DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 and 16 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Bai discloses that the base station and the UE in combination select a learning algorithm. By comparison, claim 1 recites an apparatus that, amongst other features "receive from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device, and determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device." Bai does not disclose, teach or suggest such features as recited in claim 1, [Remarks, pages 7-9].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Bai discloses receive from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device [fig. 4, 5, 15, 16, paragraphs 0135, 0139, 0204, receive from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device (the UE 115-b may transmit control information, via signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, UCI signaling), that may include an indication of the value of the channel quality parameter to the base station 105-b)]; determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device [paragraphs 0121, 0132, 0134, 0135, 0139, 0140, determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device (prediction algorithm 405 may predict a future value of a channel quality parameter based in part on one or more measurements 410; predict a future value of a channel quality parameter)].
Regarding receive from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device and determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device, Bai discloses in Figure 4, 5, and paragraphs 0112, 0134, 0135, 0139, and 0140
Figure 4 illustrates using channel state information prediction
Figure 5 illustrates determine a value of a channel quality parameter of a wireless link and wherein the base station 105-b may determine the future value of the channel quality parameter based in part on the received value of the channel quality parameter.
[0112] In other examples, the learning algorithm may use one or more filters, for example, such as a Kalman filter, which may use a linear combination of past measurements (e.g., a past value of a channel quality parameter) to determine a future measurement (e.g., a future value of the channel quality parameter). The examples of learning algorithms described herein are a non-exhaustive list, and other learning algorithms may be supported by the base station 105-a and the UE 115-a. In some examples, the selection and usage of a learning algorithm may be defined (e.g., by a network operator) per base station or per UE. The base station 105-a and the UE 115-a may, in some examples, select and use a same or different learning algorithm to determine (e.g., predict) a future value of a channel quality parameter of a communication link (e.g., of an active beam pair) between the base station 105-a and the UE 115-a.
[0134] The proactive beam management scheme 400 may include a prediction algorithm 405, which may be a deep learning algorithm, for example, such as a deep neural network algorithm (e.g., unsupervised pre-trained neural networks, convolutional neural networks, recurrent neural networks, recursive neural networks, or the like). In some examples, the prediction algorithm 405 may be trained, and even after being trained the prediction algorithm 405 may continue learning based on actual deployment circumstances. In other examples, the prediction algorithm 405 may use one or more filters, for example, such as a Kalman filter, which may use a linear combination of past measurements (e.g., past channel quality measurements) to determine a future measurement (e.g., a future value of a channel quality parameter). The examples of prediction algorithms described herein are a non-exhaustive list, and other prediction algorithms may be supported by the base station 105 and the UE 115. In some examples, the selection and usage of the prediction algorithm 405 may be defined (e.g., by a network operator) per base station or per UE. The base station 105 and the UE 115 may, in some examples, select and use a same or different prediction algorithm to determine (e.g., predict) a future quality of a communication link (e.g., of an active beam pair).
[0135] The prediction algorithm 405 may predict a future value of a channel quality parameter based in part on one or more measurements 410 or side information 415, or both. The one or more measurements 410 may include a value of a channel quality parameter (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SNR, SINR) measured by a base station 105 or a UE 115, or both. The side information may include UE mobility information, a doppler spread, previous beam switching events, or the like. Thus, the prediction algorithm 405 may output one or more predicted values 420 (e.g., a future value), such as a future value of a channel quality parameter.
[0139] At 515, the UE 115-b may transmit control information, via signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, UCI signaling), that may include an indication of the value of the channel quality parameter to the base station 105-b. In some examples, the UE 115-b may additionally or separately (e.g., subsequently) transmit the side information to the base station 105-b.
[0140] At 520, the base station 105-b may determine a future value of the channel quality parameter. For example, the base station 105-b may determine the future value of the channel quality parameter based in part on the received value of the channel quality parameter and the received side information. In some examples, the base station 105-b may determine the future value of the channel quality parameter from the received value using a linear filter based in part on the received side information.
In other words, Bai discloses select and use a same or different prediction algorithm to determine (e.g., predict) a future quality of a communication link (e.g., of an active beam pair) based in part on one or more measurements 410 or side information 415 received from a UE.
