DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 has been amended. The objection to claim 8 is withdrawn.
Claim Status
Claim 8 has been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-02-09 (“Remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Parichehrehteroujeni (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0232298 A1) does not teach the limitation of “receiving feedback information… wherein the feedback information includes the context information” (Remarks, pp. 6-7), stating that “specifically, Parichehrehteroujeni paragraph [0051] explicitly defines the ‘feedback information’ types: ‘The feedback information type(s) comprise… a Radio Link Failure (RLF) report, a Successful Handover Report (SHR)… a Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) failure…’” (Remarks, p. 7). However, it appears that this citation is incorrect. Paragraph [0051] of Parichehrehteroujeni states:
[0051] In some embodiments, the feedback information includes at least one of any one or more of the following types of feedback information: information about the reconfiguration procedure, information about a wireless device that performs the reconfiguration procedure, information about the target network node or a target cell during or after the reconfiguration procedure, one or more measurements performed by the target network node during and/or after the reconfiguration procedure, and one or more measurements performed by the wireless device during and/or after the reconfiguration procedure.
As can be seen, paragraph [0051] of Parichehrehteroujeni does not limit the feedback information to the specific types asserted by applicant. Further, nowhere in the disclosure of Parichehrehteroujeni does it appear that the feedback information limited in such a manner. Rather, Parichehrehteroujeni (e.g., ¶¶0049-0053 and ¶0057, as cited in the previous office action) provides information about the feedback information and what the feedback information may comprise, including:
[0049]: “The feedback information may for instance be collected during and/or after a reconfiguration procedure to the target network node, or otherwise include information that is usable to predict future performance of a reconfiguration procedure (e.g., a handover procedure) to the target network node”;
[0051]: “the feedback information includes at least one of any one or more of the following types of feedback information: information about the reconfiguration procedure, information about a wireless device that performs the reconfiguration procedure, information about the target network node or a target cell during or after the reconfiguration procedure, one or more measurements performed by the target network node during and/or after the reconfiguration procedure, and one or more measurements performed by the wireless device during and/or after the reconfiguration procedure”; and
[0057] wherein “the reconfiguration procedure is a mobility procedure, a Primary Secondary Cell (PSCell) addition or change procedure, or a conditional reconfiguration procedure.”
Thus, Parichehrehteroujeni discloses: (1) that the second network device sends feedback information about a mobility procedure or conditional reconfiguration procedure to the first network device (¶¶0049-0057); (2) that the feedback information comprises mobility configuration information related to the terminal device and/or handover resource information (¶0051); and (3) that the feedback information may comprise information “collected during … a reconfiguration procedure to the target network node” (¶0049) and/or “information about the reconfiguration procedure, information about a wireless device that performs the reconfiguration procedure, information about the target network node or a target cell during or after the reconfiguration procedure, one or more measurements performed by the target network node during and/or after the reconfiguration procedure, and one or more measurements performed by the wireless device during and/or after the reconfiguration procedure” (¶0051), which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, context information of the terminal device. (Examiner further notes Applicant’s specification, ¶0078, which states that “the context information of the terminal device on the network device 1 includes mobility configuration information related to the terminal device. The mobility configuration information related to the terminal device may include at least one of handover threshold information, handover offset information, hysteresis information, and handover resource information”). Furthermore, Parichehrehteroujeni’s motivation is to "enable a feedback mechanism after handover of a user equipment (UE) from a source node to a target node in a wireless communication network" (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶0103), which would solve the problem that Applicant is trying to solve, namely that "after a handover to a target cell, the source/serving node would [typically] act obliviously about the handed over UE, i.e. would not be interested in that UE any longer … if the UE experiences low throughput or poor radio coverage (or even a radio link failure), the source node of the handover would heretofore not be able to recognize and take any counteraction preventing such handovers causing poor performance for the UEs" (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0047-0047), i.e., optimizing mobility performance even in the context of successful handover(s).
Thus, the combination of Wang and Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the limitation(s) of the independent claims. The previous rejection(s) are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0298227 to Wang et al. (“Wang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0232298 to Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (“Parichehrehteroujeni”).
