DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention 1 in the reply filed on 12/1/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is found persuasive and the restriction to the claims is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that upon review, no claim terminology was determined to be of sufficient means plus function nonce/style language so as to invoke 35 USC 112 6th paragraph. Any generic terms appeared to be sufficiently modified by their either prepository terms, modifiers or use in the art to take any generic terms out of the scope of 112 6th. It is noted that during prosecution the claim language may change and thus there is no final disposition on such interpretation until time as the claims may issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21, 25-40, 43, 44, 46, 48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carlson (US 2012/0211688);
Claim(s) 22-24, 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson as applied to claims 13 and 21, 34, 46 above, and further in view of Hatton (US 5062611.)
Carlson discloses in claim 1: (see at least annotated figures 3, 9c and 11 below)
An anti-rotation connector (at 1000 figure 11, figure 3) for releasably coupling a field device (20) with an inner room of a fluidic component (valve 30) via an anti-rotation counter-connector (generally at 1002 figure 3) and/or the field device (the use of and/or considered an alternative grouping indication under MPEP 2131), the anti-rotation connector comprising: a connector stub (34) having a stub body (the cylindrical body of 34), the stub body extending along a connector axis (central axis of 32) between a proximal stub end (at 1004) and a distal stub end (at 1006); a through-going access channel (not shown in the figures, same as the instant application per ph 0107 pg pub, but see where engagement part 32 of control shaft extends out of the valve body 30) that is coaxial with respect to the connector axis and extends through the stub body (that of 34); and a first connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1008 including 37a,b) arranged at a lateral stub body surface (arranged laterally to the outer circumference from the central axis of the body 34) and is rotationally symmetric of order two (as shown there are rotationally symmetric arrangements of 37a and 37b) with respect to the connector axis, wherein the first connector-sided anti-rotation structure is configured for engagement (where 1008 receives that of 1010 below to provide for axial installation with rotational and axial fixation of the bodies for providing a rotatable actuator connection) with a first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1010 including 40/42/44/50, 22/24/26/28) of the anti-rotation counter-connector by relatively displacing (in the axial direction) the anti-rotation connector and the anti-rotation counter-connector towards each other (to fit them together for assembly of the device see figure 1.)
Carlson discloses in claim 2: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 1, wherein the lateral stub body surface is generally cylindrical or rotational symmetric of an even order with respect to the connector axis (as shown, the outside is cylindrical, the inner portion of 1008 is partially cylindrical with the symmetrically rotationally arranged portions of 37a,b.)
Carlson discloses in claim 3: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 1, wherein the first connector-sided anti-rotation structure includes a plurality of anti-rotation notches (at 37b) that each extend from the lateral stub body surface (as shown) into the stub body (at 1012) and in parallel with the connector axis (the surfaces are parallel-pipped.)
Carlson discloses in claim 4: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of anti-rotation notches includes a first set of anti-rotation notches (right side of 37b) and a second set of anti-rotation notches (left side of 37b), wherein the first and second set of anti-rotation notches each includes at least two anti-rotation notches (they are all anti-rotational notches) arranged circumferentially spaced apart at the lateral stub body surface, and wherein the first and second set of anti-rotation notches are arranged diametrically opposite to each other with respect to the connector axis (as shown for receipt of the structure of 1010.)
Carlson discloses in claim 5: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 1, wherein the lateral stub body surface is an outer surface (34 has both an inner surface and outer surface, and the inner surface of 37a or 37b is outwards of the central axis.)
Carlson discloses in claim 6: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 1, further comprising a circumferential locking structure (37b is a circumferential structure …) arranged at the lateral stub body surface (outwards from the central axis.)
Carlson discloses in claim 7: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 6, wherein the circumferential locking structure includes a circumferential locking groove (37a or b is grooved), the circumferential locking groove extending from the lateral stub body surface into the stub body to form a recess in the stub body (the cavities provided for rotational locking per ph 0032.)
Carlson discloses in claim 8: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 1, wherein the stub body is chamfered at the distal stub end (at 36, there is a chamfered surface and see figure 9c.)
Carlson discloses in claim 9: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 1, further comprising a control shaft (32) that is rotatably arranged in the through-going access channel in a fluidically sealed manner (of 30.)
Carlson discloses in claim 10: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 9, wherein the control shaft has an engagement part (the four flats of 32), and the engagement part of the control shaft projects over (and out of) the distal stub end (facing surface of 34) in distal direction and is rotationally symmetric of order two (there are 4 surfaces making it symmetric in an order of 2) with respect to the connector axis.