Therefore, given that Bai discloses receive from a UE capabilities of the UE (control information, that may include an indication of the value of the channel quality parameter) and determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the UE (base station 105-b may determine the future value of the channel quality parameter based in part on the received value of the channel quality parameter; select and use a same or different learning algorithm to determine/predict a future value), then Bai clearly discloses receive from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device and determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device.
Regarding the rejection of claims 7 and 10, claims 7 and 10 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 7 and 10, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-6, 8-9, 11, and 12, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bai et al., (hereinafter Bai), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0259545.
As per claim 1, Bai discloses an apparatus in a communication system [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0064, 0081, 0103, an apparatus in a communication system (wireless communications system 100 includes base stations 105, UEs 115)], comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor [fig. 14, paragraphs 0195, 0199, at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor (device 1405 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including a memory 1430, a processor 1440)], cause the apparatus to:
receive from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device [fig. 4, 5, 15, 16, paragraphs 0135, 0139, 0204, receive from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device (the UE 115-b may transmit control information, via signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, UCI signaling), that may include an indication of the value of the channel quality parameter to the base station 105-b)];
determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device [paragraphs 0121, 0132, 0134, 0135, 0139, 0140, determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device (prediction algorithm 405 may predict a future value of a channel quality parameter based in part on one or more measurements 410; predict a future value of a channel quality parameter)];
determine and transmit to the terminal device length of a given time period for collecting channel state information, based on at least partly on the determined channel predictor [paragraphs 0108, 0115, 0120, 0125, 0130, determine and transmit to the terminal device length of a given time period for collecting channel state information, based on at least partly on the determined channel predictor (a measured and/or predicted RSRP associated with one or more reference signals over a time period (e.g., slots, TTIs); time stamp may identify a timing of the measurements performed to determine the one or more values of the channel quality parameter)];
transmit reference information to the terminal device for the duration of the given time period [paragraphs 0116, 0121, 0125, 0145, transmit reference information to the terminal device for the duration of the given time period (base station 105-a may use the report (e.g., channel state information feedback) associated with the downlink reference signals and channel measurements based in part on the one or more uplink reference signals to determine a future value of a channel quality parameter)];
receive, as a response to the reference information transmission, channel state information from the terminal device [paragraphs 0113, 0145, receive, as a response to the reference information transmission, channel state information from the terminal device (the UE 115-c may measure the one or more reference signals and determine an actual value of the channel quality parameter)];
determine, with training the channel predictor, a channel predictor function to be used in the communication between the apparatus and the terminal device at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device and the received channel state information [paragraphs 0062, 0111, 0112, 0116, 0130, 0134, determine, with training the channel predictor, a channel predictor function to be used in the communication between the apparatus and the terminal device at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device and the received channel state information (select and use a same or different learning algorithm to determine (e.g., predict) a future value of a channel quality parameter of a communication link (e.g., of an active beam pair) between the base station 105-a and the UE 115; the base station 105-a may apply the reported channel measurements received from the UE 115-a to a learning algorithm, as well as the channel measurements the base station 105-a measured from the one or more uplink reference signals to determine a future value of a channel quality parameter of the communication link)];
transmit information on the channel predictor function to the terminal device [fig. 4, paragraphs 0110, 0122, 0129, 0130, transmit information on the channel predictor function to the terminal device (base station 105-a may determine (e.g., predict, forecast, estimate) a future value of a channel quality parameter)];
calculate a predicted state of the channel utilising the channel predictor function known with the terminal device [fig. 5, 19, paragraphs 0112, 0118, 0130, 0134, calculate a predicted state of the channel utilising the channel predictor function known with the terminal device (predicted information, as listed herein, may be determined by the UE 115-a also a using a learning algorithm; base station 105 and the UE 115 may, select and use a same or different prediction algorithm to determine (e.g., predict) a future quality of a communication link)];
transmit payload data to the terminal device, the data transmission comprising reference information [fig. 5, 6, 19, paragraphs 0113, 0116, 0145, transmit payload data to the terminal device, the data transmission comprising reference information (base station 105-c may transmit one or more reference signals)]; and
receive update information to the predicted state of the channel from the terminal device, where the update information is the variation between the channel predicted at the terminal device and the measured channel [fig. 5, 6, 19, paragraphs 0122, 0123, 0145, 0162, receive update information to the predicted state of the channel from the terminal device, where the update information is the variation between the channel predicted at the terminal device and the measured channel (the channel quality component 910 may determine, based on the comparing, that a difference between the indicated future value)].
