DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-11 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/25/2023 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 10/25/2023 has been reviewed and is considered acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes the limitation of, “a passive power-down logic charged when current is received through the electrical plug and providing current to the radio frequency transmitter upon cessation of current received through the electrical plug.”, which ends in a period “.”. A claim is not allowed to have more than one period and needs to be amended to include the appropriate punctuation.
Claim 4 recites, “The system of claim 1 wherein the master unit includes a TRIAD.”, upon review of the specification, there is no mention of a TRIAD component and thus raises potential 112(a) issues. The office believes this is merely a minor spelling error and is meant to be a TRIAC as detailed extensively in the specification. In order to further prosecution, TRIAD will be interpreted as being a TRIAC.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US PGPUB 20110080046).
Regarding Claim 1; Lee teaches; A system for remote administration of an always-hot receptacle of an electrical outlet, the system comprising: (Lee; at least Fig. 2; paragraph [0007]; disclose a smart plug master/slave system that utilizes wireless communication for controlling output of the plugs)
a master unit adapted for a switched receptacle comprising: (Lee; at least Fig. 2; paragraph [0015]; master outlet (21))
a socket in electrical communication with an electrical plug; (Lee; at least Fig. 2; paragraphs [0015]-[0016]; disclose a plug (13) connected to socket (125))
a radio-frequency transmitter configured to send an on signal in dependence upon current being received through the electrical plug to the socket and configured to broadcast an off signal in dependence upon the cessation of current received through the electrical plug; and (Lee; at least Figs. 2 and 3; paragraphs [0018], [0023], and [0027]; disclose a first wireless RF module (36) and current detection function, that will send signals through the wireless module based on the presence or absence of current being detected)
a passive power-down logic charged when current is received through the electrical plug and providing current to the radio frequency transmitter upon cessation of current received through the electrical plug. (Lee; at least Figs. 2 and 3; paragraphs [0018], [0023], and [0027]; disclose power down logic based on detected current received through the plug)
and; a slave unit adapted for an always-hot receptacle comprising: (Lee; at least Fig. 2; paragraph [0015]; disclose slave outlet (22))
a socket in electrical communication with an electrical plug; (Lee; at least Fig. 2; paragraph [0015]; disclose plug (13) in electrical communication with sockets (126-128))
a radio-frequency receiver configured to listen for an on signal or an off signal; (Lee; at least Figs. 2 and 3; wireless module (37))
and a switch configured to allow current to flow between the electrical plug to the socket dependence upon the receiving an on signal and to prevent current from flowing in dependence upon receiving an off signal. (Lee; at least Figs. 2 and 3; paragraph [0025]; disclose second switch (38) for preventing current flow to the plurality of sockets based upon a received on/off signal from the master outlet).
Independent claim 6 is substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected using the same Figures/paragraphs presented above.
Regarding Claim 11; Lee teaches; A method of providing remote control for an always-hot receptacle in dependence upon the state of a switch-powered receptacle, the method comprising: (Lee; at least Fig. 2; paragraphs [0018], [0023], and [0027])
receiving, by a slave unit from a master unit, a signal containing an on-off value in dependence upon whether power is currently being delivered to the master from a switched-controlled receptacle; (Lee; at least paragraphs [0023]-[0028])
and delivering power, by the slave to slave-serviced appliances in dependence upon the on- off value. (Lee; at least paragraphs [0023]-[0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US PGPUB 20110080046) in view of Higgins et al. (US PGPUB 20110028091).
Regarding Claim 2; Lee appears to be silent on; The system of claim 1 wherein the master unit and slave unit each have a pairing module configured to pair the master unit and slave unit for radio frequency communications.
However, Higgins teaches; The system of claim 1 wherein the master unit and slave unit each have a pairing module configured to pair the master unit and slave unit for radio frequency communications. (Higgins; at least Figs. 1-4; paragraphs [0015]-[0018]; disclose a master/slave device each including pairing modules for exchanging pairing information to enable radio frequency communication between the two devices).
Lee and Higgins are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or problem solving area of, master/slave communication and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of including pairing modules to establish radio frequency communication as taught by Higgins with the known system of a master/slave outlet control system of Lee in order provide a method for connecting two devices without need of a screen or keyboard thus providing more efficient pairing of devices as taught by Higgins (paragraph [0014]).
Regarding Claim 7; the combination of Lee and Higgins teach; The method of claim 6 further comprising pairing the master and the slave for data communications. (Higgins; at least Figs. 1-4; paragraphs [0015]-[0018]).
Regarding Claim 8; the combination of Lee and Higgins teach; The method of claim 7 wherein pairing the master and the slave for data communications comprises broadcasting, by the master unit, a pairing signal. (Higgins; at least Figs. 1-4; paragraphs [0015]-[0018]).
Regarding Claim 9; the combination of Lee and Higgins teach; The method of claim 7 wherein broadcasting an on signal further comprises periodically broadcasting an on signal when the master is receiving current. (Lee; at least paragraphs [0023]-[0028]).
Regarding Claim 10; the combination of Lee and Higgins teach; The method of claim 7 wherein broadcasting an off signal further comprises iteratively broadcasting an off signal until the master powers down. (Lee; at least paragraphs [0023]-[0028]).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US PGPUB 20110080046) in view of Kim et al. (US PGPUB 20180006492).
Regarding Claim 3; Lee appears to be silent on; The system of claim 1 wherein the master unit includes an opto-isolator including a phototransistor and a light emitting diode.
However Kim teaches; The system of claim 1 wherein the master unit includes an opto-isolator including a phototransistor and a light emitting diode. (Kim; at least Fig. 19; paragraphs [0151]-[0153]; disclose a master unit in a smart receptacle that contains a photocoupler that uses a phototransistor/LED).
Lee and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or problem solving area of, master/slave communication and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of using a photocoupler as part of a smart plug as taught by Kim with the known system of a master/slave outlet control system of Lee in order provide a device that can be effectively utilized to help manage and minimize power consumption by a user as taught by Kim (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding Claim 4; the combination of Lee and Kim teach; The system of claim 1 wherein the master unit includes a TRIAD. (Kim; at least paragraphs [0151]-[0153]).
Regarding Claim 5; the combination of Lee and Kim teach; The system of claim 1 wherein the master unit includes a solenoid. (Kim; at least paragraphs [0149] and [0158]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu (US PGPUB 20100231043): disclose a power monitoring system and method in which a plurality of master/slave outlets are connected and controlled.
Brewer et al. (US PGPUB 20140327311): disclose a smart power strip that can selectively operate various sockets based on determined power detection of a master device.
/CHRISTOPHER W CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2117