Carlson discloses in claim 11: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 1, further comprising a connector mounting flange (flange of 36) arranged at the proximal stub end, the connector mounting flange being configured for mounting the anti-rotation connector to the fluidic component (see figure 9C.)
Carlson discloses in claim 12: The anti-rotation connector according to claim 1, wherein the anti-rotation connector is formed integrally with the fluidic component (the two are part of the same body as seen in figure 1), the fluidic component being a valve (30) with a rotatable regulation body or a damper arrangement with a rotatable damper (ph 0025.)
Carlson discloses in claim 13: An anti-rotation counter-connector (at 1002 figure 3 and 9C) for releasably coupling a field device with an inner room of a fluidic component (30) via an anti-rotation connector (1000 figure 11 as applied in claim 1), the anti-rotation counter-connector comprising: a counter-connector body (20/28/24) having a stub-receiving receptacle (24), the stub-receiving receptacle extending along a counter-connector axis (central axis of 24), the counter-connector axis extending between a proximal counter-connector end (bottom facing 30) and a distal counter-connector end (top facing 20), the stub-receiving receptacle being open at the proximal counter-connector end (to receive 32); and a first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1010 including 22 and surface cutout of 28 and 54/56 see figure 7B) arranged at a lateral receptacle surface (the outward radial surface of 1010) and being rotational symmetric of order two with respect to the counter-connector axis (there are equal number on either bisected side of 50 figure 7B), wherein the first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure is configured for engagement with a first connector-sided anti-rotation structure of the anti-rotation connector by relatively displacing (in the axial direction) the anti-rotation counter-connector and the anti-rotation connector towards each other.
Carlson discloses in claim 14: The anti-rotation counter-connector according to claim 13, wherein the lateral receptacle surface (28…) is generally cylindrical or rotationally symmetric of an even order with respect to the counter-connector axis.
Carlson discloses in claim 15: The anti-rotation counter-connector according to claim 13, wherein the first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure includes a plurality of anti-rotation protrusions (22/54/56), each extending from the lateral receptacle surface.
Carlson discloses in claim 16: The anti-rotation counter-connector according to claim 15, wherein the plurality of anti-rotation protrusions includes a first set (top) of anti-rotation protrusions and a second set (bottom) of anti-rotation protrusions, wherein the first and second set of anti-rotation protrusions each includes at least two anti-rotation protrusions (as shown) arranged circumferentially spaced apart at the lateral receptacle surface, and wherein the first and second set of anti-rotation protrusions are arranged diametrically opposite to each other (as shown) with respect to the counter-connector axis.
Carlson discloses in claim 17: The anti-rotation counter-connector according to claim 13, wherein the lateral receptacle surface is an inner surface (28 has both an inside and outside radial surface.)
Carlson discloses in claim 18: The anti-rotation counter-connector according to claim 13, further comprising a locking member (50/40) arranged to be movable with respect to the counter-connector body between a locking position and a releasing position (ph 0035 and 0036), wherein, in the locking position, the locking member is arranged to interfere with a locking connector (36) to axially lock the locking connector and a locking counter-connector (26) with respect to each other and, in the releasing position, the locking member is arranged not to interfere with the locking connector.
Carlson discloses in claim 19: The anti-rotation counter-connector according to claim 18, wherein the locking member includes a locking slider (50) that is movable between the locking position and the releasing position by a linear movement (50 slides laterally and…) transverse to the counter-connector axis.
Carlson discloses in claim 20: The anti-rotation counter-connector according to claim 13, further comprising an alignment structure (28 wall…) that surrounds the stub-receiving receptacle (24) at the proximal counter-connector end.
Carlson discloses in claim 21: The anti-rotation counter-connector according to claim 13, further comprising a field device receiving receptacle (at 1014) that extends along the counter-connector axis and is open (to receive 24) at the distal counter-connector end, wherein the field device receiving receptacle and the stub-receiving receptacle merge (are part of the same motive structure or actuator) into one other within the anti-rotation counter-connector.
Carlson discloses in claim 22: A field device being an [actuator] with a rotatory drive shaft (24), the rotatory drive shaft being an output member of the [actuator], the field device comprising the anti-rotation counter-connector (of 1002 figure 3 and 9C) according to claim 21, wherein the rotatory drive shaft projects into the field device (distally) receiving receptacle (1014) from the distal counter-connector end and in alignment with the counter-connector axis;
Carlson does not disclose: an electric servo drive; but Hatton teaches: using an electric servo drive with a 90 deg (see title and also figure 3 for the 90 degree rotation of a butterfly valve) turn for a dampening valve, for the purpose of remotely operating the valve;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Hatton for Carlson, using an electric servo drive with a 90 deg turn for a dampening valve, for the purpose of remotely operating the valve.