As per claim 2, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to:
calculate the predicted state of channel utilising a Kalman filter [fig. 4, paragraphs 0112, 0134, calculate the predicted state of channel utilising a Kalman filter (prediction algorithm 405 may use one or more filters, for example, such as a Kalman filter, which may use a linear combination of past measurements (e.g., past channel quality measurements) to determine a future measurement)].
As per claim 3, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to:
calculate the predicted state of channel utilising a recurrent neural network [paragraphs 0111, 0130, 0134, calculate the predicted state of channel utilising a recurrent neural network (learning algorithm may be a deep neural network (e.g., a recurrent neural networks, recursive neural networks))].
As per claim 4, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to:
update the predicted state of the channel when a threshold is surpassed [paragraphs 0145, 0162, update the predicted state of the channel when a threshold is surpassed (an updated value for the channel quality parameter based on the comparing, the channel quality component 910 may determine, based on the comparing, that a difference between the indicated future value and the value is greater than or equal to a threshold value)].
As per claim 5, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to:
determine the predicted state of channel is correct if no updates are received from the terminal device [paragraphs 0114, 0122, 0145, 0167, determine the predicted state of channel is correct if no updates are received from the terminal device (refraining from transmitting, to the base station, a report identifying a result of the comparing based on determining that a difference between the indicated future value and the actual value may be less than or equal to a threshold value)].
As per claim 7, Bai discloses an apparatus in a communication system [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0064, 0081, 0103, an apparatus in a communication system (wireless communications system 100 includes base stations 105, UEs 115)], comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor [fig. 10, paragraphs 0169, 0175, at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor (processor 1040 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 1030) to cause the device 1005 to perform various functions)], cause the apparatus to:
transmit to a network element the capabilities of the apparatus [fig. 4, 5, 15, 16, paragraphs 0135, 0139, 0204, transmit to a network element the capabilities of the apparatus (e.g., RRC signaling, UCI signaling), that may include an indication of the value of the channel quality parameter to the base station 105-b)];
receive from the network element a channel predictor to be used, the predictor being at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device [paragraphs 0121, 0132, 0134, 0135, 0139, 0140, receive from the network element a channel predictor to be used, the predictor being at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device (prediction algorithm 405 may predict a future value of a channel quality parameter based in part on one or more measurements 410; predict a future value of a channel quality parameter)];
receive from the network element the length of a given time period for collecting channel state information, the time period being based on at least partly on the determined channel predictor [paragraphs 0108, 0115, 0120, 0125, 0130, receive from the network element the length of a given time period for collecting channel state information, the time period being based on at least partly on the determined channel predictor (a measured and/or predicted RSRP associated with one or more reference signals over a time period (e.g., slots, TTIs); time stamp may identify a timing of the measurements performed to determine the one or more values of the channel quality parameter)];
receive reference data from the network node [paragraphs 0116, 0121, 0125, 0145, receive reference data from the network node (base station 105-a may use the report (e.g., channel state information feedback) associated with the downlink reference signals and channel measurements based in part on the one or more uplink reference signals to determine a future value of a channel quality parameter)];
measure the state of the channel between the apparatus and the network node based on the reference data [paragraphs 0108, 0115, 0120, 0125, 0130, measure the state of the channel between the apparatus and the network node based on the reference data (a measured and/or predicted RSRP associated with one or more reference signals over a time period (e.g., slots, TTIs); time stamp may identify a timing of the measurements performed to determine the one or more values of the channel quality parameter)];
transmit, for a given time period, channel state information to the network node [paragraphs 0113, 0145, transmit, for a given time period, channel state information to the network node (the UE 115-c may measure the one or more reference signals and determine an actual value of the channel quality parameter)];
receive from the network node information on channel predictor function [paragraphs 0108, 0115, 0120, 0125, 0130, receive from the network node information on channel predictor function (a measured and/or predicted RSRP associated with one or more reference signals over a time period (e.g., slots, TTIs); time stamp may identify a timing of the measurements performed to determine the one or more values of the channel quality parameter)];
receive from the network node payload data, the data transmission comprising reference information [fig. 5, 6, 19, paragraphs 0113, 0116, 0145, receive from the network node payload data, the data transmission comprising reference information (base station 105-c may transmit one or more reference signals)];
calculate a predicted state of the channel utilising the channel predictor function known with the network node [fig. 5, 19, paragraphs 0112, 0118, 0130, 0134, calculate a predicted state of the channel utilising the channel predictor function known with the terminal device (predicted information, as listed herein, may be determined by the UE 115-a also a using a learning algorithm; base station 105 and the UE 115 may, select and use a same or different prediction algorithm to determine (e.g., predict) a future quality of a communication link)];
determine variation between the predicted state of channel and the measured state of channel; and transmit information on the variation to the network node as update information [fig. 5, 6, 19, paragraphs 0122, 0123, 0145, 0162, determine variation between the predicted state of channel and the measured state of channel; and transmit information on the variation to the network node as update information (the channel quality component 910 may determine, based on the comparing, that a difference between the indicated future value)].
