discloses wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to perform encoding processing in units of a Group Of Picture (GOP) that comprises at least one I frame and a plurality of P frames, and the frame that follows the corresponding frame and satisfies the predetermined condition is a first I frame that follows a frame in which the object has disappeared ([0600] According to embodiments, metadata (e.g., object information, segmentation information, etc.) may be leveraged to dynamically configure group-of-picture (GOP) structure during encoding. In embodiments, methods of dynamically configuring GOP structure may include specifying a maximum I-frame interval, and selecting I-frame positions in locations (sequential positions within the GOP structure) calculated to result in increased quality. In embodiments, for example, I-frame positions may be selected to maximize (or optimize) video quality (e.g., as measured by a quality metric). In embodiments, the I-frame positions may be selected based on object information. Similarly, P- and/or B-frame positions may be selected based on object information to maximize or optimize quality. In embodiments, a conventional dynamic GOP structure configuring algorithm may be modified to be biased toward favoring certain structures based on various metadata. [0601] For example, in embodiments, I-frames may be favored for placement in locations associated with the appearance or disappearance of an object or objects. In embodiments, P- and B-frames may be favored for placement in locations associated with other material changes that are less significant than the appearance and/or disappearance of an object. For example, P frames might be placed just before a sudden movement of an object within a scene occurs. Embodiments include utilizing machine-learning techniques that may be configured to enhance the GOP structure configuration process. For example, in embodiments, objects and their movements may be treated as feature inputs to a classifier that learns to make GOP structure configuration decisions that improve the video quality and encoding efficiency over time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tojo with the metadata for appearance and/or disappearance of an object to favor placement in I-frames as taught by Ratner in order to maximize (or optimize) video quality [See Ratner].
In regards to claim 14, the limitations of claim 10 have been addressed. Tojo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the corresponding frame is I frame, and the frame that follows the corresponding frame is a next I frame after the corresponding frame.
Ratner discloses wherein the corresponding frame is I frame, and the frame that follows the corresponding frame is a next I frame after the corresponding frame ([0600] According to embodiments, metadata (e.g., object information, segmentation information, etc.) may be leveraged to dynamically configure group-of-picture (GOP) structure during encoding. In embodiments, methods of dynamically configuring GOP structure may include specifying a maximum I-frame interval, and selecting I-frame positions in locations (sequential positions within the GOP structure) calculated to result in increased quality. In embodiments, for example, I-frame positions may be selected to maximize (or optimize) video quality (e.g., as measured by a quality metric). In embodiments, the I-frame positions may be selected based on object information. Similarly, P- and/or B-frame positions may be selected based on object information to maximize or optimize quality. In embodiments, a conventional dynamic GOP structure configuring algorithm may be modified to be biased toward favoring certain structures based on various metadata. [0601] For example, in embodiments, I-frames may be favored for placement in locations associated with the appearance or disappearance of an object or objects. In embodiments, P- and B-frames may be favored for placement in locations associated with other material changes that are less significant than the appearance and/or disappearance of an object. For example, P frames might be placed just before a sudden movement of an object within a scene occurs. Embodiments include utilizing machine-learning techniques that may be configured to enhance the GOP structure configuration process. For example, in embodiments, objects and their movements may be treated as feature inputs to a classifier that learns to make GOP structure configuration decisions that improve the video quality and encoding efficiency over time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tojo with the metadata for appearance and/or disappearance of an object to favor placement in I-frames as taught by Ratner in order to maximize (or optimize) video quality [See Ratner].
Claim 15 lists all the same elements of claim 10, but in method form rather than apparatus form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 10 applies equally as well to claim 15.
Claim 16 lists all the same elements of claim 10, but in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 10 applies equally as well to claim 16.