Carlson discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 23: The field device according to claim 22, wherein the rotatory drive shaft includes a control shaft receptacle (end of 24) that extends along the counter-connector axis and is open at a proximal control shaft receptacle end, wherein the control shaft receptacle is configured to receive an engagement part of a control shaft (23) in a positive locking manner.
Carlson discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 24: The field device according to claim 22, wherein the rotatory drive shaft is rotatable between a first end position and a second end position, the first and second end position being rotated with respect to each other by 90 degrees (as modified by Hatton.)
Carlson discloses in claim 25: An anti-rotation connector arrangement (figure 1) comprising an anti-rotation connector (1000 figure 11) and an anti-rotation counter-connector (1002 figures 3 and 9C), wherein the anti-rotation connector comprises: a connector stub (at 34) having a stub body (cylindrical body of 34), the stub body extending along a connector axis (central axis of 32) between a proximal stub end (at 1004) and a distal stub end (at 1006); a through-going access channel (not shown in the figures, same as the instant application per ph 0107 pg pub, but see where engagement part 32 of control shaft extends out of the valve body 30), the through-going access channel being coaxial with respect to the connector axis and extending through the stub body (that of 34); and a first connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1008 including 37a,b) arranged at a lateral stub body surface (arranged laterally to the outer circumference from the central axis of the body 34) and is rotationally symmetric of order two (as shown there are rotationally symmetric arrangements of 37a and 37b) with respect to the connector axis, wherein the first connector-sided anti-rotation structure comprises: a counter-connector body (20/24/28) having a stub-receiving receptacle (24) that extends along a counter-connector axis (central axis thereof), the counter-connector axis extending between a proximal counter-connector end (bottom facing 30) and a distal counter-connector end (top facing 20), the stub-receiving receptacle being open (as shown) at the proximal counter-connector end (to receive 32); and a first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1010 including 22 and surface cutout of 28 see figure 7B) arranged at a lateral receptacle surface (the outward radial surface of 1010) and being rotational symmetric of order two with respect to the counter-connector axis (there are equal number on either bisected side of 50 figure 7B), wherein the first connector-sided anti-rotation structure is configured for engagement with the first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure of the anti-rotation counter-connector by relatively displacing (in the axial direction) the anti-rotation connector and the anti-rotation counter-connector towards each other, wherein the first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure is configured for engagement with the first connector-sided anti-rotation structure of the anti-rotation connector by relatively displacing the anti-rotation counter-connector and the anti-rotation connector towards each other (as shown when assembly), wherein the anti-rotation connector and the anti-rotation counter-connector are releasably coupleable (via 40/50 and as discussed in ph 0035-0036), and wherein in a coupled configuration the connector axis is aligned with the counter-connector axis (they are coaxial as seen in figure 9C) and the stub body (32) is at least partly received within the stub-receiving receptacle (inside of 24.)
Carlson discloses in claim 26: A locking connector (at 1000 figure 3 and 11) for releasably coupling a field device (20) with an inner room (inside channel of 30) of a fluidic component (30) via a locking counter-connector (at 1002 figure 3) and/or the field device, the locking connector comprising: a connector stub (34) having a stub body (body of 34) that extends along a connector axis between a proximal stub end (at 1004) and a distal stub end (at 1006); a through-going access channel (not shown in the figures, same as the instant application per ph 0107 pg pub, but see where engagement part 32 of control shaft extends out of the valve body 30) that is coaxial with respect to the connector axis and that extends through the stub body; and a circumferential locking structure (that at 36) arranged at a lateral stub body surface (outer surface of 34/36.)
Carlson discloses in claim 27: The locking connector according to claim 26, further comprising a control shaft (32) that is rotatably arranged in the through-going access channel in a fluidically sealed manner.
Carlson discloses in claim 28: The locking connector according to claim 27, wherein an engagement part (the 4 flats of 32) of the control shaft is rotationally symmetric of order two with respect to the connector axis.
Carlson discloses in claim 29: The locking connector according to claim 26, further comprising a connector mounting flange (at 36) arranged at the proximal stub end, the connector mounting flange (that of 1020) being configured for mounting the locking connector to the fluidic component (the parts are so formed for the extension of the bonnet see figure 10.)
Carlson discloses in claim 30: The locking connector according to claim 26, wherein the locking connector is formed integrally with the fluidic component (as shown, the parts are formed without apparent detachable connection), the fluidic component being a control valve (ph 0025) with a rotatable regulation body or a damper arrangement with a rotatable damper (id.)