As per claim 8, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to:
if the variation between the predicted state of channel and the measured state of channel is smaller than a given threshold, cease transmitting information on the difference to the network node [paragraphs 0020, 0145, 0167, 0220, if the variation between the predicted state of channel and the measured state of channel is smaller than a given threshold, cease transmitting information on the difference to the network node (refraining from transmitting, to the base station, a report identifying a result of the comparing based on determining that a difference between the indicated future value and the actual value may be less than or equal to a threshold value)].
As per claim 9, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to:
initiate a reinitialization of the predictor function, if the variation between the predicted state of channel and the measured state of channel is larger than a given threshold, for a given amount of instances [paragraphs 0016, 0120, 0130, 0145, initiate a reinitialization of the predictor function, if the variation between the predicted state of channel and the measured state of channel is larger than a given threshold, for a given amount of instances (determines that the difference between the indicated future value and the current value is greater than or equal to a threshold value, report message may also include one or more proposed updates of one or more parameters of a learning algorithm)].
As per claim 10, Bai discloses a method, comprising of:
receiving from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device [fig. 4, 5, 15, 16, paragraphs 0135, 0139, 0204, receiving from a terminal device capabilities of the terminal device (the UE 115-b may transmit control information, via signaling (e.g., RRC signaling, UCI signaling), that may include an indication of the value of the channel quality parameter to the base station 105-b)];
determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device [paragraphs 0121, 0132, 0134, 0135, 0139, 0140, determine a channel predictor to be used at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device (prediction algorithm 405 may predict a future value of a channel quality parameter based in part on one or more measurements 410; predict a future value of a channel quality parameter)];
determining and transmitting to the terminal device length of a given time period for collecting channel state information, based on at least partly on the determined channel predictor [paragraphs 0108, 0115, 0120, 0125, 0130, determining and transmitting to the terminal device length of a given time period for collecting channel state information, based on at least partly on the determined channel predictor (a measured and/or predicted RSRP associated with one or more reference signals over a time period (e.g., slots, TTIs); time stamp may identify a timing of the measurements performed to determine the one or more values of the channel quality parameter)];
transmitting reference information to the terminal device for the duration of the given time period [paragraphs 0116, 0121, 0125, 0145, transmitting reference information to the terminal device for the duration of the given time period (base station 105-a may use the report (e.g., channel state information feedback) associated with the downlink reference signals and channel measurements based in part on the one or more uplink reference signals to determine a future value of a channel quality parameter)];
receiving, as a response to the reference information transmission, channel state information from the terminal device [paragraphs 0113, 0145, receiving, as a response to the reference information transmission, channel state information from the terminal device (the UE 115-c may measure the one or more reference signals and determine an actual value of the channel quality parameter)];
determining, with training the channel predictor, a channel predictor function to be used in the communication between the apparatus and the terminal device at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device and the received channel state information [paragraphs 0062, 0111, 0112, 0116, 0130, 0134, determining, with training the channel predictor, a channel predictor function to be used in the communication between the apparatus and the terminal device at least partly based on the capabilities of the terminal device and the received channel state information (select and use a same or different learning algorithm to determine (e.g., predict) a future value of a channel quality parameter of a communication link (e.g., of an active beam pair) between the base station 105-a and the UE 115; the base station 105-a may apply the reported channel measurements received from the UE 115-a to a learning algorithm, as well as the channel measurements the base station 105-a measured from the one or more uplink reference signals to determine a future value of a channel quality parameter of the communication link)];
transmitting information on the channel predictor function to the terminal device [fig. 4, paragraphs 0110, 0122, 0129, 0130, transmitting information on the channel predictor function to the terminal device (base station 105-a may determine (e.g., predict, forecast, estimate) a future value of a channel quality parameter)];