As to claim 10 (and similarly applied to claim 1), Wang discloses a first network device (Figs. 1C, 7, and 22, Network Device 110), comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 22, Processor 2210; ¶¶0256-0257); and one or more memories including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first network device to perform operations (Fig. 22, Memory 2220 and Prog 2230; ¶¶0256-0259) comprising: sending context information of a terminal device on the first network device to a second network device (Figs. 1C and 3, 305 and 320; ¶0104); receiving a successful handover report (SHR) from a third network device, wherein the SHR is generated by the terminal device based on handover from a first cell of the first network device to a second cell of the second network device, and the third network device is a network device connected to the terminal device when the terminal device sends the SHR (Figs. 1C and 7; ¶0081-0082 and ¶0127; terminal device hands over between network devices 110 and 130 and may send a successful handover report to a third cell which then forwards the report to the source network device); … and optimizing mobility performance based on the context information and the SHR (¶0061, ¶0073).
Wang does not disclose: sending request information to the second network device, wherein the request information requests the context information and receiving feedback information from the second network device, wherein the feedback information includes the context information.
However, Parichehrehteroujeni discloses: sending request information to the second network device, wherein the request information requests the context information and receiving feedback information from the second network device, wherein the feedback information includes the context information (Fig. 3, steps 36 and 44; ¶¶0103-0106. See also ¶¶0049-0053) and the Response to Arguments section above).
Wang and Parichehrehteroujeni are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: handoff or reselection arrangements; arrangements, scheduling, and transmission of hand-off measurement information, e.g. measurement reports; and/or supervisory, monitoring, or testing arrangements, e.g. arrangements for optimizing operational condition(s). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Parichehrehteroujeni to include: sending request information to the second network device, wherein the request information requests the context information and receiving feedback information from the second network device, wherein the feedback information includes the context information. Doing so would "enable a feedback mechanism after handover of a user equipment (UE) from a source node to a target node in a wireless communication network" (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶0103), which would solve the problem that "after a handover to a target cell, the source/serving node would act obliviously about the handed over UE, i.e. would not be interested in that UE any longer … if the UE experiences low throughput or poor radio coverage (or even a radio link failure), the source node of the handover would heretofore not be able to recognize and take any counteraction preventing such handovers causing poor performance for the UEs" (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0047-0047). Thus, one would be motivated to combine Parichehrehteroujeni and Wang to improve handovers and/or other types of reconfiguration procedures, which would improve service reliability and customer experience.
As to claim 11 (and similarly applied to claim 2), Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the first network device according to claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving handover success information from the second network device, wherein the handover success information indicates that the terminal device is successfully handed over to the second cell (Wang, Figs. 1C and 7; ¶0081-82 and ¶0127; the successful handover report may be sent to the target cell 135, which then may forward the report to the source cell 115).
As to claim 12 (and similarly applied to claim 3), Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the first network device according to claim 10, wherein the request information comprises information about the terminal device (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0049-53; the source node indicates which type(s) of feedback information the target node is to provide, the feedback information type(s) comprising information about the terminal device).
As to claim 4, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the request information further comprises at least one of information about the first network device, information about the second cell, or time information of a handover procedure (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0049-53; the source node indicates which type(s) of feedback information the target node is to provide, the feedback information type(s) comprising information about the first network device, the second cell, or time information of a handover procedure).
As to claim 5, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the context information comprises mobility configuration information related to the terminal device (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0051-52, ¶0057).
As to claim 6, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the mobility configuration information comprises at least one of handover threshold information, handover resource information, handover offset information, or hysteresis information; or the mobility configuration information comprises conditional handover configuration information (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0051-52, ¶0057).
As to claim 8, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the SHR comprises information about the first network device (Wang, ¶0127).
As to claim 9, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the third network device and the second network device are a same network device (Wang, Figs. 1C and 7; ¶0081-82 and ¶0127; the successful handover report may be sent to the target cell 135 (i.e., "even the same cell 135"), which then may forward the report to the source cell 115).
As to claim 13, Wang discloses a second network device (Figs. 1C, 7, and 22, Network Device 130), comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 22, Processor 2210, ¶¶0256-0257); and one or more memories including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second network device to perform operations (Fig. 22, Memory 2220 and Prog 2230; ¶¶0256-0259) comprising: receiving, from a first network device, context information of a terminal device on the first network device; storing the context information (Figs. 1C and 3, 320 and 330; ¶¶0104-0105).
Wang does not disclose: receiving request information from the first network device, wherein the request information requests the context information; and sending feedback information to the first network device, wherein the feedback information includes the context information.
However, Parichehrehteroujeni discloses: receiving request information from the first network device, wherein the request information requests the context information; and sending feedback information to the first network device, wherein the feedback information includes the context information (Fig. 3, steps 36 and 44; ¶¶0103-0106. See also ¶¶0049-0053)).