Carlson discloses in claim 31: The locking connector according to claim 26, further comprising: a first connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1008 and including 37a,b, 36 and 32) arranged at the lateral stub body surface and being rotationally symmetric of order two (as shown and discussed in claim 1) with respect to the connector axis, wherein the first connector-sided anti-rotation structure is configured for engagement with a first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1010 figure 3) of the locking counter-connector by relatively displacing (axially) the locking connector and the locking counter-connector with respect to each other.
Carlson discloses in claim 32: The locking connector according to claim 26, wherein the circumferential locking structure includes a locking step (36 is a stepped flange) arranged at the distal stub end.
Carlson discloses in claim 33: The locking connector according to claim 32, wherein a radially outward protruding locking flange (the flange part of 36) is arranged at the distal stub end.
Carlson discloses in claim 34: A locking counter-connector (at 1010 figure 3) for releasably coupling a field device (20) with an inner room of a fluidic component (30) via a locking connector (1000 figure 11), the locking counter-connector (1010) comprising: a counter-connector body (at 18 including 22/24/26/28 and 40/50) having a stub-receiving receptacle (24) that extends along a counter-connector axis (central axis thereof), the counter-connector axis extending between a proximal counter-connector end (bottom) and a distal counter-connector end (top), the stub-receiving receptacle being open (as shown) at the proximal counter-connector end; and a locking member (40/50) arranged to be movable (transversely) to the counter-connector body between a locking position and a releasing position (compare figures 7a and b), wherein the locking member is arranged to interfere with the locking connector to axially lock the locking connector and the locking counter-connector with respect to each other in the locking position, and not to interfere with the locking connector in the releasing position (as discussed ph 0035-0036.)
Carlson discloses in claim 35: The locking counter-connector according to claim 34, wherein the locking member is configured to interact with a circumferential locking structure in a plurality of engagement zones (three zones at 52/54/56 of member 50 figure 7a) in the locking position, and wherein the plurality of engagement zones are circumferentially spaced apart with respect to each other (about the circumference of 28.)
Carlson discloses in claim 36: The locking counter-connector according to claim 35, wherein the plurality of engagement zones is three (as discussed.)
Carlson discloses in claim 37: The locking counter-connector according to claim 34, wherein the locking member includes a locking slider (44 of 40), the locking slider being movable between the locking position and the releasing position by a linear movement transverse to the counter-connector axis (44 pulls or pushes 50 transversely in a linear fashion.)
Carlson discloses in claim 38: The locking counter-connector according to claim 37, wherein the locking slider has a locking slider cutout (40 has two distal arms 44 that are laterally spaced to form a “cut out” space there between to guide 50/52), and wherein a contour of a lateral receptacle surface (contour of 26/28 figure 6a/7a and 6b/7b) of the stub-receiving receptacle is, in a viewing direction along the counter-connector axis (i.e. plan view figures 6 and 7), seated within a contour of the locking slider cutout in the releasing position (the contour of 44 encompasses that slider cutout.)
Carlson discloses in claim 39: The locking counter-connector according to claim 34, further comprising at least one locking member biasing spring (the arms 54/56 are spring biased), the at least one locking member biasing spring biasing the locking member towards the locking position (the spring bias inwards to lock into position when pressed in a transverse direction towards the central axis.)
Carlson discloses in claim 40: The locking counter-connector according to claim 34, wherein the locking member includes or (MPEP 2131, alternative grouping) is coupled with a first manual release pushbutton (40) that is configured for moving the locking member from the locking position into the releasing position upon actuation (per ph 0035-0036.)
Carlson discloses in claim 43: The locking counter-connector according to claim 38, further comprising: a first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1010 figure 3) arranged at the lateral receptacle surface (at the 26/28 areas) and being rotational symmetric of order two with respect to the counter-connector axis (two arms 54/56 and 4 pins 22), wherein the first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure is configured for engagement with a first connector-sided anti-rotation structure (at 1008 figure 11) of the locking connector by relatively displacing the locking counter-connector and locking-connector towards each other (and see figure 9C.)
Carlson discloses in claim 44: The locking counter-connector according to claim 43, wherein the first counter-connector-sided anti-rotation structure includes a plurality of anti-rotation protrusions (22 and arm protrusions of 54/56), each extending from the lateral receptacle surface.
Carlson discloses in claim 46: The locking counter-connector according to claim 34, further comprising a field device receiving receptacle (the body of 34) that extends along the counter-connector axis and is open at the distal counter-connector end (open top of 36), wherein the field device receiving receptacle and the stub-receiving receptacle (26 figure 9C) merge into one other within the locking counter-connector.