In regards to claim 17, Tojo discloses a video reception apparatus ([0042] The PC 110 includes, as its functional constitution, a video reception unit 111, a video recording unit 112, a video accumulation unit 113, an event occurrence time point determination unit 114, and a display unit 115.) comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors executing the instructions: to receive encoded video data of the corresponding frame with metadata from a video distribution apparatus ([0043] The video reception unit 111 receives the packet data of the frame image, through the network interface 808 on the PC 110. [0035] In the image processing system as illustrated in FIG. 2, the camera 100 and the PC 110 can communicate with each other through a network.) ([0100] In the step S608, the event occurrence time point determination unit 114 reads, from the video accumulation unit 113, the frame image at the hour (frame number) obtained by subtracting the existing time (the number of frames) from the current hour (current frame number). Thus, the read frame image is the frame image at the time when the event occurs. If the event is the misplacement, the read frame image is the frame image at the time when the misplacement occurs. On the other hand, as in the intrusion, if timing of the occurrence of the event corresponds to timing of the detection of the event, in the step S609, the event occurrence time point determination unit 114 obtains the frame image of the current hour (current frame number) from the video accumulation unit 113. [0101] Next, in a step S610, the display unit 115 displays, on the display 807 or the like, a window which includes the frame image at the time when the event occurs.), wherein the video distribution apparatus [Fig. 10]: executes object detection processing with respect to a video indicated by the video data ([0055] The object detection unit 103 sets plural initial frame images as backgrounds and then obtains differences between the initial frame images and a current frame image, thereby detecting an object.); encodes data of a corresponding frame of the video ([Fig. 10] video compression encoding unit 102); adds metadata related to an object detected by the object detection processing to the encoded data of the corresponding frame ([0052] Next, in a step S204, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data, obtained as the result of the process by the event detection unit 104, to the frame image subjected to the compression encoding process, and transmits the obtained frame image to the network. For example, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data to a header area of the frame image, and then transmits the obtained frame image.); in a case when a result of the detection processing indicates a disappearance of the object ([0051] Next, in a step S203, the event detection unit 104 detects the phenomenon (event) such as intrusion, misplacement, carrying-away or the like, by analyzing the object information obtained as the result of the detection by the object detection unit 103, and then outputs the detected result as the meta data.); and after transmitting the encoded data of the corresponding frame with the metadata indicating the disappearance of the object, and transmits, with the metadata indicating the disappearance of the object, encoded data of a frame that follows the corresponding frame and satisfies a predetermined condition ([0052] Next, in a step S204, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data, obtained as the result of the process by the event detection unit 104, to the frame image subjected to the compression encoding process, and transmits the obtained frame image to the network. For example, the video transmission unit 105 adds the meta data to a header area of the frame image, and then transmits the obtained frame image. [0118] As above, the misplacement is exemplarily described. However, for example, in the case where carrying-away occurs, the event occurrence time point determination unit 114 may detect as the event the time point when the object is “carried away”, and add the detected event to the meta data. Incidentally, in the object detection unit 103, the object is detected based on a difference between the object and the background image. For this reason, also in the case where the previously existed object is carried away (disappeared), the relevant object is detected as the carried away (disappeared) object. Therefore, even in the case of “carrying-away”, it is possible to perform the above-described processes as well as the case of “misplacement”. [0142] In the first to third embodiments, as described with reference to FIG. 8, if the event is the event of the detection-delayed type such as the misplacement detection, the PC 110 displays the frame image at the time of the occurrence of the misplacement (steps S608, S610). However, the PC 110 may display not only one frame image at the time of the occurrence of the misplacement but also sequentially plural frame images included in a predetermined interval between a time immediately before the occurrence of the misplacement and a time immediately after the occurrence of the misplacement. By doing so, the user can further confirm in detail the aspect at the time when the misplacement occurred. Incidentally, the interval may be determined by either a method of always using a fixed time (for example, one second before and two second after the time point of occurrence) as the interval or a method of using a fixed time determined according to the classification of event (for example, one second before and two second after the occurrence of the misplacement, three seconds after the occurrence of the carrying-away, or the like).).
Ratner discloses after transmitting the encoded data of the corresponding frame with the metadata indicating the disappearance of the object, and transmits, with the metadata indicating the disappearance of the object, encoded data of a frame that follows the corresponding frame and satisfies a predetermined condition ([0600] According to embodiments, metadata (e.g., object information, segmentation information, etc.) may be leveraged to dynamically configure group-of-picture (GOP) structure during encoding. In embodiments, methods of dynamically configuring GOP structure may include specifying a maximum I-frame interval, and selecting I-frame positions in locations (sequential positions within the GOP structure) calculated to result in increased quality. In embodiments, for example, I-frame positions may be selected to maximize (or optimize) video quality (e.g., as measured by a quality metric). In embodiments, the I-frame positions may be selected based on object information. Similarly, P- and/or B-frame positions may be selected based on object information to maximize or optimize quality. In embodiments, a conventional dynamic GOP structure configuring algorithm may be modified to be biased toward favoring certain structures based on various metadata. [0601] For example, in embodiments, I-frames may be favored for placement in locations associated with the appearance or disappearance of an object or objects. In embodiments, P- and B-frames may be favored for placement in locations associated with other material changes that are less significant than the appearance and/or disappearance of an object. For example, P frames might be placed just before a sudden movement of an object within a scene occurs. Embodiments include utilizing machine-learning techniques that may be configured to enhance the GOP structure configuration process. For example, in embodiments, objects and their movements may be treated as feature inputs to a classifier that learns to make GOP structure configuration decisions that improve the video quality and encoding efficiency over time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tojo with the metadata for appearance and/or disappearance of an object to favor placement in I-frames as taught by Ratner in order to maximize (or optimize) video quality [See Ratner].