Wang and Parichehrehteroujeni are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: handoff or reselection arrangements; arrangements, scheduling, and transmission of hand-off measurement information, e.g. measurement reports; and/or supervisory, monitoring, or testing arrangements, e.g. arrangements for optimizing operational condition(s). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Parichehrehteroujeni to include: receiving request information from the first network device, wherein the request information requests the context information; and sending feedback information to the first network device, wherein the feedback information includes the context information. Doing so would "enable a feedback mechanism after handover of a user equipment (UE) from a source node to a target node in a wireless communication network" (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶0103), which would solve the problem that "after a handover to a target cell, the source/serving node would act obliviously about the handed over UE, i.e. would not be interested in that UE any longer … if the UE experiences low throughput or poor radio coverage (or even a radio link failure), the source node of the handover would heretofore not be able to recognize and take any counteraction preventing such handovers causing poor performance for the UEs" (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0047-0047). Thus, one would be motivated to combine Parichehrehteroujeni and Wang to improve handovers and/or other types of reconfiguration procedures, which would improve service reliability and customer experience.
As to claim 14, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the second network device according to claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving indication information sent by the terminal device, wherein the indication information indicates that the terminal device generates a successful handover report (SHR) based on handover from a first cell of the first network device to a second cell of the second network device (Wang, Figs. 1C and 7; ¶¶0125-0127).
As to claim 15, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the second network device according to claim 14, wherein the indication information comprises handover information corresponding to the SHR (Wang, Figs. 1C and 7; ¶¶0125-0127).
As to claim 16, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the second network device according to claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise: sending handover success information to the first network device, wherein the handover success information indicates that the terminal device is successfully handed over to the second cell (Wang, Figs. 1C and 7; ¶0081-82 and ¶0127; the successful handover report may be sent to the target cell 135, which then may forward the report to the source cell 115).
As to claim 17, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the second network device according to claim 13, wherein the request information comprises information about the terminal device (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0049-53; the source node indicates which type(s) of feedback information the target node is to provide, the feedback information type(s) comprising information about the terminal device).
As to claim 18, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the second network device according to claim 17, wherein the request information further comprises at least one of information about the first network device, information about the second cell, or time information of the handover (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0049-53; the source node indicates which type(s) of feedback information the target node is to provide, the feedback information type(s) comprising information about the first network device, the second cell, or time information of a handover procedure).
As to claim 19, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the second network device according to claim 13, wherein the context information comprises mobility configuration information related to the terminal device (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0051-52, ¶0057).
As to claim 20, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the second network device according to claim 19, wherein the mobility configuration information comprises at least one of handover threshold information, handover resource information, handover offset information, or hysteresis information; or the mobility configuration information comprises conditional handover configuration information (Parichehrehteroujeni, ¶¶0051-52, ¶0057).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0386195 to Ishii.
As to claim 7, Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni discloses the method according to claim 6.
Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni does not disclose: wherein the conditional handover configuration information comprises conditional handover candidate cell information and conditional handover trigger condition information.
However, Ishii discloses: wherein the conditional handover configuration information comprises conditional handover candidate cell information and conditional handover trigger condition information (Fig. 7, act 7-6; ¶¶0137-0139).
Wang, Parichehrehteroujeni, and Ishii are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: handoff or reselection arrangements; arrangements, scheduling, and transmission of hand-off measurement information, e.g. measurement reports; and/or supervisory, monitoring, or testing arrangements, e.g. arrangements for optimizing operational condition(s). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in view of Parichehrehteroujeni to incorporate the teachings of Ishii to include: wherein the conditional handover configuration information comprises conditional handover candidate cell information and conditional handover trigger condition information. Doing so would aid in "efficiently and effectively implement conditional handover to a secondary cell group" (Ishii, ¶0008), which would "[increase] reliability and robustness of handovers" (Ishii, ¶0007). Thus, one would be motivated to combine Ishii with Wang and Parichehrehteroujeni to improve handover success rate and reduce handover interruption time, which would improve mobility robustness, service reliability, and customer experience.
References Cited
Ishii, Atsushi (2022). Configurations for conditional primary secondary cell addition/modification (US 2022/0386195 A1). Filed 2020-09-30.