Carlson discloses in claim 47: A field device being an [actuator] with a rotatory drive shaft (drive shaft connected to 24), the rotatory drive shaft being an output member of the [actuator], the field device comprising the locking counter-connector according to claim 46, wherein the rotatory drive shaft projects into the field device receiving receptacle (at 1014) from the distal counter-connector end and in alignment with the counter-connector axis;
Carlson does not disclose: an electric servo drive; but Hatton teaches: using an electric servo drive with a 90 deg (see title and also figure 3 for the 90 degree rotation of a butterfly valve) turn for a dampening valve, for the purpose of remotely operating the valve;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Hatton for Carlson, using an electric servo drive with a 90 deg turn for a dampening valve, for the purpose of remotely operating the valve.
Carlson discloses in claim 48: A locking connector arrangement (1000/1002 figures 3 and 11) comprising a locking connector (at 1000) and a locking counter-connector (1002), wherein the locking connector comprises: a connector stub (34) having a stub body (body of 34) that extends along a connector axis between a proximal stub end (1004) and a distal stub end (1006); a through-going access channel (not shown but as discussed previously must provide passage for the step 32) that is coaxial with respect to the connector axis and extending through the stub body; and a circumferential locking structure (at 1008 including 37a,b and 36) arranged at a lateral stub body surface, wherein the locking counter-connector comprises: a counter-connector body (at 18 including 22/24/26/28 and 40/50) having a stub-receiving receptacle (24) that extends along a counter-connector axis, the counter-connector axis extending between a proximal counter-connector end (bottom) and a distal counter-connector end (top), the stub-receiving receptacle being open at the proximal counter-connector end (as shown); and a locking member (40/50) arranged to be movable (transversely) to the counter-connector body between a locking position and a releasing position (ph 0035-0036), wherein the locking member is arranged to interfere with the locking connector to axially lock the locking connector and the locking counter-connector with respect to each other in the locking position (see figure 7A and 9C), and not to interfere with the locking connector in the releasing position (see figure 7B and 9A), wherein the locking connector and the locking counter-connector are releasably coupleable, and wherein in a coupled configuration the connector axis is aligned with the counter-connector axis and the stub body is at least partly received within the stub-receiving receptacle (as shown figure 9C.)
Carlson discloses in claim 49: The locking connector arrangement according to claim 48, wherein the circumferential locking structure and the locking member interact in a in a plurality of engagement zones (52/54/56 figure 7A) in the locking position, and wherein the plurality of engagement zones are circumferentially spaced apart with respect to each other (thereabout as shown.)
Carlson discloses in claim 50: An connector (at 1000 figure 3 and 11) for releasably coupling a field device (20) with an inner room of a fluidic component (30) via a counter-connector (at 1002 figure 3) and/or the field device, the connector comprising: a connector stub (34) having a stub body (body of 34) that extends along a connector axis between a proximal stub end (1004) and a distal stub end (1006) of the stub body; an access channel (there through, not shown) that is coaxial with respect to the connector axis and extend through the stub body (see figure 9C); an anti-rotation structure (at 1008 including 37a,b and 36) arranged at a lateral stub body surface (laterally from the central axis of 32), the anti-rotation structure being rotationally symmetric of order two with respect to the connector axis (as discussed in claim 1); and a circumferential locking structure (37a,b or 36) arranged at the lateral stub body surface, wherein the anti-rotation structure of the connector is configured for engagement with the anti-rotation structure of the counter-connector by relatively displacing the connector and the counter-connector towards each other (as seen in figure 9C connected), and wherein the circumferential locking structure of the connector and a locking member of the counter-connector are configured to axially lock the connector and the counter-connector with respect to each other (id and via 40/50.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41 and 45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent claim 42 is allowed as it would merely depend from an allowable parent claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious in claim 41 the following “…a second manual release member, the second manual release member having an elongated second release member pusher, and wherein the locking member includes a release surface that faces the elongated second release member pusher and is arranged oblique with respect to the counter-connector axis such that, upon displacing the second manual release member towards the proximal counter-connector end, the elongated second release member pusher forces the locking member towards the releasing position via the release surface” in combination with the other limitations set forth above.
the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious in claim 45 the following “…each of the plurality of anti-rotation protrusions are split into a first protrusion part and a second protrusion part, wherein the first protrusion part and the second protrusion part are each circumferentially aligned with each other and are axially spaced apart with respect to the counter-connector axis, and wherein a portion of the locking member is axially arranged between the first protrusion parts and the second protrusion parts” in combination with the other limitations set forth above
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753