Zhao discloses a video reception apparatus [Fig. 1] comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors executing the instructions: to receive encoded video data of the corresponding frame with metadata from a video distribution apparatus at a constant interval ([0023] The receiver 104 receives the transmitted encoded data from the transmitter 102. [0050] Still referring to FIG. 1, the packaging module 116 of the transmitter 102 can be configured to package the encoded data from the encoder 114 for transmission to the receiver 104. For example, the packaging module 116 can be configured to package the encoded data into one or more packets. Each packets may comprise at least a portion of the encoded data that is encapsulated by metadata about the encoded data such as a header portion (affixed before the encoded data) or a tail portion (appended to the end of the encoded data). [0054] Examples of the metadata can include frame identifier, frame type (e.g., I-frame, short-term-P-frame, long-term-P-frame), reference frame offset, timestamp, frame rate, data rate, resolution, and the like. [0060-0061] the transmitter transmits the packages to the receiver at a certain interval, wherein the interval can be an automatic process); to decode the encoded video data ([0023] The receiver 104 can be configured to decode (e.g., decompress) the encoded data 108 to generate reconstructed frames 124, for example, for playback or display purposes. The receiver 104 can also be configured to generate feedback information 122 based on the receiving status at the receiver 104, for example, with respect to the encoded data 108 and to transmit the feedback information 122 to the transmitter 102.); and in a case when there is a communication path error in a current frame of the encoded video data, to discard data preceding a frame that follows the current frame and satisfies a predetermined condition ([0021] The feedback information can indicate a status with respect to data transmission at the receiver. For example, the feedback information may indicate that a received frame cannot be decoded successfully (e.g., due to transmission error or decoder malfunction).), wherein the video distribution apparatus [Fig. 1]: ([0023] The transmitter 102 can be configured to encode (e.g., compress) image frames 106, such as video frames and still image frames.); adds metadata ([0050] Still referring to FIG. 1, the packaging module 116 of the transmitter 102 can be configured to package the encoded data from the encoder 114 for transmission to the receiver 104. For example, the packaging module 116 can be configured to package the encoded data into one or more packets. Each packets may comprise at least a portion of the encoded data that is encapsulated by metadata about the encoded data such as a header portion (affixed before the encoded data) or a tail portion (appended to the end of the encoded data). [0054] Examples of the metadata can include frame identifier, frame type (e.g., I-frame, short-term-P-frame, long-term-P-frame), reference frame offset, timestamp, frame rate, data rate, resolution, and the like.); in a case when ([0021] For example, the feedback information may indicate that a received frame cannot be decoded successfully (e.g., due to transmission error or decoder malfunction). For example, the feedback information may also include an identifier (e.g., a unique sequence number) of a frame that has been previously received and/or successfully decoded by the receiver. Depending on the feedback information, the transmitter can choose a suitable way to encode a current frame. For example, when the feedback information indicates an error, the transmitter can choose a suitable error recovery mechanism based on the feedback information and/or the current state at the transmitter. For example, the transmitter may determine whether to encode the current frame under an intraframe coding mode or an interframe coding mode. [0120] At block 604, an error feedback message is generated to request I-frame. [0073] Optionally, in some embodiments, the encoded data may be packaged with additional metadata information (e.g., header and/or tail information) prior to being transmitted to the receiver 204. Such metadata information may facilitate efficient verification and/or decoding at the receiver 204. In some other embodiments, the encoded data may not be associated with additional metadata information.) ([0023] The transmitter 102 can transmit the resulting encoded data 108 to the receiver 104. [0050] Each packets may comprise at least a portion of the encoded data that is encapsulated by metadata about the encoded data such as a header portion (affixed before the encoded data) or a tail portion (appended to the end of the encoded data).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tojo and Ratner with the transmission of the encoded data at automatic intervals, the detection of a transmission error, the generation of an error feedback message requesting an I-frame, and the packaging of the frame with additional metadata before transmission of the frame as taught by Zhao in order to improve the reliability and efficiency of data transmission [See Zhao].
Claim 18 lists all the same elements of claim 17, but in method form rather than apparatus form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 17 applies equally as well to claim 18.
Claim 19 lists all the same elements of claim 18, but in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 18 applies equally as well to claim 19.
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482