Parichehrehteroujeni, Ali et al. (2023). Reconfiguration procedure in a wireless communication network (US 2023/0232298 A1). Filed 2021-06-15.
Wang, Da et al. (2024). Methods for communication, terminal device, network device, and computer readable media (US 2024/0298227 A1). Filed 2021-01-05.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Bergquist, Gunnar et al. (2013). Telecommunications handover when handover restriction list is missing (US 20130017826 A1). Filed 2011-07-11.
Bachmann, Jens et al. (2015). Inter-vplmn handover via a handover proxy node (US 9167486 B2). Filed 2010-05-11.
Belleschi, Marco et al. (2024). Enhancements to mro in case of rlf after successful (conditional) handover (US 20240147322 A1). Filed 2022-03-11.
Chen, Hung-Chen (2021). Cell handover with minimum mobility interruption (US 11071025 B2). Filed 2019-06-24.
Choi, Young Su et al. (2002). Handoff method in cdma communication system (US 20020048266 A1). Filed 2001-04-20.
Fang, Jianmin et al. (2024). System and methods of network performance optimization (US 20240015610 A1). Filed 2023-04-19.
Krishnan, Shankar et al. (2024). Techniques for quality of experience reporting in handover (US 20240314662 A1). Filed 2021-03-30.
Kumar, Rajeev et al. (2022). Handover optimization based on ue mobility prediction (US 20220116838 A1). Filed 2020-10-09.
Liu, Yang et al. (2023). Method for sending handover success report, terminal device, and network device (US 20230308981 A1). Filed 2022-12-27.
Lee, Jae-Hwan et al. (2005). Method for handover between different type mmmb systems (US 20050221824 A1). Filed 2005-03-02.
Li, Haitao et al. (2025). Resource processing method and apparatus, device and storage medium (US 12335792 B2). Filed 2022-08-02.
Müller, Walter et al. (2023). Enhanced event reporting for multiple-trp cell mobility (US 20230239937 A1). Filed 2020-06-30.
Paladugu, Karthika et al. (2023). Techniques for conditional handover of remote and relay user equipments (US 20230247513 A1). Filed 2020-07-09.
Park, Jungshin et al. (2020). Method and apparatus for supporting network slice when ue moves between 4g and 5g networks (US 20200053617 A1). Filed 2019-08-13.
Parichehrehteroujeni, Ali et al. (2022). Reporting of successful handover to a target cell (US 20220141725 A1). Filed 2020-02-13.
Parichehrehteroujeni, Ali et al. (2023). Methods and apparatuses for providing handover related information (US 20230397080 A1). Filed 2021-09-16.
Park, Kyung Min et al. (2014). Method and apparatus for transmitting handover report message in wireless communication system (US 20140378136 A1). Filed 2013-01-29.
Purkayastha, Punyaslok et al. (2024). Conditional handover (cho) deconfiguration and failure handling in wireless communications (US 20240049078 A1). Filed 2023-10-03.
Shah, Kunjan Himanshubhai et al. (2024). Lmf assisted mro (US 20240073770 A1). Filed 2021-12-07.
Soldati, Pablo et al. (2024). Inter-node exchange of link adaptation assistance information (US 20240204910 A1). Filed 2022-04-26.
Thomas, Howard John et al. (2016). Self-optimizing network (son) system for mobile networks (US 9392471 B1). Filed 2015-07-24.
Wang, Da et al. (2024). Methods for communication, terminal device, network device, and computer readable media (US 20240049098 A1). Filed 2020-12-31.
Wang, Da et al. (2024). Method, device and computer storage medium of communication (US 20240306048 A1). Filed 2021-01-08.
Wu, Lianhai et al. (2023). Method and apparatus for mobility robustness optimization (US 20230422135 A1). Filed 2020-11-27.
Wu, Lianhai et al. (2023). Method and apparatus for failure report (US 20230156539 A1). Filed 2020-04-09.
Xu, Lixiang et al. (2019). Method and apparatus for transmitting a handover report and an rlf report (US 20190110331 A1). Filed 2018-12-10.
Yan, Le et al. (2024). Methods and apparatuses for reporting handover related information (US 20240064589 A1). Filed 2021-12-17.
You, Xin (2022). Method for cell handover, communication device, and satellite (US 20220110028 A1). Filed 2023-06-29.
Zhang, Yanxia et al. (2023). Cell management method, trigger condition configuration method, terminal device, and network-side device (US 20230354065 A1). Filed 2023-06-29.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL H. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649