calculating a predicted state of the channel utilising the channel predictor function known with the terminal device [fig. 5, 19, paragraphs 0112, 0118, 0130, 0134, calculating a predicted state of the channel utilising the channel predictor function known with the terminal device (predicted information, as listed herein, may be determined by the UE 115-a also a using a learning algorithm; base station 105 and the UE 115 may, select and use a same or different prediction algorithm to determine (e.g., predict) a future quality of a communication link)];
transmitting payload data to the terminal device, the data transmission comprising reference information [fig. 5, 6, 19, paragraphs 0113, 0116, 0145, transmitting payload data to the terminal device, the data transmission comprising reference information (base station 105-c may transmit one or more reference signals)]; and
receiving update information to the predicted state of the channel from the terminal device, where the update information is the variation between the channel predicted at the terminal device and the measured channel [fig. 5, 6, 19, paragraphs 0122, 0123, 0145, 0162, receiving update information to the predicted state of the channel from the terminal device, where the update information is the variation between the channel predicted at the terminal device and the measured channel (the channel quality component 910 may determine, based on the comparing, that a difference between the indicated future value)].
As per claim 12, Bai discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising:
updating the predicted state of the channel when a threshold is surpassed [paragraphs 0145, 0162, updating the predicted state of the channel when a threshold is surpassed (an updated value for the channel quality parameter based on the comparing, the channel quality component 910 may determine, based on the comparing, that a difference between the indicated future value and the value is greater than or equal to a threshold value)].
As per claim 16, Bai discloses a non-transitory program storage device readable with an apparatus, tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus for performing the method of claim 10 [fig. 10, paragraphs 0011, 0169, 0174, 0244, a non-transitory program storage device readable with an apparatus, tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus for performing the method (a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a UE)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai, in view of Mielczarek et al., (hereinafter Mielczarek), U.S. Publication No. 2011/0280324.
As per claim 6, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Bai does not explicitly discloses the wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus further to: represent the channel predictor function as a matrix and transmit the matrix or an index of a set of matrices of a codebook to the terminal device.
However, Mielczarek teaches represent the channel predictor function as a matrix and transmit the matrix or an index of a set of matrices of a codebook to the terminal device [paragraphs 0040, 0061, 0069, 0070, represent the channel predictor function as a matrix and transmit the matrix or an index of a set of matrices of a codebook to the terminal device (predictor continuously tracks the channel information indices and updates the channel prediction matrices and phrases)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the apparatus described in Bai by representing the channel predictor function as a matrix as taught by Mielczarek because it would provide the Bai's apparatus with the enhanced capability of increasing spectral efficiency [Mielczarek, paragraphs 0001, 0002].
As per claim 11, Bai discloses the method of claim 10, Bai does not explicitly discloses further comprising: representing the channel predictor function as a matrix and transmit the matrix or an index of a set of matrices of a codebook to the terminal device.
However, Mielczarek teaches representing the channel predictor function as a matrix and transmit the matrix or an index of a set of matrices of a codebook to the terminal device [paragraphs 0040, 0061, 0069, 0070, representing the channel predictor function as a matrix and transmit the matrix or an index of a set of matrices of a codebook to the terminal device (predictor continuously tracks the channel information indices and updates the channel prediction matrices and phrases)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Bai by representing the channel predictor function as a matrix as taught by Mielczarek because it would provide the Bai's method with the enhanced capability of increasing spectral efficiency [Mielczarek, paragraphs 0001, 0002].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xue et al., U.S. Publication No. 2021/0376895 discloses wherein calculated CSI and the quantized CSI difference value are reported to the network entity and a qualifying scheme is received for classifying the CSI predicted based on the CSI prediction model from the network entity.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469